Author Topic: Canon 700D / T5i  (Read 807981 times)

alt1

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1250 on: November 05, 2020, 03:30:36 PM »

New Focus Maps:
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/bilalfakhouri/magic-lantern/master/700D%20Focus%20Pixels%20Maps.zip
-Added 4.3K Anamorphic 1x3 Preset 1440x1836 map.

Sorry, but I don't see 1440x1836 map in this archive. The latest map here is from 2018 year.

theBilalFakhouri

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 561
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1251 on: November 05, 2020, 05:30:51 PM »
In focus pixel maps we are calculating the black areas too, so:

Naming of focus pixel map  RAW resolution
Naming of focus pixel map  > RAW resolution

In your case the map you are looking for is "80000326_1512x1864.fpm", extract all the focus pixel maps in MLVApp folder, you should be fine in all crop_rec presets automatically.

-You can also use the latest MLVApp which can download all the required focus maps automatically too, or you can drag and drop the focus maps from the archive into MLVApp interface, and this will install the focus maps in MLVApp.

Original focus map created in 2018 which covers all focus pixels on the sensor, and we are using the same map for all 1x3 Binning modes (I am duplicating it), remaining thing is to identify which RAW resolution we are using now and calculate the offsets for current resolution (to match the focus pixel map with MLV file), and we can achieve this by just changing the naming of the focus pixel map to include RAW resolution + black areas, in this case the focus pixel map date will stay 2018 (renaming won't affect the date).
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8 / SDR104 @ 240 MHz - Constant! | Fixed Scrambled LiveView in Higher resolution | Real-Time correct framing in the Way

alt1

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1252 on: November 05, 2020, 05:51:19 PM »
New Focus Maps:
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/bilalfakhouri/magic-lantern/master/700D%20Focus%20Pixels%20Maps.zip
-Added 4.3K Anamorphic 1x3 Preset 1440x1836 map.
[/quote]

Unfortunately, with 650D after extracting files into MLVAPP folder when I record 1440x1836 I have focus dots

theBilalFakhouri

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 561
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1253 on: November 05, 2020, 06:38:28 PM »
Ah, I thought you are using 700D (Why not to post on 650D thread?)

Mostly all 700D focus pixels maps are identical to 650D too, in this case you need only to change the ID in focus pixel map files from 700D ID to 650D ID; from "80000326" to "80000301":

Just did it for all focus pixel maps, try these focus maps for 650D (It should work with all crop_rec presets using my 650D build):
650D Focus Pixels Maps.zip

Please let me know if these work for 650D in all presets.
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8 / SDR104 @ 240 MHz - Constant! | Fixed Scrambled LiveView in Higher resolution | Real-Time correct framing in the Way

alt1

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1254 on: November 05, 2020, 06:53:33 PM »
Thank you very much theBilalFakhouri. All presets work fine now. Except these presets I use also not registered " 1736*696 1x1  48fps" from new Crop_Rec V2 menu and it has focus dots. Is it simple to create focus map for this preset?
 

theBilalFakhouri

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 561
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1255 on: November 07, 2020, 04:00:41 PM »
You're welcome

Please provide short MLV sample for the mode you are using, you can cut it in MLVApp, two frames are enough, export it as MLV (fast pass)

I can make a simple tutorial about how to generte focus pixel map for any resolution (using Crop rec V2) for both 1x3 and 1x1 modes.
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8 / SDR104 @ 240 MHz - Constant! | Fixed Scrambled LiveView in Higher resolution | Real-Time correct framing in the Way

theBilalFakhouri

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 561
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1256 on: November 07, 2020, 04:15:42 PM »
Hi Bilal, is it possible to add a preset for "full resolution liveview 1:1) in your custom crop_rec module for 700D?

I tried to use crop_rec new but the preview in 5x is not usable and it stop working immediately after the start also if I reduce fps to 4.

I would try to take a video of the full moon at 1600 mm of FL to obtain a "mineral moon" picture.

Thanks for your great work

Fabio

Sorry for the delay, I didn't use full resolution LiveView much in the past, so I spent some weeks playing with it.

I am preparing for a new build which solve ML Framing in x5 mode, and also added custom FPS in crop_new, this will allow using the full shutter speed in any framerate, from 360° to 1° angles.

Adding full resolution LiveView preset in crop_rec won't perform any better from crop_new, Canon preview would be broken in both modules, in this case you should use ML Framing (which has a problem currently in my latest build, fortunately I fixed it now, will realease a new build soon)

Guess what: Full resolution LiveView = 5208x3478 @ 5 FPS is continous in 12-bit lossless  :) , of course when using 240 MHz overclock. More info coming soon.
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8 / SDR104 @ 240 MHz - Constant! | Fixed Scrambled LiveView in Higher resolution | Real-Time correct framing in the Way

IBIRRU

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1257 on: November 09, 2020, 02:28:36 PM »
Great news !!

Many thanks Bilal!! :D

I will wait the next relaease.
EOS 700D 1.1.5, EOS 500D

pteichner

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1258 on: November 11, 2020, 08:18:27 PM »
Hey guys, could you point me to the latest mostly stable build that included the sd_uhs mod please. Also what can you achieve on the 700D? Is 240MHz stable? It's been working on on my 6D, need a B-roll camera and I've got a 700D lying around.

CameraGobbl

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1259 on: November 25, 2020, 04:20:37 AM »
Wondering if someone can help me.

I studied and was into filmmaking about a decade ago, and am looking to get back into it. First off, though, I want to get better at photography, so I'm in the market for a very cheap but capable DSLR, and I'm looking at used Rebels and I might be able to get a pretty good deal on a 700D.

I'm also quite interested in using this camera as a low budget cinema camera down the line with ML, though I know it takes a bit of learning and tweaking. I'm fine with that. I've seen some great images come out of both the EOS M and the Canon 700D using ML RAW. The RAW excites me because more than 4k, what I want is something with no compression and higher dynamic range and bit depth. But I'm not completely sure of the 700D's capabilities with ML, so let me just ask some quick questions.

1. Since the EOSM and 700D have the same sensor and processor, can the 700D create the same quality of video I see on EOS M videos like from Zeek's channel?

2. I know ML won't work miracles. I don't care about true 4k or slow mo. But I'd like something stable, RAW, and around 1080p true resolution (I want to shoot 4:3 too, so 1440 x 1080 would be great).

tl;dr- I'm looking for a very cheap camera that I can practice photography on as well as shoot decent video with ML. RAW 1080p with a minimum crop to avoid aliasing (2x would be fine) is essentially what I am aiming for, and was just wondering if the 700D could do all this. If not, I might just go for a cheaper option like a used t2i.

Thanks

AllWashedOut

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1260 on: November 29, 2020, 05:55:39 AM »
Could you add the option to disable 30-minute live view timeout? It's present in the 700D "Lua Fix" builds. Or perhaps it's just been renamed in this build?

Original name: Prefs tab -> "Powersave in Liveview" -> "30-minutes timer"

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7711
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1261 on: December 09, 2020, 09:10:36 AM »
Add to which build? What is "this build"?

lightwriter

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1262 on: December 12, 2020, 01:37:44 AM »
@theBilalFakhouri

Hi there!

I have a Canon 700D and a SanDisk Extreme Pro 95MB/s SDHC V30 speed class U3 32GB. Is SD Overclock at 192Mhz stable with this card?

You referred the 1x3 Mode which can be used with this configuration: 1600x2040 @ 23.976 FPS 2.35:1 AR. How can it have a 2.35 aspect ratio with  a resolution of 1600x2040? Does it have to edited in MLV app to get the correct aspect ratio?

Does the 1x3 Mode get rid of the aliasing?

theBilalFakhouri

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 561
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1263 on: December 12, 2020, 04:34:10 AM »
Hello @lightwriter

Yes, 192MHz overclock is stable for Sandisk Extreme PRO 95MB/S  cards, you need to do low level format in the camera at least for once, this prevent speed drops if it were there.

You can get 1x3 1600x2040 in crop_new (Crop mode V2):

Set Binning mode to 1x3, Y resolution to 2040, FPS to 23.976, keep X resolution as default (zero)

Press Menu button twice for refreshing LiveView to apply our new settings, from mlv_lite set the resolution to 1600, Aspect ratio to 2.35:1, now you should be okay, check the resolution from mlv_lite (RAW video)

MLVApp would read the file as 1x3 Binning, and would stretch the footage automatically --> So the stretched resolution from 1600x2040 file would be after stretching 4800x2040, now it's 2.35:1 AR

The Preview would be stretched in LiveView, there is no real-time correct preview in this mode, you want to use ML Framing to check framing.

Yes there is no aliasing in 1x3 Binning, this is the huge advantage for this mode! also 1x3 Binning reduces moire patterns a lot.
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8 / SDR104 @ 240 MHz - Constant! | Fixed Scrambled LiveView in Higher resolution | Real-Time correct framing in the Way

AlexPace

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1264 on: December 12, 2020, 08:58:53 AM »
Is it possible to get a full 16:9 ratio over the HDMI output without the black vertical sidebars at any resolution?  I mean straight out of the camera without processing.  I know the T5i can't do a full-screen 1080i, but stretching or cropping with OBS software introduces some lag that is awkward on Zoom calls.

Note: I tried Canon's EOS WebCam software that uses USB instead of HDMI but the frame rate was way too low for reasonable Zoom calls.

lightwriter

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1265 on: December 12, 2020, 12:53:09 PM »
Hello @theBilalFakhouri

Thank you very much for your detailed answer!
Unfortunately, I followed all your steps but it stops recording the instant I begin, and the frames are corrupted.

In RAW video I selected 1600, but when I go to Crop mode V2, I didn't change X resolution, but it says 1736. What bit depth should I select in Crop Mode V2? Or should it be off? And in RAW video, I chose 12 bit lossless; is this the way to go?

At the bottom, it says in yellow that it will record at 64MB/s, 0x5.4MB, 23.982 (49%). Expect around 0 frames at 56.3MB/s.

Pressing Menu button twice, the resolution of Crop mode V2 shows 1736x2040 1x3, RAW video shows 1600x2040 1.74x and SD Overclock is at 192MHz

I did low level format in the original canon menu when formatting.

What am I doing wrong? Sorry for the trouble.

P.S.: Would the Sandisk Extreme Pro 170MB/s V30 be a better choice by allowing 240MHz?

P.P.S.: In Benchmark, with SD Overclock at 192MHz I'm getting write speeds of about 54 MB/s...it's on the low side, no?

aserranojr

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1266 on: December 12, 2020, 03:57:17 PM »
Hi guys, thank you for this wonderful forum. I am a new ML user. I apologize in advanced if this question is given already. I did search the forum but am having a hard time finding the answer. Is the Eos 700D able to shoot in 50fps in 1080p? I really need to know this. Thank you so much in advance. :)

theBilalFakhouri

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 561
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1267 on: December 13, 2020, 04:09:24 AM »
Is it possible to get a full 16:9 ratio over the HDMI output without the black vertical sidebars at any resolution?  I mean straight out of the camera without processing.  I know the T5i can't do a full-screen 1080i, but stretching or cropping with OBS software introduces some lag that is awkward on Zoom calls.

Note: I tried Canon's EOS WebCam software that uses USB instead of HDMI but the frame rate was way too low for reasonable Zoom calls.

Unfortunately clean HDMI output (without the black bars on both sides) from 700D/T5i isn't possible, I was doing some experiments regarding these black bars, I got promising results, you can see here (first post, the HDMI experiment):
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=25287.0

So I think implementing clean HDMI output on T5i is possible and we know where to start, but currently I am unable to continue experimenting, lack of time, sorry.


@lightwriter

You're welcome!

When I mentioned 1600x2040 preset, I think here:

There is 1x3 Mode which use full width sensor (1.61 Crop) which is 1736x2214 @ 23.976 FPS 2.35:1 AR you can achieve it by crop_new on 700D, however this mode isn't continuous even with the 240 MHz overclock and 10-bit lossless, you may lower the resolution to 1600x2040 @ 23.976 FPS 2.35:1 AR with 1.74 Crop to get continuous recording ..

To achieve continuous recording you need to use 10-bit lossless, and you need the 240 MHz overclock (with Sandisk Extreme PRO 170 MB/s card)

In RAW video I selected 1600, but when I go to Crop mode V2, I didn't change X resolution, but it says 1736.

Yes, This seems correct, keeping X value to zero will give the default X resolution which is 1736 in grey color.

What bit depth should I select in Crop Mode V2? Or should it be off?

For continuous recording, you need to select 10-bit from "Crop mode V2" , and keep it 14-bit lossless from "RAW video".

At the bottom, it says in yellow that it will record at 64MB/s, 0x5.4MB, 23.982 (49%). Expect around 0 frames at 56.3MB/s.

You will need to use 10-bit from "Crop mode V2" to lower the data rate, also you will need 240 MHz overclock which gives up to 68 MB/s write speed in video mode, 192 MHz is limited to ~55 MB/s maybe a little more which won't give continuous recording in this mode . .

Pressing Menu button twice, the resolution of Crop mode V2 shows 1736x2040 1x3, RAW video shows 1600x2040 1.74x

Yes, this seems correct too, recording at this stage (after pressing Menu button twice) would allow you to record some seconds without corrupted frames, right?

I did low level format in the original canon menu when formatting.

What am I doing wrong? Sorry for the trouble.

P.S.: Would the Sandisk Extreme Pro 170MB/s V30 be a better choice by allowing 240MHz?

P.P.S.: In Benchmark, with SD Overclock at 192MHz I'm getting write speeds of about 54 MB/s...it's on the low side, no?

Everything you are doing is correct actually, but you will need the 240 MHz overclock with 170 MB/s Sandisk Extreme Pro and 10-bit depth from "Crop mode V2" for continuous recording, the 192 MHz benchmarks looks okay too if you did the benchmark in video mode, try running benchmark in PLAY mode, run benchmark and press PLAY button; this should give you ~80 MB/s write and read speeds.

Have you managed to get some clips without corrupted frames in this mode?
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8 / SDR104 @ 240 MHz - Constant! | Fixed Scrambled LiveView in Higher resolution | Real-Time correct framing in the Way

lightwriter

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1268 on: December 13, 2020, 01:24:24 PM »
Hello again @theBilalFakhouri!

Thank you so much for your detailed and easy to follow answer.

I ran the benchmark in play mode and you were right; I'm getting read speeds of 85.6MB/s and write speeds of 79.6MB/s.

Most of my clips over around 10-14 seconds; however, I managed to record one clip with approximately 1 minute of duration. I don't know how this happened, but it was the exception.

1 - I recorded 5 clips - two of the shorter ones don't have any problem; the other two short ones have a lower horizontal stripe corrupted (around 80-100 pixels height, perhaps?), and the longer clip was fine. What can I do to prevent the horizontal corrupted band? Here is one example of a corrupted frame: https://imgur.com/BLhAOr3 - all these clips were recorded at 192MHz overclock.

2 - You talked about using ML Framing to check framing. I've searched the options but I can't find it...could you point me to the right direction?

3 - The Sandisk Extreme PRO 170MB/s card you talked about is this one, right?: https://www.amazon.es/SanDisk-Extreme-Pro-Tarjeta-Memoria/dp/B07H9J1YXN/ref=sr_1_1?__mk_es_ES=%C3%85M%C3%85%C5%BD%C3%95%C3%91&dchild=1&keywords=Sandisk+Extreme+PRO+170+MB%2Fs+64&qid=1607862081&quartzVehicle=74-902&replacementKeywords=sandisk+extreme+pro+mb%2Fs+64&sr=8-1

4 - In MLVapp, in order to export with the correct aspect ratio, I inserted the values of 2400 by 1020 - this method works, but is it the best one?

5 -  Several users posted images of benchmarks with the 170MB/s card, 240Mhz. One user showed the first write speed being high - 66.7MB/s, but the second one reaching only 51.8MB/s. This happened with a EOS M, in movie mode. Are those values normal? https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=12862.625 - bottom of the page.
In this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tm1pFNRIlcI&feature=emb_logo&ab_channel=Zeek., by the 2.14 minutes mark, with an EOS M, using a 64GB 170MB/s card the results were as follow: write speed: 20.4MB/s

6 - In normal situations, the shutter speed appears as N/A (I can change the shutter speed but I can't see the value), even if in Crop mode V2 I activate Full range in Shutter range. If, in the Movie tab, I select FPS override, then it shows a value of 0,4'', but I can't change it. What's the solution?

Thanks again for your help!

theBilalFakhouri

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 561
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1269 on: January 04, 2021, 11:49:15 PM »
@lightwriter

Hi again!

1- This corruption due to un-refreshed LiveView, to prevent this:
-You should always press Menu button twice for refreshing LiveView to apply the new settings, after changing them in crop_new "Crop mode V2", even when you turn off the module, you should press Menu button twice.

Also when you startup the camera and if crop_new was already ON you need to refresh LiveView manually!

2- In mlv_lite submenu --> Preview --> Framing

3- Yeah, that's what I am using

4- ?

MLVApp corrects aspect ratio automatically for you, you don't need to change anything regarding resolution. The output would be correct.

5- EOS M has some problems with 240 MHz overclock it doesn't work fine on this camera even with 170 MB/s Sandisk Extreme PRO cards (except one card: Sandisk Extreme PRO 170MB/s with 512 GB Capacity) , doing a "Low Level Format" would fix the speed drop issue e.g: from 66.7 MB/s to 51.8 MB/s -- these things have been discussed before in this topic.

6- This issue has been discussed here
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8 / SDR104 @ 240 MHz - Constant! | Fixed Scrambled LiveView in Higher resolution | Real-Time correct framing in the Way

theBilalFakhouri

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 561
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1270 on: January 05, 2021, 12:03:36 AM »
Hi guys, thank you for this wonderful forum. I am a new ML user. I apologize in advanced if this question is given already. I did search the forum but am having a hard time finding the answer. Is the Eos 700D able to shoot in 50fps in 1080p? I really need to know this. Thank you so much in advance. :)

Hello!

If you mean 1080p50 in H.264, no you can't (reason: hardware limitations), however:
700D doesn't record native 1920x1080 resolution in H.264, it's actually upscale 1736x976 to 1920x1080 in H.264, so now if your question was " Can we record 1736x976 @ 50 FPS in RAW? "

Kind of, with limitations, the sensor support up to 1736x970 @ 50 FPS:

-You have to record in uncompressed RAW to avoid corrupted frames, @ 10-bit uncompressed the write speed would be 100 MB/s
-You will have stretched LiveView

This can be achieved in crop_new

You're welcome
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8 / SDR104 @ 240 MHz - Constant! | Fixed Scrambled LiveView in Higher resolution | Real-Time correct framing in the Way

lightwriter

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1271 on: January 10, 2021, 09:25:26 PM »
@lightwriter

Hi again!

1- This corruption due to un-refreshed LiveView, to prevent this:
Also when you startup the camera and if crop_new was already ON you need to refresh LiveView manually!

2- In mlv_lite submenu --> Preview --> Framing

3- Yeah, that's what I am using

4- ?

MLVApp corrects aspect ratio automatically for you, you don't need to change anything regarding resolution. The output would be correct.

5- EOS M has some problems with 240 MHz overclock it doesn't work fine on this camera even with 170 MB/s Sandisk Extreme PRO cards (except one card: Sandisk Extreme PRO 170MB/s with 512 GB Capacity) , doing a "Low Level Format" would fix the speed drop issue e.g: from 66.7 MB/s to 51.8 MB/s -- these things have been discussed before in this topic.

6- This issue has been discussed here

Hi @theBilalFajhouri!

Thanks for your answer. Regarding number four you're right, the MLVapp corrects the aspect ratio; I only have to insert the resolution values for exporting.

I have read the answers related to number 6, but there you said "shutter speeds are working fine in all presets, and both from ML and Canon menu shutter speed is showing correctly " My build is crop_rec_4k.2020Sep30.700D115. Is this problem related to this specific build or am I doing something wrong?

I bought the Sandisk Extreme PRO 170MB/s card, and it indeed allows me to record indefinitely (almost always), but I'm having corrupted frames (random frames with the bottom half being pink). Is there some setting I can alter to prevent this from happening?