Author Topic: Canon 70D  (Read 1738650 times)

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1163
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 10th March)
« Reply #475 on: March 12, 2015, 04:06:29 PM »
To avoid further confusion:

Default modules makefile includes indeed mlv_sound + mlv_rec and mlv_play

I was on a rush and forgot to exclude them in one build I published.
So mlv_sound is inbuilt but not yet supported

There's no need to experiment with sound until you see a hint for sound support in the changelogs on 1st page.

70D.112 & 100D.101

Harrison

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 10th March)
« Reply #476 on: March 12, 2015, 05:27:01 PM »
So I'm new to magic lantern and this will be my first time downloading it to my 70d. If it's an Alpha version does that mean that there are still a lot of issues with the program for my camera and should I wait to download a more complete version. Or is it completely fine? Thanks.
-Canon Lover

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7229
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 10th March)
« Reply #477 on: March 12, 2015, 06:58:56 PM »
If it's an Alpha version does that mean that there are still a lot of issues with the program for my camera
Yes
and should I wait to download a more complete version.
Depends. Keep in mind: If it breaks, you can keep both pieces.

Or is it completely fine?
Number of bricked cameras until now: Zero. Doesn't mean there is a guarantee it will *not* break your cam. It's alpha, after all.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

donjames150

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 94
  • 760D / T6S
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 10th March)
« Reply #478 on: March 12, 2015, 07:53:50 PM »
Quote from Harrison

"So I'm new to magic lantern and this will be my first time downloading it to my 70d. If it's an Alpha version does that mean that there are still a lot of issues with the program for my camera and should I wait to download a more complete version. Or is it completely fine? Thanks.
-Canon Lover"

I've been running Alpha versions of Magic Lantern for 2 years on 2 different cameras (7D and 650D). They lock up on occaision, both of them. You just have to remember to take out your battery and put it back in, then it will be fine. I am planning on buying a 70D as soon as the HDR video function is working and I would not hesitate to install magic lantern on it.
EOS 760D + 55-250mm + Tokina 11-16mm

Eli Kaliski

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 10th March)
« Reply #479 on: March 13, 2015, 04:07:11 AM »
How can I turn off AGC? I'm using a Canon 70d (brand new) and a Røde Videomic.

-Eli

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7229
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 10th March)
« Reply #480 on: March 13, 2015, 05:08:41 AM »
Read cam's manual.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

cluber77

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 10th March)
« Reply #481 on: March 13, 2015, 08:20:56 PM »
At what point the alpha become to Official version? Are there certain steps for that?.
And another question, Is it possible to shoot video in slower shutter speed then the camera defaults to get the time lapse style effect in night shooting with this ML?

Thanks. 

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7229
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 10th March)
« Reply #482 on: March 13, 2015, 08:26:57 PM »
FPS override -> Read first post
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

deusex1

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 10th March)
« Reply #483 on: March 13, 2015, 08:51:18 PM »
cluber77, that is interesting. As we know, when shooting video at 24fps, the minimum shutter speed can go as low as 1/30th. This is the setting without ML. I wonder, could ML bring us a shutter speed of 1/24th ? The difference would be really small, but its just a thought.

cluber77

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 10th March)
« Reply #484 on: March 13, 2015, 09:48:34 PM »
I had Hackd GH2 camera and it was possible only if I was shooting in manual focus mode.

grey

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 10th March)
« Reply #485 on: March 13, 2015, 10:24:20 PM »
cluber77, that is interesting. As we know, when shooting video at 24fps, the minimum shutter speed can go as low as 1/30th. This is the setting without ML. I wonder, could ML bring us a shutter speed of 1/24th ? The difference would be really small, but its just a thought.

Expo -> Expo. Override=on -> Set shutter speed. 1/25 of sec is lowest speed.

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1163
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #486 on: March 14, 2015, 09:20:01 AM »
updated first post with a new download link. Try out the new installer. AF-ON button in FRSP works now too....
70D.112 & 100D.101

janoschsimon

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #487 on: March 14, 2015, 10:28:57 AM »
thx for the update nik :-) tried it on the old no change BUHH :D but i wait no problem keep up the great work :-)

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1163
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #488 on: March 14, 2015, 10:52:57 AM »
it will only work on cameras which have successfully used the previous builds. Appropriate infos can always be taken from 1st post. But new users now have a hassle-free way to install ML. So feel free to try out and report your findings.

I also want to shout out a special thank you to user "grey" which provided awesome fast and helpful support with private testing last days.
70D.112 & 100D.101

Mr.Click

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Dortmund, Germany
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #489 on: March 14, 2015, 01:41:53 PM »
Thank you for the new Alpha, looks good. But I couldn´t find Dual ISO on this Build, which I´m enjoying on the alpha 4. So I decided to switch back to Alpha 4 back again.
Canon
EOS 80D/ EOS M+ML /  EOS 50E/ EF-M 18-55 3,5-5,6 IS STM / EF-S 10-18 4,5-5,6 IS STM / A 24 1,4 DG HSM / EF 35 2,0 IS USM / EX 50 1,4 HSM / EF-S 55-250 4.5,6 IS STM , Speedlight 430 EX II

deusex1

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #490 on: March 14, 2015, 02:34:03 PM »
After I shoot, I remove the memory card and turn off the camera. When I put the memory card again, the camera cannot be turned on. The only way to turn it on is, to remove the battery. Is that behavior normal?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7229
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #491 on: March 14, 2015, 02:41:51 PM »
First turn off camera, wait until all LED activity stopped (and a little more). Then you may remove card. Doing otherwise may cause your battery to drain.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1163
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #492 on: March 14, 2015, 03:44:08 PM »
Thank you for the new Alpha, looks good. But I couldn´t find Dual ISO on this Build, which I´m enjoying on the alpha 4. So I decided to switch back to Alpha 4 back again.
Fixed! Just re-download from 1st post and thx for informing. Didn't notice myself.

After I shoot, I remove the memory card and turn off the camera.
I recommend  turning off camera and afterwards removing the card.
70D.112 & 100D.101

deusex1

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #493 on: March 14, 2015, 05:03:00 PM »
I recommend  turning off camera and afterwards removing the card.

Alright i tried this:

I shoot, turn off the camera, remove the card, re-insert the card. The result is the same - the camera cannot turn on, without removing the battery first.

Is this behavior normal for 70D, or is it some left-over the installation of ML, maybe corrupted bootflag?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7229
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #494 on: March 14, 2015, 05:04:47 PM »
Did you wait for LED activity to stop?
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

deusex1

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #495 on: March 14, 2015, 05:48:28 PM »
Did you wait for LED activity to stop?

Hey that seems to fix the issue, thanks!.
I was too quick to turn on the camera after card insertion. Now I tried to wait 5 sec, then it turned on normally. But as far as I remember, such waiting was not necessary, before I installed ML. Not sure, let someone with a clean 70D try.

Update: the waiting thing worked for the 1st insertion, but at the 2nd insertion it failed. And then the battery drained out in a second.

Can anyone explain, exactly why this battery draining happens?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7229
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #496 on: March 14, 2015, 05:58:39 PM »
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1163
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #497 on: March 14, 2015, 06:02:13 PM »
LED activity is always there. When turning on and off. Maybe you are rushing too much. Just take some seconds before you remove card.
I put in/out a minimum of 300 times my sdcard from 70D while porting. never encountered your issues.

If you can reproduce it after reading through Walter's posted link then please post detailed steps on how to reproduce...
70D.112 & 100D.101

deusex1

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #498 on: March 14, 2015, 06:13:20 PM »
I removed Magic Lantern from the firmware menu (waited 30sec to delete the bootflag).
Now the camera behaves the same way I got it from the store.
I dont wait for any LEDs, and no matter how fast I remove and insert the card, the camera turns on without a problem. I can even remove the card without turning off the camera - it still works.

So that means ML needs some time to initialize and if the user moves the card too quickly, the camera bricks and needs battery re-insertion.

I am still wondering, how is it technically possible, to drain a fully charged battery in just seconds? What process could lead to this?


Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7229
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #499 on: March 14, 2015, 06:27:36 PM »
What could have happened: Cam asks battery's controller. Controller lost track and reports empty state.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!