Author Topic: Canon 70D  (Read 1905321 times)

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7883
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3375 on: January 31, 2021, 01:57:39 PM »
CBR doesn't apply to raw/MLV.
70D contains Digic 5 and audio settings are "limited". Very limited: https://wiki.magiclantern.fm/camera_help#audio
For high-res raw/MLV recording you can start with experimental crop_4k build. Top of page -> Downloads -> Downloads (drop-down menu) -> Experiments.

Dang, I always forget about 70D's limits! Thanks to TheBilalFakhouri for reminding me (again!): There is a custom build for 70D https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=25786.msg213074#msg213074
Updated download links: https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=25786.msg230726#msg230726
70D is a little bit odd because of dual-pixel AF.

Take a look into our ML Glossary, too.

EphimAO

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3376 on: January 31, 2021, 03:10:32 PM »
Thanks! ;)

vicenzzopaiva

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3377 on: February 06, 2021, 07:01:05 PM »
I’m buying the 70D now to be my primary camera alongside with the M for ML.
The latest build for the 70D is the one from mar/19?
What’s working and what’s not? I’ve read a lot of this thread and posted links but i didn’t seem to be able to sum up the working bits.
EOS M - 2.0.2 - Danne's feb21 build
70D    - 1.1.2 - ArcziPL’s mar19 build

ArcziPL

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 173
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3378 on: February 06, 2021, 07:33:36 PM »
List of not working features of the "original" nigtly build:

https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=14309.0#post_notworking


My custom build has additionally added lossless compression of RAW video (thanks to a1ex help) and disabled FEATURE_ARROW_SHORTCUTS, which was buggy:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=25786.0

And some days later FPS override was activated (thanks to findings of David_Hugh) which is having a small glitch but is usable
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=25786.msg213467#msg213467

There are no crop_rec presets available. It's doable but no time here.
M50.110 [main cam] | M.202 [pocket cam] | 70D.112 [gathers dust] | looking for G7XIII, waiting for M5II

vicenzzopaiva

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3379 on: February 09, 2021, 12:06:19 AM »
Nice, thank you!
Working ok here. I missed the “press SET to” load/skip ML on startup feature, is this anything easy to implement?
EOS M - 2.0.2 - Danne's feb21 build
70D    - 1.1.2 - ArcziPL’s mar19 build

EphimAO

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3380 on: February 18, 2021, 05:30:09 PM »
Hello! I have question about crop mode. I can't turn it on. It just has got "YARES" function. I know about 5x zoom but it is still luggy

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7883
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3381 on: February 18, 2021, 05:33:45 PM »
I suppose you're not a native english speaker. I'm none either. Your translation tool doesn't work well or you are using slang unfamiliar to me: YARES and luggy.

Suggestions:
- Try to use https:/deepl.com instead. It almost everytime works better than google translator.
- and add your issue using your native language.

If everything fails: Make a short video showing your issue.

EphimAO

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3382 on: February 18, 2021, 06:42:52 PM »
Hi again. I wanted to say that the zoom crop is buggy. In the crop mod section (crop_rec.mo) I see the target, yres, delta, cmos parameters and others. Is there a guide on how to enable the crop module ?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7883
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3383 on: February 18, 2021, 06:44:33 PM »
Press zoom/magnify/loupe button to enter crop mode.

EphimAO

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3384 on: February 18, 2021, 06:57:04 PM »

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7883
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3385 on: February 18, 2021, 07:06:21 PM »
You will find build info in Help tab/screen on the bottom. Please share this one.

EphimAO

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3386 on: February 18, 2021, 07:10:18 PM »

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7883
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3387 on: February 18, 2021, 07:17:49 PM »
Slight misunderstanding: I need the info from the screen itself. Don't have QEMU running here.

EphimAO

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3388 on: February 18, 2021, 07:19:54 PM »

do I need to send a photo of the build?

EphimAO

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3389 on: February 18, 2021, 07:28:34 PM »

theBilalFakhouri

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 583
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3390 on: February 18, 2021, 07:54:30 PM »
Thx for help. Also i have a question about this menu: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1-qKuquwQMUoIKEtniryx2VON_TLNPeuN/view?usp=sharing

This menu has no effect on 70D, it's related to custom high resolutions which are not presented in 70D, this menu made originally for 5D3 users to push a custom resolution further or fine-tune it:

..
* Full-width LiveView - decrease vertical resolution in the crop_rec submenu, all the way to 5796x400 @ 48 fps :)
..
* Since these settings were pushed to limit, the risk of corrupted frames is high. If it happens, decrease the vertical resolution a bit (from the crop_rec submenu).
..

May I fine-tune the new modes?

Yes! I've included some of the knobs on the user interface. Normally you shouldn't need to touch these buttons, but if you do, you might be able to squeeze a few more pixels.
..

So for now, just ignore it.
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8 / SDR104 @ 240 MHz - Constant! | Fixed Scrambled LiveView in Higher resolution | Real-Time correct framing in the Way

EphimAO

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3391 on: February 19, 2021, 04:40:07 AM »
ok, thx

janjan

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3392 on: February 27, 2021, 07:50:47 PM »
Hi,
Are the nightly builds still updated? the last one if from 2018.
Is there a newer version.

Thanks,


Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7883
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3393 on: February 27, 2021, 07:55:08 PM »
Top of page -> Downloads -> Downloads (drop down menu) -> Experiments
and
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?board=66.0

janjan

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3394 on: February 27, 2021, 08:43:15 PM »
Thanks
Found it and I realized that stack focus is now working.
Has this been implemented a while ago?
Last time I checked , which was quite some time ago, it wasn't.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12562
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3395 on: February 27, 2021, 09:43:55 PM »
I've enabled it 3 years ago.

To date, I haven't received any confirmation on whether it works or not, except for your message. Mind providing some more details? I don't own this camera, and QEMU doesn't emulate this functionality, so I cannot check it myself.

janjan

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3396 on: February 27, 2021, 09:57:51 PM »
I'll make some more thorough test in the following days and report back...
I only checked it briefly today with the latest experimental build and it was working.

janjan

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3397 on: March 01, 2021, 10:41:06 AM »
I've enabled it 3 years ago.

To date, I haven't received any confirmation on whether it works or not, except for your message. Mind providing some more details? I don't own this camera, and QEMU doesn't emulate this functionality, so I cannot check it myself.

I've checked it and it appear to work as expected.
I defined the start end/point using the built in option.
Set the required steps behind and in front it was taking image and moving the focus as expected.



hdslr

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3398 on: March 01, 2021, 05:15:48 PM »
Hello everyone ( sorry I don't speak English I translated for Deepl)
I have a 70D and haven't used the Magic Lanter for about 5 years. Installed today and I was lost lolll
1 - I would like to know if it is already possible to have a completely clean HDMI output, without any black bars to use on a Blackmagic atem mini table.
2- I don't like the original soft image from canon. The RAW image has much more detail than sony alpha. I would like to know if it is already possible to record full hd or near full hd continuous raw. I saw that it has 10/12/14 bit but stopped at maximum 20 seconds even using U3 card.
3 - Is there any recording without sesr RAW that has more detail in the image compared to the original?
4 - Which firmware should I use?


Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7883
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3399 on: March 01, 2021, 08:14:56 PM »
1: No. 1680x1080, 60 fps interlaced.
2: U3 is a pretty useless designation. 30 MByte/s isn't sufficient to reach cam's vanilla SD-card interface limit without overclocking: Around 43 MByte/s read, 40-ish write. Something like Sandisk Extreme Pro in the 170/160 MByte/s (as labeled) has given most consistent results with and without overclocking.
3: Nothing to write home about.
4: If you want to go after highest resolution in raw/MLV recording:https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=25786.msg234507#msg234507
Read first post (at least) of this thread.