Author Topic: Canon 70D  (Read 1737475 times)

hubie

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #325 on: February 11, 2015, 07:35:05 PM »
Thank you very much for your efforts to bring ML to the 70D. Just ordered the camera and looking forward on using ML soon!
But first I will get myself used to it with the standard interface ;D. Just registered to appreciate it and I will keep myself updated with the problems/feedback here!
Just for the switch to ML: Read about problems with "older" versions of the 70D. How can I roughly check what age my 70D has? (in case it has been stored at the reseller for quite some time)

Keep up the good work!

mongonuel

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #326 on: February 11, 2015, 07:35:36 PM »
Hello, it's normal to achieve 7s of recording on 1600x900 and 37s at 1280x720 in RAW?  (im using a 64G SDXC UHS-1 Lexar Professional 600x), great job nikfreak!

AhMeD

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #327 on: February 11, 2015, 08:09:42 PM »
First of all

BIG thanks to nikfreak for making this dream comes true also big thanks to a1ex for making it easy to get to this awesome achievement.

I have two things that accrued to me when i tried both Alpha2 and 3
  1- Temperature rises quickly and reaches 71°  :o

  2- Battery drain too fast

And still checking on other things

Thanks again @nikfreak & a1ex

Cheers 8)

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1163
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #328 on: February 11, 2015, 08:19:03 PM »
Ok Walter also wrote it but I repeat it again in hope someone of you can contribute and provide some detailed report regarding the temps. All you need to do is to follow this link:

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9673.msg93158

Just a quote from above linked thread:
Quote
especially because exiftool tells me, this 80°C are in reality only 60°C.  :)

Provide the real Exif temperatures and additionally the values shown by ML as instructed in link above. Afterwards we will try to update the build to show the real values...
70D.112 & 100D.101

pa0los

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #329 on: February 11, 2015, 08:52:55 PM »
I tried the FPS override with Alpha3.
Couldn't get this to work with FPS higher than 25 - real FPS was always showing 25.0
Seems to be working only when reducing FPS value.
Is this normal?

granan13

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #330 on: February 11, 2015, 08:56:19 PM »
Does bitrate work with someone ?

We can indeed modify the value and use the "up to 3.0x mode", but it doesn't seem to change anything :

- recorded two 5sec clips of the same scene, one with 1.0x and 3.0x, and they're the same size
- when you activate the bitrate info on liveview it shows the same values for 1.0 and 3.0.

Once more thanks a lot for this version
70D -- 18-135 stm -- Sigma 18-35 F1,8 -- Super takumar 50mm F1,4

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7220
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #331 on: February 11, 2015, 08:58:54 PM »
First page, first post. Section "What's not working"
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

PanzerMamba

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #332 on: February 11, 2015, 09:30:41 PM »
Hi,

After short raw session, and trying resolutions from 1260x720 to highest possible camera showed: Error 002 Not access to the card.

First try recorded only few seconds in 1260x720 then recording stoped. I tried 1600x900 but aftes 1 sec recording stoped, showed "nothing saved" and "maybe sd is full". But its 28GB free space on kingston 32GB u3 80MB/s (writing).

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1163
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #333 on: February 11, 2015, 09:53:16 PM »
Panzermamba you are the only one encountering such errors until now. Reading through your last posts it seems there's something wrong with your card. Reformat it  and afterwards do a benchmark test in debug menu and post the results. You should be able to reach at least ~35-40MB/s. That#s what the benchmark should print out if you run it.
if you can't reach those values your card may be faulty or you may even got a faked one...


@hubie:
Quote
How can I roughly check what age my 70D has? (in case it has been stored at the reseller for quite some time)
Simpy flash the included firmware according to install instructions on 1st post to find out what revision you got. If you don't succeed simply send it back...
70D.112 & 100D.101

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7220
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #334 on: February 11, 2015, 09:59:21 PM »
@PanzerMamba: Give h2testw a try, too. It would help to determine your card's actual storage capacity.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #335 on: February 12, 2015, 01:33:03 AM »
Hubie

According to the reports so far if your serial number is 6871947635 or less, the alpha build wont load.
If your serial number is higher it should load.  That's what the reported trend has been.
My best suggestion is take a ML loaded SD card with and verify in the store before you purchase,
else you will be exploring H264 (which is still rather decent on the 70D).




T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 85 1.8 "Shoot Wide and Prosper"

skanter

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #336 on: February 12, 2015, 03:54:43 AM »
My serial # is 022021000473

No good?

TKF Productions

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #337 on: February 12, 2015, 04:52:42 AM »
I have a question.  I did all the steps until downloading the EOSCARD Utility.  It all worked perfectly.  I only have Macs in my house.  I downloaded MacBoot from here: http://www.zenoshrdlu.com/macboot/macboot.html.  However, I'm not sure what to do from there.  I chose my SD card and then clicked Make CANON - Scriptable.  It didn't work and suggested I click "debug on".  I did and it is saying:

dd: /dev/disk7s1: Permission denied'
   return code was 1
Command 'diskutil mountDisk disk7' = 'Volume(s) mounted successfully'
   return code was 0

and below it says:

Making card bootable failed - retry with debug on for more information

Do I need a certain card? I am using a Sony 32GB card that writes at 40.  Can someone help with this MacBoot step? I am so close!!!  Thanks.

TKF Productions

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #338 on: February 12, 2015, 05:10:03 AM »
Sorry, please disregard my post above.  I got MacBoot to work and ML is working properly so far.  Thanks.

dussan007

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #339 on: February 12, 2015, 07:00:34 AM »
Sorry, please disregard my post above.  I got MacBoot to work and ML is working properly so far.  Thanks.

Hey! could you explain what you did to make it work? I'm getting the exact same error.

Thanks!

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3369
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #340 on: February 12, 2015, 07:08:54 AM »
Sounds like you have to give 'sudo' permission via Terminal.

I've encountered this issue once before and can be resolved!
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

TKF Productions

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #341 on: February 12, 2015, 07:33:56 AM »
Hey! could you explain what you did to make it work? I'm getting the exact same error.

Thanks!

Well for me it was just that I did things out of order - probably same for you.  Watch this:  and follow all the steps closely, particularly around 2:50 as that is what tripped me up.  Ended up just deleting all the prior downloads and then re-downloading it and doing it in this exact order.  It worked.  Also I was using Canon - Scriptable but you need to use DSLR - Bootable.

TKF Productions

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #342 on: February 12, 2015, 07:40:15 AM »
I will come back with a fuller report on what is working/not working later in the week, but for now almost everything is working great - finally have peaking, zebras and waveform on my 70D, not to mention internal intervalometer and other really innovative things (like a neat picture overlay) and certainly not to mention RAW capability.  I can only get 720p at 23.97 on my SD, but I will buy a new faster SD tomorrow and get it as high as I can.

A couple things I have noticed so far is that I'm not seeing how to get mlv_play in order to playback the raw clips.  Also, for some reason I'm not seeing the audio levels in movie mode.

But this is amazing and I am having so much fun with it.  It can actually compete for my love again with my newer a7s.

dussan007

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #343 on: February 12, 2015, 07:52:35 AM »
Well for me it was just that I did things out of order - probably same for you.  Watch this:  and follow all the steps closely, particularly around 2:50 as that is what tripped me up.  Ended up just deleting all the prior downloads and then re-downloading it and doing it in this exact order.  It worked.  Also I was using Canon - Scriptable but you need to use DSLR - Bootable.

Thank you very much! working great now :)

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3369
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #344 on: February 12, 2015, 08:11:17 AM »
@TKF Productions: When recording in MLV and want Audio -- you need to go to Audio section within ML menu and scroll down to turn on MLV sound.
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

andrewcrane

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #345 on: February 12, 2015, 08:16:13 AM »
I've heard that the 70D can't internally write fast enough onto cards, regardless of the cards write speed, for continuous 1080 RAW. Would an external recorder, such as the Atomos Ninja Star, be a solution to this? Or are these devices only able to record ProRes?

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1163
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #346 on: February 12, 2015, 09:07:32 AM »
Guys I really urge you to have a look at the source code to see what's going on. To clear some things up:

Alpha builds have property request changes disabled as stated in first post. Therefore MLV recording is not available. Same for dot-tune, fullres-silent-pics.
Raw recording module works as it doesn't require property request changes. But that's not MLV.
The device tree has a "features" file. Look in there and you will see that audio features and a bunch of other stuff are disabled....
70D.112 & 100D.101

robert0

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #347 on: February 12, 2015, 11:49:28 AM »
Hi guys. I'm new here, so first THANK YOU to a1ex, nikfreak, nanomad and all others who participate in develop ML.
Nikfreak asked us for a table with temperatures displayed by ML and those stored in CR2. So here it is:
Code: [Select]
24 27
26 28
26 30
27 31
27 32
34 33
33 33
34 34
35 34
37 35
38 36
38 37
40 38
40 39
48 39
48 39
48 40
50 41
50 41
50 42
53 43
53 44
60 44
60 45
60 44
63 46
65 48
65 48
65 48
67 49
67 49
67 49
72 51
71 51
71 52
71 52
75 52
77 53
80 52
81 57
88 58
87 59
89 60
89 61
first column is readout from ML overlay, second is pulled from CR2 by exiftool.
Camera was in LiveView mode and time difference between first and last pics is 30 minutes.

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1163
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #348 on: February 12, 2015, 12:07:41 PM »
Hi robert0,

welcome and thank you for taking the time to provide the values.
70D.112 & 100D.101

walter_schulz

  • Contributor
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 396
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #349 on: February 12, 2015, 12:17:06 PM »
If able provide values up to 60. If higher: Better.
Larger temperature range will give a more accurate data set.