Author Topic: Canon 1200D  (Read 239093 times)

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3145
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #600 on: May 13, 2018, 11:25:50 PM »
I'm not saying it is the same but there are overlay issues on other cameras.

What is happening on the 1200D



Is different from the EOSM (bottom is fixed but not the top) -- These might be annoying but not showstoppers.

5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11718
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #601 on: May 13, 2018, 11:46:06 PM »
The former is when pressing INFO (ML overlays should only show up when Canon overlays are hidden), the latter appears half-shutter related.

On 1200D, the fix discussed previously was applied, but there might be something overlooked; somebody has to sit down and debug it. On 5D2, this was a special case, as the property used to detect the overlay status was not triggered properly at startup. It almost worked -- the only exception was when camera started with Canon overlays enabled - in this case, you had to press INFO to perform a full cycling of the overlays.

To test: press INFO/DISP a few times. ML overlays should appear only when Canon overlays are turned off (not both at the same time, fighting over the screen).

Result?

dterrahe

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #602 on: May 14, 2018, 08:18:06 AM »
It almost worked -- the only exception was when camera started with Canon overlays enabled - in this case, you had to press INFO to perform a full cycling of the overlays.

Cycling through the different layouts using the DISP button (is that what you meant for the 1200D; it has no INFO button) doesn't help. The image as shown above doesn't show all the time; only when I use the wheel to change any of the parameters does the canon overlay appear, first on top and then behind the ml overlay.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11718
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #603 on: May 14, 2018, 09:05:54 AM »
Got it, so it's not the issue discussed earlier. It just happens to look the same in a screenshot.

dterrahe

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #604 on: May 14, 2018, 06:10:20 PM »
Double quote! ;-)

The May 4 build has this commit that should give a warning if you have the camera set to movie auto mode.

Quickly tested Nightly.2018May04.1200D102.
When switching on the camera, a message now flashes by to set Exposure=Manual. It is gone very fast, so I only noticed it the third time.

Would it be possible to show the message a bit longer? Might get annoying after a while so you'll have to decide if that's a good idea...

Raov

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • #Full1200DPortWhen
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #605 on: July 06, 2018, 07:39:09 PM »
Cycling through the different layouts using the DISP button (is that what you meant for the 1200D; it has no INFO button) doesn't help.

I am on 20180504 build, only hiding the Canon overlays makes the ML overlays appear.
Also, I saw the latest 20180705 build fail one of the tests, which one failed? (site only shows beforementioned 20180504 build)
1200D.102

TheFirstMohhikian

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #606 on: July 09, 2018, 09:08:49 AM »
Ahoi,

Because it is a work in progress and I am fairly new to this forum - can anyone confirm that the current build has sticky half shutter?

Searched also from google and previous posts, but did not find such a topic answered.

critix

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #607 on: July 10, 2018, 07:44:30 AM »
Hello!
Looking for 1300D values in the consts.h file, I found for 1200D  the following value:
Code: [Select]
#define DISPLAY_SENSOR_POWERED (*(int*)(0x2A0C+0x18))  // Look up *"ForceDisableDisplay (%d)"
#define IMGPLAY_ZOOM_POS_X MEM(0x77c9c) // Look up *"CentrePos x:%ld y:%ld"
#define IMGPLAY_ZOOM_POS_Y MEM(0x77c9c+0x4) // Look up *"CentrePos x:%ld y:%ld"
I know DISPLAY_SENSOR_POWERED does not exist in that file for 1200D, but it exists at 1300D.
Can you check if it's OK?
Thank you.
Canon 1300D, 500D, EOS M, EOS M2

Raov

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • #Full1200DPortWhen
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #608 on: August 04, 2018, 07:45:30 PM »
seems like development for the camera has stopped. probs I can test some fresh builds for the sake of pointing out errors (well at least trying to lol)
1200D.102

Raov

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • #Full1200DPortWhen
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #609 on: September 08, 2018, 06:07:21 AM »
can anyone confirm that the current build has sticky half shutter?
Yes it does, I yet have to upgrade to latest build though.
1200D.102

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3145
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #610 on: September 08, 2018, 07:56:00 AM »
seems like development for the camera has stopped.

Not really, there were changes committed to the 1200D branch on August 20 though it looks like the build wasn't updated:

5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11718
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #611 on: September 08, 2018, 08:38:03 AM »
Ha, that seems to be a bug on the build server. No idea what's wrong - ran the script manually and it worked...

(the download page is static HTML, updated daily - in theory; looking into it)