Author Topic: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2  (Read 680788 times)

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7708
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #900 on: December 22, 2020, 08:37:56 PM »
Man, what a mess! :-/
Go to Help tab and show version and build data
.

ZEEK

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 305
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #901 on: December 23, 2020, 02:07:04 AM »
Zeek doesn't compile his own builds, does he? Link, please!
Nope. I just share the settings from the 5D2 build I'm using so users can have the same settings that I'm using with my 5D2 if they choose.
EOS M - EOS M2 - 5D2

2blackbar

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #902 on: December 26, 2020, 02:25:43 PM »
This camera is now around 300$ used or about 200 euro, its amazing how price dropped in last few years , probably cause flood of mirrorless fullframe, im considering getting another one for 200.Too bad theres no lossles raw on it which could help getting higher resolutions in crop.
Shutter longevity is impressive on this camera

SKecorius

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • 5dmii 16-35 2.8
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #903 on: December 30, 2020, 01:38:26 PM »
Dear all,

Did anyone have success using 5D mark ii as webcam? I have found an example on:


However, I was not able to run 5DmII neither with Beta (0.9.0) nor version 1.1 webcam utility.
When I try to run camera as webcam, the mirror is continuously flapping between live view on and off..

If anybody could replicate this - it means I am doing something wrong. Otherwise - fake video?

Best.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7708
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #904 on: December 30, 2020, 02:09:49 PM »
Outdated, not very precise and false information in this clip:
- Covering beta which is outdated. Newer version solved compatibility problem with EOS Utility.
- Canon indeed offers different links for supported cams but they are linked to the very same file. Same procedure for Beta and Final.
- Not all video conference software will just do with Webcam Utility alone. You still need tools like OBS to make EOS Webcam Utility work with MS Teams, for example.

Don't own a 5D2 so you have to do some testing on your own.
Have you tried to play around with Liveview modes in Canon menu? 5D2 has a very odd way of handling liveview/movie mode selection.

Are you able to use liveview in EOS Utility (the one without "Web")?

SKecorius

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • 5dmii 16-35 2.8
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #905 on: December 30, 2020, 03:33:42 PM »
Hi Walter,

I am aware that the video might be outdated, however, I was still hoping that IF someone was able to use web utility in the past, the feature will not be disabled in the newer versions..

I have installed EOS Utility (the newest version), however, when I turn on camera, it automatically switches to version 2 (instead of version 3). I guess this what 5DmII needs to operate. It opens the live view mode and I can see video on computer screen. It seems I cannot record video in this mode (like in 5DsR case: https://vn.canon/en/support/8202595300).

As you mentioned, I do probably need OBS as the EOS web utility alone does not seem to work with 5DmII.

Thanks!

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7708
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #906 on: December 30, 2020, 04:16:18 PM »
Sorry, misunderstanding: 5D2 should work with EOS Webcam Utility alone.
Camera <-> EOS Webcam Utility <-> Video conference software or recording software. OBS is required if software doesn't work with EOS Webcam Utility. One of those programs is MS Teams.

As workaround (as long as you have troubles with EOS Webcam Utility) you can use OBS to grab liveview screen from EOS Utility.

2blackbar

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #907 on: December 30, 2020, 06:12:54 PM »
it worka for me with beta 0.9, but i prwfere to  use usb hdmi grabber , hdmi feed is shown on monitor and you can use it as webcam, cheapest one works fine alsofor monitoring with kaptop and phone but it eats up phone battery

abcoon

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2 LIVE PREVIEW BLACK NO VIDEO SCREEN
« Reply #908 on: January 14, 2021, 01:37:14 AM »
Hey guys, new to the board and just got a 5D Mark II and loaded ML onto my CF Card and installed it.  When I click on the LIVE PREVIEW I can see ML on the screen.  When I push the trash can and go into the settings and click back into LIVE PREVIEW the screen goes black and I can't get back the LIVE PREVIEW unless I uninstall ML.  Any help would be appreciated.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7708
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #909 on: January 15, 2021, 02:26:55 PM »
Sorry, unclear description.
Trashcan button is the way to enter ML menu. It should not be possible for ML menu to popup without that interaction.
If your camera behaves differently: Make a short video showing us what you mean.

And you should always be able to clear every lockup by opening battery card door. Wait for a short time and remove battery.
After closing compartment doors your camera should act like before lockup.