Author Topic: 5DMKIII won't operate without ML on sd card?  (Read 2772 times)

rickurb

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
5DMKIII won't operate without ML on sd card?
« on: December 03, 2013, 04:56:22 AM »
Is this to be expected?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8431
Re: 5DMKIII won't operate without ML on sd card?
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2013, 07:30:33 AM »
Format card in your cardreader, use NTFS. Put card into cam, format again.

You made a common mistake: You used a bootable card, deleted the ML files only. If a cam with bootflag set detects a bootable card it will try to boot ML. And the last part is missing. Stuck.

Ciao, Walter

rickurb

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: 5DMKIII won't operate without ML on sd card?
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2013, 02:41:08 PM »
Thanks Walter.
I'm using a mac and I don't have NTFS as a format option.
MS-DOS(FAT) I tried... no luck.
Camera still displays:
"Firmware update program
        Update file
     cannot be found.
  Please check the memory
    card and reload the
  battery and try again."

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: 5DMKIII won't operate without ML on sd card?
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2013, 02:55:31 PM »
Place Canon FIR on the card.

This is one of the reasons I chose not to publish a way to disable the bootflag for now. Despite all my checks in the source code, the bootflag routine still failed for few people, so it needs more investigation.

rickurb

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: 5DMKIII won't operate without ML on sd card?
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2013, 07:22:15 PM »
Canon FIR update from card did the trick.
Thank you!

Pelican

  • Contributor
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 408
Re: 5DMKIII won't operate without ML on sd card?
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2013, 08:20:15 PM »
Thanks Walter.
I'm using a mac and I don't have NTFS as a format option.
MS-DOS(FAT) I tried... no luck.
Camera still displays:
"Firmware update program
        Update file
     cannot be found.
  Please check the memory
    card and reload the
  battery and try again."

Interesting.
The same happened with an 5D MKII a month ago...
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9215.msg89645#msg89645
EOS 7D Mark II, EOS 7D, EOS 5, EOS 100 + lenses (10mm to 300mm), 600EX, 550EX, YN600EX x 3
EOScard, EOS DSLR firmwares, ARMu, NiControl, etc.: http://pel.hu/down