Author Topic: Tragic Lantern for 6D  (Read 46591 times)

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1900 on: May 30, 2013, 05:51:42 PM »
Cool man. If you are wanting to discuss specifically processing 6D footage and also want to discuss fighting the moire and aliasing issues then maybe a new thread in the Post-processing Workflow board and I can link to it from the 6D General Discussion.

Looking forward to it :)

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1901 on: May 30, 2013, 07:10:09 PM »
At one point I strated killing the rest of the edmacs like face detection, etc.

Are there any things left to kill? We can see now how every megabyte is important.

I found such thing concerning 6D's buffer size

http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/51192126

I known that you certainly know that guys but that's interesting... During the test (raw stills) guy calculated write speed at about 38MB/s... Is buffer size really about 300MB? ???
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

xNiNELiVES

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
  • 5D II, 17-35mm F2.8L, 50mm F1.4, 70-200 F4L
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1902 on: May 30, 2013, 07:20:05 PM »
Is it possible to allocate other system memory to the buffer memory, effectively increasing the time it takes for the buffer to fill?

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1903 on: May 30, 2013, 07:39:42 PM »
1680x630  - little bit wide - 2,67:1 but now gives more than 400 frames (and hacked over 480). Just needs 114% of upscale.
1720x646 - 220 frames, 111,5% upscale
Sweet  :D
Couple more MB and we are at home  ;D
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1904 on: May 30, 2013, 07:43:15 PM »
Is it possible to allocate other system memory to the buffer memory, effectively increasing the time it takes for the buffer to fill?

That's pretty much what is happening already dude  :)

xNiNELiVES

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
  • 5D II, 17-35mm F2.8L, 50mm F1.4, 70-200 F4L
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1905 on: May 30, 2013, 07:53:08 PM »
That's pretty much what is happening already dude  :)

What about advancements in actual write speed?

ManixLiquid

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1906 on: May 30, 2013, 07:58:11 PM »
Well I have the sankdisk 95 card (can write up to 90 mpbs). I guess its useless with the 6D, right?
BlackMagic Camera & Canon EOS 6D w/ Zeiss Distagon 35mm & 50mm, Sigma 10mm-20mm.

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1907 on: May 30, 2013, 08:26:56 PM »
When we can get sustained burst of 1720x720 that's when this will become a boss feature.

Now with 1720x720 I am getting 165.  frames (hack on an off gives exactly  the same).
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1908 on: May 30, 2013, 08:30:57 PM »
Well I have the sankdisk 95 card (can write up to 90 mpbs). I guess its useless with the 6D, right?

It would give you about 40MB/s write speed. Somebody mentioned before that it could give 1-2 MB/s more than sandisk extreme 45.
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

teo770

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1909 on: May 30, 2013, 08:35:10 PM »
Tried multiple resolution with sandisk extreme pro card.... very hard to record sound on a separated wav file....
Would lead to extreme low resolution.

Would it be possible to use x264 to compress sound (only sound) so it will use less space / less needed write speed.
My gear: CANON 6D / 40mm f2.8 STM / 20mm f2.8 / 24-105 f4 IS / Flash 90EX / Grip BG-E13

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1910 on: May 30, 2013, 09:01:27 PM »
I finally found a card that has a claimed write speed of exactly 50MB/s, comes in tomorrow, hopefully it works.

Could you reveal the secret and tell us what card it is? I will keep my fingers crossed again for this 50...
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

fotojohni

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 84
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1911 on: May 31, 2013, 12:06:49 AM »
Could you reveal the secret and tell us what card it is? I will keep my fingers crossed again for this 50...

I don't want anyone to go out and buy it then find out it sucks.  It's a patriot card.  http://www.patriotmemory.com/product/detail.jsp?prodline=4&catid=88&prodgroupid=238&id=1275

As I understand it, they all read at 90MB/s but only the 32 writes at 50, the rest are 35.  Makes my mouth water when they talk about recording 4K HD video.

Wow, I print photos for a lot of people as a hobby, 19x11's, I had access to the print lab at my university and I took full advantage :} People go bananas but I get my results only using ACR.  Now that I can use ACR for video, it's making me a little crazy.


teo770

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1912 on: May 31, 2013, 12:12:25 AM »
Don't want to bother but i own 2 sandisk extreme pro 32 GB (95MB/s)....
On a USB3 reader, it reads at 93MB/s and write at 81MB/s
On the 6D.... writes max @ 38.7MB/s so limitation seems to be in the camera... whatever card you use...
My gear: CANON 6D / 40mm f2.8 STM / 20mm f2.8 / 24-105 f4 IS / Flash 90EX / Grip BG-E13

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1913 on: May 31, 2013, 12:27:31 AM »
I noticed that sometimes write speed are little bit higher than that. Depends on resolution (size of the frames). Sometimes I get even 40-41 for a second or so with sandisk 45 64GB so it's hard to say what is the exact real limit. So fotojohni I really hope the patriot will be better than sandisk and there is only one way to find out.
Waiting for a benchmark then, fingers crossed.
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

fotojohni

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 84
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1914 on: May 31, 2013, 01:12:49 AM »
Anyone having this problem with frame inversion?  It looks like it drops a frame temporarily then writes it one frame late.  It doesn't ruin footage, but it's an issue.  Might just be an earlier version though.  I'm going through the 200GB I shot earlier this week.

sparedog

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
  • 6D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1915 on: May 31, 2013, 01:15:40 AM »
I too have the Sandisk pro 95Mb, it writes perfectly until the card is full up to 39MB and at 40Mb it fails after a certain amount of frames - depending on frame size.

Would it be possible to set the default to 720*1280 16:9, as this is acheivable every time recording until the card is full, and seems to be the highest useable frame size in a broadcast standard. The perfect scenario would be if the could be a log file that could remember the previous setting before power down and keep it at that setting.

Is the moire brush on the new version of acr? I cant seem to find it

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1916 on: May 31, 2013, 01:17:35 AM »
I can set 1 default... the modules don't read from a config... it can be that I guess. Right now it defaults to 1216x704 for me. Also have to get rid of the hard coded stop beeps.

sparedog

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
  • 6D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1917 on: May 31, 2013, 01:17:56 AM »
I could never preiview what I shot anyway as I didn't remember what size I shot.

Me too, it needed an on screen reminder or something

sparedog

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
  • 6D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1918 on: May 31, 2013, 01:18:56 AM »
I can set 1 default... the modules don't read from a config... it can be that I guess. Right now it defaults to 1216x704 for me. Also have to get rid of the hard coded stop beeps.

Yes, 720 would be better for me, as that is achievable and a broadcast standard

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1919 on: May 31, 2013, 01:21:56 AM »
Hopefully file manager can eventually read footer and invoke playback.

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1920 on: May 31, 2013, 02:00:02 AM »
[113] NewRes [no raw con] 24fps

This is so great!

1792x672   180, 180, 180 frames (hack on 180, 195, 195) upscale 107%           107% man!!!, it's AMAZING and almost 200 frames!!!
1728x672   225, 225, 225 (hack on 240, 240, 240) upscale ~111%
1664x624   612, 648, 630 (with hack on - 730, 738, 756)   upscale 115,5%


1664x704 225, 224, 224.

I am going to sleep but this is awesome! Seems new default resolution for me would be now 1664x624  :D
And can now shoot ~8 sec with resolution with upscale factor 107%  :D
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

xNiNELiVES

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
  • 5D II, 17-35mm F2.8L, 50mm F1.4, 70-200 F4L
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1921 on: May 31, 2013, 03:40:36 AM »
[113] NewRes [no raw con] 24fps

This is so great!

1792x672   180, 180, 180 frames (hack on 180, 195, 195) upscale 107%           107% man!!!, it's AMAZING and almost 200 frames!!!
1728x672   225, 225, 225 (hack on 240, 240, 240) upscale ~111%
1664x624   612, 648, 630 (with hack on - 730, 738, 756)   upscale 115,5%


1664x704 225, 224, 224.

I am going to sleep but this is awesome! Seems new default resolution for me would be now 1664x624  :D
And can now shoot ~8 sec with resolution with upscale factor 107%  :D

Once 12 and 10 bit raw comes out I believe that you will be able to shoot full 1080p with the same amount of frames. 12 bit vs 14 bit is negligibly different.

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1922 on: May 31, 2013, 03:44:55 AM »
Damn dude! You done it again? 1% smashin' them out the park right about now  8)

What did you switch off this time lol  ;)

Just a thought on this issue with the module not reading a config to set the default res/settings etc. Is it possible to have a menu feature that you can enter what you want the default to be and it'll write it in to the module (as in it edits the module itself)? Or is that just a recipe for disaster?

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1923 on: May 31, 2013, 03:56:59 AM »
Anyone having this problem with frame inversion?  It looks like it drops a frame temporarily then writes it one frame late.  It doesn't ruin footage, but it's an issue.  Might just be an earlier version though.  I'm going through the 200GB I shot earlier this week.

This frame skipping/doubling used to happen with older versions of the module. Have a tone of stuff I have to fix myself coz I foolishly used an older raw_rec for a shoot but I think it's fixed now (maybe 1% can confirm?). How long ago did you update the module or are you using the one from the zip file I shared (that one will definitely give you this issue as that's the one that fucked up all of my footage).

Is the moire brush on the new version of acr? I cant seem to find it

The brush you want is the Adjustment Brush along the top bar of ACR. from there you can perform all kinds of adjustments by moving the sliders on the right (moire filter being one of them) and you simply use the brush to paint the mask on (so basically just fill in the whole frame unless you have a locked of shot) and then play with the slider but don't go too far or it will blur the colour too much and desaturate the image (I always add a touch of saturation back after using this brush).

electrichobo

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1924 on: May 31, 2013, 06:24:00 AM »
not sure if anyone has reported;

mememe - when using the focus ring on a lens that reports to the camera - 24-105 IS L series II - the focus assist pops up automatically, at 5% is corrupt image, functions fine at 10%, but any time the focus ring is touched this happens.

also the ML settings screen vanishes by itself on occasion.

side question - what frame size/aspect has given us the longest record time / greatest amount of frames?