Author Topic: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2  (Read 658786 times)

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2256
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #850 on: June 17, 2020, 03:23:39 AM »
Before Reddeer kills you,
I don't think there is a black bar in the 1880 Build. Its very old build, before unified.
:P
Yes in the old core code with raw_rec module before mlv_rec in 2014 ->2013
read this
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5533.msg37819#msg37819
https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/pull-requests/438/raw-recording-force-line-size-to-be/diff
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5533.msg106668#msg106668
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5533.msg83420#msg83420
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5533.msg55649#msg55649
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5533.msg55404#msg55404

If you like to try it on your 5D2 ML-build_Oct24_orginal_raw.zip
You have to delete all the old file from new builds except the "CROPMKS" folder (but it will work without it)
all you need for modules is  RAW_REC.MO & 5D2_212.SYM plus the AUTOEXEC.BIN in the root of the card .
so you have just 14bit , & 1880 or it can be switched off for just 1872 & 3x crop_mode has 2152 .

Milk and Coffee

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 95
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #851 on: June 17, 2020, 06:32:31 AM »
:P
Yes in the old core code with raw_rec module before mlv_rec in 2014 ->2013
read this
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5533.msg37819#msg37819
https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/pull-requests/438/raw-recording-force-line-size-to-be/diff
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5533.msg106668#msg106668
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5533.msg83420#msg83420
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5533.msg55649#msg55649
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5533.msg55404#msg55404

If you like to try it on your 5D2 ML-build_Oct24_orginal_raw.zip
You have to delete all the old file from new builds except the "CROPMKS" folder (but it will work without it)
all you need for modules is  RAW_REC.MO & 5D2_212.SYM plus the AUTOEXEC.BIN in the root of the card .
so you have just 14bit , & 1880 or it can be switched off for just 1872 & 3x crop_mode has 2152 .

So to catch up, ML is “unified” now? In layman’s terms, what does that mean exactly (for us non-coders?)

Reddeercity, is 1872px not available because the “unified” code requires 32px increments? Thus forcing us at a max 3x3 binned resolution of 1856?

Maybe the answer to the previous question will answer this one: Any way to get 1872px in the 5D2 nightly build?

(Thanks for answering these questions for us “late-adopters” of ML)
Gear: Canon 5D Mark II

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2256
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #852 on: June 18, 2020, 01:53:50 AM »
So to catch up, ML is “unified” now? In layman’s terms, what does that mean exactly (for us non-coders?)
“unified” as the word mean "Join together"
so the best parts of different development branches (including source code from the old core)
merged into the "unified" Source code which the nightly builds are based on .
Exception are things like "Crop_Rec" , "Dual_ISO Video" , etc. .... there are developer own branches
which is based on the "unified" source code with developer own modifications to the code .

Once the developer's code is stable & proven to work correctly they can 
submitted there code to the Admin (aka a1ex) to be joined with the "unified" source code (which the nightly are base on)
This the goal of all developer/coder in the end . 

Reddeercity, is 1872px not available because the “unified” code requires 32px increments? Thus forcing us at a max 3x3 binned resolution of 1856?
Short answer , Yes

Any way to get 1872px in the 5D2 nightly build?
I do believe that the mlv_lite module has the work around to get 1880 but at a cost .
There no audio support on d4/5d2 , you can't kill the overlays(global draw) where recording
which reduces the record time by at least 30+% .
mlv_lite is mainly mean for compressed raw ( which has has reduce data rate) which the 5d2 does not (Yet)
thou it still work fine

But sometime down the road I could possibly add support for 1880(3x3) in my "Crop_Rec" branch    for mlv_rec module that has audio support
That would be more then likely way down on my priority list . 

Milk and Coffee

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 95
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #853 on: June 18, 2020, 03:03:15 PM »
Thanks so much for the clarification reddeercity!! And thanks for your ongoing development!!
Gear: Canon 5D Mark II

Milk and Coffee

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 95
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #854 on: June 19, 2020, 11:25:34 PM »
Another question. Lol. Sorry!

Does it matter what movie setting is set in normal canon menus for MLV recording if I always use FPS Override?
Gear: Canon 5D Mark II

Wlad81

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #855 on: June 21, 2020, 08:38:11 PM »
I'm deeply sorry, but who could, please, be so kind to tell me where I could find all current RAW capabilities of 5D Mk II?

2blackbar

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 408

Milk and Coffee

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 95
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #857 on: June 22, 2020, 07:59:16 PM »

But sometime down the road I could possibly add support for 1880(3x3) in my "Crop_Rec" branch    for mlv_rec module that has audio support
That would be more then likely way down on my priority list .

@reddeercity, thanks so much!

Just some thoughts here, to help me wrap my head around this:

As of now, 1856px (3x3) crops the field of view 1.01x (IE: 50mm equivalent is 50.5mm.) If we could get 1872, we could get a full field of view in 3x3 mode. But would require a resolution increment of 16px. What are the caveats of a smaller resolution increment?

Thank you!! Happy to help in any way needed!
Gear: Canon 5D Mark II

projectk

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #858 on: July 04, 2020, 06:23:19 AM »
I see a lot of users posting about 3x3 and 1x3 mode.
I'm a bit confused as to what this is, is there an explanation of what it is anywhere?

Sorry if this is a stupid question.

eatmcycrackers

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #859 on: July 27, 2020, 06:12:49 AM »
I am sorry if this is a stupid question. I have a 5D Mark ii with the latest ML firmware added and a Atomos Ninja 5.

Right now I am at a standstill because the Ninja is saying "no input" despite an HDMI cord being connected from the Mini HDMI out from the camera to the HDMI IN on the Ninja.

Are there further settings I must toggle in the camera to be able to record on the Ninja 5? It is not reading anything at all, the cord is new

Gomba

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #860 on: July 30, 2020, 10:55:41 AM »
Could you guys tell me briefly about the slow motion capabilities of this camera?
With its 77MB/s write speed and buffer size of 219mb it seems multiple times more powerful than the eos M.
Ive checked out the Magic Lantern RAW Calculator and got some promising results with 48 and 60fps. But does it work in reality?
I barely see people doing slow motion with this camera and Im concerned if its working at all. Ive seen Zeek pulling off some remarkable
48fps footages but can the 5D mark II do better?

Currently Im being in Japan (where cameras are cheap) and Im in a haste about what camera to buy so a little bit of info would help me a lot!

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2256
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #861 on: July 31, 2020, 04:17:18 AM »
Could you guys tell me briefly about the slow motion capabilities of this camera?
.....  But does it work in reality?
I barely see people doing slow motion with this camera and Im concerned if its working at all.
??
So what make you think that 48p doesn't work ?
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=19336.msg182476#msg182476

Gomba

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #862 on: July 31, 2020, 10:20:35 AM »
Thank you for your reply!

I was actually aware of this post but im still concerned as
Quote
Same as before , it may lockup , freeze , etc. ... you guy know the routine
48p can be hard to enable.

I'd like to know how reliable is it because I want to do slow motion in music videos. Also,
Quote
enable 4k Anamorphic for a few second then switch to "FHD 48p" press the play but twice .
should I do this before every take or once I'm this 48fps setting I'd be able to do multiple takes without tinkering again?
Furthermore, I found no info on how long you can record in this mode. Also It seems as 60fps mode is out of question but I want to make sure weather meaningful 60fps is possible or not.

I do understand that this camera+ml is not ideal for pro level slow motion shots but I got to do the best with the little money I have now....
 

OneCameraDude

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Hi
5D Mkii stuck at firmware update program when battery is inserted.
« Reply #863 on: August 18, 2020, 02:46:24 AM »
so I recently got a friend broken 5D Mkii. the problem is the second i insert the LP-E6N battery it jumps to life and goes into the firmware update firmware and when i attempt to update it, it goes to 99% or sometimes 23% and pops up "Update file error. Please check the memory card and reload the battery and try again." i can't access the menu or anything, im stuck in it and i tried everything. my friend never used magic lantern but i been on other forums and asked canon collectives, etc and im at a lost. i tried everything to different CF cards/batterys to pulling the thing apart to see if something was lose or missing on the logic board. i tried looking for older firmwares since the original firmware is 1.0.7 trying to update to firmware 2.1.2 but i had no luck in finding anything. i even tried putting magic lantern on it even tho the firmware isn't 2.1.2 but i got one flash on the LED and a black screen. im at the point thinking it's a logic board issue or something. please help, thank you in advance

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7489
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #864 on: August 31, 2020, 04:34:43 PM »
Use a card > 32 GByte or use partitioning software to create a smaller partition using FAT32.
Copy firmware file 2.1.2 and try to close update cycle.
If unlucky: Use Web Archive Wayback Machine and browse archived versions of Pelican's repository (www.pel.hu/eoscard). Delete other firmware versions from card and retry with older versions.
Report results.

OneCameraDude

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Hi
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #865 on: September 13, 2020, 06:34:31 AM »
the 1st thing you said didn't work. HOWEVER the second one with using the Archive has worked and i got it working on 1.0.7 and have updated to 1.1.0 HOWEVER i ran into a few problems. i keep getting a error 70 when taking a photo sometimes and is really annoying because i might miss that shot, i tried different CF cards and the 2nd problem is that i can't update to 1.2.4 or anything higher. so the camera says it's on 1.1.0 however when i go into the update program, it says "current version 1.0.7" when it supposed to be on 1.1.0. i tried updating to 1.2.4 but the link you gave me the 1.2.4 file was corrupted but i found another one and tried updating but it ended up bricking the camera again and i had to go back onto 1.0.7 or 1.1.0.

there's also another weird issue when i turn the camera off and turn it back on, it resets SOME of my settings like video format and LCD brightness and the most annoying, it resets my picture settings. tho it keeps the clock and date and my other settings, i replaced the clock battery (which was almost dead anyway) but i still get these issues. i want to update to the latest but i need the firmware update problem to say it's on 1.1.0 instead of 1.0.7 so i can update in order.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7489
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #866 on: September 13, 2020, 08:53:21 AM »
Reinstall 1.0.7.
Reset camera defaults. Including Fn settings.
Install 2.1.2 (it is not necessary to go through all firmware updates. Firmware files are comulative and contain all fixes coming with older firmware versions)