Author Topic: Is tone mapping possible in camera?  (Read 2288 times)

ItsMeLenny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 928
  • 550D
Is tone mapping possible in camera?
« on: July 04, 2013, 05:52:23 AM »
I didn't want to do the ol' feature request for a non possible feature.
And in a way this plays back on the hdr in camera (although I'm not sure if the hdr in camera in 650D and what not is fake from 1 picture or is from multiple pics).


The question is:
Would it be possible to tone map in camera before it saves as a jpeg (or video)?
So say it takes the raw sensor data, applies the white balance, applies the picture style, (as usual) -
Then on top of that it applies a tone mapping with a selectable contrast compression from 1.0 to 2.0 (although I find anything over 1.5 to be a bit much) -
And then the jpeg be saved from that.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Is tone mapping possible in camera?
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2013, 08:10:45 AM »
First you need to realize that a local tone mapping operation needs to analyze the neighbouring pixels over a quite large area. With a 10x10 kernel, the processing power will be 100x higher than for a normal image. With a 100x100 kernel... 10000x higher (unless you can optimize that particular operation with some clever FFT math or something like that).

On a PC, just time enfuse and compare with some trivial brightness change in a video editor.

Second, remember that we don't know how to program Canon's image processing chip.

Third, good luck designing the math formulas to do that.

ItsMeLenny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 928
  • 550D
Re: Is tone mapping possible in camera?
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2013, 09:25:37 AM »
LOL. Ah, ok. :P I was just curious.
It's easy to do on RAW. It doesn't work so well on 8bit images though, that's why I wondered if it could be done before hand.
But thanks for the reply.