Author Topic: RAWanizer - windows batch generation of video files from RAW  (Read 309133 times)

marten

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: RAWanizer - windows batch generation of video files from RAW
« Reply #125 on: June 08, 2013, 11:06:00 AM »
Actually, this is mostly by design if I understand your points correctly. At the moment you add something to the processing queue the current settings are read and stored for that item. If you change settings after that will not affect items already in queue. (this is how it's supposed to work at least)

I just uploaded 0.5.3 to make sure it works like this, at least for me now.

I know this is not obvious and I haven't spent any time on writing a manual...

nandoide

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: RAWanizer - windows batch generation of video files from RAW
« Reply #126 on: June 08, 2013, 11:52:24 AM »
By design, humm.  Well, imho the expected behaviour, the natural one is that changes where reflected on queue.. and it will be more useful.

I download 0.5.3 and I lost all my settings   :( .  But i've only a few mods :-)  It will be good that the program serialize the settings to a file.


Thanks a lot!!!



pixamant

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: RAWanizer - windows batch generation of video files from RAW
« Reply #127 on: June 08, 2013, 12:13:01 PM »
Hi marten,
thank you for this amazing program
i use it since version 0.3 and is getting to be awesome!

I get an error when the video converter get footage which is 23.976 or 29.776 frames.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: RAWanizer - windows batch generation of video files from RAW
« Reply #128 on: June 08, 2013, 05:04:52 PM »
For 50D: You can't use cineform.... it either does funky colors or stuff like this. Unusable directly... need to output to cineform from like AE.

Francis Frenkel

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • documentarist - filmmaker - DOP
Re: RAWanizer - windows batch generation of video files from RAW
« Reply #129 on: June 08, 2013, 07:12:17 PM »
Hello,

I've tried to install last version but I have a message telling me to install Microsoft framework 4.5...

Is there a risk to have a incompatibility with one of my softwares installed or Hardware problem ?

Fran6
Francis Frenkel
www.ffrenkel.com

bzhwindtalker

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: RAWanizer - windows batch generation of video files from RAW
« Reply #130 on: June 08, 2013, 07:51:37 PM »
Thanks for this soft, it really eases the workflow! It took me some time to figure how to get the proxi video thing working, but I succeded in the end.
However I noticed that despite the -W option being enabled in the dcraw panel, the video output has violent expo shifts.

Also, changing the parameters in the build custom dcraw panel (like brigthness or WB) does not apply changes to the picture, and ticking or not the auto preview does not change this.
50D, Komputarbay 1000x 32gb, Tokina at-x 24-40, Centon 50f1.7, 55-250 IS II, zoom H1

marten

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: RAWanizer - windows batch generation of video files from RAW
« Reply #131 on: June 08, 2013, 10:06:30 PM »
Hello,

I've tried to install last version but I have a message telling me to install Microsoft framework 4.5...

Is there a risk to have a incompatibility with one of my softwares installed or Hardware problem ?

Fran6

Installing .net framework 4.5 should be totally risk free. I have not heard of any compatibility issues with it, its a big Microsoft framework that should be stable.

marten

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: RAWanizer - windows batch generation of video files from RAW
« Reply #132 on: June 08, 2013, 10:09:12 PM »
Thanks for this soft, it really eases the workflow! It took me some time to figure how to get the proxi video thing working, but I succeded in the end.
However I noticed that despite the -W option being enabled in the dcraw panel, the video output has violent expo shifts.

Also, changing the parameters in the build custom dcraw panel (like brigthness or WB) does not apply changes to the picture, and ticking or not the auto preview does not change this.

It seems like this is a behavior on some computers, I don't have it. If you disable the autopreview option and the press 'preview' button, does the image get updated then?

advent2

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: RAWanizer - windows batch generation of video files from RAW
« Reply #133 on: June 09, 2013, 10:35:44 AM »
oop, all ok

ted ramasola

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1250
Re: RAWanizer - windows batch generation of video files from RAW
« Reply #134 on: June 09, 2013, 10:58:21 AM »
5.3 works great Marten. Good job on this software.

Just some questions/suggestions.

When joining spanned file, I noticed that it first generates a joined raw file before it extracts the DNG.

At default setting it joins this at source directory, in my case the attached CF card. It halts and issues a fail message, so in folder tab I indicate RAW target as the distination folder in my hard drive.

Now, it is successful in joining spanned files with the joined file generated in the HDD folder in my PC, however I also notice that ALL raw files are copied to my HDD aside from the extracted dngs, would it be ok if there is a feature that i can choose that only spanned files do this as I may not want to copy all my RAW files to HDD only dngs due to speed and hdd space issues?

Again thank you for this great piece of software that is making our work flow easy.
5DmkII  / 7D
www.ramasolaproductions.com
Texas

JulianH

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 198
Re: RAWanizer - windows batch generation of video files from RAW
« Reply #135 on: June 10, 2013, 02:06:01 AM »
For 50D: You can't use cineform.... it either does funky colors or stuff like this. Unusable directly... need to output to cineform from like AE.
Cineform 444 works for me (installed the cineform studio premium trial). Made my last 2 video's this way...

bzhwindtalker

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: RAWanizer - windows batch generation of video files from RAW
« Reply #136 on: June 12, 2013, 05:03:38 PM »
I made some tests with Rawnizer and a 50D, exporting to prores 444.
It worked nice enought but I had a lot of magenta...
Some people reported that the raw format changed in the latest builds, making it incompatible with older Raw2Dng builds.
Any input?
50D, Komputarbay 1000x 32gb, Tokina at-x 24-40, Centon 50f1.7, 55-250 IS II, zoom H1

artyg

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: RAWanizer - windows batch generation of video files from RAW
« Reply #137 on: June 12, 2013, 06:23:02 PM »
I have same problem as above...

20:08:28 Start extracting dng from M0000000.RAW
20:08:30 Finished
20:08:30 Start converting tiff from M0000000.RAW
20:08:43 Finished
20:08:43 Start creating proxy from M0000000.RAW
20:08:43 Failed:
ffmpeg version N-35966-g1d0ae92, Copyright (c) 2000-2011 the FFmpeg developers
  built on Dec 19 2011 13:01:15 with gcc 4.6.2
  configuration: --enable-gpl --enable-version3 --disable-w32threads --enable-runtime-cpudetect --enable-avisynth --enable-bzlib --enable-frei0r --enable-libopencore-amrnb --enable-libopencore-amrwb --enable-libfreetype --enable-libgsm --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libopenjpeg --enable-librtmp --enable-libschroedinger --enable-libspeex --enable-libtheora --enable-libvo-aacenc --enable-libvo-amrwbenc --enable-libvorbis --enable-libvpx --enable-libx264 --enable-libxavs --enable-libxvid --enable-zlib
  libavutil    51. 32. 0 / 51. 32. 0
  libavcodec   53. 46. 1 / 53. 46. 1
  libavformat  53. 27. 0 / 53. 27. 0
  libavdevice  53.  4. 0 / 53.  4. 0
  libavfilter   2. 53. 0 /  2. 53. 0
  libswscale    2.  1. 0 /  2.  1. 0
  libpostproc  51.  2. 0 / 51.  2. 0
Input #0, image2, from 'X:\RAW_Test\Source\Proxy_TIFF\M0000000.proxytiff\M%06d.tiff':
  Duration: 00:00:09.20, start: 0.000000, bitrate: N/A
    Stream #0:0: Video: tiff, rgba, 960x540, 24 fps, 24 tbr, 24 tbn, 24 tbc
X:\RAW_Test\Source\Video_Proxy\M0000000.proxy.mp4: No such file or directory

20:08:43 All items Finished

RAWanizer ver 0.5.3 Win 7 x64
no any kind of proxy =(
Canon 5D3 SanDisk Extreme Pro 64Gb 160MB/s

artyg

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: RAWanizer - windows batch generation of video files from RAW
« Reply #138 on: June 12, 2013, 07:03:09 PM »
Yeee!!! It's Work! I don't now what I did, but...
This is my screens, maybe it halps anybody (sorry for my english, this is not my native language)



RAWanizer create M0000002.proxy.mov file near original RAW file
Canon 5D3 SanDisk Extreme Pro 64Gb 160MB/s

marten

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: RAWanizer - windows batch generation of video files from RAW
« Reply #139 on: June 12, 2013, 10:16:21 PM »
I made some tests with Rawnizer and a 50D, exporting to prores 444.
It worked nice enought but I had a lot of magenta...
Some people reported that the raw format changed in the latest builds, making it incompatible with older Raw2Dng builds.
Any input?


I didn't know that. You can always download your own raw2dng.exe and replace the existing. It's in c:\program files(x86)\rawanizer\tools. Please report back if it helps. I don't get any magenta with my 5D mkII, but I use June 4th build.

marten

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: RAWanizer - windows batch generation of video files from RAW
« Reply #140 on: June 12, 2013, 10:19:42 PM »
Took a break from programming and went out in my garden with my 5D mkII. Processed with RAWanizer of course :)




artyg

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: RAWanizer - windows batch generation of video files from RAW
« Reply #141 on: June 13, 2013, 10:13:23 AM »
Took a break from programming and went out in my garden with my 5D mkII. Processed with RAWanizer of course :)

Niiice!!! What optic did you use there? One funny comment - I watched the video clip and I were singing birds outside the window ... I did not realize that they are singing outside my window, and not in the video! Very inspiring! Thank you;)
Canon 5D3 SanDisk Extreme Pro 64Gb 160MB/s

dandeliondandy

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: RAWanizer - windows batch generation of video files from RAW
« Reply #142 on: June 13, 2013, 07:47:50 PM »
I love the program as the proxy files can be extremely helpful for an editing workflow. However, about half the time I get this sort of message when trying to make the videos. If I'm converting two RAW files sometimes the first will get a working proxy video, the second will give this error. And repeated attempts don't change it. Is it the file or maybe a setting? Using 5.3

13:30:55 Start converting tiff from join.dng
13:35:17 Finished
13:35:17 Start creating proxy from join.dng
13:35:18 Failed:
ffmpeg version N-35966-g1d0ae92, Copyright (c) 2000-2011 the FFmpeg developers
  built on Dec 19 2011 13:01:15 with gcc 4.6.2
  configuration: --enable-gpl --enable-version3 --disable-w32threads --enable-runtime-cpudetect --enable-avisynth --enable-bzlib --enable-frei0r --enable-libopencore-amrnb --enable-libopencore-amrwb --enable-libfreetype --enable-libgsm --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libopenjpeg --enable-librtmp --enable-libschroedinger --enable-libspeex --enable-libtheora --enable-libvo-aacenc --enable-libvo-amrwbenc --enable-libvorbis --enable-libvpx --enable-libx264 --enable-libxavs --enable-libxvid --enable-zlib
  libavutil    51. 32. 0 / 51. 32. 0
  libavcodec   53. 46. 1 / 53. 46. 1
  libavformat  53. 27. 0 / 53. 27. 0
  libavdevice  53.  4. 0 / 53.  4. 0
  libavfilter   2. 53. 0 /  2. 53. 0
  libswscale    2.  1. 0 /  2.  1. 0
  libpostproc  51.  2. 0 / 51.  2. 0
Input #0, image2, from 'G:\RAW video test\window\join.dng\proxytiff\M%06d.tiff':
  Duration: 00:02:24.41, start: 0.000000, bitrate: N/A
    Stream #0:0: Video: tiff, rgba, 940x353, 24 fps, 24 tbr, 24 tbn, 24 tbc
Input #1, wav, from 'C:\Program Files (x86)\RAWanizer\Tools\dummy1s.wav':
  Metadata:
    TCOD            : 0
    TCDO            : 9986848
  Duration: 00:00:00.99, bitrate: 706 kb/s
    Stream #1:0: Audio: pcm_s16le ([1][0][0][0] / 0x0001), 44100 Hz, 1 channels, s16, 705 kb/s
Incompatible pixel format 'rgba' for codec 'libx264', auto-selecting format 'yuv420p'
[buffer @ 03564FC0] w:940 h:353 pixfmt:rgba tb:1/1000000 sar:0/1 sws_param:
[buffersink @ 03565020] auto-inserting filter 'auto-inserted scale 0' between the filter 'src' and the filter 'out'
[scale @ 035650E0] w:940 h:353 fmt:rgba -> w:940 h:353 fmt:yuv420p flags:0x4
[libx264 @ 03589740] height not divisible by 2 (940x353)
Output #0, mp4, to 'G:\RAW video test\window\join.proxy.mp4':
    Stream #0:0: Video: h264, yuv420p, 940x353, q=-1--1, 5000 kb/s, 90k tbn, 24 tbc
    Stream #0:1: Audio: none, 44100 Hz, 1 channels, s16, 128 kb/s
Stream mapping:
  Stream #0:0 -> #0:0 (tiff -> libx264)
  Stream #1:0 -> #0:1 (pcm_s16le -> aac)
Error while opening encoder for output stream #0:0 - maybe incorrect parameters such as bit_rate, rate, width or height

bzhwindtalker

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: RAWanizer - windows batch generation of video files from RAW
« Reply #143 on: June 13, 2013, 09:13:07 PM »
Hey, I did quite a lot of testing,
It seems that I can only outpout working h264, prores444 does not play either in premiere or vlc/media player, and DNxHD seem to outpout regular H264? However I noticed that checking the box "use ffmbc" makes thing work better for vidéo generation.
The H264 is nice as a proxy but it's not the best for editing... would it be possible to use RAWanizer to outpout folders containing TIFFs to be used as images sequences? I guess it's possible as it already does it for video proxy generation.
Adam
50D, Komputarbay 1000x 32gb, Tokina at-x 24-40, Centon 50f1.7, 55-250 IS II, zoom H1

random

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: RAWanizer - windows batch generation of proxy files from RAW
« Reply #144 on: June 14, 2013, 12:20:07 AM »
Added DNxHD as an option for the proxy file.

Download the patch from the original post.

Is the DNxHD/185 a 8bit or a 10bit version?
EOS 6D  -  EOS 650D  -  EF 24-105mm/4 IS L  -  Sigma 50mm/1,4 EX  -  Kenko 1,4x MC4 DGX

artyg

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: RAWanizer - windows batch generation of video files from RAW
« Reply #145 on: June 14, 2013, 07:15:25 AM »
would it be possible to use RAWanizer to outpout folders containing TIFFs to be used as images sequences? I guess it's possible as it already does it for video proxy generation.
Adam

Yes, it's possible!



Tiff will be generated in this folder. But, how do you think to work with proxy tiff sequences? In Premiere, for example, when I import image sequence, I need to select each sequence and press "import as sequence" button. And this is for avery clip... Very painfully and inefficiency.
Canon 5D3 SanDisk Extreme Pro 64Gb 160MB/s

bzhwindtalker

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: RAWanizer - windows batch generation of video files from RAW
« Reply #146 on: June 14, 2013, 10:36:11 AM »
Yeah I agree with you, importing individual image sequences is a pain!But Rigth now I can't get anything else than H264 working for proxy video, and that's basicaly what we try to avoid shooting raw!

So leaving the video out field blank will cause the video proxy generation to fail so I will just have tiff sequences in individual folders? Nice, I will try that, thanks. BTW I changed the raw2dng to the latest one and I'm still getting pink tones from my 50D files, but raw2dng does it too :/
50D, Komputarbay 1000x 32gb, Tokina at-x 24-40, Centon 50f1.7, 55-250 IS II, zoom H1

artyg

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: RAWanizer - windows batch generation of video files from RAW
« Reply #147 on: June 14, 2013, 10:59:30 AM »
Yeah I agree with you, importing individual image sequences is a pain!But Rigth now I can't get anything else than H264 working for proxy video, and that's basicaly what we try to avoid shooting raw!

But I do not see any problems with this... We do proxies with which we work in NLE, then do XML and conform in Resolve. Where we can color correct and grade what we want. Or am I wrong? (Of course, it remains to solve the problem with the right conform XML in Resolve)

So leaving the video out field blank will cause the video proxy generation to fail so I will just have tiff sequences in individual folders? Nice, I will try that, thanks. BTW I changed the raw2dng to the latest one and I'm still getting pink tones from my 50D files, but raw2dng does it too :/

No, video proxy will generate near the original RAW and TIFF will generate whare you set. In RAWanizer video proxy generate from tiff proxy. And yes! I also have pink in overbright areas


In Resolve I fix this with HUE vs SAT but it's strange...
Canon 5D3 SanDisk Extreme Pro 64Gb 160MB/s

bzhwindtalker

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: RAWanizer - windows batch generation of video files from RAW
« Reply #148 on: June 14, 2013, 04:51:13 PM »
I was more looking at a simpler workflow that could be used on simple projects, ouputing to a 10-12bit video file that could directly be imported into premiere and retain much of the info for simple CC, as I don't own resolve nor know how to use it :/

So far I have only been able to oupout H264 or prores 444 files that premiere won't open?? the later seem to be a good file for what I want to do but maybe my premiere setup is not good, I have been able to read the files with quicktime fine...

50D, Komputarbay 1000x 32gb, Tokina at-x 24-40, Centon 50f1.7, 55-250 IS II, zoom H1

marten

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: RAWanizer - windows batch generation of video files from RAW
« Reply #149 on: June 14, 2013, 06:54:21 PM »
I love the program as the proxy files can be extremely helpful for an editing workflow. However, about half the time I get this sort of message when trying to make the videos. If I'm converting two RAW files sometimes the first will get a working proxy video, the second will give this error. And repeated attempts don't change it. Is it the file or maybe a setting? Using 5.3


The ffmpeg libx264 can be picky about video resolutions. 940x353 sounds like it could be problematic. In the preset for mp4 I added a scale setting that has worked for me. Can you check that you have -vf "scale=1920:trunc(ow/a/2)*2" in the preset you are using. This scales up to 1920 and may cut some lines to make it work.

You can change the 1920 width to something you like better.