Bulb ramping help for a beginner

Started by lloydy, June 04, 2013, 07:57:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lloydy

Just a question for anyone that might be able to help regarding a day to night timelapse i'm trying to create.
I'm very very new to photography so some may think that catching a sunset timelapse is probably something i should leave for the future but i am determined to crack it!
I recently bought a cannon 60d and have been out a lot enjoying the relaxing aspect of photography,i have been out almost every night shooting pictures and getting to know my camera.I'm not the type to ask for help and explanations and am pretty driven to teach myself if i find the appropriate help online.
So timelapsing and long exposure shooting are two forms of photography that most interest me.These are really the two types i can photography that i want to learn inside out.
I bought a cheap intervalometer and have shot a few evening timelapses which i am quite happy with,obviously i am having a few problems with flicker and other beginner problems but have read all the work arounds and also read about all the software available for cures.
I have read nothing but good things about magic lantern so decided to download and install because i want to eventually catch sunrise/sunset timelapses.
I have spent the last few nights in my front garden shooting the sky to try experiment with the settings but seem to be getting nowhere.I think the main problem is i don't really understand the settings being a beginner.
The first night i shot in manual mode with these settings.
White balance set to daytime
interval was set to 10s
bulb ramping was set to sunset 
max ramp speed 0.050
manual exposure set to off
manual focus ramp set to off
I metered for midtones around 63 percentile
Now i'm only trying to shoot the sky going from light to dark so no sun,at the moment the sky starts to dim about 9.30pm and gets darker over the next hour to pitch black by 11pm