Author Topic: Canon 1100D / T3  (Read 734714 times)

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10930
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #1475 on: January 31, 2018, 08:10:50 PM »
And files comes out clean and nice without errors. But I don´t get errors with today´s raw_video_10bit_12bit either even without the fix.

Well, it's easier when Canon code does the memory allocation for us (that was the point of these last tests - to use their buffer, like we do on all other models). This camera has the lowest amount of RAM out of all other ML-enabled cameras, so it's best if we don't have to allocate large stuff just to get raw LiveView data. However, should we ever need to do that (maybe if anyone would like to implement full-res LiveView for timelapse), the raw backend is now ready for that (cc @ these folks).

Anybody else tired of rescale and convert PPM files one by one by the way? ffmpeg does the trick:
Code: [Select]
for i in *.PPM ; do
    ffmpeg -i "$i" -pix_fmt rgb24 -vf scale=500:-1 $(basename "${i/.PPM}").tif
done

What about this?
Code: [Select]
for i in *.PPM; do
    convert $i -resize "500x500>" ${i%.PPM}.png
done

(for pixel peeping, like I did to estimate the raw buffer size, I actually prefer the screenshot non-resized)

dfort

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2530
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #1476 on: January 31, 2018, 08:18:11 PM »
Hey Danne - nice work on the 1100D. It would be great to get some simple silent DNG files from the various settings and run the raw_diag module so we could check that the skip values are correct. Looks like the zoom mode needs some adjustment.
5D3.* 7D.* 700D.115 EOSM.* EOSM2.103

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3686
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #1477 on: January 31, 2018, 08:22:30 PM »
convert is nice too :).

@dfort
A little dinner break and I see if I get the energy back today or I´ll just continue in the morning...