Author Topic: [6D] Magic Lantern problems with "Fps override" and "Silent Picture"  (Read 6065 times)

syrka

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Hi!
I am just installed ML in my Canon 6D and can say that have some bugs.
May be anybody had solved these problems?

1) When i am capturing movie with fps decreased to 2-10 in option "Fps override" ML my movie captured with a lot of parallel vertical lines in the screen (in natural and artifical light in ISO 100-10000). What is it? How i can solve this problem?

2) I made time lapse with option "Silent Picture/simple/Hi-res" and photos was saved in format *.422.  I used  422-jpg.exe and YUV422 Convertor for converting to *.jpg. But programms works with error "Exception: unknown image size: 3359232".
I was changed image size from L -> S2, and there are no any positive effects. Which dimension of pics i must to use for good result?
Can you help to solve these problems?
Thank you in advance!

syrka

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: [6D] Magic Lantern problems with "Fps override" and "Silent Picture"
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2013, 02:16:33 PM »
Problem №1 solved. Dont decrease fps less then 8. I dont know why, but lines are desappeared)

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: [6D] Magic Lantern problems with "Fps override" and "Silent Picture"
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2013, 03:43:17 PM »
Use a different YUV converter, the one you're using doesn't support the 6D size. I.e https://bitbucket.org/mindogas/422toimage

You may have to add the size to the xml.

syrka

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: [6D] Magic Lantern problems with "Fps override" and "Silent Picture"
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2013, 04:46:29 PM »
Thank you but there are no any effect.
May be i must to compile source code? I used latest version from this https://bitbucket.org/mindogas/422toimage/downloads
My resolutions.xml
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<Resolutions xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xmlns:xsd="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema">
  <resolutions>
   <Point>
      <X>3123</X>
      <Y>2082</Y>
    </Point>
  </resolutions>
</Resolutions>



mindogas

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: [6D] Magic Lantern problems with "Fps override" and "Silent Picture"
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2013, 06:17:02 PM »
Resolution determination option aren't suit to determinate Hi-Res window size. For all cameras this size is 1024 * 680. Maybe 6D have any diference?

syrka

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: [6D] Magic Lantern problems with "Fps override" and "Silent Picture"
« Reply #5 on: July 13, 2013, 07:18:37 PM »
If you mean "Simple silent mode" that it works much bad
Here you can see error


When i change resolution in resolution.xml, there are no any effect for result.
I dont think that i first user of 6d which tried to make timelapse)

mindogas

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: [6D] Magic Lantern problems with "Fps override" and "Silent Picture"
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2013, 06:09:00 AM »
This hires pircure is 2x2 or 1x2? Strange things that frames are duplicating twice.

OnePercent or anyone: is it possible that hires frames in 6D are 1104x736 instead of 1024x680?

ilguercio

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 845
Re: [6D] Magic Lantern problems with "Fps override" and "Silent Picture"
« Reply #7 on: July 14, 2013, 06:34:22 AM »
6D user here, can i be of any help?
Canon EOS 6D, 60D, 50D.
Sigma 70-200 EX OS HSM, Sigma 70-200 Apo EX HSM, Samyang 14 2.8, Samyang 35 1.4, Samyang 85 1.4.
Proud supporter of Magic Lantern.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: [6D] Magic Lantern problems with "Fps override" and "Silent Picture"
« Reply #8 on: July 14, 2013, 07:27:36 AM »
I could never get the silent pics lined up properly, for full size. I think 4x4 or 5x4 was max. The zoom window is different, not 1024x680. 1104x736

 

syrka

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: [6D] Magic Lantern problems with "Fps override" and "Silent Picture"
« Reply #9 on: July 14, 2013, 10:58:57 AM »
Thanks for all.
You can see my .422 files and jpeg here (simple 1x2,2x2,AlwaysOn, Hi res 2x1, 2x2)
https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B0k86GWCwpYQTG1QWGU1Rll0OVU&usp=sharing

mindogas

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: [6D] Magic Lantern problems with "Fps override" and "Silent Picture"
« Reply #10 on: July 14, 2013, 06:49:43 PM »
Please try this build: https://bitbucket.org/mindogas/422toimage/downloads/422ToImage%201.9.2.zip
Added 6D HiRes compatibility. Still picture are not alligned becouse of ML (OnePercent mentioned something about it). Also i do not know what are the files "silent simple 2x1.422", "silent simple 2x2.422" and "silent simple always on.422". Thows are not working..

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: [6D] Magic Lantern problems with "Fps override" and "Silent Picture"
« Reply #11 on: July 14, 2013, 08:03:20 PM »
You can always use the gimp plugin too and see what .422 with unknown resolutions look like + what resolution they are.

syrka

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: [6D] Magic Lantern problems with "Fps override" and "Silent Picture"
« Reply #12 on: July 15, 2013, 10:38:35 AM »
Thanks! I alreeady used it. Must i examinate other resolutions to find proper for importing to gimp?
I try already 1024 * 680, 1024 * 680 and resolutions from this topic
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=3310.msg17986#msg17986
If i knew that 6D so dont friendly with ML, i would better buy 5d3)

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12457
Re: [6D] Magic Lantern problems with "Fps override" and "Silent Picture"
« Reply #13 on: July 15, 2013, 12:08:05 PM »
Wait a minute, you don't have DNG silent pics in 6D?

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: [6D] Magic Lantern problems with "Fps override" and "Silent Picture"
« Reply #14 on: July 15, 2013, 02:45:02 PM »
He's probably using a version from a long time ago. There has been no .422 since you took it out of main.

syrka

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: [6D] Magic Lantern problems with "Fps override" and "Silent Picture"
« Reply #15 on: July 15, 2013, 08:21:00 PM »
I am using Magic Lantern on 6D Firmware 1.1.2
GIMP 2.6.11

My best result was with resolution 1104х1104
But raw file have resulution 1472х1104
Here is result in Hi res 2x2 (image have some crop from 1472 to 1104)

syrka

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: [6D] Magic Lantern problems with "Fps override" and "Silent Picture"
« Reply #16 on: July 17, 2013, 10:36:06 AM »
I decide to make time lapse with good working intervalometer in ML.
I think that quality is better (resulution higer) then in silent mode, and wear of shutter is better (cost of replacemnet) then replacment of CMOS-sensor which can be damaged after a lot of using photo in silent mode.
And waiting for next release of ML where problems with silent mode for 6d will be eluminated.

syrka

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: [6D] Magic Lantern problems with "Fps override" and "Silent Picture"
« Reply #17 on: July 22, 2013, 05:32:55 PM »
THANKS TO ALL
All problems are solved with firmware 1.1.3 ))
I read that ML works only with 1.1.2 but it inst true