Author Topic: Tragic Lantern for 6D  (Read 76699 times)

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1225 on: May 13, 2013, 07:09:16 AM »
1320x540 seems to give me the highest continuous recording capability without interruption. And oddly, I get better performance with 1320x720 than I do with 1280x720. In fact I get about 17 seconds @ 25fps with 1280x720 and about 30 secs before I start getting the odd frame skip with 1320x720. This is pretty impressive!

Oh yeah - using Sandisk extreme 45mbs.

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1226 on: May 13, 2013, 07:15:33 AM »
Shame there isn't a 562 as that would be 2.35 and I pretty much crop everything in anyway with what I would use it for. Ah well! It's only -22px  8)

Great job 1%

Night!

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1227 on: May 13, 2013, 07:42:46 AM »
Is the maximum available res width 1840? It say's "can't do 1920".
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1228 on: May 13, 2013, 07:51:11 AM »
LV_REC frames come out 1920. Counting this way its 1840. Zoom mode will do bigger.

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1229 on: May 13, 2013, 08:03:04 AM »
6D
So LV_rec  raw mode outputs 1920 and rav_rec 1840? What do you mean saying "Counting this way its 1840"?

After capturing raw I cannot use it second time until I reebot camera (I mean I am pressing "start" and nothing happens) is it normal?

www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1230 on: May 13, 2013, 10:12:21 AM »
Seems we have to find the fastest SD solution for a 6D to squeeze everything from the new RAW_REC module.
As far as we know maximum speed for the hardware is 50mb/s. 45mb/s card gives 32-37 so maybe we could speed things up a little bit with those 95mb/s cards.

Another thing which I think could help a little bit is to get 2,35:1 aspect ratio for the 1840 so we would need 780 pixel height preset (now 840 and 720 are the nearest). 780 pix height will give exactly 105% (from 1920x817) scaling in AE which shouldn't give much quality loss. Someone said before, that this is easy, just need to enter new values. I don't know how to do this so maybe someone could help.

Maybe there is a way to get continous (or couple houndreds of frames) 1840x780 raw recording (maybe with FPS override somewhere around 20-21 fps and twixtor).

www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

exflyer

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1231 on: May 13, 2013, 11:11:34 AM »
How to use module RAW_REC
PS formatting sd card (in camera) disappear MODULES folder and SCRIPTS

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1232 on: May 13, 2013, 11:44:43 AM »
Formatting will erase all data including ML files and folders.
Download latest build of tragic lantern [113]RawRec.zip   

https://bitbucket.org/OtherOnePercent/tragic-lantern-6d/downloads

You have to put ML to your card once again, just remember to put MODULES folder into ML folder.

in ML menu go to M tab, press "load modules now"
now go to movie tab and go all the way down - there is RAW video option.


Is anyone here on this forum who has 6D with 95mb/s SD card in it?
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

exflyer

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1233 on: May 13, 2013, 12:17:08 PM »
Formatting will erase all data including ML files and folders.
No, only MODULES and SCRIPTS, ML is saved

"in ML menu go to M tab, press "load modules now"
now go to movie tab and go all the way down - there is RAW video option."

Thanks for the answer  :)

teo770

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1234 on: May 13, 2013, 01:29:17 PM »
HD720p 14 bits 4.2.2 video with full frame pixel size... DXOMark will have to create a new category !!

You think we will be able to review DNG files on LV ?

My gear: CANON 6D / 40mm f2.8 STM / 20mm f2.8 / 24-105 f4 IS / Flash 90EX / Grip BG-E13

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1235 on: May 13, 2013, 03:21:45 PM »
The freezing is when it can't free the memory... sometimes it happens.

New memory detection is in the repo, will have to try it.

*also what sizes do you want to see added.

My memory card got trashed yesterday too so in the market for a new one that is faster than 32-35MB/s

exflyer

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1236 on: May 13, 2013, 03:51:08 PM »
Guys, I can not sleep now
I'm your fan

In mode "raw video", I have to get a single file or sequence files?  And how to open these files (*.RAW)?
Sorry for the noob questions

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1237 on: May 13, 2013, 04:02:26 PM »
*also what sizes do you want to see added.

Good afternoon!

Having 1320x562 would be nice to try. Would be cool to see if I can achieve continuous recording on that.

Mad sunny out today so actually get to try it! Woohoo! 8)

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1238 on: May 13, 2013, 04:15:23 PM »
The freezing is when it can't free the memory... sometimes it happens.

New memory detection is in the repo, will have to try it.

*also what sizes do you want to see added.

My memory card got trashed yesterday too so in the market for a new one that is faster than 32-35MB/s

1%, thanks for the reply

Great thing would be to have the possibility to set picture w/h by hand from ML menu like was in LV_rec module. It would be very flexible and help to find maximum picture size due to card writing speed and due to framerate. I know, that this can be time consuming so just for now could you please add:

780 pixel height preset for 1840x780
1740 pixel width for 1740x720
Both are ~2,35:1 aspect ratio.

I think such settings could be somewhere between quality and performance.

If someone confirms 95mb/s SD card is faster than 45mb/s even by 10mb/s or so I will also buy one so please let us know  :)
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1239 on: May 13, 2013, 04:22:22 PM »
Well you can change resolution to the presets... if you can't you're using LV_REC not raw rec... some sort of 1 by 1 changing won't work tho.

I can add those sizes and we'll see what happens. If the ratio is wrong it will be pink.

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1240 on: May 13, 2013, 04:37:22 PM »
Yes, I can like width , 640, 720, 1280, height 720, 840, 960 etc. I thought that with such flexible settings we could reduce or increase bitrate to make it exactly match the card speed. But maybe it is not really necessary for now, if you could add setting from above posts it would be great. Thanks
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1241 on: May 13, 2013, 04:52:52 PM »
Thats all the ones you want? I can put a bunch at once.

Code: [Select]

static int resolution_presets_x[] = {  640,  720,  960,  1280,  1320,  1920,  2048,  2560,  2880,  3592 };
#define  RESOLUTION_CHOICES_X CHOICES("640","720","960","1280","1320","1920","2048","2560","2880","3592")
static int resolution_presets_y[] = {  320,  360,  480,  540,  720,  840,  960,  1080,  1152,  1280,  1320 };
#define  RESOLUTION_CHOICES_Y CHOICES("320","360","480","540","720","840","960","1080","1152","1280","1320")


Those are already there...

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1242 on: May 13, 2013, 04:58:18 PM »
Ok, please wait a sec  :D

EDIT:

Ok, we could have also:

1738x740
1644x700
1598x680
1504x640
1410x600

It might look kinda strange but these resolutions are 2,35:1 and can be simply scaled in after effects, we will see quality/writing speed ratio. Many thanks  :D
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1243 on: May 13, 2013, 05:14:47 PM »
Ok, will add them and post a module. I guess try and see if they're pink. Funny that 1738 is the size of 600D.

Does it work?
Code: [Select]
static int resolution_presets_x[] = {  640,  720,  960,  1280,  1320, 1410, 1504, 1598, 1644, 1738,  1920,  2048,  2560,  2880,  3592 };
#define  RESOLUTION_CHOICES_X CHOICES("640","720","960","1280","1320","1410","1504","1598","1644","1738","1920","2048","2560","2880","3592")
static int resolution_presets_y[] = {  320,  360,  480,  540, 600, 640, 680, 700,  720, 740,  840,  960,  1080,  1152,  1280,  1320 };
#define  RESOLUTION_CHOICES_Y CHOICES("320","360","480","540","600","640","680","700","720","740","840","960","1080","1152","1280","1320")

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1244 on: May 13, 2013, 05:31:50 PM »
Guys, I can not sleep now
I'm your fan

In mode "raw video", I have to get a single file or sequence files?  And how to open these files (*.RAW)?
Sorry for the noob questions

Hey buddy!

You need raw2dng.exe which you can find here: https://bitbucket.org/OtherOnePercent/tragic-lantern-6d/downloads

Simply drag your recorded file onto the raw2dng.exe icon and it will automatically extract all your lovely little DNG's. Just make sure you have the exe in the folder you wish to extract them to as all the DNG's end up in the same folder :)

I have just been playing doing some dolly shots and in the motion I have noticed what looks like the odd single frame skipping every couple seconds. I'll upload and show you. It isn't the smoothest slide in the world but pretty sure I wasn't THAT bad  :P

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1245 on: May 13, 2013, 05:36:40 PM »
It looks almost as if the comp frame rate isn't the same as the footage but have double checked - both running at 25fps.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1246 on: May 13, 2013, 05:39:27 PM »
If you have to turn on raw mode you're in LV_REC and not Raw_rec

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1247 on: May 13, 2013, 05:51:26 PM »
Ok, will add them and post a module. I guess try and see if they're pink. Funny that 1738 is the size of 600D.

Does it work?
Code: [Select]
static int resolution_presets_x[] = {  640,  720,  960,  1280,  1320, 1410, 1504, 1598, 1644, 1738,  1920,  2048,  2560,  2880,  3592 };
#define  RESOLUTION_CHOICES_X CHOICES("640","720","960","1280","1320","1410","1504","1598","1644","1738","1920","2048","2560","2880","3592")
static int resolution_presets_y[] = {  320,  360,  480,  540, 600, 640, 680, 700,  720, 740,  840,  960,  1080,  1152,  1280,  1320 };
#define  RESOLUTION_CHOICES_Y CHOICES("320","360","480","540","600","640","680","700","720","740","840","960","1080","1152","1280","1320")


With new settings i get (for 23,976 fps):
1738x740 ~~100 frames
1644x700~~150
1598x680~~200
1504x640~~ over 500, i think almost continous
1410x600~~continous

Now I will check if there is a pink color. Write speed was about 38mb/s all the time.

EDIT: Its great, i dont't have to reboot, I can shoot one after another  :)
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1248 on: May 13, 2013, 05:55:53 PM »
If you have to turn on raw mode you're in LV_REC and not Raw_rec

Not sure if that was meant for me but I'm using the mode found at the bottom of the movie stuff.

Here's what I mean anyway:

Didn't indicate any frame skipping when it was recording. Buffer seems fine.

Cheers.

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1249 on: May 13, 2013, 05:56:26 PM »
*Learns he doesn't know how to embed vimeo*  :P