Author Topic: Tragic Lantern for 6D  (Read 59343 times)

Cloud_Walker

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2500 on: July 22, 2013, 06:32:49 PM »
Many thanks!
6D | 550D | 1000D

brdski

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2501 on: July 22, 2013, 11:28:56 PM »
I installed on my 6D ML. I made some RAW video test's whit supermoon https://vimeo.com/68936611an made some good pictures, etc, etc. But one day in photo mode i shoot again some pictures in cr2, but pictures are not recognized by LR and DxO this time. I reinstall apps on osx 10.8.4 i update osx. Nothing. Only DPP read cr2 files. It was frustrating, and i think and think... I change cards, lenses, try all combinations. Exif was correct in terms of lens, camera, aperture, iso, etc. At the end i go to reinstall firmware 1.1.3. on my 6D and I try to read first cr2 and everything was OK.

Does anybody knows why and what was corrupted? Very often i have error 70.

oscaroo

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2502 on: July 23, 2013, 02:09:06 AM »
I installed on my 6D ML. I made some RAW video test's whit supermoon https://vimeo.com/68936611an made some good pictures, etc, etc. But one day in photo mode i shoot again some pictures in cr2, but pictures are not recognized by LR and DxO this time. I reinstall apps on osx 10.8.4 i update osx. Nothing. Only DPP read cr2 files. It was frustrating, and i think and think... I change cards, lenses, try all combinations. Exif was correct in terms of lens, camera, aperture, iso, etc. At the end i go to reinstall firmware 1.1.3. on my 6D and I try to read first cr2 and everything was OK.

Does anybody knows why and what was corrupted? Very often i have error 70.

What LR version are you using? Old LR don't read 6D cr2s. You need at least LR4. If you're a cheapie and don't want to buy LR4 you can use the free Adobe Camera Raw (ACR) converter to convert the cr2s to a standard DNG that every program can read.

Anisotropic

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2503 on: July 23, 2013, 07:33:42 AM »
Hi, guys.  Been a long time ML user, first time poster.

I'm not sure where to begin in this thread to find answers to my questions, so I thought I'd just ask.

1. What SD cards do you recommend, and is that the current bottleneck?  I tried RAW video and couldn't get anything for more than a second at resolutions around 1280x720 and above.  I'm using this Transcend card: http://amzn.com/B008CVHLT2.

On this transcend i get continously raw video 1280x720. And ML shows me the 36-37 mb/sec speed. Using exfat 4kb clasters.

brdski

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2504 on: July 23, 2013, 08:35:09 AM »
What LR version are you using? Old LR don't read 6D cr2s. You need at least LR4. If you're a cheapie and don't want to buy LR4 you can use the free Adobe Camera Raw (ACR) converter to convert the cr2s to a standard DNG that every program can read.

I use LR4. Problem was in 6D after using ML, after "errors 70" camera dont write correct cr2 file. I solve problem whit reinstalling original canon firmware 1.1.3. After that action cr2 is recognized by LR4 and DxO. ;)

ilguercio

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 845
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2505 on: July 23, 2013, 03:55:18 PM »
@:1% mostly

Is it possible to detect the state of the LOCK slider?
I am asking because i don't use it and i find it a bit useless so we might as well reutilize it for some other function.
What do you think about it?
Canon EOS 6D, 60D, 50D.
Sigma 70-200 EX OS HSM, Sigma 70-200 Apo EX HSM, Samyang 14 2.8, Samyang 35 1.4, Samyang 85 1.4.
Proud supporter of Magic Lantern.

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2506 on: July 24, 2013, 08:12:57 PM »
Guys

I compared the footage from 5D3 and 6D with the VAF-6D filter.
I have posted original DNG's.

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=6577.0
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

ilguercio

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 845
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2507 on: July 25, 2013, 05:04:36 AM »
I might have found a weird behaviour when shooting videos with FPS override.
My case today:
Full HD ALL-I and FPS override set to 35 fps.
When going past 1/250 i get a very bizzarre flickering, as if i am shooting HDR video but i am not.
Any ideas? Shutter speeds are fine, FPS override allows me to go all the way up to 1/43xx but as soon as i choose 1/320 i get epilepsy.
Canon EOS 6D, 60D, 50D.
Sigma 70-200 EX OS HSM, Sigma 70-200 Apo EX HSM, Samyang 14 2.8, Samyang 35 1.4, Samyang 85 1.4.
Proud supporter of Magic Lantern.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2508 on: July 25, 2013, 05:38:17 AM »
The safe timer limits need to be adjusted (35fps is too much). Adjust the timers manually and see when the image gets restored.

ilguercio

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 845
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2509 on: July 25, 2013, 07:24:51 AM »
The safe timer limits need to be adjusted (35fps is too much). Adjust the timers manually and see when the image gets restored.
Cool, so what is basically happening at those shutter speeds?
1/250 is fine for that FPS setting while 1/320 makes it flash.
If i can help in any way...
Also, as i asked above, is the pixel binning method portable from the 5DIII?
One more thing, i noticed that the crop window when shooting raw is a tiny bit narrower than the full frame at maximum resolution.
Not sure if it's a problem with the framing or what.
Canon EOS 6D, 60D, 50D.
Sigma 70-200 EX OS HSM, Sigma 70-200 Apo EX HSM, Samyang 14 2.8, Samyang 35 1.4, Samyang 85 1.4.
Proud supporter of Magic Lantern.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2510 on: July 25, 2013, 07:27:28 AM »
Yeah, use the menu and find the safe timer values.

ilguercio

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 845
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2511 on: July 25, 2013, 07:36:48 AM »
I guess i need to find the timers for every Canon FPS option.
If i select 24fps from Canon menu and i set 35fps with override i get 1/80 max while i get 1/250 max when i start from 30fps in canon menu.
Canon EOS 6D, 60D, 50D.
Sigma 70-200 EX OS HSM, Sigma 70-200 Apo EX HSM, Samyang 14 2.8, Samyang 35 1.4, Samyang 85 1.4.
Proud supporter of Magic Lantern.

fauxtographer

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2512 on: July 27, 2013, 03:18:45 AM »
Hey Guys

I have been out of the loop for some time, what is NEW and FUN?!

Can I find all the necessary files somewhere to get this up and running? I have only really old files, where is noisyboy when you need him!
6D | 24-105 f/4 | 70-200 f/4 | 28 - 35 - 50 - 50 - 135 |

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2513 on: July 27, 2013, 07:17:49 PM »
I have to compile a new version. It has lower fps timers (they had a rework when 5D3 did, fixed the flashing mentioned) and uses adtg shutters so no more funky dots/lines, etc.

A slight down side is the higher shutters flip with fps. Mainly its annoying to see 1/1600 flip to 1/1800, etc.

pio_hyun

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2514 on: July 27, 2013, 08:19:43 PM »
I have to compile a new version. It has lower fps timers (they had a rework when 5D3 did, fixed the flashing mentioned) and uses adtg shutters so no more funky dots/lines, etc.

A slight down side is the higher shutters flip with fps. Mainly its annoying to see 1/1600 flip to 1/1800, etc.

Where can I download newest .bin file please? I have go to bitbucket, but the newest file is from July 02? :<

oscaroo

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2515 on: July 28, 2013, 02:50:25 AM »
Hey Pio

Those are the latest bins.
My guess is 1% is busy with RL.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2516 on: July 28, 2013, 05:42:21 PM »
Unfortunately its true and I'm not having any fun. :)

One project has 2 more days on it I think, and then I'll get some free time.

Bitbucket is being a pain again.

http://www.filedropper.com/6dadtgshutter

I was hoping some people would self compile while I was out but that only happened for 50D. Check low FPS like 2-3 fps, should have less or no defects but I didn't try for a really long time.

ilguercio

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 845
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2517 on: July 30, 2013, 03:16:03 AM »
Why is 25600 iso rated as H in video mode and as a normal iso speed in photo?
Canon EOS 6D, 60D, 50D.
Sigma 70-200 EX OS HSM, Sigma 70-200 Apo EX HSM, Samyang 14 2.8, Samyang 35 1.4, Samyang 85 1.4.
Proud supporter of Magic Lantern.

Alf

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2518 on: July 31, 2013, 05:42:04 AM »
I will offer my firstborn for the stable release of ML for Canon 6D ʕु•̫͡•ʔु
In the meantime, my paypal support will have to do.

Here is hoping the DotTune makes it into the release. ♥

Awesome work ML team

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2519 on: July 31, 2013, 06:20:33 AM »
Video mode doesn't allow as much gain... its shit anyway. Technically can push it up a wee bit higher but it causes err 70/lockup in bulb mode.
 
Level seems good in photo mode and switching now, yay. FPS is fixed?

Quote
I will offer my firstborn for the stable release of ML for Canon 6D

So all these months of subsequent versions are....? 6D is pretty good... wish the dual ISO worked.. or headphone.. what else is missing?
 
EOS-M and 600D are a bit jacked ATM.

xNiNELiVES

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
  • 5D II, 17-35mm F2.8L, 50mm F1.4, 70-200 F4L
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2520 on: July 31, 2013, 08:14:50 AM »
So no dual iso? Ever? What can you say as of right now, haven't read up in a while about it working on other cameras.

electrichobo

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2521 on: July 31, 2013, 09:20:30 AM »
doing a paid shoot with the 6d w/ ML non-raw this weekend. ((will safety shoot with the 5dmarkiii no ML))
I'll report back.

ilguercio

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 845
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2522 on: July 31, 2013, 03:29:51 PM »
Does the audio that we can record separately have embedded timecode?
If not, is it possible to "burn" it in the audio file?
Also, what happens to the timecode when we are using FPS override?
Canon EOS 6D, 60D, 50D.
Sigma 70-200 EX OS HSM, Sigma 70-200 Apo EX HSM, Samyang 14 2.8, Samyang 35 1.4, Samyang 85 1.4.
Proud supporter of Magic Lantern.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2523 on: July 31, 2013, 03:41:19 PM »
Audio is plain wav data. Doesn't have timecode.

I never looked at timecode on fps override clips, figured it was wrong but who knows.

ilguercio

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 845
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2524 on: July 31, 2013, 03:44:07 PM »
What about the LOCK slider? A few posts ago i was suggesting to use it as a custom slider for whatever, since i don't use it and i am sure many don't as well.
Canon EOS 6D, 60D, 50D.
Sigma 70-200 EX OS HSM, Sigma 70-200 Apo EX HSM, Samyang 14 2.8, Samyang 35 1.4, Samyang 85 1.4.
Proud supporter of Magic Lantern.