Author Topic: Canon 50D  (Read 386396 times)

theBilalFakhouri

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #750 on: October 16, 2018, 08:24:31 PM »
Hmmm it's support converting MLV
http://www.faasoft.com/articles/mlv-converter.html

Edit:
@pjfroelofs
Try to convert your footage with this MLVApp. Can you give small MLV sample? You can trim it with MLVApp also.
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8

pjfroelofs

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #751 on: October 17, 2018, 09:23:58 AM »
Yes that was the solution!
I'm using MLVapp now, and the footage is beautifull!
Thanks.

domasa

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 83
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #752 on: November 18, 2018, 09:13:54 PM »
Is it possible continous 2 hours recording without stop with 50d?
What is best resolution with 25fps (continous recording)?

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6631
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #753 on: November 18, 2018, 09:33:55 PM »
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

chaz2000

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #754 on: December 01, 2018, 04:21:10 AM »
Standard install went fine (watched a couple of yt videos before trying).

However, I'm having trouble with knowing even the basic settings to shoot video (both the 50D menu and the ML menus).
Also, when I go into live mode, the info on the bottom of the screen is flickering.

Would someone please point me to a tutorial or document to set up to do only a basic shoot while I'm learning about the other features/settings?

Thanks!
Chaz
Forever Noob...

Doofer

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #755 on: January 25, 2019, 02:35:16 PM »
Hi there. I don't think you'll find anything specific to video in the Canon 50D menus about video, as the 50D isn't supposed to shoot video. However, in the ML menus, under the 'movie camera' symbol you can turn video recording on and off - enable it here. Then select live preview mode (the button above the screen that turns on live preview), then if you press the button in the middle of the control wheel on the back, you can start and stop recording video. Once you can do that, you can play with all the other settings, which are explained in the ML menu.

Doofer

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #756 on: January 25, 2019, 02:51:31 PM »
I've got quite a lot of ML video from my 50D, recorded at 23.976fps. Its metadata reports it is 30fps (as noted elsewhere).
If I put it into my NLE (Lightworks) and slow it down to 80% normal speed, the NLE does this by inserting extra (copy) frames once in a while, which is a bit clunky. If I use FFMPEG to re-label it as 24fps (near enough!), it only seems to be able to do this by re-encoding, which given that these are lossy codecs is, again, a bit clunky - not to mention time consuming.
Has anyone figured out how to just change the appropriate metadata in the ML output so it is correctly labelled as 23.976fps? This mis-labelling by ML is proving to be a very irritating bug!

littlebobbytables

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #757 on: February 25, 2019, 03:53:55 PM »
I've got quite a lot of ML video from my 50D, recorded at 23.976fps. Its metadata reports it is 30fps (as noted elsewhere).
If I put it into my NLE (Lightworks) and slow it down to 80% normal speed, the NLE does this by inserting extra (copy) frames once in a while, which is a bit clunky. If I use FFMPEG to re-label it as 24fps (near enough!), it only seems to be able to do this by re-encoding, which given that these are lossy codecs is, again, a bit clunky - not to mention time consuming.
Has anyone figured out how to just change the appropriate metadata in the ML output so it is correctly labelled as 23.976fps? This mis-labelling by ML is proving to be a very irritating bug!

In premiere you can 'interpret' the footage to be whatever framerate you want.

If you convert your ML raw files with one of the available free softwares you could also convert it to a DNG sequence and import it that way. In After Effects you can select a default fps for importing image sequences for example.

Alternatively you could convert it to a prores file with MLRawViewer prior to importing in your NLE.
50D, 300, BMPCC4K