Author Topic: Canon EOS M  (Read 1027787 times)

Licaon_Kter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #725 on: July 28, 2015, 04:19:38 PM »
Hi I cannot find this information anywhere.
I just want to know if the EOSM will shoot 1080p at 60fps (or more?) in normal avchd mode?


Nope, page 188: http://gdlp01.c-wss.com/gds/8/0300008788/01/eosm-im-en.pdf

Disease

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 39
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #726 on: July 28, 2015, 05:06:53 PM »
Hi yes I know what it says in the manual but as this hack unlocks more features and has the fps over/underdrive and as you can record 60fps raw on the canon 5dMKIII I thought it might have been possible on the EOSM...
 :-[


dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3751
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #727 on: July 28, 2015, 05:36:01 PM »
http://wiki.magiclantern.fm/userguide#fps_override

There is a problem with the timing values to overcrank/undercrank fps on the EOS-M. Once it is fixed I don't know if the camera will be able to go all the way to 60fps at 1920x1080.

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=14959.0

This is an open source project so if you want to dive into the code, you're more than welcome to work on whatever is on your wish list.

https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern

By the way, Canon set up the EOS-M so it can do 1280x720 at 60fps but there's a lot of aliasing in that format. I've been doing some image stacking experiments to uprez to 1920x1080 while eliminating most of those problems, though there are other issues with this technique.

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=15306.0
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

lloyd

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #728 on: July 29, 2015, 12:16:17 PM »
Hello ML gurus

I'm posting here because I heard you can get 4K RAW video now? At 60 fps??
Just kidding, HAHAHA

I'm new to this and have had a read of the bit bucket and the last few pages of this thread.
Is this a fair assessment of the current situation:
Latest nightly works [functions as described in ML wiki] reliably (?) if you use the EF-M STM 22mm lens. Other lenses work too but a shutter bug exists which can lock the camera (least likely to happen if you use a SanDisk 32 GB or smaller card).

I'm a total beginner to photography but I'd like to try ML for timelapse (intervalometer or bulb ramping) and star trails (bulb mode). Reason I'm so cautious is I'd be borrowing a friend's EOS M.

Do I need to update to latest firmware?
If I get this shutter bug, is there a reliable way to permanently restore the camera? So my friend would never know I had risked the life of his little camera?

Thanks in advance if you can answer these questions! I really appreciate the work you have done to create ML!

Cheers,
Lloyd

Licaon_Kter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #729 on: July 29, 2015, 01:02:09 PM »
Latest nightly works [functions as described in ML wiki] reliably (?) if you use the EF-M STM 22mm lens. Other lenses work too but a shutter bug exists which can lock the camera (least likely to happen if you use a SanDisk 32 GB or smaller card).
Yep, kinda.
Besides the latest nightly Apr 19, there's my July 01 build somewhere.

Do I need to update to latest firmware?
2.0.2? Yes, it fixes (most of) the focus speed, not ML related but needed.

If I get this shutter bug, is there a reliable way to permanently restore the camera? So my friend would never know I had risked the life of his little camera?
Non-ML cards don't have it, hence it won't matter to your friend.

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3751
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #730 on: July 29, 2015, 05:31:02 PM »
If I get this shutter bug, is there a reliable way to permanently restore the camera? So my friend would never know I had risked the life of his little camera?

Make sure you uninstall ML before returning the camera to your friend. To do this run the ML installer (firmware update) and wait 30sec to 1min (depending on which version of ML you're using) then restart the camera. You will get on screen prompts so it is pretty easy, though I need to put on reading glasses to see the tiny letters. Also, the screen might go to sleep before the timer is up so just keep counting. This will disable the camera boot flag and it will not start ML again until you re-install it.

If you read the bitbucket thread you know which Sandisk card has been the most reliable.

Finally, there are workarounds so don't be afraid of the shutter-bug!
  • Unmount then re-mount the lens
  • Play-power on button combination
  • With the 11-22mm lens simply collapse then extend the lens
Once the shutter-bug is gone it won't come back until the next time you power cycle the camera.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3394
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #731 on: July 29, 2015, 08:46:52 PM »
Hello all... rather than double posting but felt this was worth noting for M users.

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=13512.msg151902#msg151902

It is basically about my recent experience while shooting crop-mode on the M in MLV.
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

lloyd

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #732 on: July 31, 2015, 02:44:41 AM »
Thanks very much Licaon_Kter and dfort!
Hopefully I can borrow it soon and have a go :)
Cheers

mapline

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #733 on: August 02, 2015, 09:02:08 PM »
Hi
New canon m owner and would like to try magic lantern but build says failed and does not show a download.
How can I download a working build ?
Many thanks

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7359
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #734 on: August 02, 2015, 09:08:45 PM »
Button to the right "Show Older Builds"
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

mapline

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #735 on: August 02, 2015, 10:53:59 PM »
If I click on this button nothing happens. Right click says inspect element?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7359
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #736 on: August 02, 2015, 11:02:51 PM »
Scroll down ...
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

mapline

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #737 on: August 02, 2015, 11:09:12 PM »
Thanks Walter found them now. Will see if ML works on my EOS M.

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3394
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #738 on: August 02, 2015, 11:10:42 PM »
Why wouldn't it?
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3394
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Canon EOS M
« Reply #739 on: August 03, 2015, 10:34:22 PM »
Was messing around with the M last night during a Moon sighting ... came across a moment when it created a crash log afterwards.

Here's for what's worth:

Code: [Select]
Sun Aug  2 22:08:13 2015

p.s. hope someone wouldn't mind explaining to me why the crash report log file info that I copied and pasted into the code link above won't work? I must be doing something incorrectly.
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3751
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #740 on: August 04, 2015, 01:01:23 AM »
Did you happen be shooting the moon in MLV with audio? There's a bug that was fixed but it won't appear in the nightly builds until the fps issue is resolved and the build unblocked.

If the crash log is too big you might try putting it on a cloud drive and linking to it.

BTW--were you trying to do this?
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3394
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Canon EOS M
« Reply #741 on: August 04, 2015, 01:26:15 AM »
Well I was actually using the test build (July 24) that I received via PM from you recently so maybe I should have mentioned that in previous post, my apologies.

Anyway, Yes I remember reading that post regarding a moon-sighting with a 400L recorded in MLV which came out pretty damn nice!

To answer to your question, Yes, that's precisely what I was trying to do but this Nikkor 200 f4 AI is all I got atm for the extra reach.

Tried shooting in crop mode as well. Doesn't cut it as much as I would like.

*EDIT*

Here's the log file per your request @dfort: Crash Report
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3751
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #742 on: August 04, 2015, 05:11:09 AM »
I just suggested a way to put up the crash log. I have no idea how to make any sense out of it. Though if you're using one of my test builds this might not even be a regular crash log.

Maybe a developer should take a look at it.

BTW--I got a Nikon 2x tele extender on ebay pretty cheap. That might do the trick for you. Love how you can adapt so many lenses so easily to the EOS-M. Nikon manual lenses on Canon bodies are a staple with stop motion animation because they don't flicker.

5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

scottfrey

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #743 on: August 06, 2015, 05:42:46 PM »

Licaon_Kter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #744 on: August 06, 2015, 06:56:55 PM »

dpjpandone

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 284
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #745 on: August 08, 2015, 03:28:29 AM »
I understand that raw video in full frame mode is sucky line-skipped 720p because this is the mode that eosm live view uses, but what happens when you plug an hdmi monitor and record raw? doesn't this change live view to 1080p? anyone tried this?

Licaon_Kter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #746 on: August 08, 2015, 08:20:53 AM »
Crop mode is not line-skipped.
IIRC, it does not output clean HDMI, not even EOS M3 does.

dpjpandone

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 284
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #747 on: August 08, 2015, 10:03:21 PM »
I was not asking about crop mode or clean hdmi out. I found the answer to my question, which is that even though hdmi output is 1080p, raw still records from a 720p buffer (in full frame mode) even when a monitor is plugged in. this is pretty lame. There has to be a way around this.

Are there any active developers for EOSM? my guess is not. one percent  hasn't updated his fork since last December. I guess I'll start working on porting some of his changes over to the main branch like I did for 7D. The main things are that he got MLV to record audio for multiple takes without a restart needed, and he got magic zoom working without flicker in crop mode. I'll work on those first. If there is someone else who's interested in maintaining EOSM, let's talk. I guess we need to find some stubs or something to bring it current. I'll look at the last build before it broke (sometime in april, right?)

Licaon_Kter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #748 on: August 08, 2015, 11:17:56 PM »
The unified build supports EOS M as a main platform.

April brake is intentional, it can be fixed by hand ( edit fps-engio.c ) or by @a1ex once he gets a chance to tune the timers, see my values report in this thread: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=14959.msg149308#msg149308

MLV Audio works fine, did you mean this bug: https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/issues/2255/mlv_sound-working-only-on-the-first-video ? Was fixed already: https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/pull-requests/646/added-sounddevshutdownin/diff

Want the latest unified build for EOS M to test? It's here: https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/issues/2255/mlv_sound-working-only-on-the-first-video#comment-19410615

I'm not sure what current means for you, current like the other unified cameras ( where there already afaik ) or current compared to what 1% was working on ?

Long standing issues for M now are the main shutter bug: https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/issues/1893/eos-m-shutter-bug and I guess those reported by me :) ( more or less): https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/issues?reported_by=~licaon_kter&status=open&status=new
Also this one is nasty too: https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/issues/1974/6d-m-700d-70d-in-live-view-mode-ml-menu

dpjpandone

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 284
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #749 on: August 08, 2015, 11:54:18 PM »
Hey thanks for bringing me up to speed, It's been months since I used unified from the main repo, I've just been running my own build because of the 1 take sound issue. I'm going to check it out right now.

As far as the menu timing out after 5 seconds, I never really thought of this as a bug... but we can fix it easily with a fake button press every four seconds if it bothers people. I think the larger issue is not being able to access ML menus when an external screen is attached. High on my list of priorities is better support for external display navigation, and also disabling touch altogether (so you can use a viewfinder/loupe on the camera screen without accidental button presses)

currently, you can long-press trash to enter ml menu, but there is no button that works as q button,

I see two solutions:

1.when ml menu is open, "info" button acts as "q" button. (currently it does nothing)
or:
2.when ml menu is open, "play" button acts as "q" button. (currently it does the same as pressing "set)

What do you think?