Author Topic: Canon EOS M  (Read 586243 times)

keel

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1450 on: May 26, 2018, 04:29:38 PM »
What is your status now?
If problem persists post screens of
- sd_uhs after running
- modules tab
- Help tab, highlight on Press Info


Hey Walter, sorry for delayed response. Lot of hospital days draining my energy levels.
Is there a way for a screenshot with magic lantern? I apologize I am unfamiliar.


I am specifically using Lexer 150mb/s 1000x 32gb cards.
I turn on cam, set to photo mode, went to SD OVERCLOCK and it began "before the hack" running.
Got 45mb tops on a benchmark, every couple of tries. Usually 40mb.

Whenever I activate movie crop mode or crop mode, i get frame skipping/stopping immediately.



keel

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1451 on: May 26, 2018, 06:31:55 PM »
@keel - for the SD hack I used files from @Danne's bitbucket page: https://bitbucket.org/Dannephoto/magic-lantern/downloads/  (I hope it's ok to share this, if not I'll delete the link)

I downloaded the "magiclantern-Nightly.2018Apr17.EOSM202_sd_uhs.zip" file from 17th April 2018 and put that in my card (not the 27th April file which wouldn't do anything when I tried to run the overclock test). Then I downloaded his sd_uhs module file from 19th April and put that into the modules folder in ML (replacing the sd_uhs module that was already there).

After that I followed @IDA_ML 's instructions on how to run the SD overclock test and the card benchmark test, ensuring it's all done in photo mode. His instructions are here: https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=16040.msg200229#msg200229

And it worked. I used a Sandisk extreme pro 95mb/s 64gb card. I'm only shooting 24fps.

Do let me know if there's a better way to do this!


This was exactly what I did originally, and now all I changed was the build date to Walter's recommendation (and I moved the sd uhs module, unless there is different iterations of the module and i used an incorrect one but the module runs, and my recording crashes. Sounds like user error and I am loading something incorrectly related to raw video)

**************

UPDATE: i have made a bit of progress,
i was confused about the various modes (movie crop/crop mode/zoom)
especially coming from 50d, that zoom feature on the touchscreen of the eosm went over my head.
After closing the other modules for crop/raw to experiment i found it started to work a bit with MLV lite instead of 2.0
(im sure this is said somewhere in the threads, i may have missed it)
Highest I got on two cards was around 41mbs 2240 X 954 (3.74X) 2.35 12BIT

Highest bench was 45mbs write. This really boggles my mind because I was expecting some great performance from these Lexer Pro 150mb/s 1000x cards. Even a bump to 56mb/s seemed feasible, but I am stumped. 
Again, I assume more often than not, user error.

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1452 on: May 26, 2018, 06:47:37 PM »
There's also these versions. It all depends on what cards are used I guess.
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=12862.msg201915#msg201915

Teamsleepkid

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 201
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1453 on: June 03, 2018, 02:36:50 AM »
is there a way to start up straight into sd card overclock and 3x zoom? or start up into sd card overclock and 5x zoom?
EOS M

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1454 on: June 03, 2018, 08:34:12 AM »
This build for eosm here kind of work this way(use at own risk and will):
https://bitbucket.org/Dannephoto/magic-lantern/downloads/

Enable your modules(also lua.mo) then set enable SD overclocking script to Autorun ON. There are a few additional preset scripts in there. Choose one of the presets , for example 10bit_5x_iso100_2.5k and set it to Autorun ON as well. Now first sd_uhs will be enabled then the 5xzoom preset.

Note that if you hold halfshutter while filming you also get correct framing in 5xzoom mode(although a bit sluggish) then releas the button and it goes back to real-time preview. Pretty neat.

Teamsleepkid

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 201
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1455 on: June 03, 2018, 09:30:36 AM »
hahaha says set 24 fps or you're in deep shit. thats funny
EOS M

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2967
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1456 on: June 03, 2018, 10:01:55 AM »
hahaha says set 24 fps or you're in deep shit. thats funny
Yes—I learned that the hard way. FPS goes to 29,97 when in zoom mode.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 500D.112

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1457 on: June 03, 2018, 10:43:24 AM »
Hehe, yup, thanks to dfort feedback I put this in the lua script. Anyway. The better step would be to automate FPS override on via the script so hopefully I find a way to that in time...

scottfrey

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1458 on: June 07, 2018, 11:31:02 PM »
After updating to the April build from a _much_ older build, I have found that my M doesn't retain movie crop mode on restart. This is kind of important, as one of my use cases is placing the camera where I cannot see the back of it and powering it up (on battery).

I have tried adding crop.enable = 1 to my config file but can't get it to work (everything else seems to work)

This is kind of a big problem for me. Any help?

I believe that the problem was that if you turn on crop mode then switching to a non ML card, you get stuck in crop mode for video. Yep--just tried it. Put camera in crop mode, remove the card, restart the camera and it stays in crop mode.

Would it be possible to turn off crop mode on shutdown then turn it back to the desired state from the configuration file on start up? Of course this wouldn't help if the camera crashes.

from https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9741.msg175596#msg175596 in Dec 2016

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121

Teamsleepkid

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 201
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1460 on: June 08, 2018, 06:56:22 AM »
excellent build danne exactly what i wanted. goes right into 3x crop and works well with my c mount lenses. basically got a pocket cinema camera now.
EOS M

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1461 on: June 08, 2018, 01:32:52 PM »
It's a nice little cam. By the way. Reenabling settings is possible with lua scripts to. Most things are possible through lua thanks to dmilligan and A1ex.

alpicat

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1462 on: June 12, 2018, 12:35:26 AM »
I'd like to look into the adtg module for the EOS M to increase the max resolution in crop mode. There's some nice progress being made on this with the 100D.

To get started do I just put the adtg_gui file into the modules folder and enable it, or is it necessary to create a custom-made build specifically for the EOS M to make it work?


theBilalFakhouri

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1463 on: June 12, 2018, 08:58:23 PM »
@alpicat
I wrote this guide for 700D ,, it will be similer for EOS M but the values isn't the same but it's same way.
You should define ENGIO_WRITE_FUNC and ENG_DRV_OUT_FUNC in adtg_gui.c for EOS M --> I will do it for you ASAP.

Then put adtg_gui.mo in modules folder under build from crop_rec_4k branch and start working.

After enabling adtg_gui go to adtg_gui submenu -->Advanced --> Enable DIGIC Registers --> Go to PLAY mode and go back to live view --> Press x5 to get into crop mode and start adjusting the registers.

Change the registers menu to Known registers only to help you finding the registers.

https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=19300.msg197870#msg197870
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8

alpicat

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1464 on: June 12, 2018, 10:27:39 PM »
@theBilalFakhouri  thanks, if you're able to prepare the adtg module file for the eos m I'd really appreciate it (there's no rush though). Then I can start working on it!

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1465 on: June 12, 2018, 10:30:23 PM »
Cool. I just started digging into adtg_gui stuff so if I can assist in any way I will. Got an eosm here too :).

alpicat

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1466 on: June 12, 2018, 11:31:13 PM »
Cheers @Danne - I'm following the work you're doing with the 100D which is very interesting. Once I have the adtg_gui file I'll get on with it and post my findings here.

theBilalFakhouri

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1467 on: June 13, 2018, 04:18:44 AM »
This should work with EOS M from Stubs.s

Code: [Select]
    else if (is_camera("EOSM", "2.0.2")) // from 1%
    {
        ADTG_WRITE_FUNC = 0x2986C;
        CMOS_WRITE_FUNC = 0x2998C;
ENGIO_WRITE_FUNC = 0xFF2C19AC;  // from stubs
        ENG_DRV_OUT_FUNC = 0xFF2C1694;
    }

Download adtg_gui
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1468 on: June 13, 2018, 05:20:35 PM »
Seems I got 2520x1256 24fps 14bit-lossless on the eosm. Registers very close to 100D.

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1469 on: June 13, 2018, 06:23:21 PM »
2.5k
https://bitbucket.org/Dannephoto/magic-lantern/downloads/magiclantern-Nightly.2018Jun09.EOSM202adtg_gui_ver_06_2.5K.zip
3.5k
https://bitbucket.org/Dannephoto/magic-lantern/downloads/magiclantern-Nightly.2018Jun09.EOSM202adtg_gui_ver_06_3K.zip

Above two versions for early testing. Automation if wanted via lua script. This applies for both 100D and eosm:

Set global draw to off prior to running lua script(bug on 100D, maybe works for eosm, didn´t check this)

ADTG_GUI form this branch:
https://bitbucket.org/Dannephoto/magic-lantern/branch/iso-research_nikfreak

commit:
https://bitbucket.org/Dannephoto/magic-lantern/commits/fa52c2810c6a8ab4b8fe865329926c7398d9c85e

All thanks to Nikfreak and bilal* etc...

alpicat

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1470 on: June 13, 2018, 11:04:04 PM »
Thanks so much for your help @Danne and theBilalFakhouri (and Nikfreak)! I've tested both of your builds Danne using your automated lua script, and they work without crashes but there's an issue with the bottom part of the recorded frame which seems to correspond to the increased height resolution area (see images below). Is this also happening with the 100D?

2.5k




3k




The liveview preview works fine with the 2.5k build, with the 3k one it's garbled - but that doesn't affect the recorded video.

I'll take a closer look this weekend once I get the chance. Personally I really like the idea of being able to do 2520x1256 which is close to 16:9.

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1471 on: June 14, 2018, 12:35:45 AM »
Didn't test too much on eosm. Are you getting these results with 14bit-lossles?


loknar

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • 550D, EOS M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1473 on: June 14, 2018, 12:09:23 PM »
Hi, I tried newest build and lower part of image is still missing, although in my case there are two color lines and the rest is black. Also in 3K LiveView is garbled (not complaining, just FYI). And thanks for howto video :).
2.5K

3K

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1474 on: June 14, 2018, 12:20:41 PM »
 Eh, yes, found out myself today that height is black. Placebo on my part.
Yes, 3k garbled.
What's next? We need to find out how to increase actual image into height. How? I tried some with cmos7 register but it only got me halfway giving me black transparency with some image.
Any hints are most welcome here  Nikfreak, A1ex, Bilial* maybe?