Author Topic: 7D Raw Thread  (Read 381755 times)

OSCA LEE

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: 7D Raw Thread
« Reply #1875 on: November 11, 2013, 08:57:38 PM »
ok this is my 12th attemp at raw...

I used my 28-135mm...the focus is way off.. I fixed that but do you guys see the noise


any advice is much needed

ddp

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: 7D Raw Thread
« Reply #1876 on: November 11, 2013, 09:04:13 PM »
Hi guys,

I prepared (mac) the CF Card for Raw video following the instructions in the forum and load the "7DPopstop" and everything worked well.
Now I'm trying to load any of the November Builds from "Tragic Lantern" and it doesn't work.

-Is the same process to load both firmwares? (7dPopstop & Tragic Lantern November)


Sorry but I'm really new in ML so I don't know what I'm doing wrong and I'm getting crazy.


Thanks in advance for the help guys.

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: 7D Raw Thread
« Reply #1877 on: November 12, 2013, 12:28:45 AM »
Sorry but I'm really new in ML so I don't know what I'm doing wrong and I'm getting crazy.
Erase the old files ML and replace them ALL with the new.
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

ddp

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: 7D Raw Thread
« Reply #1878 on: November 12, 2013, 01:31:12 AM »
Erase the old files ML and replace them ALL with the new.

Hi, that's what i made but it doesn´t work. I erased all files in my CF and put the new ones in. Ain't other way to do it?

Thanks

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: 7D Raw Thread
« Reply #1879 on: November 12, 2013, 02:06:48 AM »
You may have formated your CF card in the card reader and erased the card boot.  You may have to do it again with the mac version http://www.zenoshrdlu.com/macboot/macboot.html
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

ddp

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: 7D Raw Thread
« Reply #1880 on: November 12, 2013, 02:08:28 AM »
You may have formated your CF card in the card reader and erased the card boot.  You may have to do it again with the mac version http://www.zenoshrdlu.com/macboot/macboot.html

I will try.
Thanks a lot.

7D genie

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: 7D Raw Thread
« Reply #1881 on: November 12, 2013, 06:25:13 AM »
Hey guys having an issue with the new builds.
Original had an early build from back in August on my 7D that I put on using the process in this post http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=7464.0
Just tried out the new Nov11 Tragic Lantern build and it loads the first time after I do a firmware update but the next time I load it freezes the camera and I have to wipe the ML files and replace them to make it work again.
Anyone have any idea what I'm doing wrong?

DragonFlame

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Professional DOP
Re: 7D Raw Thread
« Reply #1882 on: November 12, 2013, 06:41:57 AM »
Hey guys having an issue with the new builds.
Original had an early build from back in August on my 7D that I put on using the process in this post http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=7464.0
Just tried out the new Nov11 Tragic Lantern build and it loads the first time after I do a firmware update but the next time I load it freezes the camera and I have to wipe the ML files and replace them to make it work again.
Anyone have any idea what I'm doing wrong?

Are you using a new or different card, make sure you have done the Prepare your CF card section on that link you sent.

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: 7D Raw Thread
« Reply #1883 on: November 12, 2013, 12:41:12 PM »
... I do a firmware update but the next time I load it freezes the camera and I have to wipe the ML files and replace them to make it work again.
Firmware upgrade is only done once for RAW.
Follow this instructions to set up your camera for RAW.
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=7464.0
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

Rabbity Jack

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: 7D Raw Thread
« Reply #1884 on: November 12, 2013, 01:47:43 PM »
Can anyone tell me why the histogram and other scopes go away when I have raw_rec activated? Of course, global draw turns off when recording but when I turn Raw video on the audio meters and some other information cover up the lower part of the screen where the scopes usually go. This is in all builds I've tried since the 9th of Oct. build.

When I turn raw_rec off the scopes come back.

jman

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: 7D Raw Thread
« Reply #1885 on: November 12, 2013, 02:28:21 PM »
I have using this build WITHOUT any problems at all. Not really going to try nightly until something major comes along.

01/09/2013
► britom's build with 1% version of raw_rec and mlv_rec with great features. (Thanks 1%!)
Don't forget to enable ime_base and ime_rot modules so you can write text in the "Tag: Text" Field
https://www.dropbox.com/s/b88gx62p1uyy46f/ML_britom_1%25_01_Sep_2013_.zip

cathor

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: 7D Raw Thread
« Reply #1886 on: November 12, 2013, 03:01:11 PM »
First of all, big thanks to everyone that develops ML for 7D, and thanks to all who is active in this thread. Really useful stuff.
I've been using 2 different builds, atm i am using TL Nov 7. For some reason my camera stops recording after about 20 seconds or so. Started happening recently. Happens on both builds i've tried. Not using a very fast card though (60mb) Could it be related to that?
But what is weird is that i could record at least 50 seconds when i started out using ML. Usually shooting at 1728 700something, 2:35:1.

TIA 

mityazabuben

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: 7D Raw Thread
« Reply #1887 on: November 12, 2013, 04:11:06 PM »
With TragicLantern several latest builds, sometimes camera hangs out, when I push Play button to exit crop mode. Only battery reconnection helps...

mrnv45

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
Re: 7D Raw Thread
« Reply #1888 on: November 12, 2013, 05:25:34 PM »
sometimes you have to FORMAT on camera and then BENCHMARK your card again.  works for me when ever setting just stop recording

arrinkiiii

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1101
  • ML ADDICTED 7D
Re: 7D Raw Thread
« Reply #1889 on: November 12, 2013, 05:58:33 PM »
With the latest tragic lantern build everything is good in my camera. My card is a 8GB 60MB's Sandisk.

7D genie

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: 7D Raw Thread
« Reply #1890 on: November 12, 2013, 06:03:10 PM »
Are you using a new or different card, make sure you have done the Prepare your CF card section on that link you sent.

Thank you so so much it was driving me crazy, that was exactly what the problem was, I didn't realize I had to prepare each card to boot from.

arrinkiiii

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1101
  • ML ADDICTED 7D
Re: 7D Raw Thread
« Reply #1891 on: November 12, 2013, 07:01:00 PM »
Thank you so so much it was driving me crazy, that was exactly what the problem was, I didn't realize I had to prepare each card to boot from.

Yes, for each card you need to prepare it. Thanks to Pelican our lives become more easy with EOScard.   

humbs

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: 7D Raw Thread
« Reply #1892 on: November 13, 2013, 02:18:49 AM »
One  noob  question.

Why not copile the code and share with us as an usual firmware upgrade mode... even if it need to be applied at every restart...
Just like the atual firmware available?

Why not?
The majority of people watching this "threat" are photographers, not programmers.
Please, do not get it as personal.... i like you all, and you all are helping a lot an entire community here.
 :-X

ddp

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: 7D Raw Thread
« Reply #1893 on: November 13, 2013, 02:28:39 AM »
You may have formated your CF card in the card reader and erased the card boot.  You may have to do it again with the mac version http://www.zenoshrdlu.com/macboot/macboot.html

Hey, I followed your instructions to load the latest Build and now it works perfectly. Thanks a lot mate!  :)

stevelucky

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • 7D for LIFE (until I can afford a 5D MIII)!
Re: 7D Raw Thread
« Reply #1894 on: November 13, 2013, 04:12:12 AM »
One  noob  question.

Why not copile the code and share with us as an usual firmware upgrade mode... even if it need to be applied at every restart...
Just like the atual firmware available?

Why not?
The majority of people watching this "threat" are photographers, not programmers.
Please, do not get it as personal.... i like you all, and you all are helping a lot an entire community here.
 :-X

Well, first of all, the majority of the readers on this thread are probably into video more than photo but that's besides the point.

Running as a firmware upgrade that would require the user to have to upgrade each time would be 1) a NIGHTMARE. I absolutely HATED having to upgrade my firmware every time I turned my camera on, and 2) someone can correct me, but I'm pretty sure that would be against Canon's terms and conditions. The only reason that ML is able to exist is because we're running it as a "program" off the card. I'm sure I'm butchering the specifics, but I believe that's essentially the point.

hdclip

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Canon 7D Lexar 32Gb X1000
Re: 7D Raw Thread
« Reply #1895 on: November 13, 2013, 06:38:09 PM »
would be possible to apply a different algorithm to Debayer raw files than Adobe DNG???
Canon 7D Sandisk Extreme 60MB/seg, Lexar 32Gb X1000

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8168
Re: 7D Raw Thread
« Reply #1896 on: November 13, 2013, 08:26:58 PM »
Not sure what you are asking.
AFAIK demosaicing is part of the RAW converter and not part of RAW to DNG "conversion". DNG may contain RAW data as produced by standard Bayer, XTrans, Faveon and others.

Ciao
Walter

OSCA LEE

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: 7D Raw Thread
« Reply #1897 on: November 13, 2013, 08:43:25 PM »
.....fellas ran into a issue

I downloaded the nightly and followed all the directions step for step....now when I try to load the raw_rec it tells me i have the wrong version...I have 4.0 but it wants 3.0....

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8168
Re: 7D Raw Thread
« Reply #1898 on: November 13, 2013, 08:50:37 PM »
Delete ML directory and copy the files over again.

Ciao
Walter

hdclip

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Canon 7D Lexar 32Gb X1000
Re: 7D Raw Thread
« Reply #1899 on: November 13, 2013, 09:15:27 PM »
Ciao Walter!!!!!!sorry for my english... :-[ what I mean is if we could get another file type other than DNG or TIFF, for example a type Raw R3D Quicktime or something.
anyway the only converter out there is that it creates a DNG with what is in that conversion debayer.
regards!!!!!!
Canon 7D Sandisk Extreme 60MB/seg, Lexar 32Gb X1000