Author Topic: [IMPOSSIBLE] Raw 48p unsquashed 1280x768 recording  (Read 2200 times)

squig

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 518
  • Crash test dummy MK3
[IMPOSSIBLE] Raw 48p unsquashed 1280x768 recording
« on: June 03, 2013, 04:46:46 PM »
I'd like to start doing some 48p slo-mo testing for a feature I have in pre-production. The Toshiba 1066x card can do sustained 48p recording @ 1472x672 79MB/s. @ 1280x768 the data rate is slightly lower. Could someone please enable 1280x768 unsquashed recording. With a 1.5x anamorphic lens this produces 2.5:1 1080p slow motion, or 2k slo-mo with a 6.66% upscale.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: [IMPOSSIBLE] Raw 48p unsquashed 1280x768 recording
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2013, 04:57:26 PM »
I thought you already knew that ML is just dumping the LiveView buffer on the card...

squig

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 518
  • Crash test dummy MK3
Re: [IMPOSSIBLE] Raw 48p unsquashed 1280x768 recording
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2013, 05:19:27 PM »
Yeah, but I wasn't (and I'm still not) sure what the deal is with the 720p squishiness, I thought maybe you were somehow doing it to squeeze a few more MB/s for higher frame rate recording.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: [IMPOSSIBLE] Raw 48p unsquashed 1280x768 recording
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2013, 05:47:58 PM »
I guess Canon squishes it to scan the sensor faster. No idea how to change it, so ML just tells you how to correct it in post.

Actually I find the increase from 1280 to 1920 quite significant, but I have yet to see anyone putting this to good use...

squig

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 518
  • Crash test dummy MK3
Re: [IMPOSSIBLE] Raw 48p unsquashed 1280x768 recording
« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2013, 06:21:03 PM »
I did a quick test, I can do 1920x512 @ 48p sustained which is pretty sweet. To do 2k 2.5:1 48p I need to push the card to 83MB/s, the Toshiba won't quite do it but I'm getting a Lexar in a couple of days and from the benchmarks I've seen it looks like it's got another couple of MB/s in it.

Oh don't worry, I'll put it to very good use.  ;D