Author Topic: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView  (Read 920491 times)

goldenchild9to5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 534
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #200 on: April 08, 2017, 04:18:37 AM »
@a1ex What if you don't know how to run that script.. Can you point me to a detailed instruction on how to run that code, would be greatly appreciated. 

Quentin

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #201 on: April 08, 2017, 07:45:36 AM »
Did various tests.
My interest was focused on 3K, UHD and 4K trying to reach peak performance.
Global Draw OFF
1:1 mode
(3:3 always records 30FPS)
I concluded that 14bit lossless performs better.
I also concluded that setting Canon Video to 1280x720 gives shorter vertical size and leaves room for 4K recording.
Changing Aspect Ration allows more recording time
Havent managed to playback my recordings on the camera yet, I get an innocent message.

janvkem

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #202 on: April 08, 2017, 07:48:25 AM »
@a1ex What if you don't know how to run that script.. Can you point me to a detailed instruction on how to run that code, would be greatly appreciated. 

This is what I just did to test it (for Windows):
1. Install python for your computer: https://www.python.org/downloads/
2. Make sure to check add python x.x to PATH
3. Make a backup of your current camera's ROM (using magic lantern)
3. When done make a new folder and copy your ROM1.bin to that folder (i made E:/tmp)
4. In the same folder make a new .txt file and rename it to testrom.py --> make sure you have file extensions visible
5. Open the file in your favorite text editor (i like notepad++) and copy the code in a1ex's post
6. Open a command window in the folder you just created (press right click on the folder while holding shift key, select Open command window here and type this:

    py testrom.py ROM1.bin

7. Read and follow the output on your screen.

hindra

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #203 on: April 08, 2017, 08:37:30 AM »
This is what I just did to test it (for Windows):
1. Install python for your computer: https://www.python.org/downloads/
2. Make sure to check add python x.x to PATH
3. Make a backup of your current camera's ROM (using magic lantern)
3. When done make a new folder and copy your ROM1.bin to that folder (i made E:/tmp)
4. In the same folder make a new .txt file and rename it to testrom.py --> make sure you have file extensions visible
5. Open the file in your favorite text editor (i like notepad++) and copy the code in a1ex's post
6. Open a command window in the folder you just created (press right click on the folder while holding shift key, select Open command window here and type this:

    py testrom.py ROM1.bin

7. Read and follow the output on your screen.

Worked great, thank you. My camera appears to be ok :)
SL1 100D.100A - 5D - 7D2 - 5D3 1.2.3

garry23

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2228
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #204 on: April 08, 2017, 09:14:32 AM »
Having never done it before: how long should a ML ROM dump take?

Update: I have 'Saving 4f000000...' on the ML screen for 15mins.

Quentin

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #205 on: April 08, 2017, 09:18:50 AM »
Although I had doubts in the beginning, after draining a couple of batteries, I am sure now that current build (6April) is power hungry

hindra

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #206 on: April 08, 2017, 09:20:25 AM »
Having never done it before: how long should a ML ROM dump take?

Near instant? I believe when you "update" firmware with ML it will backup the ROM then. I just formatted my SD card in PC, format in camera, load ML from PC onto card, update firmware to setup ML, grab the ROM1.BIN and follow instructions.
SL1 100D.100A - 5D - 7D2 - 5D3 1.2.3

garry23

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2228
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #207 on: April 08, 2017, 09:24:50 AM »
@hindra

Thanks: I'll stop the current dump and try again.

garry23

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2228
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #208 on: April 08, 2017, 09:30:11 AM »
When I looked at the card, I had a copy of ROM1.bin, however, the ML screen kept the 'Saving 4f000000...' on the ML screen for 15mins, until I stopped the Cam.

Run the test: all looks ok  :)

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #209 on: April 08, 2017, 09:34:01 AM »
Sounds encouraging; I'll integrate this test in the next ML build, but I'm a bit busy this weekend.

(that also means you will need a bit of patience on IRC - I'm not online this weekend)

vstrglv

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 253
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #210 on: April 08, 2017, 10:30:48 AM »
I have got this:
C:\Users\XXX\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python36>python testrom.py ROM1.bi
n
0xf5c33c 0xa5a5a5a5
0xf5cf0c 0xa5a5a5a5
0xf5d33c 0xa5a5a5a5
0xf5df0c 0xa5a5a5a5
0xf5e33c 0xa5a5a5a5
0xf5ef0c 0xa5a5a5a5
0xf5f33c 0xa5a5a5a5
0xf5ff0c 0xa5a5a5a5
0xf6033c 0xa5a5a5a5
0xf60f0c 0xa5a5a5a5
0xf6133c 0xa5a5a5a5
0xf61f0c 0xa5a5a5a5
0xf6233c 0xa5a5a5a5
0xf62f0c 0xa5a5a5a5
0xf6333c 0xa5a5a5a5
0xf63f0c 0xa5a5a5a5
Your camera might have been affected by the Apr04 null pointer bug.
Please contact Magic Lantern developers on IRC (#magiclantern on freenode)
to take a closer look.
I have good ROM1 from magiclantern-crop3x.2017Mar21.5D3113.
Already on IRC
Canon 5D3,1.1.3; Canon EOS M,202,  CF-SanDisk Extreme PRO,160MB/s, 256GB, SD-SanDisk Extreme Pro, 170MB/s, 128GB.

pocketrubbish

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #211 on: April 08, 2017, 10:40:34 AM »
I just put together a quick video demonstrating the new options .


Pushed the saturation a bit during the grade because I wanted to see how it holds up. I'm impressed.

Danne

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7739
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #212 on: April 08, 2017, 10:53:24 AM »
Quote
Your camera appears OK, no need to worry.
Happy camper :)


DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3413
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #213 on: April 08, 2017, 11:00:00 AM »
Happy camper :)

Nice save, @Danne!  :) (will have to check mine first thing in AM after I get back home from work) -- good thing I only used the April 4th build on the 'B' cam that I just scooped up from Craigslist earlier this week and not my original baby, Ha!

Pushed the saturation a bit during the grade because I wanted to see how it holds up. I'm impressed.

Indeed, extremely impressive. What were the highest ISO's you were able to use for the night scenes @pocketrubbish?

My apologies for lack of paying attention to details in your clip as I was obviously all eyes on the static shots. Similar effect if one were to stare at a Television showing nothing but static and it just sucks you right in which means you got the job done well even if it wasnt intended for.

The reason why I asked (hope you're reading this @a1ex) is because I'm an avid fan of using DarkFraming average processes for high ISO shots and ever since this whole lossless compression 4k crop_rec stuff came out for the 5D3 -- haven't been able to figure out how or why when I apply DF avg process it just don't correspond properly and not sure if this is related to the modified mlv_dump spitting out different headers for each DNG or some sort?

I think because of this it's making it a bit trickier for the DF avg process to work properly (at least in @Danne's cr2hdr.app is what I use) so not sure if this at all possible due to the limitation factor of this new lossless compression codec in MLV 14-bit lossless or perhaps just a simply fix in the code would do the trick?
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

vstrglv

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 253
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #214 on: April 08, 2017, 11:00:34 AM »
This is what I just did to test it (for Windows):

    py testrom.py ROM1.bin
"python testrom.py ROM1.bin" works for me
Canon 5D3,1.1.3; Canon EOS M,202,  CF-SanDisk Extreme PRO,160MB/s, 256GB, SD-SanDisk Extreme Pro, 170MB/s, 128GB.

Danne

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7739
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #215 on: April 08, 2017, 11:22:44 AM »
Not sure if this would help anybody but I put in a little simplifying doubleclick command and a howto for mac users here.
https://bitbucket.org/Dannephoto/magic-lantern/downloads/ROM1test.zip

Basically the same for mac as for windows if running straight on the command line.

"python testrom.py ROM1.bin"

pc_bel

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #216 on: April 08, 2017, 11:23:09 AM »
Your camera appears OK, no need to worry.

 :) :) :)

Thanks Danne

GutterPump

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 185
  • 5DIII/5DII/550D
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #217 on: April 08, 2017, 11:49:34 AM »
I'm feel quiet  8) :



Thanks to @a1ex for the script and thanks to @janvkem for explanations.

RTI

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #218 on: April 08, 2017, 12:17:27 PM »
Thx for the mini guide. "Your camera appears OK, no need to worry."
Canon 5DIII| Sigma 35/1.4|T 24-70/2.8 VC| Tamron 70-200/2.8 VC USD

g3gg0

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3190
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #219 on: April 08, 2017, 12:24:43 PM »
@alex:
i guess its a good thing to add this checker to the module itself.
so all users get informed who potentially don't realize there are broken properties.
e.g. not crashing due to the property being bad, but weird image metadata or correction curves.

would warn them on display, telling them that the old version had a bug and this camera
seems to have a property being flipped.
Help us with datasheets - Help us with register dumps
magic lantern: 1Magic9991E1eWbGvrsx186GovYCXFbppY, server expenses: paypal@g3gg0.de
ONLY donate for things we have done, not for things you expect!

Mefist

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #220 on: April 08, 2017, 01:14:45 PM »
I just put together a quick video demonstrating the new options .


Pushed the saturation a bit during the grade because I wanted to see how it holds up. I'm impressed.

How did you manage to shoot in 3072x1308 24fps at 40 seconds? Did not change the aspect ratio? I do not write 5dm3 in 3k 14bit-lossless 16:9 for more than 2 seconds

hjfilmspeed

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 479
  • 5D III and IV
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #221 on: April 08, 2017, 01:29:28 PM »
@A1ex Ran the Python test and my camera was not affected!!!!!

ewinemiller

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #222 on: April 08, 2017, 01:52:47 PM »
How did you manage to shoot in 3072x1308 24fps at 40 seconds? Did not change the aspect ratio? I do not write 5dm3 in 3k 14bit-lossless 16:9 for more than 2 seconds


16x9 would be more like 3072x1728. The best I've been able to do continuous is 3072x1536.


Mefist

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #223 on: April 08, 2017, 03:29:49 PM »
16x9 would be more like 3072x1728. The best I've been able to do continuous is 3072x1536.

I have 5dm3 firmware 1.1.3 CF SanDisk 64GB 160Mb/s
My settings: 3072x1308 with the aspect ratio of 2.35:1, Crop mode 3K 1:1, 14bit-lossless. If I put a resolution higher, the recording automatically stops.

Quentin

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #224 on: April 08, 2017, 03:42:57 PM »
I did several 4K recordings with 14bit lossless. However I noticed some fat blotchy areas of compression, easily detectable.
I was shooting with 50mm 1.8 and compression was applied naturally in out of focus areas.
I thought 14bit lossless was visually the same as the ordinary 14bit.