Author Topic: Canon 650D / T4i  (Read 1133361 times)

kajko

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 650D 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #825 on: October 11, 2013, 09:29:45 AM »
I'll do more RAW test with the latest ML version and try to find a quicker workflow using Davinci Resolve (OSx).
Maybe I'll do a complete video tutorial for RAW processing on Windows and OSX. (in French with English subtitles).

Registered to say thanks..to everyone including you for the nice tutorial so far. I would really love to see a workflow (Windows) that involved Davinci Resolve since I can get that free. Total noob just getting into videography.. nice vids!
Canon 650D + EF-S 18-55 IS II + EF 50 f/1.8

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7041
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #826 on: October 12, 2013, 12:31:37 PM »
Bug in "Config Preset"?
Option "Startup Key" with INFO doesn't work as with PLAY/MENU:
"Config:INFO" will not be seen at startup if INFO is pressed and not shown in Prefs -> Config files
"Config preset    Startup key" should be "Config preset   Startup key   INFO"

EDIT: Shame on me, forgot to add essentials like build running. It's magiclantern-v2.3.NEXT.2013Oct12.650D104

Ciao
Walter
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

Rafa73

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #827 on: October 14, 2013, 11:32:34 PM »
En mi cámara ha dejado de funcionar Live View, ni en modo video. Se queda la pantalla en negro. magiclantern-v2.3.NEXT.2013Oct09.650D104
I´m sorry, don´t speak english.
CRASH01.LOG
CRASH02.LOG
CRASH03.LOG

davidtlong

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 89
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #828 on: October 14, 2013, 11:37:56 PM »
Questions

1.  When I set FPS override to 23.976 what i get is 23.973 <-- is this normal?

2.  in 720P mode it takes over 1000 frames to get to a write rate that is continuous (around 36.6 ish) <-- is this normal?

3.  my shoot_malloc is 30 mb but my shoot total is 95 mb.  I saw that others have talked about the shoot_malloc being 95 mb.  <-- So were they really talking total and not malloc?

Thanks

dave

Rafa73

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #829 on: October 15, 2013, 12:18:01 AM »
En mi cámara ha dejado de funcionar Live View, ni en modo video. Se queda la pantalla en negro. magiclantern-v2.3.NEXT.2013Oct09.650D104
I´m sorry, don´t speak english.
CRASH01.LOG
CRASH02.LOG
CRASH03.LOG
I have to thank all the contributors of Magic Lantern for the great job they are doing.
Unfortunately my camera has had an accident when I was testing this software.
Live View has stopped working, even in video mode. The camera will lock on several occasions.
The version was October 9.
I tried to update the ML of 14 Oct. but neither works.
What I can do?

jeffadkins51

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #830 on: October 15, 2013, 07:32:29 AM »
I have to thank all the contributors of Magic Lantern for the great job they are doing.
Unfortunately my camera has had an accident when I was testing this software.
Live View has stopped working, even in video mode. The camera will lock on several occasions.
The version was October 9.
I tried to update the ML of 14 Oct. but neither works.
What I can do?

Does the camera still work fine if you don't run magic lantern? Try holding the SET button when you turn the camera on, or use a memory card without magic lantern on it. When you know if it works without magic lantern post back for further trouble shooting.

DISCLAIMER: I am not a member of the magic lantern team, just a comp sci major pointing out some common troubleshooting techniques until someone from the ML team shows up to try and help you out.

red5446

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #831 on: October 15, 2013, 09:07:40 AM »
any progress with the pink dots in raw video?

also got an error while recording raw video. (it just switch to normal video but i can´t replicate again)

Crashlog
ASSERT: !IS_ERROR(semErr)
at ./EekoApp/Color/WB/LV/LvWbAlgorWrap.c:522, task CLR_CALC
lv:1 mode:3


Magic Lantern version : v2.3.NEXT.2013Oct15.650D104
Mercurial changeset   : 33769b32b723 (unified) tip
Built on 2013-10-15 00:55:14 UTC by jenkins@magiclantern.fm.
Free Memory  : 136K + 3593K

log
Tue Oct 15 01:55:56 2013
   1029:  1263.415 [CAPD] PowerSaveTiming 2757 On:1193, Off:2695 H:528 Frame:0
   1033:  1307.906 [CAPD] PowerSaveTiming 2757 On:1193, Off:2695 H:528 Frame:0
   1039:  1334.100 [ENG] LockEng   [0x9daa10][Evf]
   1040:  1334.271 [ENG] LockEng   [0x9dab04][Evf]
   1041:  1334.760 [ENG] LockEng   [0x9dab48][Evf]
   1042:  1336.927 [ENG] LockEng   [0x9dac88][Evf]
   1043:  1337.136 [ENG] LockEng   [0x9dacec][Evf]
   1044:  1337.344 [ENG] LockEng   [0x9dade8][Evf]
   1045:  1337.617 [ENG] LockEng   [0x9dae50][Evf]
   1046:  1337.721 [ENG] LockEng   [0x9daebc][Evf]
   1047:  1337.882 [ENG] LockEng   [0x9daefc][Evf]
   1048:  1338.030 [ENG] LockEng   [0x9daf84][Evf]
   1049:  1339.084 [ENG] LockEng   [0x9dafd0][Evf]
   1057:  1353.390 [LV_AF_PATH]WriteInteg Lated!!!
   1058:  1353.457 ERROR [LV_AF_PATH]Limit Error (FES) !!!
   1067:  1382.309 [ENG] LockEng   [0x6ef510][LVFACE]
   1069:  1383.019 [GRAPH]CtrlSrv GuiCalculateRegularHistData(2652)
   1071:  1424.698 TVAF_EVAL_SINGLE
   1074:  1425.876 --  BadFrame --
   1077:  1471.531 --  BadFrame --
   1078:  1477.244 [LVCDEV] DF 43Hz:   0 50Hz:   0 60Hz:   0 74Hz:   0
   1079:  1477.282 [LVCDEV] ->FlickerStatus=0(Loop=0)
   1080:  1478.019 [GRAPH]CtrlSrv GuiCalculateRegularHistData(2652)
   1083:  1516.953 --  BadFrame --
   1086:  1562.484 --  BadFrame --
   1087:  1568.435 [LVCDEV] DF 43Hz:   0 50Hz:   0 60Hz:   0 74Hz:   0
   1088:  1568.469 [LVCDEV] ->FlickerStatus=0(Loop=1)
   1092:  1607.944 --  BadFrame --
   1094:  1609.914 [AEWB]MSLens:1,FR:30(22,22),Sensor:0,ServoAF:1 = Dig:0
   1098:  1653.515 --  BadFrame --
   1099:  1655.645 [BIND] bindReceiveSwitch (38, 1)
   1100:  1655.675 [BIND] COM_SW_SOMETHING
   1101:  1655.724 [GUI_E] GUI_Control:82 0x0
   1102:  1655.801 [BIND] bindReceiveSwitch (0, 1)
   1103:  1655.833 [GUI_E] GUI_Control:6 0x0
   1104:  1659.926 [LVCDEV] DF 43Hz:   0 50Hz:   0 60Hz:   0 74Hz:   0
   1105:  1659.962 [LVCDEV] ->FlickerStatus=0(Loop=2)
   1106:  1660.360 [GUI_M] GUICMD_PRESS_BUTTON_SOMETHING(0x0)
   1107:  1661.054 [GUI] PROP_LV_EXPOSURE_MODE [16]
   1115:  1749.751 [LVCDEV] DF 43Hz:   0 50Hz:   0 60Hz:   0 74Hz:   0
   1116:  1749.787 [LVCDEV] ->FlickerStatus=0(Loop=3)
   1124:  1841.271 [LVCDEV] DF 43Hz:   0 50Hz:   0 60Hz:   0 74Hz:   0
   1125:  1841.307 [LVCDEV] ->FlickerStatus=0(Loop=4)
   1126:  1841.356 [LVCDEV] Flicker Detect Complete:0
   1132:  1842.040 !!! icSetSearchFrameAction !!!
   1140:  1843.753 [GRAPH]CtrlSrv GuiCalculateRegularHistData(2652)
   1151:  1880.598 [ENG] UnLockEng [0x9dafd0][Evf]
   1152:  1881.162 [ENG] UnLockEng [0x9daf84][Evf]
   1153:  1881.312 [ENG] UnLockEng [0x9dab48][Evf]
   1154:  1881.555 [ENG] UnLockEng [0x9dac88][Evf]
   1155:  1881.648 [ENG] UnLockEng [0x9dacec][Evf]
   1156:  1881.788 [ENG] UnLockEng [0x9dab04][Evf]
   1157:  1881.906 [ENG] UnLockEng [0x9daa10][Evf]
   1158:  1882.077 [ENG] UnLockEng [0x9dade8][Evf]
   1159:  1882.215 [ENG] UnLockEng [0x9dae50][Evf]
   1160:  1882.334 [ENG] UnLockEng [0x9daebc][Evf]
   1161:  1882.453 [ENG] UnLockEng [0x9daefc][Evf]
   1168:  1882.908 [ENG] LockEng   [0x707170][Evf]
   1181:  1884.242 [AEWB]MSLens:1,FR:30(30,30),Sensor:0,ServoAF:1 = Dig:0
   1191:  1899.348 [ENG] UnLockEng [0x707170][Evf]
   1192:  1899.701 [CAPD] PowerSaveTiming 2022 On:1193, Off:1960 H:528 Frame:1
   1197:  1925.488 [ENG] LockEng   [0xa617f8][Evf]
   1198:  1925.647 [ENG] LockEng   [0xa6188c][Evf]
   1199:  1926.101 [ENG] LockEng   [0xa618d0][Evf]
   1200:  1928.284 [ENG] LockEng   [0xa61950][Evf]
   1201:  1928.508 [ENG] LockEng   [0xa61994][Evf]
   1202:  1928.701 [ENG] LockEng   [0xa619f0][Evf]
   1203:  1928.860 [ENG] LockEng   [0xa61a3c][Evf]
   1204:  1928.995 [ENG] LockEng   [0xa61a7c][Evf]
   1205:  1929.141 [ENG] LockEng   [0xa61ac4][Evf]
   1206:  1930.153 [ENG] LockEng   [0xa61b10][Evf]
   1207:  1930.308 [SAF]  WARNING >> Sequence Err: SAF_SetupCaptureForMovie 1
   1208:  1930.417 [ENG] UnLockEng [0x699a3c][Evf]
   1215:  1944.937 [LV_AF_PATH]WriteInteg Lated!!!
   1216:  1945.009 ERROR [LV_AF_PATH]Limit Error (FES) !!!
   1227:  1962.858 [GRAPH]CtrlSrv GuiCalculateRegularHistData(2652)
   1228:  1963.446 [GUI] CalcLvVisibleAreaSize X(40) Y(0) W(640) H(480)
   1229:  1963.468 [GUI] Avail_VisibleArea IW(720)IH(480)
   1230:  1963.489 [GUI] X(40)Y(0)AW(640)AH(480)
   1231:  1963.522 [GUI] Available_fVisibleFrame(1)
   1232:  1963.541 [GUI] Available_dwFrameType(2)
   1234:  1993.194 --  BadFrame --
   1235:  1995.698 [GUI] PROP_LV_EXPOSURE_MODE [17]
   1236:  2002.664 [GUI] SubMovieAspectLeftFrame X(0) Y(0) W(40) H(480)
   1237:  2005.955 [GUI] SubMovieAspectLeftLine X(36) Y(0) W(4) H(480)
   1238:  2006.139 [GUI] SubMovieAspectRightFrame X(680) Y(0) W(40) H(480)
   1239:  2008.962 [GUI] SubMovieAspectRightLine X(680) Y(0) W(4) H(480)
   1240:  2009.208 [GUI] SubMovieAspectUpperLine X(36) Y(-4) W(648) H(4)
   1241:  2009.359 [GUI] SubMovieAspectDownLine X(36) Y(480) W(648) H(4)
   1243:  2026.420 --  BadFrame --
   1244:  2030.392 [GRAPH]CtrlSrv GuiCalculateRegularHistData(2652)
   1245:  2037.448 [GUI_E] GUI_Control:-7 0x0
   1255:  2129.191 [AEWB]MSLens:1,FR:30(30,30),Sensor:0,ServoAF:1 = Dig:0
 

Rewind

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 356
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #832 on: October 15, 2013, 09:17:26 AM »
any progress with the pink dots in raw video?
The dots are still there )
We are still using PDR (which works for 650D quite fine), chroma smoothing and other workarounds.

Rafa73

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #833 on: October 15, 2013, 02:11:52 PM »
Does the camera still work fine if you don't run magic lantern? Try holding the SET button when you turn the camera on, or use a memory card without magic lantern on it. When you know if it works without magic lantern post back for further trouble shooting.

DISCLAIMER: I am not a member of the magic lantern team, just a comp sci major pointing out some common troubleshooting techniques until someone from the ML team shows up to try and help you out.
I've done it, I put a card without ML but still the same (Live View with the black screen).
In the automatic mode if it works and when I press Play LV too.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12357
  • Quarantined
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #834 on: October 15, 2013, 02:24:06 PM »
Can you try to clear camera settings from Canon menu?

Rafa73

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #835 on: October 15, 2013, 02:31:52 PM »
Can you try to clear camera settings from Canon menu?
I have not done that. I will try to do.

Rafa73

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #836 on: October 15, 2013, 10:47:08 PM »
Can you try to clear camera settings from Canon menu?
Problem solved. It was so simple ...! Fear gripped my.
Thank you very much.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12357
  • Quarantined
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #837 on: October 15, 2013, 10:52:44 PM »
Now, what did you do right before you got this problem?

jeffadkins51

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #838 on: October 15, 2013, 11:56:38 PM »
Problem solved. It was so simple ...! Fear gripped my.
Thank you very much.

Glad to hear you got it fixed!
*makes a mental note of a good troubleshooting step*

spider

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #839 on: October 16, 2013, 12:33:32 AM »
Let me guess.
The picture was just underexposed?

pradophoto

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #840 on: October 16, 2013, 06:11:23 AM »
Problem solved. It was so simple ...! Fear gripped my.
Thank you very much.

Hola Rafa, que tal anda en tu cámara? yo no lo pude instalar. Bajé el .zip, lo descomprimí en la tarjeta formateada, pero cuando quiero actualizar el firwmare me sale un mensaje como que no encuentra firmware, no se que onda, después vi tus comentarios y me asusté un poco, jeje

christodoulidesd

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #841 on: October 16, 2013, 04:53:57 PM »
Can't wait to turn my 650d babe into a raw monster! I have 5dmarkiii, 6d, and 7d as well but don't want to mess them up 'cause i am compltely noob when it comes to Magic Lantern...any time schedules on when is this becoming a stable release? Thanks a lot for your hard work! Cheers

spider

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #842 on: October 16, 2013, 04:56:48 PM »
http://wiki.magiclantern.fm/faq
Look at troll questions

blade

  • Moderator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 195
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #843 on: October 16, 2013, 09:37:09 PM »
when is this becoming a stable release? Thanks a lot for your hard work! Cheers

Aldo its an alpha, the ML software is very stable....
eos400D :: eos650D  :: Sigma 18-200 :: Canon 100mm macro

Felipe

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #844 on: October 16, 2013, 09:53:56 PM »
Aldo its an alpha, the ML software is very stable....

Solid as a rock making a living with it
650D-100D

Nautilus

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • A gear junky
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #845 on: October 16, 2013, 10:10:32 PM »
Solid as a rock making a living with it

I agree, it is very stable. If only MZ wasn't flickering and audio features were enabled. That would be totally awesome.
Canon 650D w/18-55 Kit lens | Sigma 30mm f1.4 | CarrySpeed VF-4 Viewfinder | Rode VideoMic Pro | Manfrotto MVH502A Fluid Head + MVT502AM Tripod System

jeffadkins51

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #846 on: October 17, 2013, 04:32:23 AM »
I've been running this alpha ML build on my 650D for like 2 months now and using the camera every day, I've only had it lock up once, I'd call that pretty darn stable ^^

Rewind

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 356
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #847 on: October 17, 2013, 10:58:09 AM »
Ok, another good news.
Thanks to mk11174, we found a timer address for 650D (0xFF527E38), and small hacks now fully working.

This gives us another tiny speed increase: 38.5 Mb/s vs previous 37.7
For example, now you can record 1504x640 (2.35:1) continiously.

When I'm using my favorite resolution 1536x640 now recording time before skipping is about 1.5 minutes, previously it was around 42-44 secs.

davidtlong

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 89
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #848 on: October 17, 2013, 03:33:29 PM »
Ok, another good news.
Thanks to mk11174, we found a timer address for 650D (0xFF527E38), and small hacks now fully working.

This gives us another tiny speed increase: 38.5 Mb/s vs previous 37.7
For example, now you can record 1504x640 (2.35:1) continiously.

When I'm using my favorite resolution 1536x640 now recording time before skipping is about 1.5 minutes, previously it was around 42-44 secs.

Rewind,

Can you share what sd card you are using.  I think I might need to buy a new one.

dave

edit: seems the most recent release failed ?

Rewind

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 356
Re: Canon 650D/T4i 1.0.4 [Status: Alpha]
« Reply #849 on: October 17, 2013, 05:04:28 PM »
Can you share what sd card you are using.  I think I might need to buy a new one

Currently, I'm using the Sandisk Extreme Pro 95MB/s like in this post: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=7473.msg73048#msg73048

There's nothing special about this card (it's old and i suppose discontinued), you can use any of them, which bencmarks around 40MB/s
But if you'll get Sandisks 45MB/s, be careful to tell the difference between these two: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=7473.msg72697#msg72697
The one on the right is slow. You should get one with red sticker, not gold.