Author Topic: Tragic Lantern for 6D  (Read 52199 times)

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #975 on: April 15, 2013, 12:52:59 AM »
New stream analysis tools are opening 6D files!

Found out a few quick things:

* Gop seems to affect what QP is picked by dynamic configs. I have to investigate more
* Flush of 4 will produce high rates but be careful... it can drop frames. I proved with virtualdub.

The 4x4, 16x16, and 8x8 matrices seem to be used dynamically throughout the file. This would be the parameter to attack a la gop and flush rate.

*Gop setting has an issue, there are dwords in there and it does different things based on them.

Looks like you're digging deeper dude!

Just a quick off topic question 1% (mostly for my own curiosity): In your opinion, what would be your own choice if I asked you which feature excites you the most that has yet to be unlocked. Of course I base this on feature that you could potentially unlock based on theory. Just wondered how far you wizards aim to push this baby :)

Still inspired by your great work!

Cheers :)

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #976 on: April 15, 2013, 01:42:38 AM »
Probably most exciting and hardest things are:

*Mjpeg -Kill H264
*Resizing/Cropping - No more Moire
*New Audio - incl headphone and patching it for flush.

Ps. I think gop not working... I tried several locations. needs more tracing.

fauxtographer

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #977 on: April 15, 2013, 06:27:26 AM »
I am excited for all of those things as well, guess I will just cheer you guys on from the side.

Still waiting to run ML on my 6D, just waiting for you guys to thumbs it up for us laypersons.
6D | 24-105 f/4 | 70-200 f/4 | 28 - 35 - 50 - 50 - 135 |

DTSET123

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #978 on: April 15, 2013, 06:49:20 AM »
Quote
Kill H264
Die h.264, die!!!

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #979 on: April 15, 2013, 05:05:03 PM »
I got gop changing to work.... so far its not user proof... i.e. if you pick gop 11 for 24p it won't write. But other gops work like 24, 3, 6, ... basically divisible ones. Sound works too if you don't mess with flush rate... I have to work on a patch for that.

So now we can have some interesting scenarios.

24p rate control with long gop... so far only 24, 48 will break timecode (will patch and see what it does).
QP1 with flush and short gop... like 3. This may help with the skipping if encoder doesn't try to work on gop of 12 when frames are already written out at 4/5/6,etc.

Still have to find a way to undo and account for all-I mode where changing the gop would be ridiculous. It is written to metadata this time too.

*Gop 3 records without P frames.. only I and B
*Gop 24 seems to produce higher qps... most are 1 - 3 but overall rate is lower. This is supposed to be a benefit of longer gop encoding. Lower rate at same quality.

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #980 on: April 15, 2013, 07:24:51 PM »
Probably most exciting and hardest things are:

*Mjpeg -Kill H264
*Resizing/Cropping - No more Moire
*New Audio - incl headphone and patching it for flush.

Ps. I think gop not working... I tried several locations. needs more tracing.

Amazing!

I love it :) Reach for the stars brother! Reach for the stars ;)

If you manage to do either one of the first two I will personally build a statue in your honor.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #981 on: April 15, 2013, 07:41:09 PM »
Ok, got 113... stubs are all in different spots so it will take a little bit to get up to speed... but good news is you might not have to re-run a fir.. boot flag stays enabled.

DTSET123

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #982 on: April 16, 2013, 01:04:08 AM »

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #983 on: April 16, 2013, 03:28:24 AM »
Gop is up.. still 112, hopefully this the last 112 bin.

Not seeing jerking just loading CBR and setting flush of 6, gop of 3. This is at QP-5.. qp1 recorded like 200Mb/s and doesn't play back in camera.

Will have to check outdoors stuff when the main rig is free.

Shooting with transform8x8 flag to 1 for a bit... going to see if forcing it on every frame helps or hurts.


Virindi

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #984 on: April 16, 2013, 03:56:37 PM »
Hello everyone,
First, thank you all for your great work, I used to have ML on my 5Dmk2 and it is awesome.

I tried to install it on my 6D but I can't start it. When I update it says ML is installed, nothing happens when I restart.
Do you have any idea of what I did wrong?
I made the card bootable, copied all the files at the right places I think.
Thanks!

EDIT: I did that EOSCard utility thing again and it works now! I unchecked the boxes, saved, checked them again, saved, and it launches ML

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #985 on: April 16, 2013, 05:50:19 PM »
Have to make sure eoscard isnt' copying files from wrong ML since it has that option in the new version.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #986 on: April 17, 2013, 03:14:05 AM »
Hmmm... so I'm playing with 6D 113 and it doesn't look good.

Menu and state object hooks are broken. Working on a fix for that.

Configs are loading but nothing is taking effect. Flush rate not working either yet the address is the same. So either this is some growing pains or canon fucked us. Wifi is still broken for me and now IPB rates are lower than ever.

Really hoping that something is set wrong... otherwise its back to 112.

I'm trying to D/G now... seems to be working. D/G is successful so going to see what happens as I can go back & forth... so can you.

DTSET123

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #987 on: April 17, 2013, 06:37:42 AM »
I had a feeling they would  >:(

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #988 on: April 17, 2013, 07:25:07 AM »
Until the menu starts working at least 112 is the only option. I'll make it so that I can build for both and fix 113 hopefully. It didn't add or really fix anything which sucks.

I went 112->113->112 so as long as your battery doesn't die in the process I think its not that big of an issue. You would probably have to do 112 to set the boot flag either way.


oscaroo

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #989 on: April 17, 2013, 07:38:51 AM »
It always seemed a bit suss to release a firmware update to fix a seemingly very minor issue.

Virindi

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #990 on: April 17, 2013, 07:16:34 PM »
Hi.
I can't seem to make audio remote shot work.
In live view photo mode it stays at 0/x, in video mode it works and triggers the recording. Am I doing something wrong or is it just not working yet on 6D?

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #991 on: April 17, 2013, 08:24:48 PM »
May be a bug... it needs to turn on audio... I know how to do that but function may not be... will test/fix

Fixed!

oscaroo

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #992 on: April 18, 2013, 12:59:20 AM »
ooh. Yay Audio remote shoot works.
Does that mean that audio tag, ie "set" after shooting, now works also?

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #993 on: April 18, 2013, 02:52:15 AM »
If you can keep under a minute or so yes.... after about 2 mins it locks up. There is a state object for asif now. Playback I hacked to work well tho.

oscaroo

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #994 on: April 18, 2013, 03:00:42 AM »
Whoa!
That's awesome.

Thanks for the fantastic work.

< 1 minutes is good enough for me.
I mainly want it to jog down brief information of the photo. like a phone number, or the name of a bird, etc.

Malex

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 93
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #995 on: April 18, 2013, 09:45:11 AM »
Until the menu starts working at least 112 is the only option.

Hi, I did a downgrade to 112, ML worked fine, but I just had a bug that I already got before with the 1st 6D that I got that was acting weird, when I am in movie mode, the 6D might turn off by itself at random moment (still rare but still not so cool).
I had peaking on (blinking dot) and zebra on, auto iso, ipb 24, I wasn't recording, I was just walking around in my home without looking at the screen , and it just turn off :(

do you think it's the peaking and zebra overheating the cpu or something ?

here is my log : https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B7_a_g2Q7BIra2FRWE5KaGZ0OGs/edit?usp=sharing

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #996 on: April 18, 2013, 03:51:15 PM »
I've never had it turn off by itself... in fact had it running all night trying to catch some lightning.

Code: [Select]
1582:  2184.160 [DL] exitDL
 1583:  2184.175 [DL] stopDL
 1584:  2184.206 [DL] checkNormalSpeedADC : Last A/D (Max:2a3, Min:ab)
 1585:  2184.380 [RSC] RealClearBusy(0x8000000) 0x8000000->0x0,0x0(0x0)
 1586:  2184.788 [MC] PROP_LV_LOCK : LVLOCK_PERMIT
 1587:  2184.942 [LVGMT] Start:0x2
 1588:  2204.511 [DL] PROP_DL_ACTION (0)
 1589:  2204.528 [DL] ReqStartDL
 1590:  2204.568 [DL] ReceiveMessage : 0
 1591:  2204.651 [DL] selectWaveType 0 -> 0
 1592:  2204.670 [DL] executeDL
 1593:  2204.695 [DL] startDL 0 0 0
 1594:  2204.841 [RSC] SetBusy(0x8000000) 0x0->0x8000000,0x0(0x8000000)[0,0]
 1595:  2204.884 [RSC] RealSetBusy(0x8000000) 0x0->0x8000000,0x0(0x8000000)
 1596:  2205.208 [MC] PROP_LV_LOCK : LVLOCK_PROHIBIT
 1597:  2205.363 [LVGMT] Ignore (st:1 ev:4)
 1598:  2206.927 [DL] getPhaseDiff 0 -> 0
 1599:  2207.021 [DL] startFreqChange : 1000000(usec) 943(usec) 1060(times) 0(times)
 1600:  3206.637 [DL] EndChangeFreqCBR 1060
 1601:  3206.687 [DL] exitDL
 1602:  3206.704 [DL] stopDL
 1603:  3206.735 [DL] checkNormalSpeedADC : Last A/D (Max:293, Min:aa)
 1604:  3206.919 [RSC] RealClearBusy(0x8000000) 0x8000000->0x0,0x0(0x0)
 1605:  3207.347 [MC] PROP_LV_LOCK : LVLOCK_PERMIT
 1606:  3207.605 [BIND] ACTIVE_SWEEP_STATUS : 0 (0)
 1607:  3207.630 [DL] PROP_ACTIVE_SWEEP_STATUS (0)
 1608:  3207.643 [DL] TerminateDL
 1609:  3207.676 [DL] ReceiveMessage : 2
 1610:  3207.697 [DL] Terminate...
 1611:  3207.709 [DL] dlMain : End
 1612:  3207.727 [DL] localDeleteSerialIOChannelForDLIC
 1613:  3207.747 [DL] localSendSerialDataToDLIC 0x2
 1614:  3207.830 [DL] exitDL
 1615:  3207.842 [DL] stopDL
 1616:  3208.048 [LVGMT] Start:0x2
 1617:  3208.358 [GUI] DlgActiveSweepExcute PROP_ACTIVE_SWEEP_STATUS[0]
 1618:  3208.400 [GUI] StopActiveSweepExcute
 1619:  3208.447 DL_ReportActiveSweepEnd Time(1366189587s)
 1620:  3208.469 DL_ReportActiveSweepEnd OldTime(1366189577s)
 1621:  3208.531 [GUI] GUI_SetASDoneRecord (T=1366189587, C=1)
 1622:  3297.636 [CTRLSRV] WARNING: Cancel Timer Search 2
 1623:  3299.918 [DISP] [Post]CtrlSrv ChangePhysicalScreen(ON)(0)
 1624:  3300.069 [DISP] SetBitmapVramAddress BitmapAddr:0x40d3c008
 1625:  3315.567 [CTRLSRV] WARNING: Cancel Timer Search 1

This is what happens so its something related to prop active sweep & gui. I'll have to see what that property does.

I see this:  PROP_ACTIVE_SWEEP_STATUS:
                // Let us know when the sensor is done cleaning

So... are you sure power save is turned off?

Actually I answered my own question from your log file:

emSlaveChangeCBR : AUTO_POWEROFF (1) also:
[GUI] PROP_ICU_AUTO_POWEROFF (1)

I think power off has to be disabled for every mode too. I have a different one for M mode I use for movie and P mode for photos.

Malex

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 93
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #997 on: April 18, 2013, 04:37:04 PM »
ah ok thanx, I'll check this later when I get home.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #998 on: April 18, 2013, 05:30:43 PM »
Also when it shuts down... hit h/s it should wake up in theory. It will look like its off completely but its not. That log looked like a clean shutdown.

Malex

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 93
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #999 on: April 18, 2013, 07:14:53 PM »
hit h/s it should wake up in theory.
What button is h/s ?

I just checked in canon menu, it was set to turn off after 1 minute... I feel like a noob now... lol

I just discovered that new UI in ML menu when we press <Menu> button, it's pretty cool!
Thanx

I'll play around with bitrate and see if I understand it, I guess it must be explained somewhere in the forum... But where...?