Author Topic: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement (dual_iso.mo)  (Read 1898178 times)

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3657
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #600 on: August 13, 2013, 10:31:15 AM »
/bin/sh: /Users/Admin/Downloads/magic-lantern/gcc/bin/arm-none-eabi-gcc-4.7.3: No such file or directory

You need to make sure you have the arm toolchain https://launchpad.net/gcc-arm-embedded
And edit your makefile to point to the location where you store it. 

Take further discussion to a developing help thread please.  Here are some threads that should help.
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=991.0
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=6783.0
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=6425.0

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #601 on: August 13, 2013, 05:59:48 PM »
600D, its not perfect. I saw some artifacts.

http://www.filedropper.com/600ddualiso

CFP

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 185
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #602 on: August 13, 2013, 07:58:35 PM »
600D, its not perfect. I saw some artifacts.

http://www.filedropper.com/600ddualiso
I just tried it on my 600D and it works fine! Just amazing!

It's so impressive to see how much progress has been made in the last time. Such insane stuff.
First 14-Bit RAW video and now almost 3 steps more dynamic range! What's next? :o
This really is MAGIC!

Thank you very much for posting this build. It is freaking awesome that Magic Lantern gets developed since 2009 and still it looks like the biggest treasures inside the cameras aren't even found yet. Who would have thought that any DSLR can handle RAW video? Even 2K RAW video! Or that a Canon camera could get the dynamic range of a Nikon sensor?

I am really curious to see how this firmware add-on will change in the future. It is by far the coolest thing you can download from the internet.

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #603 on: August 13, 2013, 08:19:25 PM »
600D, its not perfect. I saw some artifacts.

http://www.filedropper.com/600ddualiso
If this works on the 600D doesnt it mean the 550D should have the ability as well?
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

sletts02

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #604 on: August 13, 2013, 09:39:23 PM »
First 14-Bit RAW video and now almost 3 steps more dynamic range! What's next? :o
Rumor has it they have cracked 3D Video, should be out in a week or two.

manniac

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #605 on: August 13, 2013, 11:25:40 PM »
I understand, that dual iso is for RAW recording only.
Is there a chance it will become available for H264 encoded recordings later, or is this not possible?

The raw video workflow is really time consuming, and if dual iso was possible with H264 directly in camera, this would be a fantastic time saver..

dlrpgmsvc

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 398
  • The 7D and 50D Robin Hood
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #606 on: August 13, 2013, 11:37:39 PM »
If this works on the 600D doesnt it mean the 550D should have the ability as well?

Read the last 1% quote on our old 550D raw video thread: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5582.new#new
It seems possible... we must investigate asap !  ;D
If you think it's impossible, you have lost beforehand

jgerstel

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #607 on: August 13, 2013, 11:54:15 PM »
Hi,

For me it is also new, but got dual iso tool working. Please use next guide for general setup:

Also install XCode and command line tools:
Xcode menu > Preferences > Downloads > choose "Command line tools" > Click "Install" button

Then ML stuff using next guide:

http://magiclantern.wikia.com/wiki/Magic_Lantern_Development_on_Mac

Then you also need to download dcraw and exiftool:

http://www.sno.phy.queensu.ca/~phil/exiftool/
http://lightzoneproject.org/content/mac-version-new-dcraw-available

Then download sources from Bitbucket, I use Andy's.

Goto dual iso dir and type make. It will give the cr2hdr tool.
If you only need cr2hdr and don't want arm tooling (it is complaining about arm then), you can remove dual_iso.c. Make will give some error, but the cr2hdr will be created anyway and works :-)

root# cr2hdr IMG_0155.CR2

Input file     : IMG_0155.CR2
Full size      : 4832 x 3228
Active area    : 4770 x 3177
White level    : 13327
Black borders  : 62 left, 51 top
Black level    : 995
ISO pattern    : dBBd GBRG
Estimating ISO difference...
ISO difference : 4.03 EV (1628)
Black delta    : 2.30
Interpolation  : mean23-chroma5x5-contrast
Matching brightness...
Looking for hot pixels...
Hot pixels     : 18316
Full-res reconstruction...
Alias filtering...
Dark chroma filtering...
Building contrast map...
Dilating contrast map...
Smoothing contrast map...
ISO overlap    : 5.0 EV (approx)
Black adjust   : 1
Output file    : IMG_0155.DNG
    1 image files updated

Cheers
Jorgen

jgerstel

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #608 on: August 14, 2013, 12:15:30 AM »
Hi

Tested the 50D "green" issue. Looks like Windows version has the " green " issue for 50d image, but custom build on Mac shows normal image. Please see comparison of same image

green Windows build:
http://www.gerstel.org/images/canon/dual_iso/IMG_0155win.jpg

OK Mac 50D build:
http://www.gerstel.org/images/canon/dual_iso/IMG_0155mac.jpg

50D Mac cr2hdr Tool can also be downloaded:
http://www.gerstel.org/images/canon/dual_iso/cr2hdr

Then you also need to download dcraw and exiftool:

http://www.sno.phy.queensu.ca/~phil/exiftool/
http://lightzoneproject.org/content/mac-version-new-dcraw-available

Canon eos m

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 562
  • 5D Mark III, Canon EOS M
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #609 on: August 14, 2013, 01:14:39 AM »
Hi A1ex, 1%, Audionut,

I get this horrible black border and overall tone (especially on the skin) when I convert RAW to DNG using cr2hdr_exp:

Sample: http://www.flickr.com/photos/89977905@N05/9503180650/

Picture processed on ACR 8.1.
Canon 5D Mark III, Gopro Hero Blacks with 3D Casing, A Few Lenses, Adobe CC 2014, MacBook Pro, Windows 8 PC, Lots of Video Rig!

Started Nuke. Loved it but then the 15 day trial ran out. Back to After Effects and loving it :-)

v8rrc

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #610 on: August 14, 2013, 08:34:02 AM »
Any chance of this on the 60D - can I help investigate?

Canon eos m

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 562
  • 5D Mark III, Canon EOS M
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement for 5D3 and 7D
« Reply #611 on: August 14, 2013, 05:01:22 PM »
Another update regarding aliased areas, for cr2hdr_exp.exe. This time I've tried a very difficult shot - the CR2 from daancalo2013:


Hi A1ex,

Is this is the latest version of cr2hdr or the one on the OP?
Canon 5D Mark III, Gopro Hero Blacks with 3D Casing, A Few Lenses, Adobe CC 2014, MacBook Pro, Windows 8 PC, Lots of Video Rig!

Started Nuke. Loved it but then the 15 day trial ran out. Back to After Effects and loving it :-)

bart

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 387
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #612 on: August 14, 2013, 09:34:14 PM »
600D, its not perfect. I saw some artifacts.

http://www.filedropper.com/600ddualiso

This one works pretty well. Very nice work!

optik

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement for 5D3 and 7D
« Reply #613 on: August 14, 2013, 11:26:57 PM »
Hi A1ex,

Is this is the latest version of cr2hdr or the one on the OP?

I too would like to know ;)
Canon 5D Mark III, Canon 24-105mm F4, Canon 50mm F1.4, Nikkor 35mm f/1.4 AI-s, Tokina AT-X 16-28mm F2.8 Pro FX, 2 Lexar 1000x 64GB, Kumputer Bay 1000x 64GB, FCPX, Nuke, Modo, AE,
DaVinci

ed.jenner

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #614 on: August 15, 2013, 12:19:33 AM »
Try both and see.   :)

I haven't been following this from the beginning, but just tried it and the latest version seems pretty good.

However, I guess because my brain works strangely, intuitively I would use it the other way around - set 100 ISO in the Dual ISO menu and shoot the shot at ISO1600.  So I tried this and although the results were reasonable, they were quite different and not as good as shooting 1600/100 with exactly the same aperture and SS.

Is this to be expected?  Simplistically I would have though it would be identical since it's just the ordering that is different.

teo770

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #615 on: August 15, 2013, 12:35:27 AM »
Anyone compared dualISO with a regular 2 expo HDR picture ?
Cause dualISO is fine, you don't need a tripod (!) but it costs in aliasing and resolution.

As read in posts, dualISO enhance pic's DR.
Anyone knows how DR can be estimated from a HDR (ISO shift, not aperture shift) of 2/3/5 pics ?

On the video side, would be interesting to test DualISO with Mosaic Engineering filter...
About aliasing mainly.

Update: Spent a few hours in Photomatix Pro, mixing 2 or 3 expo "classical" HDRs..... (ISO shift)
i never get even close to the result of DualIso....

How are mixed the 2 expo in cr2hdr ???
It's a fusion, of course, not a tone map but i sould miss something !

Someone knows ?
My gear: CANON 6D / 40mm f2.8 STM / 20mm f2.8 / 24-105 f4 IS / Flash 90EX / Grip BG-E13

ted ramasola

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1250
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #616 on: August 15, 2013, 01:55:04 AM »

On the video side, would be interesting to test DualISO with Mosaic Engineering filter...
About aliasing mainly.


Dial ISO sample I posted here is on 5d2 WITH mosaic filter.

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=7139.msg66196#msg66196
5DmkII  / 7D
www.ramasolaproductions.com
Texas

ed.jenner

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #617 on: August 15, 2013, 03:13:44 AM »
Anyone compared dualISO with a regular 2 expo HDR picture ?
Cause dualISO is fine, you don't need a tripod (!) but it costs in aliasing and resolution.


I would also say for me it looks like not going to be good enough for a high quality landscape shot, but perhaps fine for many other applications.  Now if I could get two full res raw files, one at ISO100 and one at ISO1600 from a single exposure, that would be a real game-changer for times when multiple exposures won't work.  Not sure what you are doing in Photomatix, but the DualISO will reduce noise

I will likely use it when I would normally blow out highlights rather than when the highlights are my primary concern.

Like many of these techniques you need to figure out when it's going to work for you.

ilguercio

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 845
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #618 on: August 15, 2013, 04:22:09 AM »
Photomatix is something else, if you want true extended dynamic range you should use Enfuse(as a plugin for LR) to add up the exposures.
Canon EOS 6D, 60D, 50D.
Sigma 70-200 EX OS HSM, Sigma 70-200 Apo EX HSM, Samyang 14 2.8, Samyang 35 1.4, Samyang 85 1.4.
Proud supporter of Magic Lantern.

ed.jenner

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #619 on: August 15, 2013, 05:26:25 AM »
I would also say for me it looks like not going to be good enough for a high quality landscape shot,
OK, quoting myself, but just trying this on the 7D it's really good.  Seems better than on the 5DII with whatever workflow I used yesterday.  Need to test more on the 5DII, it might be something I'd use for 'serious' shooting where I might want to make a 20x30 print.

Not sure what you are doing in Photomatix, but the DualISO will reduce noise
Just to test, I used the HDR software I prefer and the two shot option is better (without any tone mapping) as expected.

I'm having a little problem with getting the colors to come out right, but it's not a showstopper, just a little extra PP.

NateVolk

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #620 on: August 15, 2013, 06:23:15 AM »
The photo side progress has been good.  I'm still getting mixed results, the same as @ed.jenner.  Switching the iso's weirds things up.  I always end up with an image that is about 3 stops underexposed.  The shadows come back pretty nice most of the time, and the highlights are great.

Here's the best I can get with video.  Mind you ,I'm on a mac, and not smart enough to run the command line stuff, so I converted this with son of batch app for osx.  I toyed with the exposure a bit, the first one has no clipped highlights in the live view preview, the second one has some in the clouds.  I boosted both the shadows to 100 and held the highlights to -100 just to see how far I can push it.  Now if someone can help make the upgrades that a1ex made to the cr2hdr to the video end, we would have something amazing!!!


arturochu

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
  • Filmmaker based in Mexico City
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #621 on: August 15, 2013, 06:38:32 AM »
Here's the best I can get with video.  Mind you ,I'm on a mac, and not smart enough to run the command line stuff, so I converted this with son of batch app for osx.  I toyed with the exposure a bit, the first one has no clipped highlights in the live view preview, the second one has some in the clouds.  I boosted both the shadows to 100 and held the highlights to -100 just to see how far I can push it.  Now if someone can help make the upgrades that a1ex made to the cr2hdr to the video end, we would have something amazing!!!

i did about 140 gb of dual iso video material, i haven't processed it yet because of the outdated raw2dng. waiting for the upodate too.
Chu

packgrad2k1

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • ML & Video Newb
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #622 on: August 15, 2013, 06:39:12 AM »
First off, my apologies if this is covered elsewhere. I've dug and dug, and can't find anywhere this is explicitly answered: is DualISO working on the 5DII or 50D for video?

I've gotten it to work well with stills (though I have the same issue another poster reported that no matter what I set the recovery ISO to, it will not go above 1600 on my 5DII or 50D) but I see no difference between RAW video shot with DualISO on and off for either the 5DII or 50D. Since I'm using a mac, exclusively, it could also be that Son of Batch just doesn't deal with DualISO raw video -- Son of Batch is the only RAW -> DNG converter for mac I've seen that supposedly supports DualISO.

That's all for now. I greatly *greatly* appreciate your time, and my hat is off to all the folks working on ML for the amazing work to date on this project. ML RAW now gives me a way to process and grade that makes sense to my photo-centric brain.  ;D

PressureFM

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #623 on: August 15, 2013, 09:07:58 AM »
First off, my apologies if this is covered elsewhere. I've dug and dug, and can't find anywhere this is explicitly answered: is DualISO working on the 5DII or 50D for video?

I've gotten it to work well with stills (though I have the same issue another poster reported that no matter what I set the recovery ISO to, it will not go above 1600 on my 5DII or 50D) but I see no difference between RAW video shot with DualISO on and off for either the 5DII or 50D. Since I'm using a mac, exclusively, it could also be that Son of Batch just doesn't deal with DualISO raw video -- Son of Batch is the only RAW -> DNG converter for mac I've seen that supposedly supports DualISO.

That's all for now. I greatly *greatly* appreciate your time, and my hat is off to all the folks working on ML for the amazing work to date on this project. ML RAW now gives me a way to process and grade that makes sense to my photo-centric brain.  ;D

Then the answer should be pretty straightforward. No Dual ISO in video mode on the 5D Mark II, which has been said many times before now  ;)

arrinkiiii

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1101
  • ML ADDICTED 7D
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #624 on: August 15, 2013, 09:38:09 AM »
The photo side progress has been good.  I'm still getting mixed results, the same as @ed.jenner.  Switching the iso's weirds things up.  I always end up with an image that is about 3 stops underexposed.  The shadows come back pretty nice most of the time, and the highlights are great.

Here's the best I can get with video.  Mind you ,I'm on a mac, and not smart enough to run the command line stuff, so I converted this with son of batch app for osx.  I toyed with the exposure a bit, the first one has no clipped highlights in the live view preview, the second one has some in the clouds.  I boosted both the shadows to 100 and held the highlights to -100 just to see how far I can push it.  Now if someone can help make the upgrades that a1ex made to the cr2hdr to the video end, we would have something amazing!!!


Very nice image. I can see some moire and maybe some fringe in the top of the cabane...