Author Topic: Canon 600D / T3i  (Read 241026 times)

spaingaroo

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 600D / T3i
« Reply #400 on: September 26, 2018, 02:49:34 PM »
I just realised I have another problem now

reading the instrucciones again, carefully. It says to check the size of the firmware file formed after the self-extractor creates it.
Quote
The name and size of the firmware update file can be checked on the website.
But, of course, only the name and size of 1.03 is on their website.

Does anybody have the info for 1.02?

I'll try a bit of googling

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6325
Re: Canon 600D / T3i
« Reply #401 on: September 26, 2018, 03:08:36 PM »
Suggestion: Ignore this!

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3535
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: Canon 600D / T3i
« Reply #402 on: September 27, 2018, 06:04:50 AM »
Fixed the first post.  Better?

spaingaroo

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 600D / T3i
« Reply #403 on: September 27, 2018, 08:24:58 PM »
Fixed the first post.  Better?

looking good

spaingaroo

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 600D / T3i
« Reply #404 on: September 27, 2018, 11:31:26 PM »
A successful installation following those first page instructions. Thanks for the  instructions. Thanks for the software.

In case anyone else comes along with the same question. Re: size of file of firmware v1.02 after extraction.

file name: CCF11102.FIR, file size: 12,232,284 bytes

aleks223

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 600D / T3i
« Reply #405 on: October 21, 2018, 07:03:52 PM »
Hi,

I see the nightly build for the 600D fail 1-2 tests. Which version could I install which optimally would pass all the tests?

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6325
Re: Canon 600D / T3i
« Reply #406 on: October 21, 2018, 11:42:27 PM »
There is none passing all the emulator tests.

Quote
These tests are automated - if they fail, there might be either a real bug in the tested build, or a bug in the emulation. The only way to tell is by testing on real hardware and comparing the results - your feedback is welcome!

PeteM

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 600D / T3i
« Reply #407 on: November 18, 2018, 06:05:08 PM »
Assuming this is the correct location to post following(?)...
So I was already running a compatible firmware version/ML build on 600D/T3i for years (fmwr 1.0.2), and stupidly installed Canon's 1.0.3 last night. Have not been able to succeed in any downgrade attempts back to 1.0.2. Working directly off SD card for all downgrade attempts (not connected to Mac 10.6/Utility for any of my tries)...
I believe I've tried everything in firmware update (downgrade) attempts! When I have 1.0.2 on SD only, camera hangs between starting firmware upgrade step and screen where I would pick the version... red indicator LED blinks slowly is all that happens. Blank/black screen. If I put both firmware 1.0.3 AND 1.0.2 on SD card, I can get further through the upgrade steps in camera... actually selecting the 1.0.2 version from LCD menu (I see both versions displayed), but shortly after receive message on lines of "sorry buddy, this ain't happenin' remove battery"
Any tips on how I can force camera back to 1.0.2?? (or, what are chances developer is possibly going to tickle ML file to be compatible with this firmware version (1.0.3), esp. considering age of the 600D?)
All help much appreciated! Use ML lots and miss it already...

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6325
Re: Canon 600D / T3i
« Reply #408 on: November 18, 2018, 06:12:21 PM »
If you have a spare card with 32 GByte (or less) capacity:
- Format card in cardreader
- Remove and insert battery
- Insert card in cam and format again
- Copy Canon firmware file CCF11102.FIR to card.
- Insert card and battery and startup cam.
- Downgrade to 1.0.2.

Report back. And avoid crossposting.

PeteM

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 600D / T3i
« Reply #409 on: November 20, 2018, 04:43:00 PM »
Hello Walter. Thanks for taking the time to reply. All of those things I'd already done repeatedly to no avail. However...
(and this is where it gets weird)... This morning I downloaded another copy of the 1.0.2 firmware from a different site, and repeated the usual steps. This time it worked!
To review, I had a 1.0.2 firmware copy originally downloaded from Canon stored in three places (on the card in camera itself - the one from which ML normally runs), a dedicated installer card (from which I updated the camera back when I first started using ML) and on my computer.
None of these three worked as described in my original post. Afterwards, I searched and found a copy of 1.0.2 online at a major (reputable?) support site, and tried using that one also without success.
This morning I risked a download of 1.0.2 from a site that I did not recognize as reputable, meaning it wasn't a major or common site relative to photography, however this copy successfully installed (down-graded) as expected!
Some relevant (??) data: All of the firmware files referenced in this exercise are exactly the same file size, and equal the size referenced in the "read me" included in the downloads. The ONLY difference is that all of the ones tried prior to the final successful attempt were downloaded as .dmg files (I'm on a mac)... and this morning's came as a ZIP file!
Regardless, glad to have ML back in service, and thanks again.

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6325
Re: Canon 600D / T3i
« Reply #410 on: November 20, 2018, 04:50:41 PM »
Thank you for your feedback.
BTW: Those Canon firmware files linked in this site (=download pages) are not dmgs but exe or zip which will be expanded in macOS/OS X without troubles.
You may want to run MD5 or CRC32 check on those FIR files to see if there are any differences. File size doesn't really say that much about file integrity.

ashelgeek

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 600D / T3i
« Reply #411 on: November 24, 2018, 08:37:32 PM »
Hi, Movie Restart is missing in my T3i menu after installing . Someone could help me resolve this please?

Here's Build : magiclantern-Nightly.2018Jul03.600D102

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6325
Re: Canon 600D / T3i
« Reply #412 on: November 24, 2018, 09:16:38 PM »
It should be there, according to feature matrix
Movie tab -> Movie Tweaks -> Movie Restart