Author Topic: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView  (Read 352938 times)

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1925 on: November 09, 2018, 08:30:52 AM »
@mothaibaphoto
What happens if you do changes straight in crop_rec.c code like here?
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=19300.msg208153#msg208153

mothaibaphoto

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • pesky kid
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1926 on: November 09, 2018, 12:09:01 PM »
Same s**t:
Code: [Select]
ML ASSERT:
0
at mlv_lite.c:2723 (compress_task), task compress_task
lv:1 mode:3

compress_task stack: 1ae538 [1ae5c0-1ad5c0]
0x0006A030 @ ae1174:1ae568
0x00069868 @ 6a09c:1ae538

Magic Lantern version : Nightly.2018Oct09.5D3113
Mercurial changeset   : 41153b1177ce+ (crop_rec_4k_mlv_snd) tip
Built on 2018-10-09 14:52:06 UTC by [email protected]
Free Memory  : 211K + 2983K
By the way, your code example with error: 1048 instead of 1080 in preset. But your repo code is correct.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11898
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1927 on: November 17, 2018, 04:24:34 PM »
To minimize further confusion, I've decided to move Danne's experiments to a new topic.

As long as these builds contain mislabeled ISO settings, I am not going to support them, sorry.

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1928 on: November 17, 2018, 05:03:37 PM »
 I will erase the iso stuff when I get the time. They have no valid reason for being in there. Focus in this build should be 1x3 settings and playing with analog gain registers getting most out of the settings. Accepted build?
Bugs are still valid though. Mv720p stuck preview and lack of framing preview while using hdr or having adtg_gui module enabled.


Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1930 on: November 22, 2018, 09:27:43 AM »
Would like to understand more about shutter blanking and see if we can fix a bug. In 100D when including following in consts.h:
Code: [Select]
#define FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_ZOOM   (*(uint16_t*)0x41697784) // ADTG register 805e
#define FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_NOZOOM (*(uint16_t*)0x41697ac0) // ADTG register 8060
#define FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_READ   (lv_dispsize > 1 ? FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_NOZOOM : FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_ZOOM)
#define FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_WRITE  (lv_dispsize > 1 ? &FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_ZOOM : &FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_NOZOOM)
I can compile and use a build but shutter is always set to 1/24 on overlay screen. Does it indicate incorrect definitions or are there more places in code to defoine maybe? Thanks.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11898
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1931 on: November 22, 2018, 09:45:44 AM »
Yeah, these definitions appear to be dynamic on some models (on 700D it's also wrong). Back then, I've found them in some property blocks, so at least I should be able to find a fixed pointer to these addresses. Unable to look into it right now, sorry :(

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1932 on: November 22, 2018, 09:55:49 AM »
Ok, thanks. I think I found the correct ones with adtg_gui when in photo mode! Seems to be working now.
Code: [Select]
#define FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_ZOOM   (*(uint16_t*)0x41697bc4) // ADTG register 805f
#define FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_NOZOOM (*(uint16_t*)0x41697bc8) // ADTG register 8061

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11898
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1933 on: November 22, 2018, 09:58:13 AM »
Yes, these are valid for you (or for your current startup sequence, or whatever causes these addresses to change), but they may be not be valid for all other 100D users. The previous ones were found in the same way.

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1934 on: November 22, 2018, 10:00:45 AM »
O, I see, dynamic numbers. Well, well...

leandroprz

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1935 on: November 26, 2018, 09:52:19 PM »
I tested the latest crop module last night on my 6D and I'm getting 2/3 of the image with a magenta color:



I used mlv_lite and mlv_rec both with default settings. Both give the same results.

Any idea what could be happening?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11898
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1936 on: November 27, 2018, 09:07:54 AM »
Best guess: some sort of misconfiguration for ADTG powersaving registers.

Please define "latest crop module", mention the settings used for crop_rec (including resolution and frame rate in Canon menu) and the number of affected lines (the low-resolution screenshot doesn't help much).

leandroprz

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1937 on: November 28, 2018, 11:57:31 PM »
Best guess: some sort of misconfiguration for ADTG powersaving registers.

Please define "latest crop module", mention the settings used for crop_rec (including resolution and frame rate in Canon menu) and the number of affected lines (the low-resolution screenshot doesn't help much).

I'm using magiclantern-crop_rec_4k.2018Jul22.6D116.
  • Settings for crop_rec: default, I touched nothing
  • Canon menu settings: 1280x720 @ 50fps, Low comp (ALL-I)
  • Number of affected lines: 540px
Here's the full-res image: https://i.imgur.com/ZbvYcPq.png

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11898
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1938 on: November 29, 2018, 12:05:24 AM »
Did this work any better in previous builds? If yes, can you find the last good build?

https://builds.magiclantern.fm/jenkins/view/Experiments/job/crop_rec_4k/

leandroprz

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1939 on: November 29, 2018, 12:17:45 AM »
Did this work any better in previous builds? If yes, can you find the last good build?

https://builds.magiclantern.fm/jenkins/view/Experiments/job/crop_rec_4k/

This is the first time I'm using it. I'll test previous builds and see how that goes. Will report back after testing.

leandroprz

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1940 on: November 29, 2018, 12:52:36 AM »
I tested a few builds and went back to the first build that supports the 6D (magiclantern-crop_rec_4k.2018Mar10.6D116.zip) and even that one doesn't work properly.

I also reseted the camera to factory settings before testing.

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1941 on: November 29, 2018, 07:14:40 AM »
Mv720p stuck preview and lack of framing preview while using hdr or having adtg_gui module enabled.
I assume this didn´t go unnoticed. Anyway. Would be great to get some insights to why mv720p and crop_rec gets stuck when trying to get out of x10 mode. Sorry my nagging here but 1920x1080 48fps setting is golden.

On the bugside let´s not forget this:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=22963.msg208129#msg208129

I also noticed that dualiso module will report the diso metadata into files even if dualiso isn´t set. Bug.

leozan

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1942 on: December 18, 2018, 12:40:31 PM »
Latest Nightly Build: 2018-07-03
Experim. Latest Build (2018-07-22)

what happen's ?!? afraid....

goldenchild9to5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 533
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1943 on: December 18, 2018, 06:39:03 PM »
@leozan The lastest build is good to go works perfectly on my 5D III. 

leozan

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1944 on: December 19, 2018, 08:30:06 AM »
to read lasts back post for nightly and more in exp.  , seem not be all perfect.
but later many updates , now are months of silence.
I think we are in the near end or? :(

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1945 on: December 19, 2018, 10:57:47 AM »
changed another place in power time registers:
Code: [Select]
-        int fps_timer_b = (shamem_read(0xC0F06014) & 0xFFFF) + 1;
+        int fps_timer_b = (shamem_read(0xC0F06014) & 0xFFFF);

When fps override set this is giving corruption(pulsating minor stripes) to footage with certain presets.
commit:
https://bitbucket.org/Dannephoto/magic-lantern/commits/aa687c72d837ce56511e566db19941d7c5a18522

Is it needed? Not sure what it´s for so erased it for the time being.

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3348
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1946 on: December 26, 2018, 01:19:18 AM »
Alright, please find the first proof of concept for crop_rec with arbitrary resolutions. 700D only; won't work on any other model yet.

Now that I've got crop_rec_4k working again on my camera (this commit broke it and this was the solution for my 700D) I thought I'd try this out. Didn't get very far, but it looks promising.

Beware: might be very buggy. After changing settings, press MENU twice to refresh. Have fun.

Yes it is! First few times I used it I got a warning, "Card's write protect switch is set to lock" and had to reformat the card to get rid of it. Tried to follow Reply #1839 from @theBilalFakhouri but somehow wasn't getting the same results.

Yeah, I know--not much of a report.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103

theBilalFakhouri

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 240
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1947 on: January 13, 2019, 01:54:27 AM »
An easy trick how to fix scrambled LiveView in higher horizontal resolutions :

"For real-time preview in higher resolution mods. Do you mean how to solve the scrambled broken LiveView?

Using new crop_rec I can get 1x1 mode in mv1080 without getting into x5 mode. Simply I can select 1x1 Binning and The sensor will be cropped to 1x1 1736x1160 .

The real-time preview isn't broken yet but If I increased the horizontal resolution to 2520 it will break, to fix it Now I can press magnification button and get into x5 mode and the LiveView will be working again.

Okay so we can get benefit from this trick to lock the registers between this two mods and find the right ones by trial and error and apply it in mv1080 then if the LiveView worked like x5 mode this mean we found the right ones and now we can play with them to fix LiveView in higher horizontal resolutions."
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8