Author Topic: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording  (Read 841276 times)

stevefal

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 528
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1400 on: May 21, 2013, 05:26:36 PM »
5X doesn't work for me - "Memory error MB"

running 006d890 on 5D3 + Lexar 64GB 1000X

[posted on test thread: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5473.msg38331#msg38331]
Steve Falcon

aaphotog

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 356
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1401 on: May 21, 2013, 06:46:46 PM »
on all of the latest compiled nightly builds I'm getting a "scripts dir missing" message upon loading.
Do I NEED the script folder on the card? Where can I find the folder so that I may add it to my card?
Also, if I were to just download the 5d3 alpha 1.1.3, would I be able to just use the scripts folder from that, without issue?

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1402 on: May 21, 2013, 06:50:47 PM »
on all of the latest compiled nightly builds I'm getting a "scripts dir missing" message upon loading.
Do I NEED the script folder on the card? Where can I find the folder so that I may add it to my card?
Also, if I were to just download the 5d3 alpha 1.1.3, would I be able to just use the scripts folder from that, without issue?
Dont needed.  That is special function PicoC that is currently disabled.  Maybe you can download any of the nightly builds, get the scripts dir that is missing and put in inside ML.
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

5DanielMIII

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • -I love JESUS and MagicLantern-
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1403 on: May 21, 2013, 07:42:59 PM »
Dont needed.  That is special function PicoC that is currently disabled.  Maybe you can download any of the nightly builds, get the scripts dir that is missing and put in inside ML.

That is what I did, and script "warning" was gone!! ;)
I am thankful that Jesus and MagicLantern exist, because they both change lives!

aaphotog

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 356
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1404 on: May 21, 2013, 09:23:25 PM »
That is what I did, and script "warning" was gone!! ;)

That is also what I did.

Also, I just purchased a 16GB Sandisk CF card. It says up to 90mb/s 600x udma7
I did a benchmark and it only gets about 80mb/s. but when recording 1080p video(about 82-84mb/s), it works perfect!
I've recorded up to 3500 mb and the buffer never went past 1*

I wanted to buy the 64gb komputerbay for only 30 dollars more, but I'm impatient and don't like waiting on things that I can't personally go into a store and purchase. So, for those with 75 bucks, feel free to pick one of these cards up! Speed is of no issue!

Northernlight

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • 1DX, 5D3, 5D2, 550D (T2i), 1100D (T3)
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1405 on: May 21, 2013, 09:30:32 PM »
RAW video sure is exciting, partcularly for me making my living in the darkness! I have installed it on my 5D3, and it records really well @24fps using my 128GB Lexar Pro 1000x UDMA7 card.

BUT, the vertical banding on the stills captured with my camera worries me. In my opinion it is so bad, that it renders the whole feature useless!

The banding is so bad that it is not something you just get rid of using noise reduction. In a way I really hope it is something wrong with my camera, but I doubt it. Will post pictures later.

What on earth could be causing this banding?


Habitat

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1406 on: May 22, 2013, 12:08:42 AM »
RAW video sure is exciting, partcularly for me making my living in the darkness! I have installed it on my 5D3, and it records really well @24fps using my 128GB Lexar Pro 1000x UDMA7 card.

BUT, the vertical banding on the stills captured with my camera worries me. In my opinion it is so bad, that it renders the whole feature useless!

The banding is so bad that it is not something you just get rid of using noise reduction. In a way I really hope it is something wrong with my camera, but I doubt it. Will post pictures later.

What on earth could be causing this banding?



Overexpose a little. (Expose to the right: google it) further reading into the forum will explain it (fixed pattern noise)

Lars Steenhoff

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 473
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1407 on: May 22, 2013, 12:13:16 AM »
Neat video seems to get rid of this pattern noise when I tried it on a shot.

http://www.neatvideo.com

Danne

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7019
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1408 on: May 22, 2013, 12:28:06 AM »
hmm just received my 64gb transcend and I can not record 1080p25 witout skipped frames :(
when i do the benchmark i can get >100mb/sec with a different buffer. is there a way to adjust the buffer the raw encoding uses?

HI! Is it a 1000x card and have you tried it on 24p at 1080p? I,m about to buy one but it doesn,t seem to work that good?

Danne

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7019
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1409 on: May 22, 2013, 12:32:39 AM »
RAW video sure is exciting, partcularly for me making my living in the darkness! I have installed it on my 5D3, and it records really well @24fps using my 128GB Lexar Pro 1000x UDMA7 card.

BUT, the vertical banding on the stills captured with my camera worries me. In my opinion it is so bad, that it renders the whole feature useless!

The banding is so bad that it is not something you just get rid of using noise reduction. In a way I really hope it is something wrong with my camera, but I doubt it. Will post pictures later.

What on earth could be causing this banding?

As stated before it helps a lot to overexpose your shots. That,s the workaround with canon sensors right now. This is not the case with the sony sensors which can read the shadows much better. Still, when overexposing and retaining the highlights in post you can achieve really good results

sergiocamara93

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1410 on: May 22, 2013, 12:59:23 AM »
HI! Is it a 1000x card and have you tried it on 24p at 1080p? I,m about to buy one but it doesn,t seem to work that good?
I'm receiving two of those in a couple days, I'll post the results when I test them. I've seen a couple videos done with those and people said they worked well. In the other hand, I asked James Miller and he said it buffered fast in 1080p (unsure if 24p or 25p). Anyway, I'll let you know what happens.
5D Mark III

thiagokunz

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1411 on: May 22, 2013, 01:06:37 AM »
People, is it possible to create a raw video without line skipping process? One of the things that is a down side of 5D filming is its shallow depth of field, achieved because os its large sensor size. If Magic Lanter could select only the central part of sensor (the one that receives better image quality from lenses) to create its images, this could be prevented when more depth of field is needed. It could also be used to change the focal length multiplier, transforming a wide lens into a more normal or tele lens.

Hi People... I'm so excited about the 5D raw that I signed in Magic Lantern Forum, even without knowing any code at all. You guys, in my humble opinion, are changing the history of cinema. (I'm sorry... is this the right place to talk about this topic?).

Rush

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
  • 5D3, EOS M
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1412 on: May 22, 2013, 01:10:28 AM »
People, is it possible to create a raw video without line skipping process.
it was available right from first implementations of RAW recording... in 5x/10x focus assist mode it will record w/o lineskipping:
Greetings from Russia!

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1413 on: May 22, 2013, 01:19:24 AM »
If Magic Lanter could select only the central part of sensor (the one that receives better image quality from lenses) to create its images, this could be prevented when more depth of field is needed.

Unfortunately the Devs have not figure out how to sample the sensor at 1:1 in the center.  The default Canon data read via LV comes from the center Top Left Side.  We all hope that someday they will uncover how to get this info from the center of the sensor.

You can get more detailed info oh how to get 1:1 video here:

How to record: -- RAW Digital Cropped Video on 5D3 --
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5441.0
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

squig

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 518
  • Crash test dummy MK3
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1414 on: May 22, 2013, 01:22:18 AM »
The banding is so bad that it is not something you just get rid of using noise reduction. In a way I really hope it is something wrong with my camera, but I doubt it. Will post pictures later.

What on earth could be causing this banding?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fixed-pattern_noise
This is how your sensor looks +3 stops @ 160 ISO. It's got nothing to do with ML except for the fact it's no longer denoised and compressed in camera.

ajay

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1415 on: May 22, 2013, 02:08:49 AM »
HI! Is it a 1000x card and have you tried it on 24p at 1080p? I,m about to buy one but it doesn,t seem to work that good?

I have been using (2) 1000x 32GB Transcend cards and it will work solid 1080p 24fps. That's with everything disabled (no global draw). Also, if I go into crop mode I have to scale down to 1920 x 840 in order for it not to skip frames. Does anyone know if the Lexar can do full 1080p @ 3x?

Thanks,

AJ

sergiocamara93

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1416 on: May 22, 2013, 02:13:26 AM »
I have been using (2) 1000x 32GB Transcend cards and it will work solid 1080p 24fps. That's with everything disabled (no global draw). Also, if I go into crop mode I have to scale down to 1920 x 840 in order for it not to skip frames. Does anyone know if the Lexar can do full 1080p @ 3x?

Thanks,

AJ
If the card is able to record the bitrate in normal mode, the crop mode issue should be software related. I've seen a fix in the code related to the zoom and double buffering, I guess the next build will help with that.
5D Mark III

Dignan21

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1417 on: May 22, 2013, 02:23:17 AM »
I apologize for the lame question. Will this module be available eventually and compatible with the new 1.2.1 Canon firmware. I, unfortunately upgraded and can't find the 1.1.3 firmware.

hirethestache

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 78
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1418 on: May 22, 2013, 02:50:49 AM »
I apologize for the lame question. Will this module be available eventually and compatible with the new 1.2.1 Canon firmware. I, unfortunately upgraded and can't find the 1.1.3 firmware.

I have the firmware and can upload it to my DB when I get a chance. But I am also in this situation, and have two 5D3's that are both on 1.2.1...any chance on a port?
@HireTheStache
www.HireTheStache.com
C100, 5D3, 5D2, 6D

squig

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 518
  • Crash test dummy MK3
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1419 on: May 22, 2013, 03:00:32 AM »
The priority is to get a stable 1.1.3 release out first.

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1420 on: May 22, 2013, 03:22:33 AM »
I, unfortunately upgraded and can't find the 1.1.3 firmware.

See below for the link to 1.13:


OTHER HELPFUL LINKS:

To help the DEVS and everybody it would be a good idea if specific RAW video issues are discussed in a separate thread based on the camera under discussion.

5D3  Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
HERE:  http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5473.0

5D2  Raw video on 5DMK2
HERE:  http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5419.0

600D Uncompressed 600D Raw Video
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5494.0

6D 6D + Raw thread (with instillation guide)
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5530.msg37766#msg37766

650D I dont see a specific RAW video thread.  Should there be one??  Anyone care to propose so I can update this message?


--------------------
 How to install Magic Lantern on 5D Mark III
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=2602.0

Where to get Canon Firmware 1.1.3 for sure:
HERE:http://pel.hu/eoscard/

Where to get Compiled Nightly Builds?
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5413.0

All questions regarding RAW VIDEO POST PROCESSING on any OS
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5404.0

All questions regarding RAW_REC MODULE COMPILATION/INSTALLATION/USAGE
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5405.0

Card benchmark - what's the optimal write buffer size?
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5471.0

Supported 1000x CF cards for continuous RAW recording
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5391.0
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

Colemar

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 52
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1421 on: May 22, 2013, 03:31:25 AM »
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fixed-pattern_noise
This is how your sensor looks +3 stops @ 160 ISO. It's got nothing to do with ML except for the fact it's no longer denoised and compressed in camera.


Dan Hudgins http://www.dancad3d.com/ is currently working on eliminating this.  He's making great headway and, as with ML, it's only a matter of time.

platu

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
  • 5D3, 60D
uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1422 on: May 22, 2013, 03:56:30 AM »
I've been testing the raw recording with my 5D3 via HDMI and my SmallHD DP4 LCD monitor.   The main issue I am experiencing (at least when using the SmallHD DP4) is the outline overlay which represents the selected resolution is being displayed at the wrong location. It appears too far to the left and also is placed too high.  Here are the screen captures when I enable Raw Recording...

This one is for 1920 x 1080


This is an example of 1920 x 840.  I enabled crop marks (cinemascope) just to show where the outline should be.


If it is not possible to correct this, may I suggest adding the ability to disable the resolution overlay.  Since this is probably one the more popular monitors out there, I thought I would just let you know this issue exists.

ted ramasola

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1250
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1423 on: May 22, 2013, 03:59:48 AM »
same also with my SWIT monitor. the guides are way off to the left. same as shown by Platu.
5DmkII  / 7D
www.ramasolaproductions.com
Texas

platu

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
  • 5D3, 60D
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1424 on: May 22, 2013, 04:10:13 AM »
same also with my SWIT monitor. the guides are way off to the left.

I wasn't sure if this was a monitor specific issue... I guess not.   Can anyone else chime in if they also experience this when using an external LCD monitor via hdmi?