Author Topic: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement (dual_iso.mo)  (Read 1843671 times)

MikeinCusco

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement for 5D3 and 7D
« Reply #575 on: August 12, 2013, 04:38:53 PM »
Any chance of dual ISO for the 50D?

Silkway

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement for 5D3 and 7D
« Reply #576 on: August 12, 2013, 04:50:00 PM »
Hi
i just installed the latest build from Andy600 tragic lantern for dual ISO on canon 50d
and this is what i got

is this image is as it supposed to be?
the horizontal zebra lines?

or am i doing something wrong?

thank you anybody for quick answer!

ilguercio

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 845
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement for 5D3 and 7D
« Reply #577 on: August 12, 2013, 04:57:46 PM »
You haven't read how the Dual ISO feature works and how to process it, right?
Canon EOS 6D, 60D, 50D.
Sigma 70-200 EX OS HSM, Sigma 70-200 Apo EX HSM, Samyang 14 2.8, Samyang 35 1.4, Samyang 85 1.4.
Proud supporter of Magic Lantern.

Silkway

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement for 5D3 and 7D
« Reply #578 on: August 12, 2013, 05:01:47 PM »
oh yeah sorry i have read the first post

i downloaded that 3 files tools

and i try to drag and drop CR2 file on the cr2hdr.exe icon

but the command dial says "it seems like it is not interlaced ISO"

and shuts down...

here what i got

ilguercio

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 845
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement for 5D3 and 7D
« Reply #579 on: August 12, 2013, 05:17:01 PM »
Conversion works for me with my 6D files but i am not sure about the en result.
@A1ex:does the cr2hdr need to be changed with data from other cameras?
I would love to upload the dual iso file now but it's not possible at the moment.
Canon EOS 6D, 60D, 50D.
Sigma 70-200 EX OS HSM, Sigma 70-200 Apo EX HSM, Samyang 14 2.8, Samyang 35 1.4, Samyang 85 1.4.
Proud supporter of Magic Lantern.

Silkway

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #580 on: August 12, 2013, 05:32:56 PM »

modified

ah no it works fine! it just doesnt pick up underexposed pictures.

Andy600

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1863
  • Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement for 5D3 and 7D
« Reply #581 on: August 12, 2013, 05:51:25 PM »
oh yeah sorry i have read the first post

i downloaded that 3 files tools

and i try to drag and drop CR2 file on the cr2hdr.exe icon

but the command dial says "it seems like it is not interlaced ISO"

and shuts down...

[spoiler]here what i got
[/spoiler]

Did you shoot in live view? If so, it doesn't work. Use photo mode only.
Colorist working with Davinci Resolve, Baselight, Nuke, After Effects & Premier Pro. Occasional Sunday afternoon DOP. Developer of Cinelog-C Colorspace Management and LUTs - www.cinelogdcp.com

Silkway

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #582 on: August 12, 2013, 06:03:37 PM »
Did you shoot in live view? If so, it doesn't work. Use photo mode only.

no dear sir Andy600

i shot via viewfinder of canon 50d

but it seems like there is not enough info for processing on too dark images. thats a reason it didnt convert. but other images who shot on bright areas with good highlights it is just perfect working!

Danne

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7154
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #583 on: August 12, 2013, 06:27:40 PM »
Don,t shoot in too extreme situations. I got the same problems when shooting birds in very bright areas such as skies. Otherwise it,s fine

dubzeebass

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 360
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #584 on: August 12, 2013, 09:02:32 PM »
Can I please request that the EXE for CR2HDR be updated in the OP?  Seems like it's an earlier build.

akumiszcza

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 85
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #585 on: August 13, 2013, 12:46:39 AM »
I've noticed green cast in shadows and highlights after converting dual iso cr2 into dgn on Canon 50D.

Normal case:


without Dual ISO:


Extreme case:
cr2hdr.exe:

cr2hdr_exp.exe:


Is there some trick to remove green cast in ACR (in normal, not "extreme" cases at least)? Split toning won't do the trick. Setting WB sets it either for highlights and shadows or for middle parts.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #586 on: August 13, 2013, 01:21:45 AM »
Yea, I had some problem with green cast on 50D. I think some of the problem might be that 50D uses iso 100, 320, 640, etc NOT 100, 200, 400, 800, etc. Have to check it out and port to 600D and *maybe* eosM if the module loads with CMOS logging enabled.


REDcineX

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • 5D Mark II
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #587 on: August 13, 2013, 01:30:30 AM »
Hi all.

Really new to this and I have a "dumb" question. I'm on Mac (Mountain Lion) I have the source code and pre-built toolchain. Could someone point me where to go from there. Not quite sure what to do with it to use my 5D2 .cr2 files and get cr2hdr working.

Francis

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 818
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #588 on: August 13, 2013, 02:27:35 AM »
Hi all.

Really new to this and I have a "dumb" question. I'm on Mac (Mountain Lion) I have the source code and pre-built toolchain. Could someone point me where to go from there. Not quite sure what to do with it to use my 5D2 .cr2 files and get cr2hdr working.

I just wrote up something http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=7645

REDcineX

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • 5D Mark II
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #589 on: August 13, 2013, 03:12:20 AM »
Error: Port hg not found

Silkway

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #590 on: August 13, 2013, 03:17:42 AM »
oh yeah indeed!
there is a green stuff going on on canon 50d dual iso...

and i dont know if it is suitable hmm...

in some way its not so bad of course

but would be nice to see the solution...

Francis

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 818
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #591 on: August 13, 2013, 03:34:33 AM »
Error: Port hg not found

My mistake.

port install mercurial

SenorClean

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #592 on: August 13, 2013, 03:48:35 AM »
Working great on my 6D - well done all!

If you look closely in extreme areas you can see some fringing/jaggies/moire - see my 100% crop here -> http://img19.imageshack.us/img19/3097/tbje.jpg

BUT it is a small price to pay for the results.

ilguercio

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 845
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #593 on: August 13, 2013, 03:57:18 AM »
Which ISO did you set in camera and which in ML menu?
Canon EOS 6D, 60D, 50D.
Sigma 70-200 EX OS HSM, Sigma 70-200 Apo EX HSM, Samyang 14 2.8, Samyang 35 1.4, Samyang 85 1.4.
Proud supporter of Magic Lantern.

REDcineX

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • 5D Mark II
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #594 on: August 13, 2013, 04:17:48 AM »
Aww..

"-bash: cr2hdr: command not found"

To back track a little further. When I do this line and of course the same line for raw2dng:
"Type 'make' then 'sudo ln -s cr2hdr /usr/bin/cr2hdr'."

Terminal says: "make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop."

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #595 on: August 13, 2013, 04:24:38 AM »
Download/build it. and run ./cr2hdr

600D photo mode is working. 600D has real iso 3200. LV too.

I can make inside the raw_rec and dual_iso module folder and modules + binaries come out.

REDcineX

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • 5D Mark II
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #596 on: August 13, 2013, 04:49:51 AM »
The only other thing I might have done wrong was download the toolchain (mac version), renamed it gcc, and placed it inside the magic-lantern folder in Downloads. I used all your commands, Francis, after that to keep it consistent.

Francis

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 818
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #597 on: August 13, 2013, 07:04:45 AM »
Sounds like you weren't in the right folder to build cr2hdr. You have to be in the directory containing the dual ISO code. It is in magic-lantern/modules/dual_iso

REDcineX

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • 5D Mark II
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #598 on: August 13, 2013, 07:29:56 AM »
When I type "./magic-lantern/modules/dual_iso"
Terminal replies "-bash: ./magic-lantern/modules/dual_iso: is a directory"

I type "make" after cd to /dual_iso
Terminal replies "[ GCC      ]   cr2hdr
[ GCC      ]   cr2hdr
[ GCC      ]   cr2hdr
~/Downloads/magic-lantern/gcc/bin/arm-none-eabi-gcc-4.7.3  -Os -mthumb-interwork -march=armv5te -D__ARM__ -Wp,-MMD,./dual_iso.d -Wp,-MT,dual_iso.o -nostdlib -fomit-frame-pointer -fno-strict-aliasing -I../../include  -Wall -W -Wno-unused-parameter -Wno-unused-function -Wno-implicit-function-declaration -Wno-missing-field-initializers -Wno-format -Wdouble-promotion -ffast-math -fno-trapping-math -fsingle-precision-constant -fshort-double -std=gnu99 -Winline -I../../platform/all -I../../platform/all/include -I../../src -I../../picoc   -DMODULE -DMODULE_NAME=dual_iso    -c -o dual_iso.o dual_iso.c
/bin/sh: /Users/Admin/Downloads/magic-lantern/gcc/bin/arm-none-eabi-gcc-4.7.3: No such file or directory

I enter "sudo ln -s cr2hdr /usr/bin/cr2hdr"
Terminal responds "ln: /usr/bin/cr2hdr: File exists"


sletts02

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #599 on: August 13, 2013, 10:28:46 AM »
I know previously we said that 'auto' video mode would not be possible with dual iso as iso changes were needed.

Is it possible to have dual iso with 'auto video' exposure mode, but just changing shutter-speed/aperture? This would be a massive, massive help for my line of work!

In other news, my 5D3 arrived today! Just waiting for Transcend 1000x to arrive on Monday now.