Author Topic: Bilal's crop_rec_4k experiments for 700D / T5i  (Read 2799 times)

lightwriter

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Bilal's crop_rec_4k experiments for 700D / T5i
« Reply #50 on: December 12, 2020, 12:53:09 PM »
Hello @theBilalFakhouri

Thank you very much for your detailed answer!
Unfortunately, I followed all your steps but it stops recording the instant I begin, and the frames are corrupted.

In RAW video I selected 1600, but when I go to Crop mode V2, I didn't change X resolution, but it says 1736. What bit depth should I select in Crop Mode V2? Or should it be off? And in RAW video, I chose 12 bit lossless; is this the way to go?

At the bottom, it says in yellow that it will record at 64MB/s, 0x5.4MB, 23.982 (49%). Expect around 0 frames at 56.3MB/s.

Pressing Menu button twice, the resolution of Crop mode V2 shows 1736x2040 1x3, RAW video shows 1600x2040 1.74x and SD Overclock is at 192MHz

I did low level format in the original canon menu when formatting.

What am I doing wrong? Sorry for the trouble.

P.S.: Would the Sandisk Extreme Pro 170MB/s V30 be a better choice by allowing 240MHz?

P.P.S.: In Benchmark, with SD Overclock at 192MHz I'm getting write speeds of about 54 MB/s...it's on the low side, no?

aserranojr

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Bilal's crop_rec_4k experiments for 700D / T5i
« Reply #51 on: December 12, 2020, 03:57:17 PM »
Hi guys, thank you for this wonderful forum. I am a new ML user. I apologize in advanced if this question is given already. I did search the forum but am having a hard time finding the answer. Is the Eos 700D able to shoot in 50fps in 1080p? I really need to know this. Thank you so much in advance. :)

theBilalFakhouri

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
Re: Bilal's crop_rec_4k experiments for 700D / T5i
« Reply #52 on: December 13, 2020, 04:09:24 AM »
Is it possible to get a full 16:9 ratio over the HDMI output without the black vertical sidebars at any resolution?  I mean straight out of the camera without processing.  I know the T5i can't do a full-screen 1080i, but stretching or cropping with OBS software introduces some lag that is awkward on Zoom calls.

Note: I tried Canon's EOS WebCam software that uses USB instead of HDMI but the frame rate was way too low for reasonable Zoom calls.

Unfortunately clean HDMI output (without the black bars on both sides) from 700D/T5i isn't possible, I was doing some experiments regarding these black bars, I got promising results, you can see here (first post, the HDMI experiment):
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=25287.0

So I think implementing clean HDMI output on T5i is possible and we know where to start, but currently I am unable to continue experimenting, lack of time, sorry.


@lightwriter

You're welcome!

When I mentioned 1600x2040 preset, I think here:

There is 1x3 Mode which use full width sensor (1.61 Crop) which is 1736x2214 @ 23.976 FPS 2.35:1 AR you can achieve it by crop_new on 700D, however this mode isn't continuous even with the 240 MHz overclock and 10-bit lossless, you may lower the resolution to 1600x2040 @ 23.976 FPS 2.35:1 AR with 1.74 Crop to get continuous recording ..

To achieve continuous recording you need to use 10-bit lossless, and you need the 240 MHz overclock (with Sandisk Extreme PRO 170 MB/s card)

In RAW video I selected 1600, but when I go to Crop mode V2, I didn't change X resolution, but it says 1736.

Yes, This seems correct, keeping X value to zero will give the default X resolution which is 1736 in grey color.

What bit depth should I select in Crop Mode V2? Or should it be off?

For continuous recording, you need to select 10-bit from "Crop mode V2" , and keep it 14-bit lossless from "RAW video".

At the bottom, it says in yellow that it will record at 64MB/s, 0x5.4MB, 23.982 (49%). Expect around 0 frames at 56.3MB/s.

You will need to use 10-bit from "Crop mode V2" to lower the data rate, also you will need 240 MHz overclock which gives up to 68 MB/s write speed in video mode, 192 MHz is limited to ~55 MB/s maybe a little more which won't give continuous recording in this mode . .

Pressing Menu button twice, the resolution of Crop mode V2 shows 1736x2040 1x3, RAW video shows 1600x2040 1.74x

Yes, this seems correct too, recording at this stage (after pressing Menu button twice) would allow you to record some seconds without corrupted frames, right?

I did low level format in the original canon menu when formatting.

What am I doing wrong? Sorry for the trouble.

P.S.: Would the Sandisk Extreme Pro 170MB/s V30 be a better choice by allowing 240MHz?

P.P.S.: In Benchmark, with SD Overclock at 192MHz I'm getting write speeds of about 54 MB/s...it's on the low side, no?

Everything you are doing is correct actually, but you will need the 240 MHz overclock with 170 MB/s Sandisk Extreme Pro and 10-bit depth from "Crop mode V2" for continuous recording, the 192 MHz benchmarks looks okay too if you did the benchmark in video mode, try running benchmark in PLAY mode, run benchmark and press PLAY button; this should give you ~80 MB/s write and read speeds.

Have you managed to get some clips without corrupted frames in this mode?
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8 / SDR104 @ 240 MHz - Constant! | Fixed Scrambled LiveView in Higher resolution | Real-Time correct framing in the Way

lightwriter

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Bilal's crop_rec_4k experiments for 700D / T5i
« Reply #53 on: December 13, 2020, 01:24:24 PM »
Hello again @theBilalFakhouri!

Thank you so much for your detailed and easy to follow answer.

I ran the benchmark in play mode and you were right; I'm getting read speeds of 85.6MB/s and write speeds of 79.6MB/s.

Most of my clips over around 10-14 seconds; however, I managed to record one clip with approximately 1 minute of duration. I don't know how this happened, but it was the exception.

1 - I recorded 5 clips - two of the shorter ones don't have any problem; the other two short ones have a lower horizontal stripe corrupted (around 80-100 pixels height, perhaps?), and the longer clip was fine. What can I do to prevent the horizontal corrupted band? Here is one example of a corrupted frame: https://imgur.com/BLhAOr3 - all these clips were recorded at 192MHz overclock.

2 - You talked about using ML Framing to check framing. I've searched the options but I can't find it...could you point me to the right direction?

3 - The Sandisk Extreme PRO 170MB/s card you talked about is this one, right?: https://www.amazon.es/SanDisk-Extreme-Pro-Tarjeta-Memoria/dp/B07H9J1YXN/ref=sr_1_1?__mk_es_ES=%C3%85M%C3%85%C5%BD%C3%95%C3%91&dchild=1&keywords=Sandisk+Extreme+PRO+170+MB%2Fs+64&qid=1607862081&quartzVehicle=74-902&replacementKeywords=sandisk+extreme+pro+mb%2Fs+64&sr=8-1

4 - In MLVapp, in order to export with the correct aspect ratio, I inserted the values of 2400 by 1020 - this method works, but is it the best one?

5 -  Several users posted images of benchmarks with the 170MB/s card, 240Mhz. One user showed the first write speed being high - 66.7MB/s, but the second one reaching only 51.8MB/s. This happened with a EOS M, in movie mode. Are those values normal? https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=12862.625 - bottom of the page.
In this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tm1pFNRIlcI&feature=emb_logo&ab_channel=Zeek., by the 2.14 minutes mark, with an EOS M, using a 64GB 170MB/s card the results were as follow: write speed: 20.4MB/s

6 - In normal situations, the shutter speed appears as N/A (I can change the shutter speed but I can't see the value), even if in Crop mode V2 I activate Full range in Shutter range. If, in the Movie tab, I select FPS override, then it shows a value of 0,4'', but I can't change it. What's the solution?

Thanks again for your help!

theBilalFakhouri

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
Re: Bilal's crop_rec_4k experiments for 700D / T5i
« Reply #54 on: January 04, 2021, 11:49:15 PM »
@lightwriter

Hi again!

1- This corruption due to un-refreshed LiveView, to prevent this:
-You should always press Menu button twice for refreshing LiveView to apply the new settings, after changing them in crop_new "Crop mode V2", even when you turn off the module, you should press Menu button twice.

Also when you startup the camera and if crop_new was already ON you need to refresh LiveView manually!

2- In mlv_lite submenu --> Preview --> Framing

3- Yeah, that's what I am using

4- ?

MLVApp corrects aspect ratio automatically for you, you don't need to change anything regarding resolution. The output would be correct.

5- EOS M has some problems with 240 MHz overclock it doesn't work fine on this camera even with 170 MB/s Sandisk Extreme PRO cards (except one card: Sandisk Extreme PRO 170MB/s with 512 GB Capacity) , doing a "Low Level Format" would fix the speed drop issue e.g: from 66.7 MB/s to 51.8 MB/s -- these things have been discussed before in this topic.

6- This issue has been discussed here
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8 / SDR104 @ 240 MHz - Constant! | Fixed Scrambled LiveView in Higher resolution | Real-Time correct framing in the Way

theBilalFakhouri

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
Re: Bilal's crop_rec_4k experiments for 700D / T5i
« Reply #55 on: January 05, 2021, 12:03:36 AM »
Hi guys, thank you for this wonderful forum. I am a new ML user. I apologize in advanced if this question is given already. I did search the forum but am having a hard time finding the answer. Is the Eos 700D able to shoot in 50fps in 1080p? I really need to know this. Thank you so much in advance. :)

Hello!

If you mean 1080p50 in H.264, no you can't (reason: hardware limitations), however:
700D doesn't record native 1920x1080 resolution in H.264, it's actually upscale 1736x976 to 1920x1080 in H.264, so now if your question was " Can we record 1736x976 @ 50 FPS in RAW? "

Kind of, with limitations, the sensor support up to 1736x970 @ 50 FPS:

-You have to record in uncompressed RAW to avoid corrupted frames, @ 10-bit uncompressed the write speed would be 100 MB/s
-You will have stretched LiveView

This can be achieved in crop_new

You're welcome
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8 / SDR104 @ 240 MHz - Constant! | Fixed Scrambled LiveView in Higher resolution | Real-Time correct framing in the Way

lightwriter

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Bilal's crop_rec_4k experiments for 700D / T5i
« Reply #56 on: January 10, 2021, 09:25:26 PM »
@lightwriter

Hi again!

1- This corruption due to un-refreshed LiveView, to prevent this:
Also when you startup the camera and if crop_new was already ON you need to refresh LiveView manually!

2- In mlv_lite submenu --> Preview --> Framing

3- Yeah, that's what I am using

4- ?

MLVApp corrects aspect ratio automatically for you, you don't need to change anything regarding resolution. The output would be correct.

5- EOS M has some problems with 240 MHz overclock it doesn't work fine on this camera even with 170 MB/s Sandisk Extreme PRO cards (except one card: Sandisk Extreme PRO 170MB/s with 512 GB Capacity) , doing a "Low Level Format" would fix the speed drop issue e.g: from 66.7 MB/s to 51.8 MB/s -- these things have been discussed before in this topic.

6- This issue has been discussed here

Hi @theBilalFajhouri!

Thanks for your answer. Regarding number four you're right, the MLVapp corrects the aspect ratio; I only have to insert the resolution values for exporting.

I have read the answers related to number 6, but there you said "shutter speeds are working fine in all presets, and both from ML and Canon menu shutter speed is showing correctly " My build is crop_rec_4k.2020Sep30.700D115. Is this problem related to this specific build or am I doing something wrong?

I bought the Sandisk Extreme PRO 170MB/s card, and it indeed allows me to record indefinitely (almost always), but I'm having corrupted frames (random frames with the bottom half being pink). Is there some setting I can alter to prevent this from happening?

far.in.out

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Re: Bilal's crop_rec_4k experiments for 700D / T5i
« Reply #57 on: March 28, 2021, 12:21:02 AM »
Hi. Is H264 cropped recording available on 700D or 650D? 1:1 or 1:3 with binning?
EOS M (was 600D > 50D)

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7879
Re: Bilal's crop_rec_4k experiments for 700D / T5i
« Reply #58 on: March 28, 2021, 12:34:44 AM »
Supported cams: https://builds.magiclantern.fm/features.html -> Movie -> CROP_MODE_HACK

far.in.out

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Re: Bilal's crop_rec_4k experiments for 700D / T5i
« Reply #59 on: March 28, 2021, 12:49:05 AM »
Thanks. 1x3 binning works for H264 too, right? What about live preview while recording? How good is it? Does hdmi preview work in this mode?
EOS M (was 600D > 50D)

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7879
Re: Bilal's crop_rec_4k experiments for 700D / T5i
« Reply #60 on: March 28, 2021, 01:53:39 AM »
Looks like 1:1 to me.
1x3 binning works for H264 too, right?

Looks like 1:1 to me.

What about live preview while recording? How good is it?

Unsure what you want to know. I get a 3x electronically zoomed frame in 16:9 which fills display horizontal. Both in idle and during recording.

Does hdmi preview work in this mode?

If you want to ask what I get via HDMI: Looks like 1620x912 embedded in 1920x1080 and it is the same content (apart from overlays) shown by display when HDMI is not connected.

masc

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1799
Re: Bilal's crop_rec_4k experiments for 700D / T5i
« Reply #61 on: March 28, 2021, 02:09:29 PM »
Thanks. 1x3 binning works for H264 too, right? What about live preview while recording? How good is it?
No. 1x3 recording can work in RAW only. Liveview is realtime.
5D3.113 | EOSM.202

far.in.out

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Re: Bilal's crop_rec_4k experiments for 700D / T5i
« Reply #62 on: March 28, 2021, 11:36:18 PM »
Thanks guys. One last question - when recording in H264 1:1 crop mode, what resolution is it reading from the sensor? Is it 1920x1080 or is it something less than that and it gets upscaled?

I was initially thinking of getting the 600D for it's aliasing free 3x zoom mode for H264. But then I saw the latest progress on RAW and the fact that you can now shoot aliasing free RAW with a crop factor of 2 on several cams. So I'm willing to give RAW another shot while having cropped H264 as a fall back. So that makes 700D a good choice I guess. No point in getting 600D any more.
EOS M (was 600D > 50D)

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7879
Re: Bilal's crop_rec_4k experiments for 700D / T5i
« Reply #63 on: March 28, 2021, 11:57:38 PM »

far.in.out

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Re: Bilal's crop_rec_4k experiments for 700D / T5i
« Reply #64 on: March 29, 2021, 12:06:26 AM »
Thanks Walter. It looks like the wiki is about the full sensor mode. Is it the same case with cropped H264?
EOS M (was 600D > 50D)

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7879
Re: Bilal's crop_rec_4k experiments for 700D / T5i
« Reply #65 on: March 29, 2021, 07:26:50 PM »
Is it the same case with cropped H264?
Do the math on your own, please!


Pics taken with 650D.

far.in.out

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Re: Bilal's crop_rec_4k experiments for 700D / T5i
« Reply #66 on: March 30, 2021, 11:26:59 PM »
OK, millimeters from your pics (425/141) have a ratio of 3.014184397.
While full horizontal sensor res divided by 1920 (5184/1920) is 2.7.
But I don't think this is a reliable way of checking if there's upscaling going on.  :D

Hm, after looking at it for some time I don't see how cropped horiz res can be more than 1/3 of full sensor res, which is 1728.
EOS M (was 600D > 50D)

ML700D

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Bilal's crop_rec_4k experiments for 700D / T5i
« Reply #67 on: March 31, 2021, 01:28:17 PM »
hi,
thanks for the bilal's crop_rec_4k, I installed it few days ago. This is my first camera I bought.
I still confuse actually for the setting when switching between photo and video.. :P
for instance if I set on crop rec new in video mode with 1x3 binning then switch to photo mode the preview zoomed a bit like in video mode, is it normal?
and if I set the crop mode ON the preview always zoomed. How to get actual preview like normal recording? Thanks.

sorry for my bad english  :)

ML700D

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Bilal's crop_rec_4k experiments for 700D / T5i
« Reply #68 on: April 06, 2021, 07:30:45 AM »
hi again,
after I tried several times now I understand a bit.  :D
when I choose preset the preview looks perfect, I tried UHD 1x3 Anamorphic 1280x2160
as described here https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=25323.25

I think this is more than enough for me to take some footage.. @theBilalFakhouri you're great!

btw.. the black bar is not always black sometimes it turn like pink zebra flickering and sometimes the preview doesn't change between normal and zoom.

thanks.