Author Topic: Full-resolution silent pictures (silent.mo)  (Read 517461 times)

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11475
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Full-resolution silent pictures (silent.mo)
« Reply #1025 on: May 26, 2018, 07:30:47 PM »
In this case, it's probably not the file name, but the image catalog. When taking a picture, Canon code not only saves the image to card, but also adds it to this catalog (some sort of index stored in the RAM). How exactly this catalog works, in particular how to add files to it, is not yet understood.

If you restart the camera, do the files appear on the remote computer?

The renaming trick is known to work on Eye-Fi cards, btw. Some cards other than Eye-Fi may be able to transfer arbitrary files out of the box.

mash.m

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Full-resolution silent pictures (silent.mo)
« Reply #1026 on: May 26, 2018, 10:09:01 PM »
Hi,

an hour ago i had the same idea About the WiFi Card (before i read your post). in Germany we say "zwei dumme, ein gedanke" - "two stupid, one thought"

i will try a toshiba WiFi sd Card. hope this will work.

the silent files do not appear after restart the camera.

thx again!

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11475
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Full-resolution silent pictures (silent.mo)
« Reply #1027 on: May 26, 2018, 10:40:24 PM »
That will work. Make sure you get the W-04 version; reviews say it's much faster than W-03.

OlRivrRat

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 405
Re: Full-resolution silent pictures (silent.mo)
« Reply #1028 on: May 29, 2018, 02:37:54 AM »
      @ All Who Refer to Stills Mode as Photo Mode

"Photo mode refers to "normal" stills camera operation" > But Probably Really Shouldn't !

   No idea Whom, When, Why "Photos Mode" started being used to refer to "Stills Mode".

Since Everything our cameras do Visually is Photo Capturing, Our Cam's are in "Photos Mode"

whenever they are "On". Since those Photos can be Captured as Still Photos or Moving Photos,

the 2 Main Photo Capture Modes should be referred to as Stills & Movies.

   Which is actually the way Canon does it in their Manuals .

                     ORR ~ DeanB

Sorry Walter > Not trying to pick on You here, You just happened to be the 1 who

Poked My Button on this when I had time to do a Post I've been wanting to do for

quite some time ~
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML.111B(DEAD)

togg

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 300
Re: Full-resolution silent pictures (silent.mo)
« Reply #1029 on: May 30, 2018, 01:00:48 AM »
Small question, I've tried silent pictures after a long time, just to be sure I've got it right. Full res is still limited to 1/10 right? I tested it and it looks like it.

Dmytro_ua

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: Full-resolution silent pictures (silent.mo)
« Reply #1030 on: June 05, 2018, 07:24:15 PM »
Hi,
Is FRSP should give the same color and exposure results as in a regular Photo mode with cr2?
I tried the same setting and opened pics in ACR (sorry for poor quality).

With 0,3", f16, iso 320 - FRSP captures picture twice longer (about 600 ms) = 0,6".

My camera is 5d3 with expo override enabled. Should I change some settings to match closer?





Thanks

ghostmanno

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Full-resolution silent pictures (silent.mo)
« Reply #1031 on: July 03, 2018, 09:16:31 AM »
Hi,

an hour ago i had the same idea About the WiFi Card (before i read your post). in Germany we say "zwei dumme, ein gedanke" - "two stupid, one thought"

i will try a toshiba WiFi sd Card. hope this will work.

the silent files do not appear after restart the camera.

thx again!

Hi mash.m

Where you able to transfer file from your camera to the PC using FRSP? I stumbled upon the same scenario, trying to use a EOS 50D to digitize Super 8 and a 400 Ft reel is about 28800 images so using the shutter will kill the camera.
I hex edited the silent.mo and changed dng to CR2 extention and all files are saved as CR2 file but nothing shows up. In ML they are visible but not in EOS menu/software on the camera so same thing happens in gphoto2 so this is as a1lex say most probably the image catalog on the memory that is not updated.

If anyone got the WFT-E3A, I am wondering if the WFT-E3A would work with FRSP, dose the EOS write directly to a usb attached disk or does it write to the memory card first and then copy to the external media. with 28800 images on 400Ft reel a CF card or SD card would be to small we are talking 100's of GB before post processing :-)

regards,
GM   

domasa

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: Full-resolution silent pictures (silent.mo)
« Reply #1032 on: July 13, 2018, 10:47:00 PM »
It will be possible allow take photo during recording MLV-lite without affect to recording output?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11475
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Full-resolution silent pictures (silent.mo)
« Reply #1033 on: July 14, 2018, 11:28:39 PM »
Yes, as long as photo resolution is not (much) higher than video resolution.

Changing LiveView resolution on the fly might be possible; I had some half-successful attempts at that; however, capturing a full-res image takes time, so the video stream would be interrupted (you will lose a few frames, depending on how fast the resolution can be switched; rolling shutter time for a full-res image is about 130ms on 5D3).

One way to approximate full-res capture without interrupting the video stream would be to shift the "phase" in the 3x3 pixel binning (the initial row and column of each 3x3 pixel group). That might be doable from ADTG and/or CMOS registers. If you have the patience to adjust these in adtg_gui and notice sub-pixel image movements, or maybe write a script to automate that process, you may find that register (assuming it exists). If you can also find a way disable the column binning, i.e. read out one single pixel out of 3 horizontal ones, on cameras other than 5D3 you would need 9 video frames to "assemble" one full-res image. Of course, that would only work for static scenes.

Without a way to disable the line/column binning, even if you can shift the initial line/column, recovering a full-res image is going to be difficult. Some deconvolution or super-resolution techniques might help, in particular if the scene is not exactly static when you take the picture.

Difficulty: give me 5 years and a team of researchers ;)