Author Topic: Tragic Lantern for 6D  (Read 87822 times)

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2350 on: June 27, 2013, 04:41:06 PM »
In fact - while I'm here - do you know how we get the camera name correctly written into the metadata of the DNG's 1%? I guess this is supposed to happen when they are extracted - not recorded but I don't know how I approach asking about it? Is is something that needs to be changed with raw2dng? Or Rawanizer? I know mkII users are having no problems so I guess our camera just needs adding does it?

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2351 on: June 27, 2013, 04:50:58 PM »
I have to look at a bunch of stuff so I'll see. Its supposed to be writing the data already... I thought EOSM was the only one... is it showing up on DNG and not on video?

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2352 on: June 27, 2013, 05:39:01 PM »
Sorry man - not showing in DNG's. If you put into lightroom or ACR it shows as Canikon under the models which means you can't select the different camera calibrations.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2353 on: June 27, 2013, 05:47:42 PM »
Looked at the silent pics... its supposed to be using the camera name as camera model for photos when built inside ML.

I looked at EOSM and it had "Canon EOSM" string in the silent DNGs... for raw2dng I'm not sure that it can put the camera string in DNG header.. but its supposed to be in the raw header. I'll look at it again but the corrections from software may not be accuarate for the ML raw.

* Says canon EOS 6D and magic lantern in silent DNG... also magic lantern.



Here is a new one, bit bucket not letting me upload again:

[6D] NewRecOpt.zip
https://mega.co.nz/#!wxxQ1TgS!UuP2tVxSS99zr0M-nXPSp3Cc8R1F3SwgVndA5dlyrJs

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2354 on: June 27, 2013, 10:57:38 PM »
Looked at the silent pics... its supposed to be using the camera name as camera model for photos when built inside ML.

I looked at EOSM and it had "Canon EOSM" string in the silent DNGs... for raw2dng I'm not sure that it can put the camera string in DNG header.. but its supposed to be in the raw header. I'll look at it again but the corrections from software may not be accuarate for the ML raw.

* Says canon EOS 6D and magic lantern in silent DNG... also magic lantern.



Here is a new one, bit bucket not letting me upload again:

[6D] NewRecOpt.zip
https://mega.co.nz/#!wxxQ1TgS!UuP2tVxSS99zr0M-nXPSp3Cc8R1F3SwgVndA5dlyrJs

Sorry dude - I'm having a dumb day... so do you mean the exif data is supposed to be there?

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2355 on: June 27, 2013, 10:59:45 PM »
What tasty goodness is to be found in the new build dude? Gonna hopefully use my camera a lot tomorrow so wondering if it's worth putting on all my cards?

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2356 on: June 27, 2013, 11:23:10 PM »
[6D]NewRecOpt - I get higher write speed  - 40,2-40,7 MB/s, sometimes it dropps to 39,7ish.
1808x756 - usually ~370 frames, sometimes getting 392! it is ~ 2sec (30-40 frames) more than previous build but frame numbers are not consistent and varies every time +/- 20. But it's definetelly another step up :) 15sec vs 17sec :)

EDIT: I am getting 392 frames quite often really, with hack on -400 frames.
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

DerekDock

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2357 on: June 28, 2013, 12:06:22 AM »
[6D]NewRecOpt - I get higher write speed  - 40,2-40,7 MB/s, sometimes it dropps to 39,7ish.
1808x756 - usually ~370 frames, sometimes getting 392! it is ~ 2sec (30-40 frames) more than previous build but frame numbers are not consistent and varies every time +/- 20. But it's definetelly another step up :) 15sec vs 17sec :)

EDIT: I am getting 392 frames quite often really, with hack on -400 frames.

That's really promising! Just pulled the trigger on ordering the 6D so am anxious to help on the testing side.  ;D

sparedog

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
  • 6D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2358 on: June 28, 2013, 02:25:43 AM »
So I have been trying to record at 50fps 720p. Why is there a 1.6 stretch needed, could we not just record 720*1280 at 50fps for shorter periods? thanks

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2359 on: June 28, 2013, 03:06:58 AM »
Play it back, its squished.

sparedog

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
  • 6D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2360 on: June 28, 2013, 10:10:53 AM »
That´s on drugs =D Is there not a way to record unsquished?

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2361 on: June 28, 2013, 10:33:36 AM »
I think the best you can do to have unstretched image is to record 1280x720 cropped from 1920 and fps override set to 35fps. You will get 68,5% slowmo.
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

sparedog

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
  • 6D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2362 on: June 28, 2013, 10:39:51 AM »
Thanks, I shall test it

[edit] Ignore below, I was using a version of raw2cdng from the 1980s =D all fixed
Has anyone managed to open 6d raw video in davinci resolve? Mine come out weird, losing all contrast and completely blown highlights.


JamieRollsMedia650D

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2363 on: June 28, 2013, 02:00:13 PM »
just got a 6d is there a Public ML download or is it still in prestage's ? ive got ml on my 650d

cheers.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2364 on: June 28, 2013, 06:11:59 PM »
Read the other thread with the guide, it has been public forever just not promoted.

xNiNELiVES

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
  • 5D II, 17-35mm F2.8L, 50mm F1.4, 70-200 F4L
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2365 on: June 28, 2013, 06:40:59 PM »
Teo777 where did you obtain "[6D]NewRecOpt"?

edit- Jesus, I just scoured the thread a bit and found it. My bad, sorry...

Some bugs:
-There are two frame skipping entries.
-When under 1808 horizontal resolution the bottom note says its at 1856 or something of this sort and that it isn't possible.

1%- Bolt.rec and LV.rec are outdated in the current version. They expect higher versions, are they dead because of new advancements that broke the modules? Or am I just outdated. If so where do I obtain the new versions. Thanks.

------------------

1808x682 (GD OFF, Don't Click me, Mem Hack On, 23.976p with Override) Sandisk Extreme Pro 32gb - 626 frames. Looking good!

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2366 on: June 28, 2013, 08:54:16 PM »
They are dead, new buffer system. Hahah fuck you're right tho, frame skipping is doubled, will fix that.

Quote
-When under 1808 horizontal resolution the bottom note says its at 1856 or something of this sort and that it isn't possible.

This is normal... if you have 1920 selected it will say 1920 is not possible can only do 1808, etc.

xNiNELiVES

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
  • 5D II, 17-35mm F2.8L, 50mm F1.4, 70-200 F4L
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2367 on: June 28, 2013, 09:15:16 PM »
They are dead, new buffer system. Hahah fuck you're right tho, frame skipping is doubled, will fix that.

This is normal... if you have 1920 selected it will say 1920 is not possible can only do 1808, etc.

I know about that its just the point that it says it can't do 1856 not 1808. Minor inconsistency error thats all, or is it just me?

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2368 on: June 28, 2013, 09:17:39 PM »

xNiNELiVES

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
  • 5D II, 17-35mm F2.8L, 50mm F1.4, 70-200 F4L
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2369 on: June 28, 2013, 09:28:12 PM »
1856 is the size before 1920

raw_rec.mo
https://mega.co.nz/#!o5wWiZiA!eZLJEF4EesP6OuxIyM3hJHVllKMEIaN67jbGoJoegKY

Yes but, its 1808 not 1856. On the bottom note saying it can't do the resolution it should state that at 1808x[X] it can't record continuous. Not that at 1856x[X] it can't record continuous.

Whats with the Raw_rec.mo

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2370 on: June 28, 2013, 09:33:01 PM »
fixed that doubled frame skip.


xNiNELiVES

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
  • 5D II, 17-35mm F2.8L, 50mm F1.4, 70-200 F4L
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2371 on: June 28, 2013, 09:36:53 PM »
fixed that doubled frame skip.

Oh, got you. Why did you increase the max horizontal resolution to 1808 from 1792?

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2372 on: June 28, 2013, 09:38:40 PM »
I took out limits for height so it goes back to full size. It was already writing with 4096 alignment anyway so restriction just gave you a few more heights thats it, at expense of width.

Shoot a silent pic to get full size of raw buffer.

xNiNELiVES

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
  • 5D II, 17-35mm F2.8L, 50mm F1.4, 70-200 F4L
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2373 on: June 28, 2013, 09:55:10 PM »
I took out limits for height so it goes back to full size. It was already writing with 4096 alignment anyway so restriction just gave you a few more heights thats it, at expense of width.

Shoot a silent pic to get full size of raw buffer.

Ok. Thanks for the explanation.

Where do you enable silent pics? Aren't silent pics just pictures taken without the mirror flapping. Basically one frame of video?

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #2374 on: June 28, 2013, 10:00:00 PM »
Its 1 frame of raw, in the shoot menu. Used to be shots of 422