Author Topic: Canon 6D  (Read 547481 times)

theBilalFakhouri

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 561
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1300 on: October 20, 2020, 02:38:30 PM »
for canon 6d there is a croprec new module like in 700d?

Nope, it's only ported for 700D and recently for 650D (very identical cameras), it's not that hard I think to make it work on 6D too, but it needs some more code adjustments.
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8 / SDR104 @ 240 MHz - Constant! | Fixed Scrambled LiveView in Higher resolution | Real-Time correct framing in the Way

mineralof

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1301 on: October 20, 2020, 08:40:35 PM »
Nope, it's only ported for 700D and recently for 650D (very identical cameras), it's not that hard I think to make it work on 6D too, but it needs some more code adjustments.
it would be great.  especially shooting without aliasing.  and correct viewing x5 mode

theBilalFakhouri

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 561
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1302 on: October 20, 2020, 11:28:24 PM »
it would be great.  especially shooting without aliasing.  and correct viewing x5 mode

If you mean the real-time correct previews, well, this maybe would be hard to port it on 6D, it took me nearly 3 weeks to figure it out on 700D, on 6D it *might* be easy (similar to 700D) or even harder, no one have tried so I am not quite sure.

But shooting in 1x3 Binning mode without aliasing on 6D is already there in Levas builds, but with stretched preview.
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8 / SDR104 @ 240 MHz - Constant! | Fixed Scrambled LiveView in Higher resolution | Real-Time correct framing in the Way

mineralof

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1303 on: October 21, 2020, 08:18:33 AM »
Thank you Bilal, Levas and ML developers.  You are geniuses!  Always looking forward to your discoveries.

pteichner

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1304 on: November 04, 2020, 10:49:14 PM »
Is the sd_uhs available for 6d?

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1671
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1305 on: November 05, 2020, 10:35:12 AM »
Yes it is.
In this post is a download link for a build for 6d with sd_uhs in it.

https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=15088.msg228879#msg228879

pteichner

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1306 on: November 05, 2020, 12:21:33 PM »
Thanks for the reply, I've got it down and with the UHS override at 240MHz I get around 71MB/s instead 39MB/s. Also thank you for all you hard work.

I've got a few questions:
  • The option for going higher resolution like 2.5K is still greyed out in RAW mode can I use it with crop mode + raw together?
  • I'm using the compressed 12bit at 1824x616 whilst set the Canon menu to 720/50 FPS...how can you get 60FPS?
  • Has anyone got a nice LUT for RAW that can be shared?

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1671
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1307 on: November 07, 2020, 06:22:34 PM »
About question 1:
You need crop mode for that.
Enable the crop_rec module in the module tab.
When it is enabled there should be a crop_mode option in  the Raw video tab.
In the crop_mode menu, you can set your desired resolution (for example 2880 x 1200)
After that, you should be able to get the higher resolution in raw video menu (where you set resolution and aspect ratio etc.).
Note: the standard compressed 12 bit is not available with crop_rec module, you must select 14 bit compressed raw option in raw video menu.
BUT there is a way to get 12 bit compressed, but you have to select this option in the submenu (Q button) of Crop_rec menu.
 :P It's all a bit fidly and not very intuitive, but once you know how it works all is fine  8)
Note 2:
FPS override and other options that mess with fps aren't available/working with crop_rec options. Crop_rec options have fixed fps.


Question 2:
For normal 720/60 you need to switch to NTSC in Canon video menu. (PAL setting gives you 720/50fps and NTSC setting gives you 720/60fps).
So not a magic lantern setting, but a setting in the normal Canon menu system (you must be in video mode to see video options in Canon menu).

Question 3:
No idea, I don't use LUT's :P

pteichner

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1308 on: November 09, 2020, 09:06:46 AM »
Thanks

It is a bit fiddly to say the least, but it does things that would have never been possible before. The crop modes are not easy because you do lose a fair amount of the view, but it does things that it wouldn't have otherwise.

Any idea of crop_mode2?

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1671
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1309 on: November 09, 2020, 04:00:10 PM »
Not sure what you mean with your last question ?

Quote
Any idea of crop_mode2?

What works for me for crop_mode is to go to raw video menu tab and then inside raw video options I choose preview option -> real-time.
This gives me 5x zoom Canon liveview in the high resolution modes.
Now the only problem is framing, to check framing, use half-press on the shutter button. When doing half shutter press, you'll see the actual framing (although a bit slow fps).
You can even do half shutter once in a while, while recording, to check framing.



swordsmasterxii

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1310 on: November 26, 2020, 06:07:48 AM »
Hi Guys. I just want to share the music video I made shot entirely with Canon 6D Magic Lantern Raw.


I want to thank all of you guys responsible for developing this build and making our old camera still awesome. I have this camera for 7 years and with what it can do, I'm not planning to replace it anytime soon. :)

mineralof

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1311 on: November 27, 2020, 06:48:17 AM »
Hi Guys. I just want to share the music video I made shot entirely with Canon 6D Magic Lantern Raw.


I want to thank all of you guys responsible for developing this build and making our old camera still awesome. I have this camera for 7 years and with what it can do, I'm not planning to replace it anytime soon. :)
к

Wow.
excellent!  how about moore and alias?  Where are they?

swordsmasterxii

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1312 on: November 27, 2020, 03:12:18 PM »
Thanks. There isn't much aliasing when shooting in large apertures. Though I still have to figure out how to minimize black clipping in YT. It was ok in the OG file but YT compresses it too much.

c_joerg

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1313 on: January 02, 2021, 02:53:05 PM »
This is the first time I've had a crash with ML on my 6D while using the Advanced Bracket.
I haven't used the function before.
My version is a bit older. Should I update something first?


Code: [Select]
ML ASSERT:
0
at ../../src/raw.c:611 (raw_lv_realloc_buffer), task livev_hiprio_task
lv:0 mode:3

livev_hiprio_task stack: 2086c0 [208838-204838]
0x0048F7E0 @ 487934:208720
0x0048F750 @ 48f840:208718
0x0048D1DC @ 48f780:208710
0x0044C9F4 @ 48d37c:2086f0
0x0044C478 @ 44ca50:2086c0

Magic Lantern version : lua_fix.2018Sep17.6D116
Mercurial changeset   : 0040e6ccea8d (lua_fix) tip
Built on 2018-09-17 16:45:37 UTC by jenkins@nightly.
Free Memory  : 384K + 1895K
6D

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12518
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1314 on: January 02, 2021, 03:37:16 PM »
No improvements expected in newer builds regarding this issue. Can you find a way to reproduce it?

Seems to be a race condition between LiveView and still photo mode.

c_joerg

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1315 on: January 02, 2021, 04:33:43 PM »
Can you find a way to reproduce it?
Not always…
I used LV in M Mode and continuous shooting s.
I look like, it is only happening with Frame Autodetect. If I change to 7 Frames, I haven’t seen it until now.

The memory differs at last crash
Code: [Select]
Free Memory  :  381K + 1889K
6D