Author Topic: Canon EOS M  (Read 835533 times)

bergamote

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1775 on: December 09, 2018, 04:42:02 PM »
Just popping by to say Thanks!
I'd tested raw on the eos m ages ago and at first got crazy excited by the image quality. But I ended up sticking to h.264 for filming because of the very limiting crop factor, the headache of setting everything right in ML and I wasn't getting very good results in low lights. All that, added to the extra workflow in post, didn't make it seem worth the effort.
Now, trying out Danne's latest build, I'm crazy excited again! Once I'd cleared my saved ML settings it worked perfectly, just switch on, run sd hack and apply a 2.5k preset and it's all good to go! 2.5k is a lot more workable than 1.4k and with the 800iso preset low light shots aren't as noisy as what I was getting before.

So thanks a million to everybody working on this!

I haven't read all 71 pages of this thread, so the following bug probably isn't specific to this build, but just in case:
After going through the steps I described, filming a shot in raw then reviewing it in-camera, when I switch the camera off it gets stuck at the sensor cleaning stage and never switches off. Pressing any button brings the liveview back but taking the battery out is only way to switch off.


Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5812
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1776 on: December 09, 2018, 05:22:23 PM »
I get the same issue from time to time but hard to reproduce. If you can narrow down the exact steps to reproduce the issue I will try and see wht´s going on.

Tullen

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1777 on: December 09, 2018, 05:42:09 PM »
I just got the same results when starting the camera and shutting it down before 2.5k script had finished running. Camera stuck at sensor cleaning, and had to pull battery. But cant reproduce it.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5812
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1778 on: December 09, 2018, 05:55:04 PM »
Ok, so maybe lua script could be related. Let's keep an eye for more occasions.
Also welcome with examples of what's working and what's useful and such.

alpicat

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 56
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1779 on: December 09, 2018, 07:34:53 PM »
Try shooting simple silent stills with the movie settings at the resolution you want to test. This will save a DNG of the full raw buffer. Shoot light subjects, dark subjects, flat walls, scenes with lots of contrasty details--sometimes focus pixels pop right out and other times they are hard to find. Then again if you can't find them that's the best news of all!

Thanks - finally got round to doing this and posted the focus pixel photos in the "Dealing with Focus Pixels in raw video" thread. Silent stills mode didn't work in 2.5k crop mode unfortunately - liveview goes black for a while, and all I get is a blank jpg. I just shot some short MLV clips and then extracted PNG files from them in MLVapp, enhanced in post so you can see all the focus pixels.

bergamote

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1780 on: December 10, 2018, 11:24:33 AM »
I've been trying to reproduce the cleaning sensor bug but it's pretty random. Here the few variations i came across:
- with only mlv_lite and mlv_play loaded, switch on and press play to start watching the last raw video then switch off whilst the file is playing. Every time it stays stuck to Cleaning sensor. Pressing the power button brings the camera back on and pressing it again switches it off immediatelly, skipping the cleaning sensor part.
- with snd,  crop_rec and lua also loaded, switch on, run the 2.5k 100iso script, shoot for 3 seconds then after waiting a bit, press the play button. If a bug shows up it can go two ways:
  1) you get a black screen. The orange led blinks as if mlvplay was playing the shot but the screen stays black. Pressing half shutter brings back shooting mode. Pressing play again plays the video without problem and it will not get stuck during Cleaning sensor even if switching off during playback
  2) the raw clip plays fine but when switching off whilst playing it gets stuck. The power button switches between shooting mode and cleaning, but the battery has to be removed.

I managed to get the last type 4 times in a row but then it didn't do it the fifth time. It looked like it happpened more often with the 2.5k100 than the 800 one but that might have been by chance. Also it did happen whilst mlvplay was stopped, and once whilst i was in a ML menu.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5812
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1781 on: December 10, 2018, 01:13:20 PM »
Ok, thanks. I gather one has to go easy on this little cam and wait for processes to finish.

Tullen

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1782 on: December 11, 2018, 12:32:54 AM »
@Danne

When using your crop_rec_4k_mlv_snd_isogain_1x3_presets_2018Dec08.EOSM202.zip, the recording sometimes shuts down due to to slow memory write speed. I'm using a Sandisk Extreme Pro 128GB.

- Installed and played around a bit with Magic Lantern.
- Set canon camera to manual film mode. Set the camera to 1080p 24 fps and Pal in canon menu.
- Did a low level format of the memory card in camera.
- Removed the old ML folder from the memory card and extracted the ML folder and the .DS Store, autoexec.bin and ML-SETUP.FIR to the root of the memory card from the crop_rec_4k_mlv_snd_isogain_1x3_presets_2018Dec08.EOSM202.zip (ignoring the MACOSX folder). Safe eject card from memory reader.
- Went into manual fotomode and updated the firmware. When prompted restarted the camera. Set the camera to film mode (manual).
- Opened magic lantern and loaded the crop_rec, lua, mlv_lite, mlv_snd and sd_uhs modules. Restart.
- Set  sd_uhs to autorun. Restart
- Go to movie tab and enable Crop Mode 2.5k 2520x1304 and set to 12 bit in Crop Mode submenu. Set FPS override to 23.976 and optimized for exact fps. Restart
- Go to movie tab and enable RAW, set bit depth to 12 and resolution to 2560 (which sets it to 2520x1308).

If I then try to record, the recording shuts down immediately.

If I put the RAW to 12 bit lossless it can record to up to a minute before stopping. Also, if I set it to 12 bit lossless the display becomes much darker. Gets brighter when I half-press shutter button.

So maybe the sd_uhs is not enough to record in 12 bit or 12 bit lossless at this resolution? If I set the Crop Mode to 10 bit and RAW to 10 bit it also shuts down after a few frames.
Setting the Crop Mode to 10 bit and the RAW to 11...8 bit lossless it seems to record continuously, but then the image is scrambled and of course  I'm still stuck with the dark display.

I'm sure I am doing something wrong, or maybe the dark display thing is a know issue, but I did not find anything when searching this tread so maybe you or others have some tips?

Cheers and thanks for all the amazing work.

EDIT: Seems none of the clips I took work when checking in mlvapp :(. So Im probably in much more trouble than I thought about just the dark image and 10 bit. How did you go about it alpicat?

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5812
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1783 on: December 11, 2018, 06:08:44 AM »
In RAW video keep it on 14bit lossless if you work with crop_rec  module and its settings enabled. You set bitrate from another submenu by tapping the screen while on Crop mode menu(seems that is what you already do):
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9741.msg208959#msg208959

Also leave fps override alone when using the crop rec presets. might be issues otherwise. Maybe it works with fps override when recording with mv1080p mode set in crop_rec. I will have to check.

EDIT:
Updated a few things and uploaded a new version in this post:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9741.msg208959#msg208959

loknar

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • 550D, EOS M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1784 on: December 11, 2018, 10:44:15 AM »
Thanks Danne for the builds. I tried the one from December the 8th and 1x3 preset works very well (even with changed bit rate, 8 bit have shifted white/black level, but others work out of the box), preview is stretched(not a big deal) but is very fluent and also i'm able to shoot very quickly.
Also this is first build with which i successfuly recorded 3072x1304 clip and man, that's beautiful. In this preset though i've no working preview at all (all just rgb patterns) so i can't focus or check composition, is it "standard" or it's just me?

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5812
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1785 on: December 11, 2018, 11:26:12 AM »
Thanks for feedback. 8bit is not really useful but still there for experimenting. About preview in higher resolution you should get ''framing" preview working. It´s slower but shows the correct framing. Real time cropped preview isn´t working with higher resolutions on the eosm. Might work somehow if someone finds a way to implement mode more like the 5D mark III.
Preview in general could be anything in real time but when i 'framing' mode it should show what you will get as a final result.

loknar

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • 550D, EOS M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1786 on: December 11, 2018, 12:09:05 PM »
Well, it is in our best interest to provide you with as much information as possible :).
Yeah,  that 8-bit info was pretty much only FYI. I don't intend to use it, 10-bit seem optimal, 9-bit out of desperation :).
I have framing preview now, thanks. I helps to know it can be done, after that it's only trying of possible combinations :).

Tullen

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1787 on: December 11, 2018, 11:02:17 PM »
is there any way to get the "framing" liveview work on an external display? whatever i choose for preview, it's showing "realtime" for hdmi external. by the way, i searched but i couldn't really get 1x3 crop mode, it shows at liveview and records very wide. i can provide footage does it need to be dng or are compressed formats okay? (i'm using mlv app on windows and i'm really grateful to both firmware and software developers.)

I'm also very interested in this. Anyone knows? Would be great to be able to use the monitor and get proper framing. Another option if it works would be to output full frame (without 5x) and have a frammarking on. Even though a lot of the display would not be in use its not as big of an issue on a 7" or 9" monitor.

Any ideas?

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5812
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1788 on: December 17, 2018, 06:43:40 PM »
New upload in this post:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9741.msg208959#msg208959

Eosm is equally good as 100D so we can make a 3k 24fps preset just as well for this little cam. New preset contains:
3K 3032x1436 24(fps)

Didn´t test it too much so feedback welcome...

optical-work

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1789 on: December 18, 2018, 04:07:09 PM »
Should raw_twk be on? When it is turned on I run sd overlock script as usual but it does nothing. memory patches stays the same (1 rom 2 ram). Without raw_twk it loads normally and able to record.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5812
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1790 on: December 18, 2018, 04:10:40 PM »
Probably not from what you are reporting. I have not tested raw_twk with sd_uhs module so if it interferes just turn it off.

Neilaxe

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1791 on: December 18, 2018, 09:11:12 PM »
Hello!

New here. I need a bit of advice. I installed one of the experimental ones for the Firmware 2.0.3. After having a bit of play around with the software, I realized that I don't know how to use it is so I formatted the card again on the camera to remove ML in it and use the camera as it was. It did sure remove the ML software however left some issue that  I couldn't fix.

The issue is that the shutter button won't let me take still pictures anymore or let me start recording. (Good thing the dedicated record button is still working.)

I already tried to reinstall the firmware 2.0.3 straight from canon's website but it still did not fix the issue. So at the moment my EOS M can only take videos and not still pictures.

Anybody here who can help and knows how I can get back the shutter function? If not possible, maybe where I can get the firmware version 2.0.2 as download? I'm keen to give ML another try but I want to downgrade the firmware first.

Thank you!

Teamsleepkid

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1792 on: December 18, 2018, 09:30:19 PM »
absolute mad lad! i tried it with tweak on last night seemed to work fine. need to test more though it was absolutely pitch black in my room when i tested so i only saw noise. did seem like there was more pixels in there though. thanks danne
EOS M

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5812
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1793 on: December 19, 2018, 10:53:32 AM »
More mad stuff  8)

Updated with another crop_rec preset:
mv1080p 1736x976 45fps
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9741.msg208959#msg208959

Please test it out. tweaked until it seemed corruption free. It should also work to reduce to let´s say 42 fps or lower with fps override.

Teamsleepkid

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1794 on: December 19, 2018, 11:58:33 PM »
ok i tried the 3k in daylight and it only recorded for a few seconds before crashing. i put on sd card overclock as well. also i changed white balance and iso.  how to get continuous recording? lots of detail my god. basically looks like film now. holy crap.
EOS M

Teamsleepkid

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1795 on: December 20, 2018, 12:14:42 AM »
somehow managed to record 27 seconds but without preview by turning on and off then on again sd card overclocking. preview goes wonky but continues to record.
EOS M

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5812
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1796 on: December 21, 2018, 03:51:14 PM »
For usabilty sake I added a 2.35:1 preset from within the crop_rec submenu. It will apply to the first four presets in crop_rec menu. Mainly I do this roundtrip because setting the 2.35:1 from regular RAW video menu will crop differently with mv1080p mode.







Download here:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9741.msg208959#msg208959

loknar

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • 550D, EOS M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1797 on: December 21, 2018, 04:19:49 PM »
For usabilty sake I added a 2.35:1 preset from within the crop_rec submenu. It will apply to the first four presets in crop_rec menu. Mainly I do this roundtrip because setting the 2.35:1 from regular RAW video menu will crop differently with mv1080p mode.

Download here:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9741.msg208959#msg208959

You are like daily Santa Claus :)

3K with 2.35 aspect works. I'm getting  ~2 seconds with liveview, ~4 seconds without it (card write speed is 58 MB/s with SD overclock).
This mode is my new favourite :).

mv1080@45 fps works too, longer shots than I am willing to wait, I almost hear DualISO in mv1080  knocking.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5812
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1798 on: December 21, 2018, 04:31:44 PM »
Great. A few more sec if you set it to 10bit?

loknar

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • 550D, EOS M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1799 on: December 21, 2018, 04:38:30 PM »
Quick test
(frames)
LV on/LV Off
12-bit 43/64
10-bit  59/85
9-bit  67/100
All usable.

But card used to be a bit faster, maybe i'll try low level format.