Author Topic: Tragic Lantern for 6D  (Read 84578 times)

sparedog

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
  • 6D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2050 on: June 07, 2013, 11:47:41 AM »
You can't chose over 1792 because that is about where canon size is. "full" size is only 1824. 28x64 is already 1792.


in which mode are you getting 1792 vertically, the most i get is 1216 when i choose 9:16

xNiNELiVES

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
  • 5D II, 17-35mm F2.8L, 50mm F1.4, 70-200 F4L
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2051 on: June 08, 2013, 12:52:58 AM »
in which mode are you getting 1792 vertically, the most i get is 1216 when i choose 9:16

I meant horizontal resolution sorry... I can't get above 1792 horizontal resolution...

xNiNELiVES

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
  • 5D II, 17-35mm F2.8L, 50mm F1.4, 70-200 F4L
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2052 on: June 08, 2013, 01:09:48 AM »
1% there's a bug when we use 7 buffers. We have to use the camera in photo mode, I can't seem to even expose my own videos. The camera chooses automatic settings, there's also no live exposure (I believe this is caused by the multishot noise reduction). Then when I shoot videos the camera changes exposures on the fly to update for each scene. This looks obviously really ugly, plus I can't even control my own camera!

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2053 on: June 08, 2013, 03:18:25 AM »
Expo override. Or use quality raw + a1ex hack in video.

Clusters are funny.. I tested with the 32gb sandisk.

Fat32 seemed faster at first but with more testing it now looks to write about the same.

Fat32 clusters were 32, card native is 512 (ok reults)... 128k (better), 2048k(same) seemed to give good results... 4096 didn't seem to help, 32MB clusters only slowed it down. 32k like fat 32 seemed to ideal.

Highest write was 41.something MB, usually 38.8-39.9.

xNiNELiVES

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
  • 5D II, 17-35mm F2.8L, 50mm F1.4, 70-200 F4L
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2054 on: June 08, 2013, 04:34:23 AM »
Expo override. Or use quality raw + a1ex hack in video.

Clusters are funny.. I tested with the 32gb sandisk.

Fat32 seemed faster at first but with more testing it now looks to write about the same.

Fat32 clusters were 32, card native is 512 (ok reults)... 128k (better), 2048k(same) seemed to give good results... 4096 didn't seem to help, 32MB clusters only slowed it down. 32k like fat 32 seemed to ideal.

Highest write was 41.something MB, usually 38.8-39.9.

Ok. I get everything except what you meant by quality raw + a1ex hack. What's that?

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2055 on: June 08, 2013, 04:41:52 AM »
The 5d3 memory hack for video mode.. its on by default just set pic quality to raw and try it in video mode.

xNiNELiVES

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
  • 5D II, 17-35mm F2.8L, 50mm F1.4, 70-200 F4L
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2056 on: June 08, 2013, 04:55:41 AM »
The 5d3 memory hack for video mode.. its on by default just set pic quality to raw and try it in video mode.

It gives 255mb buffer? Is this in the newest release? Never heard of this...

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2057 on: June 08, 2013, 05:02:04 AM »
I think its only 6X32 but close enough and not hard to use 60P.

yannlesaout

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2058 on: June 08, 2013, 09:37:58 AM »
hi,

i have a simple question: i'm using ML on my 6D mainly for things like magic zoom, zebra etc. so i am generally fine with the 'classic' 1920 or 1280 video recording settings.
jan

Hello Jan,

I'm happy to read that you use without problem ML with your 6D without problem regarding magic zoom, zebra. I'm also interesting by classic 1920 x 1280, I own a 6 D and a 60D, on my 60D I've Magic Lantern, and I'd like to get it like you on my 6D.
So could you confirm to me the good file to download ?
I suppose it's the Alpha for 5D Mark III ?
Thanks by advance  :)

Yann

teo770

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2059 on: June 08, 2013, 10:12:21 AM »
Canon's RAW CR2 format details: http://lclevy.free.fr/cr2/
Might help but i think u already know that
My gear: CANON 6D / 40mm f2.8 STM / 20mm f2.8 / 24-105 f4 IS / Flash 90EX / Grip BG-E13

teo770

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2060 on: June 08, 2013, 10:17:12 AM »
I'd like to get it like you on my 6D.
So could you confirm to me the good file to download ?
I suppose it's the Alpha for 5D Mark III ?
Thanks by advance  :)
Yann
Go back in previous pages, Noisyboy started a "6D How to" dedicated thread... here:
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5530.msg39370;topicseen#msg39370
My gear: CANON 6D / 40mm f2.8 STM / 20mm f2.8 / 24-105 f4 IS / Flash 90EX / Grip BG-E13

nandoide

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2061 on: June 08, 2013, 10:32:25 AM »
I think its only 6X32 but close enough and not hard to use 60P.

the clusters are 7x32M

1920x720 10" (247 frames) 24 fps override on 5x video mode (compiling latest sources)
1808x678 14" (330 frames) 24 fps override (really no necessary so canon video mode 1920x1080 24 fps gets the same) on 1x video mode

sandisk extreme pro 95 32 GB (FAT32), global draw on with focus peaking

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2062 on: June 08, 2013, 11:05:41 AM »
Quote from: 1% link=topic=3904.msg47883#msg47883
Highest write was 41.something MB, usually 38.8-39.9.

Did you have consistent 41 or only half a second peak?
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

teo770

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2063 on: June 08, 2013, 11:15:20 AM »
With Sandisk Extreme Pro, got 40MB/s peak too, but filming continuously works till 39.2MB/s
My gear: CANON 6D / 40mm f2.8 STM / 20mm f2.8 / 24-105 f4 IS / Flash 90EX / Grip BG-E13

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2064 on: June 08, 2013, 11:15:39 AM »
the clusters are 7x32M

1920x720 10" (247 frames) 24 fps override on 5x video mode (compiling latest sources)
1808x678 14" (330 frames) 24 fps override (really no necessary so canon video mode 1920x1080 24 fps gets the same) on 1x video mode

sandisk extreme pro 95 32 GB (FAT32), global draw on with focus peaking

That's very good result IMO and I think fully usable.
 So 5x zoom gives 1920x720 and not 1792x something?
did your write speed exceeds 40MB/s for a longer time than a one second?
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2065 on: June 08, 2013, 11:18:54 AM »
With Sandisk Extreme Pro, got 40MB/s peak too, but filming continuously works till 39.2MB/s
Yeah, its like sandisk 45. damn, I would buy pro if it has additional consistent 1-2 MB more. CF guys probably are laughing when reading such posts  ;)
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

nandoide

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2066 on: June 08, 2013, 12:32:45 PM »
Like sandisk 45?  I expected that :-(  but it's good to confirm  :D, because I'm thinking on buy the 64 GB 45 one cause it's a lot cheaper than 95.

These raw videos eat the card :-)

My rates are sustained 39.x, sometimes on a veeeery short lapse 40 ... I think 45=90 for this cam. It's a pity (the bus, the clock bus, ...)

Gobian

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2067 on: June 08, 2013, 12:45:14 PM »
Hi, I´m trying to do some tests with a Sandisk Extreme Pro 32Gb

I see the only way to get 32x7 is using still mode the go to NR and selecting Multi, then I can see the 32x7, but on this lastest version ([113] Just small Changes.zip) I can not go higher than 1792 width, could you let me know how to try higher than that?
6D | 550D | Canon f4/24-105mm IS USM | Canon f4/70-200mm USM |Canon f1.8/85mm | Canon f1.4/50mm |Tokina f2.8/11-16mm |

nandoide

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2068 on: June 08, 2013, 01:09:01 PM »
Alex is doing continuously changes on image sizes searching for speed improvements. The version i try has 1920 on 5x but could not be the last word. I compiled the sources.

teo770

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2069 on: June 08, 2013, 01:25:09 PM »
I shot 200+ Raw sequences. 100GB the biggest.

Whatever resolution or ratio u choose,
in movie mode, continuous recording (without frame skips) with global draws.... seems very stable under 39MB/s.

In photo mode, major problem (the only one for me) is the lack of IS (lens stabilisation).
But you can go a bit forward cause it seems to use less canon functions....

It's not night & day neither.... from 39.2 to 39.5MB/s for myself.
My gear: CANON 6D / 40mm f2.8 STM / 20mm f2.8 / 24-105 f4 IS / Flash 90EX / Grip BG-E13

teo770

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2070 on: June 08, 2013, 01:40:13 PM »
1%, on the line "Capturing frame XXXX...", could we add another counter: frame count devided by FPS  ?
So we'd know immediatly how many secondes we're recording.
My gear: CANON 6D / 40mm f2.8 STM / 20mm f2.8 / 24-105 f4 IS / Flash 90EX / Grip BG-E13

nandoide

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2071 on: June 08, 2013, 02:37:33 PM »
Gobian, in order to get the memory hack from Alex you need select Memory hack ON on RAW menu and photo quality RAW, not jpg (the oposite as nr noise reduction, that needs jpg). Because that trick I thought at first (and I think 1% also) that the hack didn't go on 6D.
And really is better than 5Dm3. We have 3 more 32m buffers. 5Dm3 only 2 (but they have CF...) (Then with this hack you can take RAW photos and RAW videos without changing configuration)

Doing so, you get 7 buffers on raw recording, video or photo

For raw video stabilization in photo mode I use start delay to 2 sec. on raw menu, to get time to start pressing  the shutter button all the time while recording (M mode)

Gobian

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2072 on: June 08, 2013, 03:39:49 PM »
Thanx so much nandoide, i´m doing tests now with Alex hack. :)
6D | 550D | Canon f4/24-105mm IS USM | Canon f4/70-200mm USM |Canon f1.8/85mm | Canon f1.4/50mm |Tokina f2.8/11-16mm |

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2073 on: June 08, 2013, 04:36:46 PM »
Counter is in... that was a good idea to take care of the seconds. No extra counting.

yannlesaout

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2074 on: June 08, 2013, 07:07:28 PM »
Go back in previous pages, Noisyboy started a "6D How to" dedicated thread... here:
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5530.msg39370;topicseen#msg39370

Thanks a lot !!!!! ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Yann