Author Topic: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording  (Read 755100 times)

Picture and Color

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1325 on: May 19, 2013, 09:56:46 AM »
Need a hand. I tried to go back to an earlier build and loaded the older files on to the CF card.

When I booted up the camera with this older build, ML did not run. Strange. So I tried to update firmware again. Partway through the process it appeared frozen at the 'boot flag enabled' message. I had to take the battery out.

Upon restart, ML does not run at all, no matter which build I have on my CF card. Also, when I try to update the firmware, it says no firmware update found and I have to pop out the battery.

Edit: Went and loaded the Mk3 alpha... then went back to the development May 17 build and it's back to normal. Leaving this one here in case someone else encounters this.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5698
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1326 on: May 19, 2013, 10:32:14 AM »
Need a hand. I tried to go back to an earlier build and loaded the older files on to the CF card.

When I booted up the camera with this older build, ML did not run. Strange. So I tried to update firmware again. Partway through the process it appeared frozen at the 'boot flag enabled' message. I had to take the battery out.

Upon restart, ML does not run at all, no matter which build I have on my CF card. Also, when I try to update the firmware, it says no firmware update found and I have to pop out the battery.

Edit: Went and loaded the Mk3 alpha... then went back to the development May 17 build and it's back to normal. Leaving this one here in case someone else encounters this.

Did you try formatting the card on the computer before putting in another ML version?

5DanielMIII

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • -I love JESUS and MagicLantern-
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1327 on: May 19, 2013, 10:49:39 AM »

Really pushing the colors!:-)
Raw vs h.264 video

Thanks to MLheroes;-) all over the world for donating their time doing this!!!
I am thankful that Jesus and MagicLantern exist, because they both change lives!

Andy600

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1857
  • Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1328 on: May 19, 2013, 11:18:14 AM »
Courtesy of James Miller. This is lovely!

Colorist working with Davinci Resolve, Baselight, Nuke, After Effects & Premier Pro. Occasional Sunday afternoon DOP. Developer of Cinelog-C Colorspace Management and LUTs - www.cinelogdcp.com

Habitat

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1329 on: May 19, 2013, 11:33:01 AM »
Courtesy of James Miller. This is lovely!


I need to go and shoot today

budafilms

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 711
  • 5D Mark a1ex
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1330 on: May 19, 2013, 11:50:17 AM »
Need a hand. I tried to go back to an earlier build and loaded the older files on to the CF card.

When I booted up the camera with this older build, ML did not run. Strange. So I tried to update firmware again. Partway through the process it appeared frozen at the 'boot flag enabled' message. I had to take the battery out.

Upon restart, ML does not run at all, no matter which build I have on my CF card. Also, when I try to update the firmware, it says no firmware update found and I have to pop out the battery.

Edit: Went and loaded the Mk3 alpha... then went back to the development May 17 build and it's back to normal. Leaving this one here in case someone else encounters this.

Same problem. Err 80. Any ideas?

jakdaniel1975

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1331 on: May 19, 2013, 12:47:37 PM »
Hello everyone, yesterday analyzing the dng file after conversion with raw2dng and comparing them with raw files taken with the same settings and lighting, I realized that working them in lightroom appear compression artifacts .. I do not know if developers ml if they are noticed .... I am attaching a 'picture .. or lowered the value of clarity .... https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/71964196/CR2vsDNG.jpg

high  cr2

down  dng

bronson

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1332 on: May 19, 2013, 01:08:45 PM »
New video test shots.
Canon 5d Mark 2
Tokina 16-28mm, Sigma 70-200mm, Canon 24-105mm
Magic Lantern Build 16th may

Severail shots @1080p @960p @900p @840p
CF : Transcend 32Gb 1000x
Write 80-85mb/s and read 120-130mb/s but only 65mb/s in LV for now.


DNG are developped with Canon ACR and edited with After Effects (upscaled from 2 to 10 %)

eyeland

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
  • 5D Mark Spree
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1333 on: May 19, 2013, 01:17:41 PM »
A proposal to this wonderful Open Source community!

To help the DEVS and everybody it would be a good idea if specific RAW video issues are discussed in a separate thread based on the camera under discussion.

5D3  Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
HERE:  http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5473.0

5D2  Raw video on 5DMK2
HERE:  http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5419.0

600D Uncompressed 600D Raw Video 
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5494.0

650D I dont see a specific RAW video thread.  Should there be one??  Anyone care to propose so I can update this message?

6D I dont see a specific RAW video thread.  Should there be one??  Anyone care to propose so I can update this message?
Any other ones??  Anyone care to propose so I can update this message?

--------------------

Also there are other specific threads for  stated by by g3g00 and Alex:

All questions regarding RAW VIDEO POST PROCESSING on any OS
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5404.0

All questions regarding RAW_REC MODULE COMPILATION/INSTALLATION/USAGE
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5405.0

Card benchmark - what's the optimal write buffer size?
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5471.0

Supported 1000x CF cards for continuous RAW recording
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5391.0

--------------------

Also there are three How to threads under Creative Tutorials that I have posted:

How to: -- RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 --
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5451.0

How to: -- RAW Digital Cropped Video on 5D3--
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?board=15.0

How to: -- 60fps RAW Video for 5D3 --
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5472.0

Maybe all of this should be added to first post as a sort of directory that can be updated where required.
uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5247.0

--------------------

Installation Stuff:

How to install Magic Lantern on 5D Mark III
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=2602.0

Where to get Canon Firmware 1.1.3 for sure:
HERE: http://pel.hu/eoscard/

Where to get Compiled Nightly Builds?
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5413.0
+1
been waiting/asking for this patiently :)
Daybreak broke me loose and brought me back...

Mayo

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1334 on: May 19, 2013, 01:26:17 PM »
Hey guys,

First, congratulations on the breakthrough: it's mindblowing, I feel like Darius Khondji  8)

However I do have the same battery draining (when camera off) problem as nahua below, on 6D. This is fairly worrying... anyone else having this problem? Devs?

I'd like to thank the developers, all this work is just awesome!  However I have problems with the battery consumption.  Even after my 5dmkIII is off, the LED still blinks from time to time and my camera stays warm.  Also, battery power goes down real fast.  I have to remove the battery if I'm leaving it alone for awhile.  Any ideas?

Cheers, and thanks again for the great work.

eyeland

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
  • 5D Mark Spree
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1335 on: May 19, 2013, 01:27:16 PM »
This is an overprocessed image, but I wanted to test it from Andrew Reid's 600D raw samples.
It's a 960x480, 240dpi resolution image. And when upscaled to 1920 horizontal resolution, it almost totally emulates the clarity of super 16 film!

Nice! When mentioned earlier, for some reason I thought that the 240dpi was too good to be true. Would love to see a comparison between 5D3 raw upscaled to 4K and 4K from BMC and 1D C respectively
Daybreak broke me loose and brought me back...

OliverRH

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1336 on: May 19, 2013, 01:29:45 PM »
Hello everyone, yesterday analyzing the dng file after conversion with raw2dng and comparing them with raw files taken with the same settings and lighting, I realized that working them in lightroom appear compression artifacts .. I do not know if developers ml if they are noticed .... I am attaching a 'picture .. or lowered the value of clarity .... https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/71964196/CR2vsDNG.jpg

high  cr2

down  dng
Yeh that look weird..
Maybe a raw2cr2 is possible?
I don't have that much experience with Lighteroom, but do you have to set how many bit you're working with?

AndreasK

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1337 on: May 19, 2013, 01:45:48 PM »
Be sure to shoot 1928 width to get the same FOV as when shooting stills. Just did a comparsion. With 1928 + cropleft 7 and cropright 1 you get the identical piture as with a CR2 still. H264 is cropped and scaled  :o

https://plus.google.com/u/0/b/111134722005606605004/111134722005606605004/posts/TE4uJBWZU5m

vicnaum

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • 600D warrior
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1338 on: May 19, 2013, 01:54:58 PM »
I wonder, if we can implement some lossless bayer compression algorithm. Take a look at this paper:
http://www4.comp.polyu.edu.hk/~cslzhang/paper/RTI_05_Aug.pdf

It's pretty old (2005), and maybe something newer has been done from that time, but... 4-5 bits for pixel! From a 8bit source - that's 2x compression. And maybe 14bit will compress better, dunno.

REDCODE, Cineform, etc - also compress RAW bayer data (although lossy, but...)

Anyways - uncompressed RAW data is too much overbandwidth, so sooner or later some compression that can be handled by our little camera processors - should be done. And I will be patiently waiting for it.

Redrocks

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
  • 5D2 Windows
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1339 on: May 19, 2013, 02:02:47 PM »
A proposal to this wonderful Open Source community!

To help the DEVS and everybody it would be a good idea if specific RAW video issues are discussed in a separate thread based on the camera under discussion.




+1 and maybe change the title of this thread to direct everyone to the first post for FAQ.

mvejerslev

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1340 on: May 19, 2013, 02:08:23 PM »
>When mentioned earlier, for some reason I thought that the 240dpi was too good to be true

There is some confusion regarding dpi (ppi) in here. Resolution information does not matter at all when media is displayed on a monitor. On a monitor, the media will always display at the monitors resolution (ppi). The only thing that matters for size on a monitor is the medias dimensions (xy pixels) together with the ppi of the display unit.

Embedded resolution info is only used in print, to determine how many of those xy pixels should fit in one inch on paper.
5D Mark II, PC

vipmask

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • AEROCRANE.RU
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1341 on: May 19, 2013, 02:56:26 PM »
Why? As it can be solved?
Flying camera in Russia

Yoshiyuki Blade

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • 5D2
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1342 on: May 19, 2013, 05:11:16 PM »
I was messing around with the audio + video recording and had trouble syncing it up. After a quick search, I found that this was a general issue with ML's audio recorder ever since it was introduced, and that 1% investigated it for a bit. I wonder what's going on here. Even if I adjust the sample rate to some arbitrary value to sync it up perfectly, I don't think it'll guarantee sync at other parts of the clip. Testing the video frame rate with a stopwatch showed that it stays smooth and steady. Is there some kind of syncing process that happens in real time for normal recording? That might be why recording with audio on cost such a huge amount of overhead versus recording it separately lol.

menoc

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 272
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1343 on: May 19, 2013, 06:01:15 PM »
Courtesy of James Miller. This is lovely!


The 5D3 Miller is using has the OLPF removed. Which gives the image an added boost in sharpness. The image is stunning!

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1344 on: May 19, 2013, 06:11:29 PM »
Quote
Is there some kind of syncing process that happens in real time for normal recording? That might be why recording with audio on cost such a huge amount of overhead versus recording it separately lol.


Canon does something... seems to have been fixed with dma_memcpy which was taken out on 5dIII. It doesn't stretch anymore so much. Still a little shorter than video so I think you have to sync from one of the ends.

Vegandelight

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1345 on: May 19, 2013, 06:31:29 PM »
I got pulled the last build. Doesnt compile anymore. Crap.


Edit: Redid it all, now its working again. May19th.

The Hack3D mode gave me the ability to shoot 1920x1280. But the cards seems to be so inconsistent, or do you change buffer size every time the shooting start? A1ex?

It goes from like not being able to shoot 1920x1080 for more than 1 second, to shooting 4gb worth of 1920x1280.

rs555

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1346 on: May 19, 2013, 09:08:05 PM »
On my 5d2: when I run it at 1280x1080 it seems that the recording area (white rectangle) is not at the center position when an external monitor is attached via HDMI. Might just be a display problem...

payne

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1347 on: May 19, 2013, 11:08:19 PM »
A proposal to this wonderful Open Source community!

To help the DEVS and everybody it would be a good idea if specific RAW video issues are discussed in a separate thread based on the camera under discussion.

5D3  Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
HERE:  http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5473.0

5D2  Raw video on 5DMK2
HERE:  http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5419.0

600D Uncompressed 600D Raw Video 
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5494.0

650D I dont see a specific RAW video thread.  Should there be one??  Anyone care to propose so I can update this message?

6D I dont see a specific RAW video thread.  Should there be one??  Anyone care to propose so I can update this message?
Any other ones??  Anyone care to propose so I can update this message?

--------------------

Also there are other specific threads for  stated by by g3g00 and Alex:

All questions regarding RAW VIDEO POST PROCESSING on any OS
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5404.0

All questions regarding RAW_REC MODULE COMPILATION/INSTALLATION/USAGE
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5405.0

Card benchmark - what's the optimal write buffer size?
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5471.0

Supported 1000x CF cards for continuous RAW recording
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5391.0

--------------------

Also there are three How to threads under Creative Tutorials that I have posted:

How to: -- RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 --
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5451.0

How to: -- RAW Digital Cropped Video on 5D3--
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?board=15.0

How to: -- 60fps RAW Video for 5D3 --
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5472.0

Maybe all of this should be added to first post as a sort of directory that can be updated where required.
uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5247.0

--------------------

Installation Stuff:

How to install Magic Lantern on 5D Mark III
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=2602.0

Where to get Canon Firmware 1.1.3 for sure:
HERE: http://pel.hu/eoscard/

Where to get Compiled Nightly Builds?
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5413.0

We need to make sure and have a 60D thread when it's time. I am under the impression that the 60D will have the same power and bottlenecks as the 600D. Isn't this correct? Many people bought the 60D for the video at the time as it had the nicer build quality than the 550D and the articulating screen.

mageye

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 296
  • Atheist
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1348 on: May 19, 2013, 11:34:44 PM »
How long are you able to record for in 1080?

I wasn't able to record in 1080 (I wish! maybe one day  ;D)

1880x840

I rendered out the video 1:1 but in a 1920x1080 frame.

Even though I would obviously prefer 1920x1080 I like what I have at the moment the RAW makes so much difference. I love it!

Thanks again ML!
5DMKII | 500D | KOMPUTERBAY 32GB Professional 1000x |Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II | Samyang 35mm f/1.4 ED AS UMC | Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III | Zoom H2 (4CH. audio recorder) | Mac OS X 10.9.2 | Photoshop CC | After Effects CC | Final Cut Pro 7

zachnfine

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 51
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1349 on: May 20, 2013, 12:41:01 AM »
Is anyone else finding that their 5D3 goes to sleep in the middle of recording? I've formatted my 32Gb Lexar 1000x CF card as exFAT and enabled >4Gb recording, and the longest recording I've managed (at 1928x1080 raw) before the screen shuts down and the mirror locks back into place is 5,159,790,912 bytes (5.16Gb). Hitting the start/stop button wakes the camera back up, but it's as if it's doing a full boot from shutdown as far as Magic Lantern is concerned (I see the card speed test happen, and then I have to go re-enable the modules and configure raw and audio before recording).

I'm not sure what's going on. Maybe somehow ML is taking over to such an extent that the Camera OS doesn't know there's activity going on, so it goes to sleep? It happens every time.

It's amazing how quickly this hack is developing into a useful feature, btw.