Author Topic: Canon 650D / T4i  (Read 1425061 times)

navilink

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #875 on: October 23, 2013, 05:16:45 AM »
Just run a last firmware update.
you mean just re-flash/re-update the official 650D v1.0.4 firmware over it?

satriani

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #876 on: October 23, 2013, 12:52:29 PM »
Yes
Cameras: Canon EOS 70D, Canon EOS 650D
Lenses: 2x CanonEF-S 18-135 IS STM, Sigma 50mm f1.4 DG HSM Art
Daily builds

spider

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #877 on: October 23, 2013, 06:55:07 PM »
It works well on my 650, and i do not see any reason why it should not work on an other 650. Then again, this is alpha software, i you are not comfortable running bleeding edge code...  then wait for the beta... or final.
Yes, I think Dual ISO is ATM to hot for me.
I'll wait some time before to use it.

RafaLibrenz

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Life.
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #878 on: October 23, 2013, 07:07:05 PM »
you mean just re-flash/re-update the official 650D v1.0.4 firmware over it?

No. To uninstall Magic Lantern from the camera (remove bootflag) you need to run firmware update with this file: magiclantern-v2.3.NEXT.2013Aug03.650D104.zip (at first post of this topic), and then change the shooting mode from the mode dial.

Quote
Uninstalling ML from the camera

    With a Magic Lantern card, launch the Firmware Update process and follow the instructions on-screen.
    Re-installing Canon firmware will not remove Magic Lantern.

Source of information: http://www.magiclantern.fm/install.html
70D + 18-135 STM

jljxafcem

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #879 on: October 25, 2013, 06:51:12 AM »
SORRY,i am setup Magic Lantern for 650D OK
but focus peak can't use
how to do ? thank
(sorry my english not very well)

_DK_

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #880 on: October 25, 2013, 09:51:16 PM »
@jljxafcem:
To use focus peaking, you have to enable it in Magic Lantern then go to your Liveview mode.
When you are in liveview you simply have to press the "Info" button until the ML overlay appears.

If you have further questions:
It could help if you write in English and in addition to it, in your mother tongue. Here are many users from all over the world, some may know your language ;)
EOS 650D, 17-50 2.8, Nifty Fifty, Tamron 70-300mm
Sorry if my English is a little bad as I am not a native speaker

papkee

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • Casual amateur
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #881 on: October 26, 2013, 11:24:18 PM »
Alright guys, I'm gonna be heading out in a bit to get some RAW footage of a "Fire Festival" in my town tonight. I have no clue what a fire festival entails (presumably fire) but this should be a cool test of RAW in low light. I haven't been able to figure out dual ISO yet, but I may shoot some stuff with it, for no other reason than to reduce noise.

Wish me luck!
EOS 650D, a bunch of random lenses & adapters

Pakos091

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #882 on: October 27, 2013, 10:44:11 AM »
Hi guys, I wasn't here about the last six months I'd just like to know how the things going.

Does this alpha version have problems or looks great in every field? If doesn't, finally I'd really like to try it.
By the way how far is the beta version (or the final)? What else needed to get that status?

Thank you

Nautilus

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • A gear junky
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #883 on: October 27, 2013, 09:23:50 PM »
Hi guys, I wasn't here about the last six months I'd just like to know how the things going.

Does this alpha version have problems or looks great in every field? If doesn't, finally I'd really like to try it.
By the way how far is the beta version (or the final)? What else needed to get that status?

Thank you

Magic Zoom is flickering and audio features are disabled. Apart from these it is fully functional.

Nobody knows when they will be fixed. I am also waiting for it.
Canon 650D w/18-55 Kit lens | Sigma 30mm f1.4 | CarrySpeed VF-4 Viewfinder | Rode VideoMic Pro | Manfrotto MVH502A Fluid Head + MVT502AM Tripod System

V3-571G

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #884 on: October 28, 2013, 10:29:33 AM »
Hi,

I asked this question a couple of months ago on another thread, but the response i received didn't really help. In movie mode you can use a special zoom feature (Can't remember what it's called) to zoom the image up to 3x the size without loosing any quality. So the 18-55mm lens on my 650d could be extended right the way up to 165mm with no quality loss whatsoever. I want to know if this feature can be used in photo mode as well? I've looked thoroughly through the menus in Magic Lantern, but i cannot see any option to enable such a feature.

Any help would be most appreciated!

Cheers.  :)

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #885 on: October 28, 2013, 10:46:43 AM »
Common sense: do you really expect ML to turn a 18 megapixel sensor into a 162 megapixel one?!

This is exactly what you are asking for (18x3x3 = 162).

demetrisag

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 79
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #886 on: October 28, 2013, 11:12:05 AM »
Common sense: do you really expect ML to turn a 18 megapixel sensor into a 162 megapixel one?!

This is exactly what you are asking for (18x3x3 = 162).

Come on now Alex! dont be harsh :) that sometimes happens to me as well.

You see V3-571G, When recording video the camera doesnt record in 18MP. So in order to use the whole sensor and get all the image down it does a lot resizing and some line skipping in order to get the whole frame down to 1080p. which is apprx. 2.1MP. Which means you have a lot headroom there to do lossless zoom right? So it basically records a  zoomed in image instead of the whole sensor with much less resizing. Think of it as cropping an 18MP image to 2.1MP instead of resizing it to 2.1MP.

So in the case of photo its apparent that it already uses the whole 18MP so forget zooming beyond that point!

killr0y

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Canon 650D 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #887 on: October 30, 2013, 04:28:51 AM »
Keep up the good work guys ; )

dsagilles

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #888 on: October 31, 2013, 09:42:22 PM »
I just uploaded a new RAW Video test I made, where - unfortunately - we can see a lot of aliasing & artifacts.
I'll try to get a L-Lens to compare the quality with my Sigma 18-200 in RAW/h264.

Canon 650d |  Sigma 18-200 II DC OS HSM | Auto-Chinon 50mm f/1.9 | Minolta 35-70mm
DSLR Videos, photos and tutorials on http://www.gna-productions.com

jaegersing

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #889 on: November 01, 2013, 05:26:44 PM »
I just uploaded a new RAW Video test I made, where - unfortunately - we can see a lot of aliasing & artifacts.
I'll try to get a L-Lens to compare the quality with my Sigma 18-200 in RAW/h264.


Thanks for posting your video test dsagilles. Do you see these artifacts on the raw video? Or on the video that you upload to Youtube? They look like compression problems to me, so I'd be very surprised if changing the lens helps much. If the raw video is clean, it would be worthwhile to try and identify at what stage these artifacts are being introduced. But if the raw video already looks like that, what is the point of shooting raw? So far I've never seen such results on any of my footage recorded as bog standard Canon mov.

Richard

specialist

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #890 on: November 02, 2013, 06:45:32 AM »
I wonder if you would had better results posting it on Vimeo instead of YouTube?

Frandoll_Eye

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #891 on: November 02, 2013, 06:49:16 PM »
Great  thanks to all dev's for their hard work!

Recently i discovered one bag (or maybe feature) using ML v2.3.NEXT.2013Aug29.650D104

Sometimes i have to shoot some long events, but 2 days ago it was the first long event with ML onboard.
I noticed that when the shoot reaches 29:59 limitation, camera just finish record and go to standby mode.(and i have to press the button to start new record and of cause no matter how quick i'll do it - i'll loose a frames between records)
The point is that when i used original Canon firmware v1.01 actually it was like there where no any 29:59 limitation - Camera starts new record automatically just after previous one reaches 29:59 and in Premiere Pro it looks like no one frame(!) is missed.
This fact actually is the main reason for me to buy 650D.

The question: Is there any way to make ML work like there is no 29:59 limit like canon v1.01 firmware works?

I am newbie as ML user and if my problem solves just by RTFM it will be pleasured to hear.
Canon EOS 650D(ML) | EF 24-105mm F4 USM | EF 50mm F1.4 USM| mic tripod and other useful stuff

HuxFlux

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #892 on: November 02, 2013, 10:17:53 PM »
I just uploaded a new RAW Video test I made, where - unfortunately - we can see a lot of aliasing & artifacts.
I'll try to get a L-Lens to compare the quality with my Sigma 18-200 in RAW/h264.


Is this RAW or H.265?

video to show difference.


MarlonSenanayake

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #893 on: November 05, 2013, 01:06:59 PM »
can aany one give me the download link plssss

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8259
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #894 on: November 05, 2013, 02:55:29 PM »
Top of page -> Downloads -> Nightly Builds

pixelninja

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #895 on: November 06, 2013, 09:05:30 AM »
hi guys,

Anyone want to maybe try assist me with the installation of ML for 650D 1.0.4?

I have followed the steps in the video:

, as well as the steps laid out by the OP in the thread without any success. The furthest point I get my camera to is after the installation of ML where it says reboot, then after reboot I get  to 2:09 in the youtube video and doesnt load up with the next screen.

Thanks

spider

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #896 on: November 06, 2013, 10:15:03 AM »
Open the menu with the trashcan.

dsagilles

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #897 on: November 07, 2013, 10:44:46 AM »
Thanks for posting your video test dsagilles. Do you see these artifacts on the raw video? Or on the video that you upload to Youtube? They look like compression problems to me, so I'd be very surprised if changing the lens helps much. If the raw video is clean, it would be worthwhile to try and identify at what stage these artifacts are being introduced. But if the raw video already looks like that, what is the point of shooting raw? So far I've never seen such results on any of my footage recorded as bog standard Canon mov.

Richard
The green/yellow artifacts are in the original RAW footage.
Yeah it's looks like a compression problem, but it's not the case because I have the same result on the uncompressed AVI out of After Effects.
The aliasing, the chroma smoothing and maybe a too strength color-grading aren't helping.

I think we can't see all theses artifacts on Canon MOV because of the compression, adding a global blur and maybe a kind of anti-alias is applied on the compression stage.

Is this RAW or H.265?

This is RAW. I was very surprise of the result quality too. On my previous videos I haven't shot wide scenes, so I wasn't able to see all theses problems.

It would be cool if someone could try out a RAW shot on a similar scene.
Trees seems to be the worst thing for our 650d RAW.
Canon 650d |  Sigma 18-200 II DC OS HSM | Auto-Chinon 50mm f/1.9 | Minolta 35-70mm
DSLR Videos, photos and tutorials on http://www.gna-productions.com

lucawen

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #898 on: November 07, 2013, 01:51:18 PM »
This tutorial was made by me, is now available in English translation. Hope you like it! Thank you!

650D + 18-55mm ( KIT ) + 70-300mm Sigma + 70-200 Canon IS II

specialist

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #899 on: November 07, 2013, 04:14:05 PM »
It sounds Brazilian to me!