Author Topic: MLVProducer: [v3200]  (Read 270491 times)

GianlucaM83

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: MLVProducer: [v3200]
« Reply #1000 on: December 11, 2017, 04:04:51 PM »
As long as I open the software, double click then it shuts down immediately, and a window pops up: run-time error '5': invalid procedure call or argument

I had the same problem with update v3203.
In my case in the v3203 program folder I found only two files "MLVProducer.exe" and "log.txt". maybe because I only downloaded the update.
So....  I copied the file that was located in v3203 folder "MLVProducer.exe" in the folder of the previous version of the program (3200). run the .exe file from this position and the program works without any problems.  sincerely I do not know if it is the correct procedure but in my case it worked.

-sorry for my terrible English.

Bassman2003

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: MLVProducer: [v3200]
« Reply #1001 on: December 13, 2017, 06:51:54 AM »
Hello,

Please excuse my basic questions as I have not shot with my 5dMKIII for a while.  I have recently learned of MLVProducer and the workflow has me interested in learning more.  Here are some questions I have:

1)  Can MLVProducer output to an external monitor?  I have a Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4K and would like to grade on my external monitor.

2)  Can MLVProducer use DNG profiles?  I have DNG profiles that I use in Lightroom for stills and it would be great to apply to RAW video.

3)  Is it possible to output to an AVI format called Canopus HXQ?  This is for use in Grass Valley Edius the NLE.

4)  Can you edit the files straight from your card without any conversion?  This would be a great compared to the workflow of the past.

Thanks for the program and for your help!

AWPStar

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 386
Re: MLVProducer: [v3200]
« Reply #1002 on: December 13, 2017, 02:21:28 PM »
Hello, Bassman2003!

1. No. But this is possible. I can implement this.
2. MLVProducer and Lightroom have difference in tools, so i dont thing this is possible.
3. Only if ffmpeg has its decoder. I will research this.
4. What do you mean, without any conversion? You cannot edit raw file and leave it raw.
MLVProducer. p.s. sorry for my bad english.

Bassman2003

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: MLVProducer: [v3200]
« Reply #1003 on: December 13, 2017, 03:19:28 PM »
Hello,

Thank you for your quick reply.  Please disregard #4.  I watched a YouTube video last night and saw the workflow.

With regards to #2, what would be the best way achieve the same workflow?  Custom colors applied to the RAW video?  Create a custom LUT?

As a side note, have you thought about packaging up your program and selling it as a plugin to the major NLEs?  I am sure a lot of folks would like to be able to edit MLV directly inside of Premiere etc...

TechnoVirtuoso

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: MLVProducer: [v3200]
« Reply #1004 on: December 14, 2017, 05:41:55 AM »
Hi there, I've been using MLVProducer for over a year now without any issues but I've just started using Resolve to grade CDNGs and ran into a small issue. When I export my MLVs to CDNGs through MLVProducer I always tick "Remove Vertical Stripes" but when I import them into Resolve I'm seeing some strange patterns on certain clips. When I export the clips to .mov files the stripes are present in the exported files as well. I've included some examples from inside Resolve below.







Any advice on how to avoid this would be appreciated.

Shot on the 5D MIII with a Nightly Build from around July '17 (I have since installed the crop_rec_4K version so can't remember exactly which one).

banertop

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: MLVProducer: [v3200]
« Reply #1005 on: January 02, 2018, 10:26:27 PM »
Hi,

happy new year to everyone>))

is it possible to import mjpeg video file into mlv producer and export as prores?

tnx

reddeercity

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1437
Re: MLVProducer: [v3200]
« Reply #1006 on: January 03, 2018, 08:54:58 AM »
@ AWPStar , I was playing around with Dual ISO Video from 5D2 again  :D and processed a short clip to "Balanced" .
I couldn't believe how good dual iso processing in mlvproducer is , when I try it back about a year ago I got bad results
but now on v2771 (yes I know there a new version 3200 , but I can't drag & drop or file associate it to mlv's just have to load thought the main menu)
Has very clean shadows (that what I was going for) but did have to adjust the black level from 1793 (that only in dual iso) to 1791, normally it's that in 14bit .
Very good job !! make's me what to do a project in dual iso (for the low light detail) as 5d2 is not the best (5d3 & 6D are far better) but with dual iso it now can
compete with those camera  8)

1)  Can MLVProducer output to an external monitor?  I have a Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4K and would like to grade on my external monitor.

1. No. But this is possible. I can implement this.
A big +1

I too would love to see this come true , that would make this the Prefect Raw processing app. hands down .
The biggest problem with grading is not having a proper color space when you are  viewing on the same monitor you are working on .
I use Blackmagic USB 3.0 Ultra Studio SDI box which uses the same video desktop software as the add in PCIe card
there's a SDK kit for windows Blackmagic_DeckLink_SDK_10.9.9.zip there a Examples.sln that open up in Microsoft Visual Basic 2015 ,
thou I'm kind of lost when I look at the code but I'm sure @AWPStar it would make sense to you .
It that link doesn't work here another one /Blackmagic_DeckLink_SDK_10.9.9 . I'm glad to help if I can in any why , Testing at least .

IDA_ML

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 201
Re: MLVProducer: [v3200]
« Reply #1007 on: January 03, 2018, 09:32:30 AM »
Happy New Year, AWPStar and thank you for this amazing and very powerful software that you created!

Over the holidays, I finally found some time to test the latest v.3203 version of Producer and can confirm that it works very well.  My impression is that it is more stable than previous versions, regardless of the bit rate and file size used.  It works with 8...11, 12 and 14-bit losslessly compressed files too.  The Render Queue feature finally works without or with very little crashes.  The noise reduction feature that I often apply to clips shot at high ISO also provides pretty good results. 

The only thing I wish an improvement for are the colors.  Although greatly improved compared to older versions, the colors still are pretty dull and lack the vibrance and vividness of those obtained with Adobe Camera RAW.

Thank you again and keep up the good work!

banertop

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: MLVProducer: [v3200]
« Reply #1008 on: January 06, 2018, 11:41:55 PM »
One more question...

The Fast film Lut, in Filters section....is it possible to find that lut on the net, and use it in the Lumetri (Premiere pro), for exemple?

Thanks again