Author Topic: Canon 70D  (Read 1777021 times)

robert0

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #350 on: February 12, 2015, 02:14:32 PM »
OK, I made aditional read up. Up to 81°C by ML. It wan't go much higher (24°C amb. here) and I wan't go further too, since camera is 2 month old....  ;)
Original reply was updated with new numbers.

walter_schulz

  • Contributor
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 396
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #351 on: February 12, 2015, 02:18:30 PM »
A warm welcome, robert0! ;-)

Mallowsm

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #352 on: February 12, 2015, 02:31:41 PM »
Hi, Congrats on the ML for the 70d been waiting for this a long time since i got mine, it works a treat. Ive been through the user guide as this is my first canon dslr so my first go at using magic lantern. How do you shoot raw video from the ML menu. Ive tried it all and im still recording H264.

robert0

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #353 on: February 12, 2015, 02:58:56 PM »
Thank you wlater_shulz, warm to the letter  :)
Now maybe i will look like a nit-picker, but still: some apertures on ML overlay are slightly off:
Code: [Select]
5,0 4,9
6,3 6,4
7,1 7,0
9,0 9,1
10 9,9
13 12
20 19
29 28
first column is what shows LCD panel, and second ML overlay. These are just wrong values.
I tried this on Tamron AF 17-50 2.8 non VC and Canon 17-85 IS USM. Wrong values was same on both lenses.

And one question: what is -0.5° value on appended screenshot (top-left corner):

When I turn on camera, this value it's not there, just time. But after a while it pop's out. Values what I noticed was =0.0° (green type, others was white), -0.5°, -1.0°, -2.0°

PanzerMamba

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #354 on: February 12, 2015, 03:08:02 PM »
Ok, here is a test report from H2testw v1.4

Warning: Only 30591 of 30592 MByte tested.
Test finished without errors.
You can now delete the test files *.h2w or verify them again.
Writing speed: 62.6 MByte/s
Reading speed: 63.1 MByte/s
H2testw v1.4

Maybe problem is in file system (fat32, nfts, exfat) on SD or
allocation unit size (16KB, 32KB, 64KB?)

TKF Productions

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #355 on: February 12, 2015, 03:14:58 PM »
Hi, Congrats on the ML for the 70d been waiting for this a long time since i got mine, it works a treat. Ive been through the user guide as this is my first canon dslr so my first go at using magic lantern. How do you shoot raw video from the ML menu. Ive tried it all and im still recording H264.

Have you installed the RAW module?  Once you do that, then you have to actually go in the video menu and turn on RAW and set the resolution.

TKF Productions

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #356 on: February 12, 2015, 03:21:12 PM »
Hi guys. I'm new here, so first THANK YOU to a1ex, nikfreak, nanomad and all others who participate in develop ML.

Absolutely. Thank you to all those who develop Magic Lantern, including a1ex, nikfreak, nanomad, the fact that all this fantastic software is free is just amazing.  Thanks for all your hard work on this.  You guys are the best!

Mallowsm

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #357 on: February 12, 2015, 03:34:18 PM »
How do i install the raw module? Again sorry if its staring me in the face

TKF Productions

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #358 on: February 12, 2015, 04:33:38 PM »
How do i install the raw module? Again sorry if its staring me in the face

Scroll over to the Modules list in the ML menu (think it's like third from the right) and click on the one that says raw.

walter_schulz

  • Contributor
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 396
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #359 on: February 12, 2015, 04:36:20 PM »
Maybe problem is in file system (fat32, nfts, exfat) on SD or
allocation unit size (16KB, 32KB, 64KB?)

NTFS won't run at all inside 70D. The cam will ask you to format it. Cards with 30/32 GByte will be formatted with FAT32 by the cam. I never heard of block size errors with Canon cams.
Alas, there has to be a cause for this.

Format the card using your cardreader. Insert in cam and format again. Back into cardreader again and run EOScard to make card bootable. Delete ML directory and Autoexec.bin (if any) and copy extracted alpha contents to card. Insert card into cam and startup. Results?

dmilligan

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3218
  • 60Da / 1100D / EOSM
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #360 on: February 12, 2015, 10:21:34 PM »
These are just wrong values.
If you want to get picky, it's actually the Canon values that are wrong. The camera uses 1/8 stop increments internally, so 1/3 stop increments are actually approximated to the nearest 1/8 stop. So if you calculate based on the true aperture in 1/8 stop increments (which ML does), you will get the values you are seeing.

f-number = sqrt(2^AV)
ML                                   |  Canon
sqrt(2^(5 + 3/8)) = 6.44  |  sqrt(2^(5 + 1/3)) = 6.349
sqrt(2^(5 + 5/8)) = 7.03  |  sqrt(2^(5 + 2/3)) = 7.12
sqrt(2^(6 + 3/8)) = 9.11  |  sqrt(2^(6 + 1/3)) = 8.97
and so forth...

The same goes for shutter speed. So, if you don't believe me that Canon is lying to you, then set your camera on 30 second exposure and time it with a stop watch.

mattdutiel

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #361 on: February 12, 2015, 11:21:58 PM »
First and foremost, thank you so very much for all the hard work everyone involved has put in!

I have downloaded and successfully installed Alpha3 and will do a full report later on what does/doesn't work...

But while reading though this whole forum, I am left wondering the same thing as andrewcrane...

Quote
I've heard that the 70D can't internally write fast enough onto cards, regardless of the cards write speed, for continuous 1080 RAW. Would an external recorder, such as the Atomos Ninja Star, be a solution to this? Or are these devices only able to record ProRes?

It appeared that people seem to say that the card writer speed is not fast enough... is this true? if so could someone explain how older cameras would be able to output at the correct write speeds and not a camera that is seemingly newer? (i am just not sure i understand the process behind writing raw v. compressed and how fast the write speed needs to be...)

any info or a point in the right direction would be greatly appreciated!

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7359
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #362 on: February 12, 2015, 11:30:54 PM »
Write speed needed in RAW/MLV:
Vertical pixel * horizontal pixel * bit depth * frame rate / 8 -> Byte/s

Bit depth for Canon RAW is 14 bit. Division by 8 to get bytes instead of bits.

Example
1280 * 720 * 14 * 24 / 8 -> 38707200 Byte/s -> 36.9 MByte/s
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

mattdutiel

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #363 on: February 13, 2015, 01:29:45 AM »
thank you Walter Schulz, that definitely helped.

Quote
Write speed needed in RAW/MLV:
Vertical pixel * horizontal pixel * bit depth * frame rate / 8 -> Byte/s

Bit depth for Canon RAW is 14 bit. Division by 8 to get bytes instead of bits.

Example
1280 * 720 * 14 * 24 / 8 -> 38707200 Byte/s -> 36.9 MByte/s

So the card write speeds seem to be just above 40MByte/s... (based on things that I have seen other people posting in this form from benchmark tests...)

so then there is no way that full 1920x1080 RAW/MLV will be possible (based on hardware limitations) on the 70d?

if so thats a bummer, but I was really the most excited about audio features that will come with a later release...


pa0los

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #364 on: February 13, 2015, 09:24:48 AM »
I don't believe anyone answered my question.
Is this to be expected that we can't crank up the FPS?
I tried it only with H264 - maybe it applies only for RAW?

I tried the FPS override with Alpha3.
Couldn't get this to work with FPS higher than 25 - real FPS was always showing 25.0
Seems to be working only when reducing FPS value.
Is this normal?

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1171
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #365 on: February 13, 2015, 10:01:25 AM »
paolos read 1st post. it's noted in changelog.
70D.112 & 100D.101

Filip

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #366 on: February 13, 2015, 01:58:38 PM »
Sorry about the repeat question but is it normal for the intervalometer to not be working in M mode?

If not can you let me know if there is a specific way for me to share more information about the issue (sorry I'm pretty new to ML).

Thanks!

robert0

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #367 on: February 13, 2015, 02:46:37 PM »
If you want to get picky, it's actually the Canon values that are wrong...

OK, thank you for explanation. It's not a big deal. I can live with that.
BTW 30s exposure took 32s  :o


FireM

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #368 on: February 13, 2015, 03:45:07 PM »
ok, after i tested it some days, i found a Problem with starting Magic Lantern.

If i turn the 70D on, it happens, that sometimes Magic Lantern doesn't react und doesn't started.
I have to turn it 1-5 times on and off to get it work. Mostly it happens, if i turn the camera in Movie Mode on,
but sometimes it also happens after waking up from standby.

Haven´t saw a similar problem until now, am i the only one? Or is this a know bug ?


nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1171
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #369 on: February 13, 2015, 04:05:04 PM »
FireM I never encountered your problems and I am switching on / off cam a dozen of times while testing.
Try to reproduce it and note down when it exactly happens.
It might be that your cam crashes or the display gets powered off but the cam is still active? Any crash logs on your sdcard? Next time it happens try also to remove battery and retry. Maybe also reformat your card and start from scratch to see if it happens again...
70D.112 & 100D.101

Rico2007

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #370 on: February 13, 2015, 05:25:32 PM »
I have the serial number 5302200xxxx.

ML nuisance not install on my 70d, why ???

Abe

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #371 on: February 13, 2015, 07:10:57 PM »
Also did a temperature tests.
A 34 min time frame, 1 shot per minute.

Code: [Select]
17 21
28 27
29 29
36 30
39 31
39 32
41 33
41 34
46 35
51 36
51 37
51 38
51 38
56 40
56 41
56 42
58 42
58 43
58 44
63 44
63 45
62 45
67 46
67 46
67 46
67 47
67 47
69 48
74 49
74 49
74 49
74 50
74 50
76 50
76 50

Did not insist on higher temperatures, the back of the camera was getting warm.

Hope that helps.

FireM

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #372 on: February 13, 2015, 07:30:29 PM »
ok nikfreak, i will test some things, and wrote my resoluts down

JohnnyG_71

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #373 on: February 13, 2015, 08:40:46 PM »
I have the serial number 5302200xxxx.

ML nuisance not install on my 70d, why ???

Please read.....
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=14309.msg140034#msg140034
Thanks.
Canon 70D (70D.111B). Canon: EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM, EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS STM, EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM, EF 50mm f/1.8 STM. Sigma: 150-600mm f/5-6.3 DG OS HSM C, 105mm f/2.8 EX DG OS HSM, 30mm f/1.4 DC HSM A, 4.5mm f/2.8 EX DC HSM Circular Fisheye. Samyang 16mm f/2 ED AS UMC CS.

X-STATE

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha3 11th February)
« Reply #374 on: February 14, 2015, 05:42:12 PM »
who knows?
how to deal with hot pixels when shooting video RAW?

OK, I think I have this problem
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5614.0
Body: Canon EOS 70D Lenses: Sigma 18-35mm f1.8 DC HSM Canon EF 85 f/1.8 USM
70D.112