Macbook Retina Not Seeing Card. Please Help!

Started by musicalchairs44, June 01, 2013, 08:25:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

musicalchairs44

Hey everyone.  I am new to Magic Lantern.  Sorry if this has already been addressed.  I have a weird issue with my 5d3.  I have successfully installed the ML RAW software on the camera and everything seems to be functioning correctly.  I am having an issue getting the files to my MBPR.  When I connect the camera via USB it does not show any sign of the RAW video files.  I then ejected the card and put it into a Promaster CF card reader.  The reader (which is new and also a giant piece of S&*T) will not recognize the card and asks to in initialize it.  That that point I tried numerous times to format the card.  It failed every time.  I have tried the card in camera and the Mac will not see the ML video...and in a card reader and the mac will not see the file. 

I have seen the clip playback in camera and confirmed that it did track to the CF card. 

Is there something really basic that I am doing wrong?  Please help. 

Francis

Get a new card reader. Don't trust your data with a giant piece of crap. Try a different card if you have one.

musicalchairs44

I totally agree with you.  I normally do not use a card reader at all.  I take everything directly off the camera.  The only time I use a card reader with when importing from my RED Epic.  Then I use the RED reader.  Thats solid though.  I bought this card reader because my camera was not seen by my MBPR and wanted to try another option. 

Has anyone had any success just plugging in your 5D3 to your computer via usb and taken the Magic Lantern Raw video files directly off the camera.  "Image Capture" does not show the ML raw files and neither does the Canon Utility software.  When I open finder the 5D3 is not listed as a hard drive option.