Author Topic: Canon EOS M  (Read 1123498 times)

RavingRover

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #575 on: April 16, 2015, 01:03:00 PM »
Are the pink dots/patterns the Phase Detect &/or the Contrast Detect sensor locations - anyone really know ?  They certainly do not cover as much of sensor (total coverage area) as I would have thought.

Licaon_Kter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #576 on: April 16, 2015, 02:49:06 PM »
From the Canon site ( Hybrid AF ) compared to M2 ( Hybrid AF II ):

Licaon_Kter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #577 on: April 18, 2015, 03:09:39 PM »
I keep seeing the camera temperature on other cameras ML menu, does this need more data for M to be usable or what?

2blackbar

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 431
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #578 on: April 20, 2015, 06:02:52 PM »
How i can change default ML shortcuts when i liveview? I want to use arrowup/down to change my ISO, currently they do single shooting and other options if i press up and i  can change ISO with down  arrow but i only have canon values to choose (100/200/400/800 etc)and i want all of them from ML menu.
Would be best to change ISO with UP/DOWN arrow, change white balance with LEFT/RIGHT arrow and change shutter speed by rotating wheel.

vertigopix

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 281
  • EOS M - 60D - 6D
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #579 on: April 21, 2015, 09:04:22 AM »
There is something i don't understand about RAW with EOS M... (and have searched the forum  ;))

This document https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AgQ2MOkAZTFHdFFIcFp1d0R5TzVPTVJXOEVyUndteGc#gid=5 says that EOS M "can record FullHD only when also recording H.264"

So do i need to set it to 720p in the Canon menu to work correctly ? I've not seen any difference in the results when tryed both 1080p and 720p mode.
Is the Canon menu setting make any difference in RAW recording ?

And about FPS : It's mandatory to use FPS override to get something another than LV approx 30 fps, right ?

Another question (maybe bug ?) :

In photo mode, when i set M mode and use AETTR (configured in HalfS DblClick) the "ETTR..." symbol in LV never disappear. But, if i set Av mode, it's ok, it disappear (as usual) after the mesurement is done.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12465
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #580 on: April 21, 2015, 09:17:04 AM »
You could check that with regular silent pictures. If I remember well, Canon video settings only get applied when you start recording H.264 (and until you do that, it stays at 720p 30fps or something like that - you tell me).

Currently you can't record RAW at the same time with H.264, but it should be doable.

The redraw issue is probably a bug. You could check if redraw() gets called at the end of NotifyBox_task(). If yes, check if dialog_redraw() gets called in _redraw_do. If that gets called, but does not do the right thing, we are probably asking it to redraw some tiny dialog (not the entire screen). I'm not sure how to fix it in this case (need to experiment, probably need to redraw some dialog below the topmost one).

vertigopix

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 281
  • EOS M - 60D - 6D
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #581 on: April 21, 2015, 09:32:36 AM »
Thank you a1ex,

I think there's no need for "simulREC"... Or maybe just to trick the M with a fake (unusable) H.264 rec and get 3x3 sampling in 1080p mode.

For the redraw issue i can try and report here, thank you.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12465
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #582 on: April 21, 2015, 09:38:21 AM »
Can you get the VRAM image dumps for EOS M? http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=12375

These will tell exactly what subsampling factors are in each video mode.

vertigopix

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 281
  • EOS M - 60D - 6D
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #583 on: April 21, 2015, 10:07:04 AM »
My M is always with me...  ;D

Here is : http://www.filedropper.com/eosm_1

- 1080p25 stby
- 1080p25 rec
- 720p50 stby
- 720p50 rec

If you need something else, tell me.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12465
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #584 on: April 21, 2015, 10:13:56 AM »
Yes, photo mode LV and 5x zoom please. Also, can you repeat the 1080p25 rec image? (it came out corrupted).

Are there other video modes like 640x480 or crop?

vertigopix

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 281
  • EOS M - 60D - 6D
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #585 on: April 21, 2015, 10:34:42 AM »
Here is : http://www.filedropper.com/eosm_2

1080p25 rec (still corrupted ?)
photo LV
photo 5x zoom
640x480p25 stby
640x480p25 rec
1080p25 crop stby
1080p25 crop rec

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12465
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #586 on: April 21, 2015, 10:56:01 AM »
So, these dumps confirm what the spreadsheet says: FullHD buffers are only available while recording H.264 (and in crop mode, but that one is listed on another column). In standby or in photo mode, the sensor is read out at 720p.

To get a clean picture in 1080p rec, you might have better luck with a low FPS.

vertigopix

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 281
  • EOS M - 60D - 6D
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #587 on: April 21, 2015, 11:04:24 AM »
Ok, fine. Happy to help.

Quote
To get a clean picture in 1080p rec, you might have better luck with a low FPS.

Do you need it ?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12465
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #588 on: April 21, 2015, 11:05:57 AM »
Would be nice to have it for QEMU experiments, but I can find an workaround (like duplicating some good data).

vertigopix

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 281
  • EOS M - 60D - 6D
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #589 on: April 21, 2015, 11:16:39 AM »
Tried at different fps (1,10,20) but can't get it clean...

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12465
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #590 on: April 21, 2015, 11:20:49 AM »
Then, you might have better luck with silent pictures.

If not, nevermind.

vertigopix

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 281
  • EOS M - 60D - 6D
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #591 on: April 21, 2015, 11:35:47 AM »
What do you mean ?
Take a SP while recording 1080p25 ?

If yes, here is : http://www.filedropper.com/09500000

dragonsfire1981

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Audio monitoring
« Reply #592 on: April 23, 2015, 07:43:49 PM »
Hi there,

I only recently installed ML. I read before that the audio monitoring function for the AV cable out port didn't work before, is that still the case? or is there an alternative solution?

JX

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #593 on: April 25, 2015, 01:32:56 PM »
Hello

I'm new to Magic Lantern and discovering it right now.
I'm having some issues on my EOS M with the latest nightly buil (2015 /4/19)

1/ The menu seems to appear only in movie mode, not in photo mode.
2/ I am not able to select menu options. For instance I can't change the time value for intervallometer; pressing the Q button (which is the same as the Set button on the EOS M) toggles only between “Off” and “On, 10s” values. Any suggestion on what I am doing wrong?
3/ Help files seem to be missing from the zip file.

Thanks in advance.

JX

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #594 on: April 25, 2015, 01:41:56 PM »
2/ I am not able to select menu options. For instance I can't change the time value for intervallometer; pressing the Q button (which is the same as the Set button on the EOS M) toggles only between “Off” and “On, 10s” values. Any suggestion on what I am doing wrong?

Answering my own question: to select an option value, touching the screen seems to be the thing to do.

Licaon_Kter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #595 on: April 27, 2015, 05:23:44 PM »
1/ The menu seems to appear only in movie mode, not in photo mode.
press INFO one more time until you get it

3/ Help files seem to be missing from the zip file.
you know that already since you've read this: http://magiclantern.fm/downloads.html right?

JX

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #596 on: April 28, 2015, 04:37:29 PM »
Quote
you know that already since you've read this: http://magiclantern.fm/downloads.html right?

I think I don't get it. Is there something else than the nightly builds to download for EOS-M, some full version that would include help files?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7614
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #597 on: April 28, 2015, 04:39:21 PM »
At time of writing there is only one version and there are no helpfiles included.

JX

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #598 on: April 28, 2015, 08:03:21 PM »
Quote
At time of writing there is only one version and there are no helpfiles included.

OK, thanks.

Quote
press INFO one more time until you get it

I couldn't get it to work. When I'm in photo mode I can get to the ML view pressing Display, but if I press the Trash can button it just shows the DOF preview, although it opens the ML configuration menu if I am in video mode.

Licaon_Kter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #599 on: April 28, 2015, 10:56:14 PM »
Switch Trash to ISO, does it help?


I'm not able to repro this, it just works... pressing INFO:
1. Canon interface without Live View
2. Canon mode interface simple

3. Canon mode interface more info
4. ML interface
5. press again to go to point 1.