Author Topic: Tragic Lantern for 6D  (Read 123361 times)

fauxtographer

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1975 on: June 03, 2013, 08:10:46 PM »
Setting up "My Menu Settings" Got three crash logs in one go.

ASSERT: FALSE
at RscMgr.c:2843, task GISMgr
lv:1 mode:3


Magic Lantern version : v2.3.NEXT.2013Jun03.6D113
Mercurial changeset   : 6252dc26a42a+ (unified) tip
Built on 2013-06-03 13:36:27 by user@D610.
Free Memory  : 444K + 2011K
 

ASSERT: FALSE
at RscMgr.c:2843, task GISMgr
lv:0 mode:3


Magic Lantern version : v2.3.NEXT.2013Jun03.6D113
Mercurial changeset   : 6252dc26a42a+ (unified) tip
Built on 2013-06-03 13:36:27 by user@D610.
Free Memory  : 445K + 2068K
 

ASSERT: FALSE
at ./ASIF/ASIF.c:486, task ASIF
lv:0 mode:3


Magic Lantern version : v2.3.NEXT.2013Jun03.6D113
Mercurial changeset   : 6252dc26a42a+ (unified) tip
Built on 2013-06-03 13:36:27 by user@D610.
Free Memory  : 445K + 2057K
 
6D | 24-105 f/4 | 70-200 f/4 | 28 - 35 - 50 - 50 - 135 |

fauxtographer

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1976 on: June 03, 2013, 08:20:59 PM »
Also managed to shoot 1792 x 1008 for 120 frames... Decided I might as well point it at a sharpness chart... Not too good.

I mean it is sharp... but WTF is in the middle??!

6D | 24-105 f/4 | 70-200 f/4 | 28 - 35 - 50 - 50 - 135 |

fotojohni

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 84
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1977 on: June 03, 2013, 08:30:23 PM »
Full frame 1.8K @ 2.39 I'm getting 266 frames, (global draw on/off, magic zoom on/off, focus peak on/off, hacked on/off, zebras on/off). 

Edit: hacked no preview give ~10% more frames, hacked shows no difference.

NICE!!!!!

Crop mode I get 137 frames @ 2K! moire free and it's definately big enough with my 17mm  8)

crash log:

ASSERT: FALSE
at RscMgr.c:2843, task GISMgr
lv:1 mode:3


Magic Lantern version : v2.3.NEXT.2013Jun03.6D113
Mercurial changeset   : 6252dc26a42a+ (unified) tip
Built on 2013-06-03 13:36:27 by user@D610.
Free Memory  : 444K + 2009K
 
 

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1978 on: June 03, 2013, 08:59:00 PM »
This error is patched but I have to investigate it more.. sometimes it happens.

Need to find out how to free this memory in movie mode and what happens. Right now this is still alpha but as you see, potential is huge. Ie. 2k recording for short bursts, etc.



I'm also going to investigate these stupid color peaking things... I think no af_raw isn't working for us, neither is af_raw.

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1979 on: June 03, 2013, 09:22:58 PM »
I wonder, how much memory does 6D really have...
The things you guys make are really huge.

Now we need to check every card available on the market, maybe we could find any with 2-3 MB/s more write speed. Maybe we should make a new thread where we could list every SD card people have tried with ML and speed they had.
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1980 on: June 03, 2013, 10:23:19 PM »
512MB total. 600D/550D is 256 only. We're lucky to have the multi shot NR... otherwise it stops using the memory but doesn't free it.

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1981 on: June 03, 2013, 10:39:32 PM »
Also works in older LV_rec. Now we can capture 120 frames of true 1920x800  :D

1920x1080 - 100 frames
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

shdster

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1982 on: June 04, 2013, 12:03:38 AM »
Hi, i am new on this forum, but i am watching this post since few months...

Anyway... if now we could use this memory to save continuus video file (120 frames) at high resolution in RAW, maybe there will be a way to use it to save not all, but only 1/4 frames from video, while other 3/4 frames will be saved to the SD card. So it will be possible to save bigger resolution and 4 times longer video with this resolution and merge it after all? (480 frames)

Correct me if i am wrong :)

Gobian

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1983 on: June 04, 2013, 12:07:18 AM »
kgv5, what SD card are you using? SanDisk Extreme Pro 64 or 32? I´ve seen one is sdxc the other sdhc, does it make any difference?

Thanks.
6D | 550D | Canon f4/24-105mm IS USM | Canon f4/70-200mm USM |Canon f1.8/85mm | Canon f1.4/50mm |Tokina f2.8/11-16mm |

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1984 on: June 04, 2013, 12:13:27 AM »
This above was about the ancient LVrec module. From couple of weeks we have much more  sofisticated RAWrec module which gives 6D  and other cameras ability to shoot continous raw in some resolutions (for 6D about 1600x640 or so) but doesn't give  1920x1080. Today we get buffer size update from ~150 to 255 MB. Cameras with CF cards like 5d3, 5d2 or even 50D have better raw performance due to much faster writing speed than SD cards.
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1985 on: June 04, 2013, 12:20:29 AM »
kgv5, what SD card are you using? SanDisk Extreme Pro 64 or 32? I´ve seen one is sdxc the other sdhc, does it make any difference?

Thanks.
Hi
I am using sandisk extreme UHS-I 45MB/s 64.GB and I can honestly recomend it.
today as an addition I ordered Patriot something something PRO 90/50 32GB but I don't expect much more of writing speed though (but please card, give me 3 MB more, we will see...)
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

xNiNELiVES

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
  • 5D II, 17-35mm F2.8L, 50mm F1.4, 70-200 F4L
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1986 on: June 04, 2013, 12:30:45 AM »
So on the current version we cannot select 1920 as a horizontal resolution? On the older versions we can? Anyways the 120 frames you got actually will be a little less with people who have a faster memory card. That's about 6+ seconds. I say a good ending goal should be 30 seconds. This of course is with the thought that 12 bit raw will be implemented. That would be under 50mb/s. Hopefully around 45.

fotojohni

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 84
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1987 on: June 04, 2013, 12:40:59 AM »
So it will be possible to save bigger resolution and 4 times longer video with this resolution and merge it after all? (480 frames)


The buffer is like a bathtub.  There is water being poured in and at the same time water being drained (into the card)  The card is already draining the bathtub as fast as it can.

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5601.0  This is a better way.  Wish I knew what was wrong :/

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1988 on: June 04, 2013, 01:36:44 AM »
Old LV_REC just added up to 1920 the way it did the math.

I don't know how that works because in non zoom its smaller than that (1792)

xNiNELiVES

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
  • 5D II, 17-35mm F2.8L, 50mm F1.4, 70-200 F4L
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1989 on: June 04, 2013, 02:08:42 AM »
Old LV_REC just added up to 1920 the way it did the math.

I don't know how that works because in non zoom its smaller than that (1792)

I have no idea what this crop mode is. I know what live view zoom is, but I have no idea what it has to do with recording...

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1990 on: June 04, 2013, 02:37:06 AM »
Old lv_rec had 1 fixed size, it happened to calculate to 1920xwhatever
Raw rec seems to guess actual size.

Not working in movie mode yet:
Movie:
http://pastebin.com/ZEXmY4j3
Photo Mode... I just hit don't click me and 255Mb happens
http://pastebin.com/JzSZHqk4

rktaylor

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1991 on: June 04, 2013, 05:11:19 AM »
Is this to be expected in the current builds ...

With the ML menu on in LiveView it kicks me out of the ML menu after about five to seven seconds.  If I keep turning the wheel or moving the cursor the menu stays up until I stop and then after five to seven seconds the ML menu shuts down.

Is this normal?

Thanks
6D | Tamron 24-70 f/2.8 | EF 50 f/1.4 | EF 70-300 f/4-5.6 | Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 L

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1992 on: June 04, 2013, 05:27:40 AM »
Yea, I think thats the new menu. Before it would flash.

Its annoying with the file browser, yet helpful for EOSM when it chokes on file seeking.

So for those "peaking" lines on the chart does AF off help? I tried lv_md_visible to 0 and it didn't help for af_raw. I just hope the default raw type doesn't have it.

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1993 on: June 04, 2013, 05:29:53 AM »
This new/current  RAW module is very polished right now and easy to use, old module because of it's limits is almost unusable in most situations and the current ones performance makes its good even for every day shooting (if you like post production process a lot  ;) ). Especially now when we can really use say 1664x704 (over 1500 frames), 1792x672 (over 400 frames) or even 1792x752 (280 frames) with slight amount (~115% with 1664 or 107% with 1792) of upscale. With such a small upscaling you really cannot easly see the difference in comparison with 1920x720 or 800, maybe when you put it side to side with 200/400 magnification.
It's obvious that the more you have, the more you want but remember, that on 6D you can have such a quality really cheap (when compared with 5D3 and CF cards) so we shouldn't grumble especially that lowering 14bits to 12 and 10bits which will extend recording times again. So be patient.

1% and the rest of the devs - you are doing great work.
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

xNiNELiVES

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
  • 5D II, 17-35mm F2.8L, 50mm F1.4, 70-200 F4L
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1994 on: June 05, 2013, 01:05:55 AM »
High ISO speed NR to multi, If you have this option greyed out set Long Exp. Noise Red. to OFF in the first place.
255 MB - hell yeah - 1728x736 >>> 342 frames!!!! with hack OFF, hack ON - 357 frames  :D

This is huge


6D max resolution (1792x752) in 2,39:1 aspect ratio: 280 frames hack ON, 280 hack OFF
1792x672    2,67:1     421 hack OFF
1664x704    2,39:1     528 frames hack OFF
1664x624        2,67:1    1548 frames hack OFF

What settings did you use to obtain 255mb buffer size.

Edit:
Well sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't odd...

I only got 180 frames with 1792x672 (or something close to these numbers. I forgot the exact amount), with apparently 255mb buffer size but then I checked again after I took the video and it went back to 151mbs. Kgv5 how did you get 380 frames!? I never saw any Hacked mode. What other settings are you using.

xNiNELiVES

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
  • 5D II, 17-35mm F2.8L, 50mm F1.4, 70-200 F4L
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1995 on: June 05, 2013, 03:17:44 AM »
So I can get a 255mb buffer size but not in live view. In live view it goes down to 151mb. Raw video is supposed to work on the video live view right? Not the photo live view?

Edit:
Ok I've repeatedly gotten 255mb buffer size in non live view. As soon as I go to live view the buffer size reduces...

Also I'm experiencing a decent bit of crashing every so often from switching to video live view from still live view...

EDIT:
Oh my god, I just read back to finally put the nail in the coffin in my suspicion that it only works in photo mode, hence the release name...

xNiNELiVES

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
  • 5D II, 17-35mm F2.8L, 50mm F1.4, 70-200 F4L
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1996 on: June 05, 2013, 04:59:53 AM »
1% seems to have released something new regarding the buffer memory: [113] ETTR-MemDontclick.zip

Care to explain this 1%.

Thanks

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1997 on: June 05, 2013, 05:00:50 AM »
Yea, make sure you open LV first otherwise you'll never open it.

Its not bulletproof but I got 700 frames of 720P with the 32MB/s card, sometimes more... global draw also has more of an effect in photo mode and you have to override everything (I guess camera goes into dummy mode). Doesn't work in movie mode yet, when I used it there it just added high ISO NR menu to movie mode... but no mode 4 there.


xNiNELiVES

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
  • 5D II, 17-35mm F2.8L, 50mm F1.4, 70-200 F4L
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1998 on: June 05, 2013, 05:04:33 AM »
High ISO speed NR to multi, If you have this option greyed out set Long Exp. Noise Red. to OFF in the first place.
255 MB - hell yeah - 1728x736 >>> 342 frames!!!! with hack OFF, hack ON - 357 frames  :D

This is huge


6D max resolution (1792x752) in 2,39:1 aspect ratio: 280 frames hack ON, 280 hack OFF
1792x672    2,67:1     421 hack OFF
1664x704    2,39:1     528 frames hack OFF
1664x624        2,67:1    1548 frames hack OFF

I just got 241 frames at 1664x624. This is with force left, global draw off, at 24p with a sandisk extreme pro 32gb. WTF!

EDIT:

Well I actually compared my results to an older test he did and got 100 frames more. I guess Kgv5 you're doing this theoretically if we get a 255mb buffer size?

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1999 on: June 05, 2013, 06:00:43 AM »
Yes, it is with 255 buffer, photo mode. Every time you switch yor cam on you have to set high iso noise reduction to multi because its always gets back to "single" setting. I don,t use hack mode, I have to see what I am recording. Other settings its force left. Remember, that every first time shooting (after switching on) is shorter, second time its getting full lenght. On sandisk 45 64GB I have 38-39,5 write speed.

Hacked mode is when you press Q on raw options there is canon, auto, hacked, something. Hacked mode freezes LV screen on the first frame so I beleieve It would be good only for static shots because you cannot frame properly. Sometimes its improving write speed and sometimes not, seems it depends on the resolution.
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D