Author Topic: Tragic Lantern for 6D  (Read 85098 times)

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2675 on: September 25, 2013, 02:42:05 PM »
Excellent work guys!  I just found this discussion and wanted to say that:
1brain + 2 brains + ... nbrains = MLbrains
Find a way to make sure this little equation remains true.
I love your work and I am happy to see that you are working towards a bigger joint MLbrain!
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

Marsu42

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1557
  • 66d + flashes
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2676 on: September 25, 2013, 04:29:23 PM »
Where do you want crash/assert logs posted - here or in the bug tracker? Is this helpful at all without a detailed way to reproduce it (which I am not likely to provide, I'm not keen on *deliberately* crashing it, and it seems the crashes occur with me not doing anything extraordinary)? Here's a sample from today:

Code: [Select]
ASSERT: 0
at Stub.c:29, task CtrlSrv
lv:0 mode:2

and this crash twice:

Code: [Select]
ASSERT: FALSE
at ./ASIF/ASIF.c:486, task ASIF
lv:0 mode:2

all from

Code: [Select]
Magic Lantern version : v2.3.M42.ml1p6d.2013Sep24.6D113
Mercurial changeset   : ef54670e2db6+ (unified) tip
Built on 2013-09-24 10:22:59 UTC by USER@HARRIS.
Free Memory  : 352K + 1967K

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2677 on: September 25, 2013, 04:52:09 PM »
I've seen the ctrlserv one before, but not sure how to reproduce it either, after that the asif patches get taken off with the CPU reset and it beeps.

nandoide

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2678 on: September 25, 2013, 07:50:26 PM »
I've been testing the nightly build of 6D an I found:

1) raw_rec Small hacks don't work. "Hack Error on screen expected xxxxxx, obtained yyyyyy". Tragic Lantern compiled version is OK (well, no error on screen).

2) fps override 18 fps on 24 1920x1080 IPB video mode, for example, High FPS for example, high shutter speed < 1"/800, when I change from 1x to 5x, sometimes image on "false color" (see example images on URL). Changing modes, image recovers, then no big issue. The problem arises in callings to function set_lv_zoom . The problem is most important when activating memory hack in raw_rec or mlv_rec, because callings to ResumeLiveView that calls itself to set_lv_zoom. Then sometimes when start recording the image gets "false color" and record is KO.

As a workaround I modified raw_rec calling fps_disable and fps_enable before and after calls to ResumeLiveView. It works but it's ugly and frames 3 and 4 are overexposed (perhaps because fps_enable is not instantaneous).

The issue is on ML and TL versions.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/0s7ayi40o6w4ted/fvPZXHrIZt

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2679 on: September 25, 2013, 08:02:12 PM »
That makes sense, the problem is its not catching mode changes and applying zoom/different mode timings to the wrong mode. If you go back to the mode it thought it was in, the image will be right.

Also another great way to get messed image:
Leave autoexpo on, it will expose right when the lv is paused.
Ie. you set iso 6400, it sets iso 128k when doing the memory hack and your shot is shot.

Marsu42

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1557
  • 66d + flashes
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2680 on: September 25, 2013, 09:51:26 PM »
Question concerning usability: Can ml catch the START/STOP key and tie lots of useful functions to this virtually unused key just like M.fn on the 5d3 behaves?

EDIT: Answering my own question: No, obviously not, it just throws a 54 gui event :-\ ... but still the RATE function in play mode should go somewhere, after all the 5d3 has a dedicated button for it so it's really missing on the 6d!

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2681 on: September 25, 2013, 10:26:22 PM »
Rate works from play mode. I dunno how its not working for you.

fotojohni

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 84
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2682 on: September 26, 2013, 04:18:09 AM »
Don't know if this has been covered, but undercranked 720p @ 23.978 fps raw looks sharper than 1080p H.264 (with VAF filter) and records continuously @16:9.

It has very little rolling shutter (less than half from my initial tests).
It has much higher latitude with the colors.  Basically looks like film.

Pretty cool, good job guys.  You have my thanks.

Marsu42

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1557
  • 66d + flashes
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2683 on: September 26, 2013, 08:41:43 PM »
Rate works from play mode. I dunno how its not working for you.

Wa-whaaaat? However do you do that - could you please describe the steps? Here's what I do: Enable rating in the ml config, go into play mode with the lower blue button, press START/STOP - result: nothing.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2684 on: September 26, 2013, 09:56:22 PM »
Image review -> lv button -> rate
Press play, press start/stop, says rate +1 on the screen.

Marsu42

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1557
  • 66d + flashes
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2685 on: September 26, 2013, 10:18:45 PM »
Press play, press start/stop, says rate +1 on the screen.

A-ha, now I've got it - it only works if lv is enabled, obviously ml doesn't catch START/STOP outside lv :-\ ...

... well, better than nothing I guess, but I hate enabling lv, flipping the mirror, exposing the sensor & draining the battery just for this (I usually take a lot of time reviewing the images) - maybe we should add an option to tie rate/protect to another button that does work outside lv?

Edit: Can you tell which of the existing buttons do send gui events outside lv? I'd like to know because I'm currently working on an "outside lv" hotkey module.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2686 on: September 27, 2013, 12:25:21 AM »
It works outside of LV... but now protect image is not.

Gecko

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2687 on: September 27, 2013, 10:53:18 AM »
1%, is it possible to add functionality to AUDIO menu, at least "selectable input source"? It is very usable feature.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2688 on: September 27, 2013, 11:44:31 AM »
exposing the sensor & draining the battery just for this (I usually take a lot of time reviewing the images)

In playback mode, the sensor is not exposed (this is how I found the key to implementing powersave in LV), and afaik it does not need any power to keep the mirror up (hint: some crashes will leave the mirror up and it will go down at next reboot).

Leave the camera in playback (outside LV) for 10 minutes, then read the battery life estimation from Debug menu, and then do the same thing in LiveView's playback. Then post the results; they should confirm or invalidate my theory (I didn't try).

dlang

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2689 on: September 28, 2013, 09:25:00 AM »
so what ended up getting merged and what is left to merge?

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2690 on: September 28, 2013, 09:40:18 AM »
Quote
1%, is it possible to add functionality to AUDIO menu, at least "selectable input source"? It is very usable feature.

The audio stuff is in the last bin. I ended up reverting edmac wav tho because it had problems outside of LV.

mjstudio

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2691 on: September 28, 2013, 10:20:02 AM »
any chance to unlock Aperture priority mode in video ?

bjacklee

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2692 on: October 02, 2013, 09:12:26 AM »
Hi Guys, Anyone having problem with H.264 low fps? I tried using this feaure for timelapse but I get lots of dead pixels. And after recording everything goes white. Need advice please..  :(

NikeFreak

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2693 on: October 06, 2013, 09:18:45 AM »
что нового в этой [6D] WavTemFix.zip сборке?
what new in this [6D] WavTemFix.zip to assembly?
6D ML + Sigma 24-70mm F2.8 + Canon 70-200mm F2.8L IS II + Canon 50mm F1.8 STM + Zenitar 16mm F2.8 + Canon SpeedLite 430EX II
650D ML + Canon 18-135mm F3.5-5.6 STM + Helios 44-2 58mm F2.0
500D ML + Canon 55-250mm F4-5.6 IS II + Canon 18-55 mm F3.5-5.6 IS

Marsu42

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1557
  • 66d + flashes
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2694 on: October 06, 2013, 04:20:28 PM »
I just discovered that ISO_ADJUSTMENT_ACTIVE is not working, with the comment "That Function is dead.".

Does this mean there is no known way to detect Canon AutoISO on the 6D, or does it simply mean nobody has yet taken the pain to search for the correct memory address / function on the 6D? I need this for the auto_iso module.

https://bitbucket.org/OtherOnePercent/tragic-lantern-6d/issue/18/iso_adjustment_active-is-dead

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2695 on: October 06, 2013, 04:25:15 PM »
Canon AutoISO is lens_info.raw_iso == 0. The above constant is about the ISO adjustment dialog (when you press ISO and a box pops up).

I use it in a few places, so it's a good idea to find it. Should be true when the dialog is active (LV or photo), and false if not.

Marsu42

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1557
  • 66d + flashes
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2696 on: October 06, 2013, 05:02:51 PM »
The above constant is about the ISO adjustment dialog (when you press ISO and a box pops up).

Unfortunately this is exactly how I use it :-\ ... because as I've just discovered:

* (ISO_ADJUSTMENT_ACTIVE && !lens_info.raw_iso) means that the iso button is pressed on "A"
* (ISO_ADJUSTMENT_ACTIVE && lens_info.raw_iso) means that the iso button is pressed on any numerical iso value

I use this to quickly enable/disable the auto_iso module w/o entering the menu and to completely replace Canon Auto ISO, it works great on 60d, but on 6D as stated ISO_ADJUSTMENT_ACTIVE always 0.

Also, I have not the slightest clue on how to find these things, so It'd be really great if 1% or someone else could attempt it :-o

matthew19

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2697 on: October 08, 2013, 11:26:13 AM »
Love the build for the 6d. One thing that is missing is the magenta/green shift icons while in live view. All I see is kelvin. Its easy to forget that its shifted sometimes!

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2698 on: October 08, 2013, 04:36:30 PM »
I think you need to ask in the new info bars thread for that :)


Quote
I use it in a few places, so it's a good idea to find it. Should be true when the dialog is active (LV or photo), and false if not.

Is it really changing on 5DIII? On 6D this location is always 0 and xrefs to the same spot as 5DIII/600D/etc. It actually caused bugs when enabled

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2699 on: October 08, 2013, 04:42:42 PM »
Yes, both LV and photo. It doesn't react to other Canon dialogs.