Author Topic: Canon 70D  (Read 1670172 times)

TechnoPilot

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 90
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1075 on: May 19, 2015, 10:41:05 PM »
@maitimaus, This is largely speculation and I do not feel like finding out if this is how ML is on other cameras but, I think its a safe bet to say that... When shooting RAW the digital ISO's are disabled so we are left with the actual ISO's as options only. Also any iso inbetween exposure 'changes' you see in camera could be considered just live view simulation?

I was going to wait and let someone else answer but since no one has, maybe someone will correct me if I'm wrong.
@chrisfrancia, @maitimaus - This was also my assumption.
Cameras: Canon 70D - 70D.111B (Beta 2B)
Lenses: Sigma 18-35mm F1.8, Sigma 50-150mm F2.8 II
Video Gear: Shure Lenshopper VP83F, Rode Filmmaker Kit, DSLR Controller w/ TPLink MR3040

OlRivrRat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 520
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1076 on: May 20, 2015, 05:36:31 AM »
                        @Mallowsm & @TechnoPilot & @Chucho

          Sure seems to me that since it was Chucho that posted this ~

"Mallowsm you have to enable it yourself "70d B" 0xFF19B6C8 PROP_DUAL_OUTPUT"

That Chucho should step up & explain ~ as probably should have done in the 1st place ~
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML(AliveAgain)

austux

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1077 on: May 20, 2015, 07:06:51 AM »
ML seems to be working fine on a 70D ex Hong Kong (it wanted rev A 21 Apr of the ML Zip, when I started it with rev B 23 Apr on the card it told me off for wrong firmware revision).

Hello from Albany, Western Australia. My previous camera was a 40D, am delighted to be able to claim steady images in low light 'by hand' with the 70D which would have necessitated a tripod with the 40D (which meanwhile is in the hands of another family's 15yo eldest son, who is learning very fast).

Are there any plans afoot to circumvent the for-tax-reasons 29 minute 59 second firmware limitation on video recording length?

If so, what can I do to contribute?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6901
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1078 on: May 20, 2015, 07:28:42 AM »
H.264 recording will always stop at 23:59:59. All other cams have an option to restart recording automatically. Losing some frames cannot be avoided.
70D not restarting - at the moment - has to be called a bug.

MLV seamless recording for +30 minutes is not tested yet and I don't know why.
All other cams have this feature (Nightly builds after 01/29/2015).
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1079 on: May 20, 2015, 02:09:43 PM »
Still chasing for record ML_Raw after skipped frame.  This is available option on 5DMIII.
Not sure how many frames/time lost between stop/start, but certainly helps with high res. raw on 70D.

T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 85 1.8 "Shoot Wide and Prosper"

Mallowsm

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1080 on: May 20, 2015, 09:38:39 PM »
                        @Mallowsm & @TechnoPilot & @Chucho

          Sure seems to me that since it was Chucho that posted this ~

"Mallowsm you have to enable it yourself "70d B" 0xFF19B6C8 PROP_DUAL_OUTPUT"

That Chucho should step up & explain ~ as probably should have done in the 1st place ~

Thanks!

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1081 on: May 20, 2015, 11:04:59 PM »
As for 2048x856 @ 2.39, 5x zoom hence MF, fps dialed to 23.99.
I can get about 200 frames, however when I hit record the LCD freezes for the most part as well as the second counter, but its actually shooting.
So it maybe that fps is working but not updating the LCD screen when shooting, so its a very lame way of shooting. The picture is very sharp mind you.

Another question:  Not sure but somehow my Aperture is locked??? 
I cant adjust it using the usual button, I can only set it inside trash-can ML Expo menu and scroll to aperture???
How to turn the lock off???
-- OK problem solved,  CFIII other - item 2, uncheck the quick-control dial.  It was a Canon s/w setting.
T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 85 1.8 "Shoot Wide and Prosper"

flou

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1082 on: May 21, 2015, 12:38:01 PM »
So I thanks all for hard work!!!

My question is?

The 7d mkii have the ability to control how ‘’fast’’ the AF adjusts to a change in focus point in the move mode , (You can set the AF adjustment speed* (focus transition speed) to one of five levels, from standard speed to slow, to obtain the effect you desire. In addition, you can determine when the AF speed adjustment takes effect. “Always on” sets the AF adjustment speed to take effect at all times for movie shooting (before and during movie shooting). “During shooting” sets the AF adjustment speed to take effect only during movie shooting.)

So, this ability (adjusts the AF speed for movie) can the ML make possible for the 70D ?????????????????

This ability you can see in link: http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/consumer/standard_display/eos_7dmkii_feature_hd


AF speed



Movie Servo AF speed



Movie Servo AF track area
70D.111B

Mallowsm

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1083 on: May 21, 2015, 07:30:13 PM »
Id still love some help with the clean HDMI out on the 70d. Uncompressed. Like i said I've just purchased an atomos and id love to unlock its full potential, the camera this is. If anyone can help me please id be very grateful.

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1084 on: May 23, 2015, 10:31:20 PM »
Ok here's one to file away.
It seems the 70D runs hot.  And by that I mean I have yet to see anyone shoot 3200 ISO raw video for 30s without hot pixels (in rather significant numbers).
If one does the Canon "pixel remap" it only gets the pixels which are hot right away.  It does not get those that appear after 30s.
Yet in video, and especially raw shooting, we want to remap after 30s or so (as that's when the most appear).
So to enable the 70D to shoot video at 3200 ISO, one needs to hack the pixel remap, so it can correct for the hots at 30s.
One would need to filter as to remove any 255 (RGB).  Perhaps all one would need to do is click a picture after 30s, and
export to PS, and create a template that only has 255 RGB pixels on it.  Then one would need to read that picture back in,
and use it during the pixel remap.  ~ That's the best chance to get a proper pixel remap. 
Or we could wait for Canon's next 70D update (and the tooth fairy to put a quarter under your pillow).

Ofcourse the do nothing arguement goes like this.
High ISO video/pictures have blocky shadows and weaker colour.
So even if you get a high ISO raw video, its colours are not as rich as low ISO.
The whole advantage of raw video, is richer colours. 
So why not just shoot up to ISO 800 as a max. (which is about highest ISO with only a few hot pixels) for raw video to ensure your video has rich colours. 
If you must shoot high ISO video shoot in H264 (flat pic style for higher DR) with higher bitrate  (which gives slight better detail and contrast)
as comparable solution still providing blocky shadows and weaker colours.
   
T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 85 1.8 "Shoot Wide and Prosper"

MattNoir

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1085 on: May 24, 2015, 12:21:37 AM »
Just quick question - how do I run cr2hdr on a mac? I downloaded and installed exiftool and dcraw and it always says:

cr2hdr: a post processing tool for Dual ISO images

Last update: f381b87 on 2014-07-06 09:46:41 UTC by phil:
Fix output (-o) filename value passed to Adobe DNG Converter wh...

Active options:
--amaze-edge    : use a temporary demosaic step (AMaZE) followed by edge-directed interpolation (default)
--cs2x2         : apply 2x2 chroma smoothing in noisy and aliased areas (default)
--wb=graymax    : set AsShotNeutral by maximizing the number of gray pixels (default)

Input file      : /Users/Matt/Desktop/DualISO/IMG_7766.CR2
Camera          : Canon EOS 70D
Camera model    : Canon EOS
dcraw could not open this file

However I somehow managed it to work before (now it just says same text). What can be wrong?
70D.111A
Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM, Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM, Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM, Helios 44M-4

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1086 on: May 24, 2015, 12:29:42 AM »
When AUTO ISO is set in ML Exposure tab, the Canon ISO max is ignored.  That is a bug. ** Did not find a bug report link in page 1 article --- help**
AUTO ISO with ISO MAX is very important in low light shooting.
T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 85 1.8 "Shoot Wide and Prosper"

masterhks

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1087 on: May 24, 2015, 04:49:21 AM »
In the next ML update i like to developer fix softness focus on wide open lens, i contact canon to ask for new firmware update for AF fix but from canon tell me no more updates for 70D this is ridiculous..

Fatherjack57

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Using 70D-111A
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1088 on: May 25, 2015, 08:15:04 PM »
I installed ML version A on my 70d the other day.  I haven't tried everything as yet but most of it seems to work.  The only thing I find missing are the audio level meters, may be this has already been mentioned but I couldn't find anyone referring to them.  I have only just joined this forum so forgive me if I'm going over 'old ground'.  Will they be included in future up-dates or are they hidden and I can't find them ?

MiamiC70

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1089 on: May 25, 2015, 08:41:46 PM »
Any word when ML will be ready for Beta?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6901
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1090 on: May 25, 2015, 08:56:41 PM »
Yes, FAQ -> Troll section, last entries there.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

xsghost

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • 70D.111A
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1091 on: May 26, 2015, 07:43:25 AM »
I installed ML version A on my 70d the other day.  I haven't tried everything as yet but most of it seems to work.  The only thing I find missing are the audio level meters, may be this has already been mentioned but I couldn't find anyone referring to them.  I have only just joined this forum so forgive me if I'm going over 'old ground'.  Will they be included in future up-dates or are they hidden and I can't find them ?

There is no audio for this version of ML. And who knows what the future holds?..
70D.111A     - 600D, 70D, Canon 50 1.8 II, Sigma 30 1.4, Sigma 18-35 1.8, Tamron 17-50 2.8 VC

TechnoPilot

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 90
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1092 on: May 26, 2015, 08:47:09 AM »
In the next ML update i like to developer fix softness focus on wide open lens, i contact canon to ask for new firmware update for AF fix but from canon tell me no more updates for 70D this is ridiculous..
@masterhks - It would seem you either need your glass calibrated, your body, or both, but I have zero problem with very fast glass on my 70D including f1.4 and f1.2.  This has nothing to do with firmware.  Also I will point out that if you have the controlled environment to do it, you can also adjust the focus system to compensate on a lens by lens basis in the 70D, much like the 1D series originally pioneered.
Cameras: Canon 70D - 70D.111B (Beta 2B)
Lenses: Sigma 18-35mm F1.8, Sigma 50-150mm F2.8 II
Video Gear: Shure Lenshopper VP83F, Rode Filmmaker Kit, DSLR Controller w/ TPLink MR3040

masterhks

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1093 on: May 26, 2015, 06:43:56 PM »
@TechnoPilot - softness is only by VF not in LV and i calibrate lens few time but one time is +3 next time is +9 or +12, send to canon and back my camera and lens without fixed problem, and the 7D MARK II have the same problem but now with the new firmware 1.0.4 problem is solved....

TechnoPilot

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 90
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1094 on: May 26, 2015, 06:55:16 PM »
@TechnoPilot - softness is only by VF not in LV and i calibrate lens few time but one time is +3 next time is +9 or +12, send to canon and back my camera and lens without fixed problem, and the 7D MARK II have the same problem but now with the new firmware 1.0.4 problem is solved....
@masterhks - I hate to say but that sounds like either a specific problem with your body or lens.  I have not had any problem with my 70D on my f1.2, f1.4 or f1.8 lenses other then the need for one of them needing a calibration value that does fix it long-term.  I hate to say but I'm pretty positive what you are talking about though is not a general firmware issue for the 70D, are in the scope of Magic Lantern at this point, and definitely aren't in the scope of this alpha build.
Cameras: Canon 70D - 70D.111B (Beta 2B)
Lenses: Sigma 18-35mm F1.8, Sigma 50-150mm F2.8 II
Video Gear: Shure Lenshopper VP83F, Rode Filmmaker Kit, DSLR Controller w/ TPLink MR3040

chrisfrancia

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1095 on: May 26, 2015, 07:59:28 PM »
have you checked the diopter setting on your VF?
[5D3 1.2.3 ML] [6D 1.1.6 ML]

bigorna

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1096 on: May 26, 2015, 08:31:42 PM »
The diopter only affect the viewfinder, so it has nothing to do about this behavior either.
_______________________
 70D.111B

bigorna

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1097 on: May 26, 2015, 09:22:25 PM »
@TechnoPilot - softness is only by VF not in LV and i calibrate lens few time but one time is +3 next time is +9 or +12, send to canon and back my camera and lens without fixed problem, and the 7D MARK II have the same problem but now with the new firmware 1.0.4 problem is solved....

I still suspect that a different AFMA may be needed for different subject distances. I don't know how you did your tests, anyway I have to investigate this further.
I own a Canon 50mm 1.4

This thread should not be used for this discussion. Feel free to PM me if you want to exchange experiences about this, though.
_______________________
 70D.111B

MysteriousLight

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1098 on: May 26, 2015, 10:58:21 PM »
Sorry if this had already been adressed. I read about 10 pages and i havent seenit adressed directly. I havent installed the alpha build but im planning on testing it once it gets to beta. 

The current duration time for maximum resolition of 1800something x 764 is at 15 seconds. I read somewhere that there is a "movie restart" function to circumvent the 29:59 recording limit but not used for the higher resolution raw files. 

My question would be is the short duration time being worked on? Meaning do the developers intend to eventually increase the recording time to continuous for maximum resolution.

Im new to magic lantern so im not sure if this is a common ML quirk. Im planning on using ML for recording hour long footages so im interested in knowing developments regarding this issue.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6901
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1099 on: May 26, 2015, 11:06:01 PM »
1800 x 764 x 24 x 14 / 8 = 55 MByte/s required with 24 fps.
SD-card interface in 70D is limited to about 41 MByte/s and is nothing you can do about.
Mission impossible.

Lower frame rate or resolution.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!