Author Topic: Canon 650D [OLD]  (Read 906188 times)

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 650D
« Reply #50 on: December 10, 2012, 02:06:12 PM »
Digital zoom is not the issue, the lack of video crop mode is (if you want the best possible IQ). It's sad because the 600 had it
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

Zunk

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 650D
« Reply #51 on: December 10, 2012, 04:49:57 PM »
@robertsabian

I read the manuals from Canon’s web site on the T4i and the T3i.  The T3i has the "Movie Digital Zoom" feature on page 152.

For the T4i, there is no feature listed, and many reviews say it is not in the T4i.
http://blog.mtkalin.com/?p=42
http://www.chadsorianophotoblog.com/2012/06/canon-eos-rebel-t4i650d-video-test.html
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Canon_EOS_650D

Regardless of the exact terminology, whether movie digital zoom or video crop mode, this is what I want to do with the T4i:
fast forward to 1:30    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D5wNPv60U_o

@nanomad - what do you think the chances are ML could get this feature back?  0%, 50%, 90%?

Thanks again!

Paxman

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 650D
« Reply #52 on: December 10, 2012, 07:03:30 PM »
Just to let you know, the digital zoom got me thinking about buying the 650 for a while... but when I got that I realized it does have digital zoom, but it is not accessible from the buttons,,, rahter, from the touch screen... But it's the same 3x and 10x :) :)

Are you sure...? Only zoom I can find in the touch screen is the x1, x5 and x10 for focus assistance. This zoom is not for shooting film, it resets as soon as the rec button is pressed.

pgeschke

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 650D
« Reply #53 on: December 10, 2012, 07:32:15 PM »
Are you sure...? Only zoom I can find in the touch screen is the x1, x5 and x10 for focus assistance. This zoom is not for shooting film, it resets as soon as the rec button is pressed.

I second that. No digital zoom in movie mode.

RMiranda75

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 650D
« Reply #54 on: December 12, 2012, 08:17:32 AM »
Hi, I just start at this forum. I have a doubt, in the first page of this discussion, steve271 said that he's apply the actual ML to his camera and work. It's right? Can I apply to my T4i without any fear to damage my camera? Thanks.

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 650D
« Reply #55 on: December 12, 2012, 09:04:15 AM »
Hi, I just start at this forum. I have a doubt, in the first page of this discussion, steve271 said that he's apply the actual ML to his camera and work. It's right? Can I apply to my T4i without any fear to damage my camera? Thanks.
There's no Magic Lantern for the 650D/T4i yet. You read wrong
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

RAK1966

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 650D
« Reply #56 on: December 12, 2012, 12:04:16 PM »
Hallo...kann ich vielleicht helfen in dem ich die Software auf meine Eos 650d spiele und teste?

Hallo...can i help to test the Software with my eos 650d?



Ralf

pgeschke

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 650D
« Reply #57 on: December 12, 2012, 12:07:33 PM »
Hallo...kann ich vielleicht helfen in dem ich die Software auf meine Eos 650d spiele und teste?

Hallo...can i help to test the Software with my eos 650d?



Ralf

Hello Ralf. Please read the topic. This has been proposed by many people already.
I guess ML staff will let people know when theres any beta out.

Thanks!

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #58 on: December 12, 2012, 12:27:03 PM »
Looks like it's working ;)






Thanks to Indy and the whole team (Alex and coutts in particular) for helping me start this port
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

scrax

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1417
  • Code monkey
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #59 on: December 12, 2012, 12:27:53 PM »
 :D ;D

Nice the black color scheme for photo mode.
I'm using ML2.3 for photography with:
EOS 600DML | EOS 400Dplus - EF 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro  - EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM - EF 70-200mm f/4 L USM - 580EXII - OsX Lion, Photoshop & Lightroom -no video experience- MLTools

pgeschke

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #60 on: December 12, 2012, 12:33:02 PM »
Awesome! :D

Great work lads!

pemstudio

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #61 on: December 12, 2012, 01:06:22 PM »
Great work :)

deleted.account.01

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
Re: Canon 650D
« Reply #62 on: December 12, 2012, 05:18:30 PM »
my T4i without any fear

lol i was heard T4i got touche screan :DDDD 

i got question ...tis touche screan is for what ? :DD
and if this is only one diference betwen T3i what is point pay more ?
for touche screan ? :DD ... Canon going in wrong way.. it will be soon like... Canon iRebel Pod T6mini

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #63 on: December 12, 2012, 05:22:11 PM »
Well, there's a digic V processor in it and a few additions for handled shooting. And video mode AF
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

deleted.account.01

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #64 on: December 12, 2012, 05:41:00 PM »
Well, there's a digic V processor in it and a few additions for handled shooting. And video mode AF

ok  better cpu ..

Nikon d3200 got 3 digit .. i just thing why canon needs to have 5 on that camera,, if this realy make quality up..or its just for faster moving in Menue lol.. or  that  5 it must be only cus touche screan

killr0y

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #65 on: December 12, 2012, 06:58:33 PM »
nanomad, I never doubted you for one second!  Ok, maybe for just a second.. or a few hundre.. anyway, congrats on an awesome achievement, and just in time for Chistmas.  Doesn't get much better than that!

How long before we see an alpha??  :P

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #66 on: December 12, 2012, 07:27:58 PM »
It may be a while, I can't risk bricking people's cameras  ;)
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

33black

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #67 on: December 12, 2012, 09:57:06 PM »
Best news all day.

And to update on a post I made 2 weeks ago at the beginning of this thread, I am re-employed.  Start a new job today.

Thankfully that didn't take long, so the donation will be coming, just in time for xmas.

REALLY looking forward to getting my hands on this Alpha.  I've had a camera for months now that just has basic features.  boohoo.

Indy

  • Developer
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 110
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #68 on: December 12, 2012, 10:59:28 PM »
Hi Namomad,

Could you please publish the 650d_101.fir in the source tree ?
It will allow other 650D/T4i owners to enable the bootflag and get a backup (but nothing more) ?
We need more developers, so we have to help them.

Indy

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #69 on: December 13, 2012, 01:53:36 AM »
Sure, I didn't upload it because we usually don't have FIRs in the report. I was thinking of uploading the whole hello world sample as a download either here or on bit bucket
I'll sort it first thing tomorrow
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

nomada

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #70 on: December 13, 2012, 06:01:12 AM »
Hello!

well, I'm new in this forum
I just got a 650D and I'm a software developer,
I would like to help on the port of 650D but I'm a bit lost,
how should I start??
I work with a mac, but I have a virtualized linux, so I can work on both...
I read how to install the tools, but I don't know from where should I get the firmware, or if it's possible to download it from the camera...

thanks

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #71 on: December 13, 2012, 10:09:04 AM »
I'm uploading the "toolkit" right now (it  allows you to enable the bootflag and dump the firmware from you camera)
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #72 on: December 13, 2012, 05:30:22 PM »
Stubs status, from ML in-camera test:

Code: [Select]
[Pass] strlen("abc") => 0x3
[Pass] strlen("qwertyuiop") => 0xa
[Pass] strlen("") => 0x0
[Pass] strcpy(msg, "hi there") => 0x1ad194
[Pass] msg => 'hi there'
[Pass] snprintf(a, sizeof(a), "foo") => 0x3
[Pass] snprintf(b, sizeof(b), "foo") => 0x3
[Pass] strcmp(a, b) => 0x0
[Pass] snprintf(a, sizeof(a), "bar") => 0x3
[Pass] snprintf(b, sizeof(b), "baz") => 0x3
[Pass] strcmp(a, b) => 0xfffffff8
[Pass] snprintf(a, sizeof(a), "Display") => 0x7
[Pass] snprintf(b, sizeof(b), "Defishing") => 0x9
[Pass] strcmp(a, b) => 0x4
[Pass] memcpy(foo, bar, 6) => 0x1ad0c0
[FAIL] foo => ''
[Pass] memset(bar, '*', 5) => 0x1ad0a0
[FAIL] bar => '*****ghjkl'
       bzero32(bar + 5, 5)
[Pass] bar => '****'
       t0 = *(uint32_t*)0xC0242014 => 0x3e1c2
       msleep(250)
       t1 = *(uint32_t*)0xC0242014 => 0x7d005


Looks like there's something going on with the strings, although I can't understand what.....
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

steve271

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #73 on: December 13, 2012, 07:46:44 PM »
Looks like there's something going on with the strings, although I can't understand what.....

Where can we download the stubs code from please nanomad, it's not possible to look at that excerpt and deduce things aren't working as I don't think we can see what value of 'bar' has been set.

It's always possible the test code has some previously un-noticed bugs ... worth a second look.

Steve

coutts

  • Developer
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 401
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #74 on: December 13, 2012, 08:16:35 PM »
Great work to everyone who was involved!