How quickly does one learn to write modules?

Started by c2s07, April 04, 2014, 02:14:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

c2s07

Hello,

How long would it take for a complete beginner to learn modules writing, and what programs would I need? I'm a bit curious about this as I like customizing things, and since my preferences sometimes differ from those of others, custom modules for personal use might be the way to go for me. If it takes at least months to learn this, then it's probably not worth the time for me, as the changes I've been thinking of are relatively simple.

I can give you a few examples, and if things like these cannot even be achieved with modules (or scripts), let me know.

1) I'd like to try to re-assign some of the camera buttons to toggle ML features. For example, the top LCD panel light button (or some other button) could quickly toggle the "LV DIGIC peaking / Edge image" effect instead. Can something like this be achieved with modules?

2) Suppose I wanted to customize the arrow/set shortcut pairs to my preferences. For example, the horizontal arrows would control the basic color temperature (K) value, and the vertical arrows would control the green/magenta shift. And while at it, perhaps the SET-button could toggle the "LV crazy colors / extreme chroma" effect. Can something like this be achieved with modules?

a1ex

Changing menu is possible with the scripting engine (both the old PicoC and the proof-of-concept TCC), but right now there's no usable scripting solution.

For now, you can just call the underlying API:

menu_set_value_from_script("Overlay", "Focus Peak", 1);

or, even like this:

menu_set_str_value_from_script("Advanced settings", "Color scheme", "Dark Red");