Author Topic: Canon 700D / T5i  (Read 634545 times)

madz

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • EOS M
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1100 on: November 07, 2017, 09:43:23 AM »
If you have an EOSM you can try the crop_rec module and push up the FPS override a bit to approximate what you will be able to get on the 700D. Internally these cameras are very similar, same sensor, focus pixels, SD card write speed, etc. The big difference between the two cameras is being able to record mv1080 on the 700D but you can't push that to 48+ fps. What exactly are you expecting out of the 700D?

I'm quite happy with the EOS-M, the only thing I miss is slow-mo. And it's VERY slow in photo mode.
I tried to get 50fps on EOS-M on few latest experimental crop_rec with h.264 proxy enabled, but no luck. On lossless I get console warnings, and on 10/12/14bit RAW just black or corrupted frames.
IIRC 50fps can be only reached from m720, does 700D has m720 with 3x3 option?

So my goal is something like 10bit RAW 1280x536 48/50fps with 3x3 binning, so I wanted to know does it work already on 700D, because on EOSM it doesn't, at least for me at this moment.

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5874
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1101 on: November 07, 2017, 10:20:16 AM »
This one requires lossless compression. EOS M and 700D do share the same card interface specs: SDR50/UHS50 (about 50 MByte/s). Without compression required bandwidht exceeds 40 MByte/s (pure RAW/MLV without H.264 proxy) and I haven't seen continuous recording at this rate.

madz

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • EOS M
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1102 on: November 07, 2017, 01:06:43 PM »
This one requires lossless compression. EOS M and 700D do share the same card interface specs: SDR50/UHS50 (about 50 MByte/s). Without compression required bandwidht exceeds 40 MByte/s (pure RAW/MLV without H.264 proxy) and I haven't seen continuous recording at this rate.

I'm fine with compression, I'm fine with 8-bit, I just wasn't able to get it working on EOS-M at 50fps. And continuous is not necessary, about 60 seconds would be enough.
I was testing at 960x402px different combinations of bit depth and compression, it tops at 32MiB/s with 14bit no compression, and no luck :(

I thought that 700D might have more progress in shooting 50fps, since it have "native" m720 mode, on EOS-M it's only turns on with h264 proxy, without it it's only 30fps.

dfort

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2309
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1103 on: November 07, 2017, 05:23:33 PM »
So my goal is something like 10bit RAW 1280x536 48/50fps with 3x3 binning, so I wanted to know does it work already on 700D, because on EOSM it doesn't, at least for me at this moment.

Ok, that's reasonable. I just tested it and the 700D can do a little better than that. Continuous recording at 1280x694 50fps with 10-bit lossless compression with crop_rec 3x3 is possible. I just ran a test.

mlv_dump -v
Code: [Select]
File Header (MLVI)
    FPS         : 50.000000
    File        : 0 / 0
    Frames Video: 3767
    Frames Audio: 0
...
Block: RAWI
...
    Res:  1280x694
...
Block: RAWC
...
      sampling        3x3 (read 1 line, skip 2, bin 3 columns)

The only other APS-C small camera that can do the crop_rec with lossless compression thing is the 100D so you do have options. I've been trying to get other cameras ported but they are "blind" ports because I don't have access to these cameras. (I also don't know what I'm doing but that doesn't keep me from trying.) The 650D is already in the code base and there is a pull request open for the 6D but there are some issues that still need to be ironed out with these cameras.

[EDIT] Uploaded a screenshot. Note that the estimate isn't showing green but I am getting continuous recording with these settings.

5D3.* 7D.* 700D.115 EOSM.* EOSM2.103

madz

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • EOS M
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1104 on: November 08, 2017, 01:13:58 AM »
I just tested it and the 700D can do a little better than that. Continuous recording at 1280x694 50fps with 10-bit lossless compression with crop_rec 3x3 is possible.

Well this sounds promising. Thank you for your time running a test.

The only other APS-C small camera that can do the crop_rec with lossless compression thing is the 100D so you do have options.

If won't find 700d for a good price (I really like an articulating screen), will definitely go for 100d (hey, same battery as EOS-M, got bunch of them). Thanks again!

mhimhi

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1105 on: November 20, 2017, 08:52:19 PM »
Hi guys. I read a lot i still cannot figure out how to get 10 bit raw on my 700d. Can someone tell me how? Thank you.

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5874
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1106 on: November 20, 2017, 09:10:56 PM »
Top of page -> Downloads -> Downloads (drop down menu) -> Experiments -> 10/12-bit RAW video

Kharak

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 722
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1107 on: November 26, 2017, 10:15:34 AM »
is there a visible difference between colum binning and line skipping,i assume it was line skipping before the experimental build. 

I just installed ml on a friends 700d and was wondering about the colum binning, is it like a mini 5d3 now, low moire and aliasing? And is the colum binning standard now when recording raw?

Also the link to firmware 115 in the download section is dead. You can get the file from CanonUSA website.
once you go raw you never go back

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10704
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1108 on: November 26, 2017, 10:42:06 AM »
ML does not change the pixel binning pattern; it just records it in the MLV metadata. Even in the new modes introduced by crop_rec, it still does not change the binning pattern - if it's going to combine 3x3 pixels into one, there's only one way the hardware can do this. It's model-dependent - 5D3 averages in analog domain all the 9 pixels, most other models simply throw away two lines and average in analog domain the remaining 3 pixels (hence, line skipping and column binning).

It might be possible to change the start line/column for the binned pixels (would be useful for super-resolution) or to sample only one pixel from a 3x3 block, but I have no idea where to start looking. In any case, the averaging (binning) is likely done with analog electronics.

Kharak

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 722
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1109 on: November 26, 2017, 11:41:39 AM »
Okey, I thought it was weird (and amazing) that you could change the way the sensor records the information.

Just did some test shots on the 700D and its max resolution, non-crop, and I am very surprised how good the quality is. Except the Focus Pixels ruin it. I need to find a software that has FP Removal, I got rid of them with 2x2 chroma but looks like it introduces a lot of artifacts where Lines and other fine textures crosses the removed focus pixels.

Either way, I think my friend is gonna be thrilled with his new camera ;)
once you go raw you never go back

dfort

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2309
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1110 on: November 28, 2017, 06:31:39 AM »
I need to find a software that has FP Removal, I got rid of them with 2x2 chroma but looks like it introduces a lot of artifacts where Lines and other fine textures crosses the removed focus pixels.

What are you using that causes artifacts with chroma smoothing? Software that deals with the focus pixels includes Switch, MLVFS, MLV Producer, mlv_dump on steroids and there are probably a few others.
5D3.* 7D.* 700D.115 EOSM.* EOSM2.103

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3612
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1111 on: November 28, 2017, 07:14:19 AM »
Probably batch_mlv. Needs an update to work with 700D I think.

Kharak

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 722
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1112 on: November 28, 2017, 07:48:09 PM »
Sorry, I did not see you replied to this.

Yes, was using Batch_MLV. I will try that newest version of MLV Producer.

I got some issues testing the 700D 28th Oct build. Using only the Lossless recording.

The camera records at 23,973 and no matter what I've tried in FPS override I can not get it to 23,976 or 24,000. Its not much difference but it's there. EDIT: I just found out that setting the Canon Recording to 1080p 25p makes the Framerate right again, it was on 1080p 24p. Now I can set it to 23.976 , 24p and 25p.

I can not set WB by pushing the WB button and all the other buttons around the SET button dont seems to react to anything in movie mode. They do work for navigating ML or Canon Menu though.

I am not used to the 700D, its not mine, maybe these buttons are not supposed to work in Movie mode. For instance the AF and "Shooting mode" button, sorry I dont know what it is called, might not be of any importance in movie mode. But WB and Picture Profile do not work in movie mode.

When playing MLV's in camera, I could not play any other MLV except for the last shot MLV, scroll wheel did not react. And after a while I could not play any MLV,. Only a black screen came up. But the LED was blinking as if it was playing the MLV's.
once you go raw you never go back