Author Topic: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3  (Read 1062596 times)

vovkinson

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #350 on: April 25, 2014, 10:57:25 PM »
Thanks for sharing !

marekk

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • www.oddajmisie.com
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #351 on: April 26, 2014, 03:58:47 PM »
I'm trying to find a solution to display correctly ML overlays on my Lilliput HDMI screen with no mirroring.

Full screen 16:9 image without any overlays :
https://www.dropbox.com/s/wximeno42xphqs6/2014-04-26%2015.34.40.jpg

Screen with ML overlays:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/dqtvdcyv64wyppr/2014-04-26%2015.34.53.jpg

Screen with Canon options:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/1n2iiw9vo2emxug/2014-04-26%2015.42.40.jpg

As you can see ML top and bottom bars are not displayed properly. I think screen width and height are set to wrong values. I was trying to change settings in Display-> Advanced Settings > Screen Layout but it's not a solution. I think top and bottom bar should be resized to fit 16:9 image and placed above and below cropped 16:9 image. Is there a possibility to add new screen layout to ML configuration? I can do it myself but I need a little hint ;)

DjJuvan

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #352 on: April 26, 2014, 07:58:09 PM »
I solved with ML settings somehow on 1.1.3 firmware. Now the white info are around the image in black zone.

Jakobmen

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
  • Canon 5D3
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #353 on: April 27, 2014, 12:14:44 AM »
I still can't get mine to stop flickering on 5d3 when connected on a few HDMI tvs to make sure it's not my  monitor
Canon 5D3

vovkinson

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #354 on: April 27, 2014, 12:32:46 AM »
Does anybody know why crop layout disappear when hitting the record button in mode RAW_VIDEO(MLV) ?
However, in RAW_VIDEO (not MLV) I can see the layouts and focus peaking "stars" during recording.

macleod92

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #355 on: April 27, 2014, 01:03:18 AM »
Hi,

Sorry if this is the wrong place to be posting this but felt like the best place to ask.

Any idea why I keep getting this pop up coming up when I'm shooting raw video?  It doesn't happen immediately but has happened every time I've shot something in raw and requires me turning the camera off in order to get rid of it.

Not sure if it always says the exact same thing.. but it is always along the same lines.

I've attached a photo of the screen so you know what I'm talking about.



Thanks in advanced for the help!  PHOTO:  https://flic.kr/p/nn6Bgu

vovkinson

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #356 on: April 27, 2014, 01:31:14 AM »
it's called CRASH. There should be LOG file on your SD card.

macleod92

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #357 on: April 27, 2014, 11:04:09 AM »
So is there a place that I should post that log file to try and help out the ML team?

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3582
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #358 on: April 27, 2014, 11:21:25 AM »
Depending on how big the log file is, you can copy the contents directly to the forum, using the code tags.

If it's rather large, there are plenty of free file hosts, and you can link to the forum.

macleod92

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #359 on: April 27, 2014, 12:03:31 PM »
Awesome thanks!   Well this is what I've ended up with.

Code: [Select]
ML ASSERT:
hdr->blockSize > 0
at mlv_rec.c:1969 (mlv_prepend_block), task raw_rec_task
lv:1 mode:2


Magic Lantern version : Nightly.2014Apr16.5D3123
Mercurial changeset   : 72846f0bc65b (5D3-123) tip
Built on 2014-04-16 16:33:51 UTC by jenkins@magiclantern.fm.
Free Memory  : 130K + 3926K

alphaandomegafilms

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #360 on: April 27, 2014, 02:48:15 PM »
I'm trying to find a solution to display correctly ML overlays on my Lilliput HDMI screen with no mirroring.

Full screen 16:9 image without any overlays :
https://www.dropbox.com/s/wximeno42xphqs6/2014-04-26%2015.34.40.jpg

Screen with ML overlays:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/dqtvdcyv64wyppr/2014-04-26%2015.34.53.jpg

Screen with Canon options:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/1n2iiw9vo2emxug/2014-04-26%2015.42.40.jpg

As you can see ML top and bottom bars are not displayed properly. I think screen width and height are set to wrong values. I was trying to change settings in Display-> Advanced Settings > Screen Layout but it's not a solution. I think top and bottom bar should be resized to fit 16:9 image and placed above and below cropped 16:9 image. Is there a possibility to add new screen layout to ML configuration? I can do it myself but I need a little hint ;)

I'm having the same problem. Please let me know if you find a fix or a way I can solve this myself.

Please let me know if this is not the right place to report this problem.

5DIII
Not a major problem. It has to do with the crop marks. Global Draw (I've tried all modes) is on and when I turn Cropmarks off the Cropmarks remain on my monitor. If I turn the camera off and back on the Cropmarks are gone. I've repeated this several times and I get the same thing. This only happens when I have the HDMI frame rate from the camera to the monitor set at 60i.

If the HDMI out is set to 24p then the Cropmarks turn on and off when they are supposed to, but they do not fill the monitor.

alphaandomegafilms

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #361 on: April 27, 2014, 02:55:52 PM »
Crash Report:

Just finished shooting some RAW footage .RAW and I disabled the RAW module and started to shoot footage and the camera crashed.  I will try to recreate.  Here is the log.

ASSERT: IsSuiteSignature( hSuite )
at ./PackMemory/PackMem.c:599, task RscMgr
lv:0 mode:3


Magic Lantern version : Nightly.2014Mar17.5D3123
Mercurial changeset   : 48e7ddebc1b9 (5D3-123) tip
Built on 2014-03-17 10:57:11 UTC by jenkins@magiclantern.fm.
Free Memory  : 132K + 3799K

I also just installed the most recent nightly build to see if that helps.  I will let you know.

marekk

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • www.oddajmisie.com
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #362 on: April 27, 2014, 04:25:11 PM »
When HDMI monitor is connected to 5D3 1.2.3 in mirroring mode we can't display ML bars on 5D3's LCD screen because camera sets new value to lv_disp_mode. When there is no mirroring enabled lv_disp_mode is set to 0, when canon overlays are displayed on the screen lv_disp_mode is set to 1.. and finally when mirroring is enabled lv_disp_mode is set to 2 (with or without canon overlays). I replaced all pieces of code which check lv_disp_mode value with "(lv_disp_mode == 0 || lv_disp_mode == 2)" and lv_disp_mode (true) with lv_disp_mode == 1 and now I'm able to display ML bars on LCD screen with mirroring enabled:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/uf5oi7ln28w0879/2014-04-27%2016.06.44.jpg

It's not a final solution because ML bars are displayed also with canon overlays...

(replaced code: zebra.c, debug.c, menu.h, gui-common.c, lens.c, tweaks.c)

vovkinson

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #363 on: April 27, 2014, 05:06:29 PM »
marekk

Do you know how to make crop layout show up in MLV_VIDEO ?  I managed to set it up to display  2.5:1 ratio but as soon as I hit the record button - it disappears and shows me the regular Canon's 1920x1080 screen.
Again it only happens in MLV_VIDEO,  IN RAW_VIDEO - everything is ok.

Thanks in advance!

marekk

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • www.oddajmisie.com
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #364 on: April 27, 2014, 08:57:38 PM »
marekk

Do you know how to make crop layout show up in MLV_VIDEO ?  I managed to set it up to display  2.5:1 ratio but as soon as I hit the record button - it disappears and shows me the regular Canon's 1920x1080 screen.
Again it only happens in MLV_VIDEO,  IN RAW_VIDEO - everything is ok.

Thanks in advance!

hmm maybe try to set your ml config to default ?

vovkinson

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #365 on: April 27, 2014, 09:15:08 PM »
global_draw - Allow . Got it!

DavidSh

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #366 on: April 28, 2014, 10:32:55 AM »
Temperature is climbing up even when i dont shoot or taking pictures.

5d3 1.2.3
latest build 2014-04-24 22:25:04 +0300
komputerbay 64 gb x1000

camera start at 22-26c , after 10 min when camera is on it shows  44c

Any ideas?

Best
David
600D | 5D3 | macOS Sierra | http://www.GentleDogMovie.com

hopeful

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #367 on: April 28, 2014, 10:38:31 AM »
First of all, THANKS A LOT for your work with ML!

I've been waiting for a 1.2.3 release forever!

I installed it but I can't find the M tab for raw video.
The M tab seems to be replaces with a triangle symbol tab.


I fixed it!

Thanks a bunch!

Hi Djoni, I'm very new to this and encountered the same problem, how did you end up fixing it? Thanks for all the great info in here.

templar

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #368 on: April 28, 2014, 01:20:35 PM »
What temperature is critical for the sensor? Is 44C already worrying or not? I really don't have any references.

Stedda

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 504
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #369 on: April 28, 2014, 01:30:38 PM »
The camera has it's own thermal protection... as in Canon firmware.


I would not worry about 44C... electronics heat up in use. If the camera is on it's going to generate heat.

Also if you do a search you'll find many people with readings around 50+ C and it is thought that the sensor being read is not 100% accurate or correct.
5D Mark III -- 7D   SOLD -- EOS M 22mm 18-55mm STM -- Fuji X-T1 18-55 F2.8-F4 & 35 F1.4
Canon Glass   100L F2.8 IS -- 70-200L F4 -- 135L F2 -- 85 F1.8 -- 17-40L --  40 F2.8 -- 35 F2 IS  Sigma Glass  120-300 F2.8 OS -- 50 F1.4 -- 85 F1.4  Tamron Glass   24-70 2.8 VC   600EX-RT X3

DavidSh

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #370 on: April 28, 2014, 02:45:03 PM »
The camera has it's own thermal protection... as in Canon firmware.


I would not worry about 44C... electronics heat up in use. If the camera is on it's going to generate heat.

Also if you do a search you'll find many people with readings around 50+ C and it is thought that the sensor being read is not 100% accurate or correct.
Thank you Steda,
well when you have an orange background around 50c on the ml menu you get worried...

I am about to go on production of 5 days narrative shooting using 5d3 1.2.3

So how should i address this info?

Best
David

   
600D | 5D3 | macOS Sierra | http://www.GentleDogMovie.com

vovkinson

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #371 on: April 28, 2014, 02:54:31 PM »
David,

please let us know how it go

DavidSh

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #372 on: April 28, 2014, 03:07:17 PM »
please let us know how it go
Thank you Steda,
well when you have an orange background around 50c on the ml menu you get worried...

I am about to go on production of 5 days narrative shooting using 5d3 1.2.3

So how should i address this info?

Best
David


Well if i wont fill confident i will not go with this version and then there will be nothing let you know :)
600D | 5D3 | macOS Sierra | http://www.GentleDogMovie.com

vovkinson

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #373 on: April 28, 2014, 03:26:26 PM »
David, I wouldn't blame you :)

Stedda

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 504
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #374 on: April 28, 2014, 03:58:41 PM »
Here you go you can read though this to see averages and what not... in all the reading and time I've been on here I've yet to see a post where a camera has melted down or been damaged from heat.

You're not the first to do extended recording....


http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9673.0

Post 8 has graphs by camera model. You're well below the average.
Also see post 30 where it discussed the temps are highly unreliable and assumed to display higher than they really are.

Personally I don't think twice about the temp displayed... the camera will regulate it's self. I think it's a case of give someone more information than they'd normally see and they'll turn it into a big deal.
5D Mark III -- 7D   SOLD -- EOS M 22mm 18-55mm STM -- Fuji X-T1 18-55 F2.8-F4 & 35 F1.4
Canon Glass   100L F2.8 IS -- 70-200L F4 -- 135L F2 -- 85 F1.8 -- 17-40L --  40 F2.8 -- 35 F2 IS  Sigma Glass  120-300 F2.8 OS -- 50 F1.4 -- 85 F1.4  Tamron Glass   24-70 2.8 VC   600EX-RT X3