Author Topic: The CinemaDNG Discussion (raw2cdng)  (Read 823428 times)

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12420
Re: The CinemaDNG Discussion
« Reply #100 on: June 11, 2013, 01:26:28 PM »
Yes, on 5D3 you need to set both.

chmee

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1031
  • raw2cdng
Re: The CinemaDNG Discussion
« Reply #101 on: June 11, 2013, 02:07:21 PM »
fixed. v1.1.1 is out. http://www.phreekz.de/wordpress/2013/06/magiclantern-raw2cdng-cinema-dng/

just now playing with the newest build to examine the stripByteCounts-Thing. fixed in 1.1.2

regards chmee

Jakobmen

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
  • Canon 5D3
Re: The CinemaDNG Discussion
« Reply #102 on: June 11, 2013, 09:30:16 PM »
fixed. v1.1.1 is out. http://www.phreekz.de/wordpress/2013/06/magiclantern-raw2cdng-cinema-dng/

just now playing with the newest build to examine the stripByteCounts-Thing. fixed in 1.1.2

regards chmee

THANKS! Chmee

to bad these files CinemaDNG don't open in Avid media composer
Canon 5D3

chmee

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1031
  • raw2cdng
Re: The CinemaDNG Discussion
« Reply #103 on: June 11, 2013, 10:10:46 PM »
@jakobmen  :o >:( is there any log or error-message? its my concern to see that playing in media composer as well - did you try the mac-version from thomas worth? is his cdng working?

handling bmcc cinema dng
Quote
Currently, you cannot import the camera raw files directly into Avid Media Composer, Apple Color or Adobe Premiere Pro.
it cant handle bmcc-cdng-files? is that still so?

regards chmee

Jakobmen

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
  • Canon 5D3
Re: The CinemaDNG Discussion
« Reply #104 on: June 11, 2013, 10:16:57 PM »
@jakobmen  :o >:( is there any log or error-message? its my concern to see that playing in media composer as well - did you try the mac-version from thomas worth? is his cdng working?

regards chmee

My bad bro im dumb! avid does not open CinemaDNG.. eheh
Canon 5D3

IliasG

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
Re: The CinemaDNG Discussion
« Reply #105 on: June 12, 2013, 12:47:47 AM »
http://www.phreekz.de/wordpress/2013/06/magiclantern-raw2cdng-cinema-dng/



version 1.0 is out - you know. its beta - and dont be too much optimistic :) the 12bit mode is built because of the easy way and a hope, that cutting the lsb 2 bits are not that visible :) the result is still far better than the "old" canon output.

@tin2tin:
the conversion from 14 to 12 bit is not that big work - but it needs some memory and some bitshifting and masking. my assumings are, if between sensor and dma-controller is no "processing-unit" able to handle that. hmm. the first approach was, to drive all the sensordata thru the digic - and this was the bottleneck.

regards chmee

chmee, thanks for the new version, glad you recovered fast. :)

12bit linear should be OK since there is more than 2bits noise as metered on Black Frames (>6 14bit raw levels). Theoretically, only ISO160 could suffer from this in a case of heavy processing.
But this truncation makes me nervous .. how did you managed to make it better than "old"Canon output ??. Waiting for tests ..
Any way, after you implement 10bit log we can expand using LUTs for 12 bit log ..

IliasG

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
Re: The CinemaDNG Discussion
« Reply #106 on: June 12, 2013, 01:18:58 AM »
so far i understand the pink highlights problem - its no problem of data handling but of managing the "beyond whitelevel sensels". the checkbutton is a fast built in tester if its changing something. if you search after "canon raw pink highlights" you (we) see, its a problem since years - manually managed by the raw-converters - and the dcraw-community is the only one trying to solve that by explaining the problem.

example links:

may 2012 - http://sourceforge.net/p/ufraw/discussion/434060/thread/b43582e3/
march 2009 - http://www.luminous-landscape.com/forum/index.php?topic=32942.0
feb 2010 - http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/2748822
oct 2011 - http://code.google.com/p/rawtherapee/issues/detail?id=1037
dec 2009 - http://www.flickr.com/groups/photomatix/discuss/72157623070526860/

regards chmee

In fact the problem comes from Dcraw which uses a single (many times wrong) value for White Level while WL floats depending on ISO settings (different for "integer" ISOs and "intermediate" ISOs) and on len's f-stop (there is digital amplification for larger than f/2.8 settings pushing the WP higher).

With DNGs the solution could be easy if ISO & f-stop was reported because there is an exif tag for WL, raw2dng/raw2cdng can take care of it.

For native raws (*.CR2) there is a need from the decoders side for a database as will be implemented by RT team .. http://code.google.com/p/rawtherapee/issues/detail?id=1752
I am sure Adobe uses a database also with rather conservative settings and as far as I know in DNG conversions they do not increase WL for open f-stops, not a big issue .. just a slight loss of highlights.

As it is now, ML uses the conservative settings that we see in Adobe's DNG conversions and I think they are safe, but we need a decoder to cooperate and maybe it's Resolve's error interpreting the exif tags wrongly .. like RT did a while ago https://code.google.com/p/rawtherapee/issues/detail?id=1695

Jakobmen

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
  • Canon 5D3
Re: The CinemaDNG Discussion
« Reply #107 on: June 12, 2013, 02:18:38 AM »
@jakobmen  :o >:( is there any log or error-message? its my concern to see that playing in media composer as well - did you try the mac-version from thomas worth? is his cdng working?

handling bmcc cinema dngit cant handle bmcc-cdng-files? is that still so?

regards chmee


Chmee im trying to do this

raw2cdng to Resolve works great..

resolve to Avid media composer works great..

BUT when coming from Avid back to resolve its not linking right, its only linking the first clip in the edit and replace the other clips with that first clip..

could it be a file name problem or something in your code when making the CDNG files ?

here's what im trying to do
https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=Kpg0k3aD088

english is not my first so forgive me..
Canon 5D3

iunknown

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: The CinemaDNG Discussion
« Reply #108 on: June 12, 2013, 06:09:24 AM »
chmee, incredible work. Jakobmen, I don't think its a file naming issue.  I get a "does not support image sequence" error exporting an xml out of resolve.  It doesn't do this with cinema dng's from the black magic camera.

I guess resolve 10 will be out soon, and looks like we'll have enough tools to cut in resolve, rather then round-tripping to premier.  So raw2cdng might be the easiest workflow in the long run.

zach915m

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: The CinemaDNG Discussion
« Reply #109 on: June 12, 2013, 07:27:59 AM »
Same thing happened to me with the first clip linking to all in the resolve/avid workflow.  Just found this which seems like a much more proper workflow then using proxies:


Worth a watch and I believe this will be better.  Trying it tomorrow.  Unless this method is what you already did?

zach915m

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: The CinemaDNG Discussion
« Reply #110 on: June 12, 2013, 09:17:12 AM »
Well I tried the above method I just posted numerous times as well and am having the same problem.  All of the separate clips in the AAF only link to the first DNG file instead of the separate ones that were assigned.  It works if I use the proxies but I can't get back to the DNG's.  Anyone with a fix or is this in the code?

chmee

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1031
  • raw2cdng
Re: The CinemaDNG Discussion
« Reply #111 on: June 12, 2013, 09:25:28 AM »
@iliasG "how did you managed to make it better than "old"Canon output ??"
umph.. maybe wrong said - old means the original-video-output via h.264-mov.

xml-problems - there are timecode and framerate tags for cdng - i do not use them - but maybe its worth to activate them :)

regards chmee

tin2tin

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
Re: The CinemaDNG Discussion
« Reply #112 on: June 12, 2013, 11:02:10 AM »
If there is a reel name tag for cdng too, I would suggest using the embedded file creation time as time code and the date as reel name as defaults(most softwares only read first 8 characters of reel name tags).

Jakobmen

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
  • Canon 5D3
Re: The CinemaDNG Discussion
« Reply #113 on: June 12, 2013, 02:42:44 PM »
@iliasG "how did you managed to make it better than "old"Canon output ??"
umph.. maybe wrong said - old means the original-video-output via h.264-mov.

xml-problems - there are timecode and framerate tags for cdng - i do not use them - but maybe its worth to activate them :)

regards chmee


thats what i was thinking.. Thank you again for your work you do..
Canon 5D3

chmee

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1031
  • raw2cdng
Re: The CinemaDNG Discussion
« Reply #114 on: June 13, 2013, 10:51:02 AM »
@IliasG
Just to be on the right track.. Your ConversionLUT 10<->14bit you linked.
on left side is the lin->log, on the right side the inversion log->lin?!

IliasG

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
Re: The CinemaDNG Discussion
« Reply #115 on: June 13, 2013, 01:04:40 PM »
@IliasG
Just to be on the right track.. Your ConversionLUT 10<->14bit you linked.
on left side is the lin->log, on the right side the inversion log->lin?!

Exactly.
14bit linear (A) to 10bit log (H) is on the left.
 Just fill in columnA the clipped values (<2017) all mapped to zero in columnH.

As you can see I forgot to adapt columnA to a variable Black Level .. just used the typical for 5DIII.
Normally I should start from the full 14bit range, clip 31 values lower than Black Level (which is variable) for columnB ...

10bit log (J) to 16bit linear (Q) is on the right. With red color (141) is the 16bit black Level.

It was very dirty calculation sorry.

chmee

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1031
  • raw2cdng
Re: The CinemaDNG Discussion
« Reply #116 on: June 13, 2013, 07:59:51 PM »
when the children are sleeping i will try to realise the 10bit|log :)
(Reelname-Tag is built in as well as changed sequencenames- we'll test, if this lasts for solving the xml/edl-problems)

by the way - do you all know the hunterLUT for resolve? as seen in the vimeo-example, its doin' a good job. (downloadlink is found in the vimeo-description)

regards chmee


Jakobmen

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
  • Canon 5D3
Re: The CinemaDNG Discussion
« Reply #117 on: June 13, 2013, 08:04:03 PM »
when the children are sleeping i will try to realise the 10bit|log :)
(Reelname-Tag is built in as well as changed sequencenames- we'll test, if this lasts for solving the xml/edl-problems)

by the way - do you all know the hunterLUT for resolve? as seen in the vimeo-example, its doin' a good job. (downloadlink is found in the vimeo-description)

regards chmee

I don't think is matters but I use AAF

Thanks!
Canon 5D3

chmee

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1031
  • raw2cdng
Re: The CinemaDNG Discussion
« Reply #118 on: June 14, 2013, 01:56:00 PM »
v1.1.6 is out - its the first attempt to fix the edl/xml-Problem - changing filename-structure and inserting Reelname-Tag into header.
http://www.phreekz.de/wordpress/2013/06/magiclantern-raw2cdng-cinema-dng/

regards chmee

artyg

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: The CinemaDNG Discussion
« Reply #119 on: June 14, 2013, 02:50:54 PM »
v1.1.6 is out - its the first attempt to fix the edl/xml-Problem - changing filename-structure and inserting Reelname-Tag into header.
http://www.phreekz.de/wordpress/2013/06/magiclantern-raw2cdng-cinema-dng/

regards chmee

Hm.... I try with edl, xml and aaf, but have same result... no changes. What names should have proxy files? In my case:
Proxy - M0000001.mov
CDNG - M0000001.000000.dng
Canon 5D3 SanDisk Extreme Pro 64Gb 160MB/s

Jakobmen

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
  • Canon 5D3
Re: The CinemaDNG Discussion
« Reply #120 on: June 14, 2013, 03:10:32 PM »
same problem for me
only relinks first clip in the SEQ from Avid to resolve.



thanks
Canon 5D3

tin2tin

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
Re: The CinemaDNG Discussion
« Reply #121 on: June 14, 2013, 03:30:16 PM »
not working with AAF
My guess is that it might be helpful if you added how you test it.

chmee

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1031
  • raw2cdng
Re: The CinemaDNG Discussion
« Reply #122 on: June 14, 2013, 04:24:43 PM »
please just link an edl or xml-example. right now i have no time to test myself -
but could it be, your workflow with proxies is not right? are you sure, you're doing it right?

why should resolve know, that m00001.mov picturesequence has to be replaced with m0001.[].dng?
is it described in the edl/xml?

regards chmee

artyg

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: The CinemaDNG Discussion
« Reply #123 on: June 14, 2013, 05:37:08 PM »
please just link an edl or xml-example. right now i have no time to test myself -
but could it be, your workflow with proxies is not right? are you sure, you're doing it right?

why should resolve know, that m00001.mov picturesequence has to be replaced with m0001.[].dng?
is it described in the edl/xml?

regards chmee

EDL https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BxDyTWKlBKcWd1k5ekNCOWJtTzA/edit?usp=sharing
XML https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BxDyTWKlBKcWcmlRbjYtOTA3M0E/edit?usp=sharing

So I wanted to ask - how proxy should be named, that they are properly conform in Resolve? Because proxy is a single video file (.mov or mp4) and original is dng sequence... I understand that Resolve don't now about it, but how do this?
Canon 5D3 SanDisk Extreme Pro 64Gb 160MB/s

keyth

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: The CinemaDNG Discussion
« Reply #124 on: June 14, 2013, 07:34:43 PM »
Hi all,i have try last version of raw2cdng.1.1.6 and when import sequence in resolve i see hot pixel why? i have canon60d with tecnicolor cinestyle..in camera raw hot pixel not are present in davinci resolve yes...what is wrong? HERE A PIC


 ----> HELP PLEASE,THANK U ALL!