Author Topic: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording  (Read 755619 times)

ashtrai

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #750 on: May 15, 2013, 01:20:57 AM »
The best you can with 600D (550D/60D) is: (limited by hardware SD transfer rates)
- 960х540, upscale it to 1280х720 (24 fps max)
- 1280х400, tight aspect 3.20:1 (24 fps max)
In Canon's 720p - lineskipping 1.66х, so you should upscale to restore correct ratio:
- 1280x400 upscales to 1280x664 - near to 16:9 (24 fps max)
- 1280x360 upscale to 1280x600 - 2.13:1 aspect
- 1280x320 upscale to 1280x533 - 2.40:1 cinemascope aspect


It is only 1280px wide, but pretty nice looking though :)

Can someone post samples from these resolutions from a 600D? I want to try to compare it upscaled against the H264 equivalents.

tferradans

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #751 on: May 15, 2013, 01:29:31 AM »
managed to get about 400 frames in 1920x1080 on a 5D3 today, using 90mbps Sandisk Card.
Turning off Global Draw does a huge difference when it comes to dropping frames.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #752 on: May 15, 2013, 01:32:04 AM »
Should compare 1080P/720P/320P and zoom. Seems performance is different based on those and the raw image will differ between 1080/zoom/720. Taking a crop of that may give you a higher res but I'm looking at the 720P mode stuff and its not as good as 1080 or zoom.

But better res vs more frames... I dunno. You don't have to turn global draw off completely, just shut down things like zebrase, etc.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12258
  • Emergencies only
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #753 on: May 15, 2013, 01:32:25 AM »
Quote
Turning off Global Draw does a huge difference when it comes to dropping frames.
Try setting both task priorities to 0x18 instead of 0x1a in raw_rec.c, maybe it helps with globaldraw.

tferradans

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #754 on: May 15, 2013, 01:32:28 AM »
forgot to ask: is it possible to record raw files to the CF card, and regular h264 video to the SD card? Would be great for previewing on set and making raw shooting a lot safer. :)

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #755 on: May 15, 2013, 01:34:02 AM »
Hey guys,
with something about 1504x600 crop resolution set we can use tokina 11-16 at 11,5mm with absolutely no vignette on full frame cameras  :D
So now it's like a crop sensor DSLR (with low light abilities of FF). It would give ~15mm equivalent for full frame  (crop factor ~1,3) :D
(15mm is also about maximum usable value for 11-16 on full frame).
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12258
  • Emergencies only
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #756 on: May 15, 2013, 01:34:49 AM »
Quote
is it possible to record raw files to the CF card, and regular h264 video to the SD card?
Should work if you hardcode the raw file path to A:/ and select B:/ from canon menu.

Habitat

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #757 on: May 15, 2013, 01:38:43 AM »
Please excuse my ignorance here, but I keep hearing about the ability to crop/pan the sensor. I have not been able to figure out how to do this.

FYI...Transcend's 32GB, 1000x card works fine up to but not including 1920 x 1080. At 1920 x 1080, it does drop frames intermittently.

Thanks for any help.

AJ

Also was that with Global Draw on or Off?

tferradans

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #758 on: May 15, 2013, 01:39:21 AM »
Should work if you hardcode the raw file path to A:/ and select B:/ from canon menu.

Niiice.  How can I hardcode that? I tried looking into raw.c (no decent programming skills) and found no mention to where it saves the raw file (except for a comment)...

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #759 on: May 15, 2013, 01:43:56 AM »
Quote
15mm is also about maximum usable value for 11-16 on full frame

Ha! good thing for mine when I send it in.. will also fix my 35-135 which still works :)

Recorded a 10gb and 25gb file... checking to see if I can bust up the 10gb... write speed was really slowing down to like 1/2 towards the end.

VectorZ

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #760 on: May 15, 2013, 01:59:13 AM »
Does Shutter Speed adjustment affect motion blur the same way with the Raw Recordind module? Do you guys think it will be possible to have simultaneous HDMI out and onboard monitor and record raw when ported to 5DMk3 1.2.1 firmware?

hirethestache

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 78
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #761 on: May 15, 2013, 02:13:42 AM »
Does Shutter Speed adjustment affect motion blur the same way with the Raw Recordind module? Do you guys think it will be possible to have simultaneous HDMI out and onboard monitor and record raw when ported to 5DMk3 1.2.1 firmware?


I was about to ask these exact same questions...beat me to it!


Since the last I inquired about recording to the HDMI-out, the developers implied that you did not even thing continuous recording would be possible...but your magical ingenuity has broken through! Is the idea of running through the HDMI's limit of 10gpbs (realistically 3.2) even a feasible approach, or is it completely unrealistic? This would reduce the strain on the camera, and heat would be much less of an issue...
@HireTheStache
www.HireTheStache.com
C100, 5D3, 5D2, 6D

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5712
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #762 on: May 15, 2013, 02:16:58 AM »
Ha! good thing for mine when I send it in.. will also fix my 35-135 which still works :)

Recorded a 10gb and 25gb file... checking to see if I can bust up the 10gb... write speed was really slowing down to like 1/2 towards the end.

Did you record a 25gb file? What about the 4gb file limit? How did you get passed that?

KenFTW

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #763 on: May 15, 2013, 02:29:02 AM »
ive tried many configurations to be able to get usable footage with my 600d, the only problem is that damn magenta!

Shawn_Lights

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Movies turn dreams into reality.
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #764 on: May 15, 2013, 02:31:05 AM »
ive tried many configurations to be able to get usable footage with my 600d, the only problem is that damn magenta!

It's a RAW file...turn the magenta/green slider to 0.

Habitat

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #765 on: May 15, 2013, 02:34:49 AM »
I think he's talking about the magenta blocks..

KenFTW

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #766 on: May 15, 2013, 02:36:12 AM »
@shawn_lights perhaps I phrased it wrong, its actually a file corruption that shows up in a magenta color.

Shawn_Lights

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Movies turn dreams into reality.
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #767 on: May 15, 2013, 02:41:29 AM »
Oh I see.

mattmvpmedia

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Anyone get the 600D to work without the magenta blocks/tearing?
« Reply #768 on: May 15, 2013, 02:46:57 AM »
Dear ML team: you rock. Thank you.

I've been testing out RAW on my 600D T3i and I always get tearing or magenta blocks in some of the frames. Has anyone figured out a solution to this yet?

Thanks!

Andy600

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1857
  • Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #769 on: May 15, 2013, 02:54:13 AM »
I'm sure if/when there are fixes and improvements the devs will upload them. Just keep an eye on https://bitbucket.org/OtherOnePercent/tragic-lantern-2.0/downloads for the 600d and use the latest files  :)
Colorist working with Davinci Resolve, Baselight, Nuke, After Effects & Premier Pro. Occasional Sunday afternoon DOP. Developer of Cinelog-C Colorspace Management and LUTs - www.cinelogdcp.com

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #770 on: May 15, 2013, 02:54:32 AM »
Yea, the 4gb limit is software.... but the converter hit a snag:



This footer looks good?

I tried adding D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE and changing the fseeks to fseeko64.. still no go.

Brian@202020

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #771 on: May 15, 2013, 03:44:23 AM »
Maybe I'm jumping ahead of myself, but do you think RAW HDR could eventually be possible?

mixmastermike

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 83
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #772 on: May 15, 2013, 03:45:55 AM »
Just updated to the May 14th build.

Im using a Lexar 32Gb x1000 CF and I didn't have any dropped frames. With earlier builds I got dropped frames, the recording only stopped when I hit 4Gb.

mattmvpmedia

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #773 on: May 15, 2013, 03:48:23 AM »
Thanks Andy600

TjS

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #774 on: May 15, 2013, 03:52:32 AM »
//