Author Topic: Tragic Lantern for 6D  (Read 84576 times)

fotojohni

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 84
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2000 on: June 05, 2013, 06:23:09 AM »
with photo mode set to jpeg only!

To reiterate: you must be in photo mode with live view running, before doing anything.  Then go into high iso speed NR and switch to NR.

set fps overide to 24 because default is 30.

To make sure the camera doesn't stb when you are recording, set exposure overide to on.

oscaroo

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2001 on: June 05, 2013, 06:25:11 AM »
So .. you guys are taking a video while not seeing what is being seen through the camera?
how do you focus/view what you're recording?

craycray

teo770

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2002 on: June 05, 2013, 10:22:39 AM »
In photo mode with 255MB buffer
Recording @ 1600x608 with GlobalDraw ON, Exp override ON, FPS override 24, it can record limitless.
I just recorded 100GB on a 128GB Sandisk Extreme 45MB/s

1600x608 (ratio 2.67) with factor 1.2x = 1920x730 endless recording
Very stable, no matter the scene kind you shoot (inside/outside/day/night/moving/stay...etc)
Tested more than 50 times.

1536x636 (ratio 2.35) with factor 1.25x = 1920x795
Very stable too but start skipping frames after 3500 frames (2.3 minutes)

I'm very happy with that already !

1%, would it be possible to record sound using very low quality ?
In Canon default, it records in PCM so... high quality, so does ML with separate wav.
Could we for example modify wav recording parameters ? 8bits, lower bitrate ?

Other way: have an optional 2nd synch beep after recording ends
Synch beep when start, then synch beep just after or when stopping recording.

This way, you can record sound with external recorder (Zoom, Tascam, wathever) cut the audio file in sub files
starting and ending with beeps then synch them with video sequences in your NLE.
With 2 beeps, would be easier to synch... am i wrong ?

Funny thing
:
When u start the cam in photo LV, with Noise reduc OFF, memory available: 151MB
You change Noire reduc to NR, memory available: 255MB
You change back Noise reduc to OFF, memory available: still 255MB
Does it tell something ?
My gear: CANON 6D / 40mm f2.8 STM / 20mm f2.8 / 24-105 f4 IS / Flash 90EX / Grip BG-E13

ckstoa

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2003 on: June 05, 2013, 11:35:49 AM »
Oh! Thanks!!!! I'm successfully installed ML!!

But  ML is suspended when use WIFI REMOTE (at review)..


Is it just me? T.T


ASSERT: FALSE
at ./ASIF/ASIF.c:486, task ASIF
lv:0 mode:2


Magic Lantern version : v2.3.NEXT.2013May31.6D113
Mercurial changeset   : 28a4eab0513e+63d5922fdcd9+ (unified)
Built on 2013-05-31 23:07:58 by user@D610.
Free Memory  : 445K + 2286K

teo770

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2004 on: June 05, 2013, 01:39:58 PM »
Wifi + Liveview = problem

Can't work together yet
My gear: CANON 6D / 40mm f2.8 STM / 20mm f2.8 / 24-105 f4 IS / Flash 90EX / Grip BG-E13

ckstoa

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2005 on: June 05, 2013, 02:01:38 PM »
Wifi + Liveview = problem

Can't work together yet




oh.. that's so sad..

I think just WIFI Photo Transmission is problem too...



yannlesaout

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2006 on: June 05, 2013, 02:02:22 PM »
Oh! Thanks!!!! I'm successfully installed ML!!

Hello, what exactly is the file to download for the 6D ?
For 5D mark III
For 7D
For EOS-M ?

I guess it could be the 5D mark III, because they are so closed.
Bst Rgds

Yann

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2007 on: June 05, 2013, 03:14:13 PM »
I monitored successfully with the phone while recording video. I dunno about photo transmission or any of that. Will have to see.

Also will try to turn off NR and see if the memory stays/can flip to video mode.

Its a hack... having bvram_mirror in shoot_malloc crashes out the multishot just like raw converter and makes it give up the memory.

*Other than  Busy error on screen it looks to stay in video mode too. great find.


Managed to get into 60fps mode...

Override to 24.
Photo mode NR ON
wait... NR off ... wait

Switch to 720P... wait

Push up fps to where it doesn't crash... I was able to do 48.
Feels like getting there was a contra cheat code.

xNiNELiVES

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
  • 5D II, 17-35mm F2.8L, 50mm F1.4, 70-200 F4L
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2008 on: June 05, 2013, 04:47:49 PM »
When is it going to be possible to not have to turn on and off noise reduction in some ritualistic procedure every time to o tain 255mb buffer size?

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2009 on: June 05, 2013, 04:59:31 PM »
When I figure out how.. so far no luck.. at least I got into movie mode with it.


noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2010 on: June 05, 2013, 05:50:48 PM »
I monitored successfully with the phone while recording video.

Is this a new test you've done? As in you managed to get it working stable? I take it that's when shooting h.264 is it? If so that would be awesome man!

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2011 on: June 05, 2013, 06:02:22 PM »
Not H264... no movie mode with wifi still.. With raw video +memory hack.

Stable... not yet. got it to stop doing busy when entering nr mode... leaving it is another matter and still hard. Probably have to patch the semaphore of it quitting. Every you hit h/s in movie mode it gets "busy".

Likes to crash alot too..

I guess semi-stable in photo mode if you leave the NR on, it doesn't actually do the NR.

HDR does it too... needs diff patch. Also there is Change memory for factory.. hopefully it frees the memory too.

Factory mode takes memory....

If  SRM_ChangeMemoryManagement functions are understood then this might be doable trouble free.

teo770

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2012 on: June 06, 2013, 12:53:56 AM »
3 Canon functions seems to free 255MB:

- high iso NR
- multiple expo
- HDR

Noone of these are available on video mode.
Using those functions, firmware seems to "makes room" to prepare incoming of multiple pictures...
My gear: CANON 6D / 40mm f2.8 STM / 20mm f2.8 / 24-105 f4 IS / Flash 90EX / Grip BG-E13

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2013 on: June 06, 2013, 12:58:31 AM »
I can try to force them on in movie mode like I did with the NR, don't remember seeing it in the menu unti I forced  it.

*Tried them all.. the properties don't change in movie mode... at best some blue blocks appear but they are fragmented as hell.

I think just NR off makes some blue blocks in movie mode... but how to free them and recover them.

xNiNELiVES

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
  • 5D II, 17-35mm F2.8L, 50mm F1.4, 70-200 F4L
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2014 on: June 06, 2013, 01:11:49 AM »
I can try to force them on in movie mode like I did with the NR, don't remember seeing it in the menu unti I forced  it.

Try it, can't hurt right?

teo770

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2015 on: June 06, 2013, 01:12:40 AM »
We are kind of lucky that 6D had in camera HDR (jpeg), if it would have the RAW HDR function only.... wouldn't had to make room in memory to calculate the HDR directly onboard !

+1 to 6D !
My gear: CANON 6D / 40mm f2.8 STM / 20mm f2.8 / 24-105 f4 IS / Flash 90EX / Grip BG-E13

teo770

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2016 on: June 06, 2013, 01:15:11 AM »
I can try to force them on in movie mode like I did with the NR, don't remember seeing it in the menu unti I forced  it.
You've got the NR choice in high ISO nr menu while in video mode ?
In a not yet released update i think.

Not sure activating the 3 functions in video mode will free more mem. They must have defined the same reserved mem space for multi pics functions but.... who knows !

We are now at 7 x 32Mb buffer.... but 255MB free would normaly contain arround 8 x 32
The buffer line displays only 7 stars... There is a problem with the 8th ?

To go forward: getting more and more free mem for buffers will allow us to film longer time without skipped frames, ok.
Perhaps we will someday get 10x32MB buffers. But about writing speed, we know the 6D is running at 50MB/s top.
We can actually record at max 39MB/s on cards handling twice this write speed...
Is there any way to investigate where is the bottleneck in camera ?

My gear: CANON 6D / 40mm f2.8 STM / 20mm f2.8 / 24-105 f4 IS / Flash 90EX / Grip BG-E13

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2017 on: June 06, 2013, 01:23:39 AM »
Yea.. I forced on NR in movie mode by altering the property and now have NR in movie mode... except #4 is missing.

Also, NR and multi expo + hdr are all 3 separate memory functions... there is also inner develop configuration and image configuration... inner develop seems to do something but it gives me assert #5 and I can't find it anywhere in the firmware.

On EOSM NR dumps the memory no patches... on 6D not sure if it did without bvram mirror causing some error to make it free the memory. Just configuring the memory doesn't free it but usually turns it into blue blocks





xNiNELiVES

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
  • 5D II, 17-35mm F2.8L, 50mm F1.4, 70-200 F4L
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2018 on: June 06, 2013, 01:36:14 AM »
You've got the NR choice in high ISO nr menu while in video mode ?
In a not yet released update i think.

Not sure activating the 3 functions in video mode will free more mem. They must have defined the same reserved mem space for multi pics functions but.... who knows !

We are now at 7 x 32Mb buffer.... but 255MB free would normaly contain arround 8 x 32
The buffer line displays only 7 stars... There is a problem with the 8th ?

To go forward: getting more and more free mem for buffers will allow us to film longer time without skipped frames, ok.
Perhaps we will someday get 10x32MB buffers. But about writing speed, we know the 6D is running at 50MB/s top.
We can actually record at max 39MB/s on cards handling twice this write speed...
Is there any way to investigate where is the bottleneck in camera ?

I 100% agree with Teo, why are we getting 39mb/s when uhs-1 standards are supposed to be 45mb/s and the camera apparently has the ability to shoot 50mb/s. We need to find the bottleneck...

I believe aspect ratios are off as of right now. 1728 at an aspect ratio of 2.67 has a vertical resolution of 672, it should be 648.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2019 on: June 06, 2013, 02:42:47 AM »
8th may be the double buffer chunk. When I looked at the readout there were only 7 big blocks.

We'll see what happens with the write, not sure how to make it go any faster. Maybe this is realistic performance of the SD controller they chose. USB 2.0 also specced at 50MB/s and usually you get much less.

Dunno where we could get any more memory from. The other memory isn't blue so something is indeed writing there.


xNiNELiVES

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
  • 5D II, 17-35mm F2.8L, 50mm F1.4, 70-200 F4L
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2020 on: June 06, 2013, 02:48:29 AM »
I know this seems unlikely but couldn't we just look for a pcb that supports higher write speeds thats compatible with canons DSLRs? I mean isn't there ways to look up internal parts for electronics such as this? If some type of semi-specialist (a person who works in this type of field) could get a copy of a 6d or other dslr, and find the pcb that does the writing, could they replace it with one that supports higher write speeds?

Edit: What we need is a service manual to find out how to disassemble, etc.

For example with a quick google I found the 5d mark ii's service manual, can't seem to find a 6d's...

Here's where I downloaded it from: file:///C:/Users/Brandon/Downloads/Canon-5D-Mark-II-Parts-Lists-and-Schematics.zip

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2021 on: June 06, 2013, 03:25:25 AM »
Service manuals for canon are hard... they have to be leaked. Maybe if someone asks nicely they will leak the 6D one.

I do this kind of thing... and I don't think its feasible. We would have to be damn lucky to have the IC just work in place without major canon FW rewrite at regular speed. Someone would probably have to design a new IC as a drop in replacement and fab it. Then you get the fun of reworking/aligning it.

If we find the SD controller we could at least see what the next model up does... btw 208mhz strings are not in the firmware so the camera would have no clue about even using the higher write speed. CF this is apparently "easy".. mainly because CF behaves 90% like IDE... micro-drive is powering my router right now.

We're just not going to squeeze any more out of this without throwing away data. SD is a shitty solution. With enough memory at least "almost" hd sizes are possible and its like 10x better than H264. We basically have a mini BMCC at this point. Audio is a sticking point... no matter how far you reduce the wav, writing will still be taken from the video.

xNiNELiVES

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
  • 5D II, 17-35mm F2.8L, 50mm F1.4, 70-200 F4L
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2022 on: June 06, 2013, 04:50:03 AM »
Service manuals for canon are hard... they have to be leaked. Maybe if someone asks nicely they will leak the 6D one.

I do this kind of thing... and I don't think its feasible. We would have to be damn lucky to have the IC just work in place without major canon FW rewrite at regular speed. Someone would probably have to design a new IC as a drop in replacement and fab it. Then you get the fun of reworking/aligning it.

If we find the SD controller we could at least see what the next model up does... btw 208mhz strings are not in the firmware so the camera would have no clue about even using the higher write speed. CF this is apparently "easy".. mainly because CF behaves 90% like IDE... micro-drive is powering my router right now.

We're just not going to squeeze any more out of this without throwing away data. SD is a shitty solution. With enough memory at least "almost" hd sizes are possible and its like 10x better than H264. We basically have a mini BMCC at this point. Audio is a sticking point... no matter how far you reduce the wav, writing will still be taken from the video.

Ok. Thanks for the input  :). Can't parts run faster than what they are spec'd for but at a slight risk (if not forced too hard) of damage? Thus couldn't we make it run faster? Or at least could we change how the firmware is coded to allow for higher transmitting speeds?

I'm just thinking of anything to possibly lead anywhere, many others and I have their fingers crossed that we'll get higher resolutions. I know we won't get 1080p, I'm totally understanding that that won't be possible (unless we get a whole new IC). I think people (including me) want around 1800 horizontal resolution with a high aspect ratio (around 2.5+ maybe 2.35). Or 1700 or so with a 16:9 ratio for those who don't want too much letter boxing.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2023 on: June 06, 2013, 06:09:31 AM »
Its not like CPU with a few clocks... its like DDR2 vs DDR3, etc. Completely different timings.

teo770

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2024 on: June 06, 2013, 08:19:06 AM »
[113] Today.zip crashes a lot Err 70.
Both photo and video mode
My gear: CANON 6D / 40mm f2.8 STM / 20mm f2.8 / 24-105 f4 IS / Flash 90EX / Grip BG-E13